FB Twitter

Melrose Cottage

Melrose Cottage

4.6
out of 5
Ratings from 24 reviews
92% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.8
Comfort
4.3
Condition
4.7
Location
4.7
Value
4.5
Customer
Service
4.7


Property Features

  • All properties are set in 15-acre shared gardens- there are no private gardens (see aerial view)
  • Pond 300 yards away from property
  • No hot tub facilities available
  • Ample free parking
  • All power and hear included
  • Single-level and open plan living-kitchen-dining area
  • 1 bedroom sleeping a maximum of 2 guests- full floor plan available on our website
  • Shower room containing shower cubicle, W/C and basin
  • All bed linen and one bath towel per person included
  • Children welcome (free cots and highchairs available on request)
  • For full list of amenities follow this link: www.villa-farm.com/melrose-cottage

Excellent

Review submitted on Wed, 03 Aug 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
What a fabulous weekend at my granddaughters wedding. The cottages had well equipped kitchen & bathroom, the beds was so comfy it’s the best nights sleep I’ve had i some a while , from booking to check in we was looked after five stars
Highly recommended


Margaret from Barnsley stayed at Melrose Cottage for 2 nights in July 2022


Lovely place to stay

Review submitted on Sun, 10 Jul 2022
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Everything was perfect with our stay. The only small thing that could be improved was the mattress and pillows as they were uncomfortable.
We would definitely stay here again.


Paul from London stayed at Melrose Cottage for 2 nights in July 2022


Good for a nights stay but wouldn’t stay longer again

Review submitted on Mon, 20 Jun 2022
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The cottage is okay sitting area good kitchen good bedroom small and the bed not very comfortable rolled in middle pillows need upgrading. the shower room was the most disappointing the shower cubicle door you could only open so far as it hit the sink,could not regulate the temperature to make it colder, no where to put your shower stuff inside no shelf or holder so only on floor it would be okay if you were small in stature. Lovely green garden area but noisy due to been next to the road . The cottage got very warm with the doors closed so would be extremely hot in the height of summer . We left curtain and blinds closed to keep it cooler whilst we were out.

Graham from Maldon stayed at Melrose Cottage for 1 nights in June 2022


Perfect place to stay for a wedding.

Review submitted on Thu, 10 Mar 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Onlyhting i needed was a socket near a mirror for drying my hair . Fortunately I had an extension lead with me.

Ali from Darlington stayed at Melrose Cottage for 2 nights in March 2022


A great place to stay

Review submitted on Tue, 08 Mar 2022
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Couldn't fault the place, very clean and the location was ideal with it being only a short drive into the city centre. The cottage was bigger than it appears on the pictures off of the website and the kitchen was fully stocked should you have needed to use it.
The whole 'site' was also very well maintained. I'd happily stay here again and would highly recommend to others.


Guest from Wirral stayed at Melrose Cottage for 2 nights in February 2022


Great place

Review submitted on Sat, 01 Jan 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Very nice stay and clean and quiet it had everything you could have needed for our short stay very good location aswell just 10min from York with nearby shops at retail park...great overall

Jason from Hull stayed at Melrose Cottage for 2 nights in December 2021


Wedding party stay

Review submitted on Wed, 25 Aug 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Fantastic venue with amazing grounds and cottages
Melrose cottage was a perfect size for 2 adults and 1 child
And opened in to lovely large grass area for the kids to run around
Would defo recommend


Paul from Cleckheaton stayed at Melrose Cottage for 2 nights in August 2021


Very good location and accommodation.

Review submitted on Wed, 21 Jul 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The manager was very helpful and accommodating, especially given all the changes in place due to the covid pandemic. The accommodation was perfect for wedding guests to get ready, stay over and relax afterwards. Having friends and family stay at the venue really helped to make this a special occasion.
Melrose cottage was set within a courtyard where it was very pleasant to sit out.
Lovely venue and grounds.
Thank you


Elizabeth from York stayed at Melrose Cottage for 2 nights in July 2021


Far from luxury!

Review submitted on Tue, 15 Jun 2021
2.7
out of 5

Guest doesn't recommend this property
Cleanliness
2.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
3.0
Location
4.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
1.0
First impression was not good when we seen the front door, badly needing repaired!
One of the bath towels was full of stains, which the manager stated was clean!
Bed sheet & pillow case had stains on them.
After a conversation with manager she gave us clean(er) towels & changed the bed. Also cobwebs in bedroom!
2 broken dining room chairs & a filthy wc, which i had to clean myself!!!
After all this was pointed out to manager, you would expect an apology at least.... yet to get one!!!
This apartment was advertised as "luxury"
Giving the covid situation we were shocked at the standard of housekeeping.


David from Oban stayed at Melrose Cottage for 7 nights in June 2021


Lovely stay really enjoyable

Review submitted on Wed, 19 May 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Everything lovely and clean, bonus of washing up liquid, dish cloths etc, staff really friendly, good COVID restrictions in place, all in all a excellent stay many thanks x

Julie from Skegness stayed at Melrose Cottage for 2 nights in May 2021


Short stay

Review submitted on Sat, 08 Feb 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Had another 2 nights away in Melrose Cottage,enjoyed it so much we didn’t want to leave. Excellent location and a very clean and comfortable atmosphere highly recommend

Ann from Walkington stayed at Melrose Cottage for 2 nights in February 2020


The Villa Farm Team replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your 5 star review, we are glad you enjoyed your stay with us again, and we hope you will come and stay with us again in the future. All the best from The Villa Farm Team.

Melrose Cottage

Review submitted on Sun, 10 Nov 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Another great stay,apart from not getting internet for 2 days,never had a problem before,but this this time it was very irritating.

Ann from Walkington stayed at Melrose Cottage for 2 nights in November 2019


The Villa Farm Team replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your 5 out of 5 review, we are glad you had another great stay. We are sorry you had issues with the internet on this occasion this issue was only temporary fortunately but I can understand how this would of been irritating for you. We do hope however that you will come back and stay with us again in the future. Kind Regards The Villa Farm Team

Melrose Cottage

Review submitted on Sun, 18 Aug 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We spent a couple of days in the Melrose Cottage, we loved every minute of it, we didn’t want to Go home, was really handy for everywhere. Loads to do within easy reach of the Cottage.

Ann from Walkington stayed at Melrose Cottage for 2 nights in August 2019


Looks lovely but not what we were looking for

Review submitted on Sun, 11 Aug 2019
3.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
2.0
Condition
4.0
Location
3.0
Value
2.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Cottage looked lovely on first view. Two seater settee was the most uncomfortable settee you could sit on. It was 26 degrees in the cottage and you couldn’t open doors or windows for wasps I counted 25 in total in the cottage over 2 days. Other than that the cottage was clean and everything was provided towels, bedding, tea, coffee, sugar and milk and everything you needed cooking utensils wise. Ideal if you just want somewhere to spend the night but not as a luxurious weekend.

Angela from Blyth stayed at Melrose Cottage for 2 nights in August 2019


Melrose cottage

Review submitted on Sat, 06 Jul 2019
3.8
out of 5

Guest doesn't recommend this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
2.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
4.0
The cottage was spotlessly clean and very modern with excellent facilities. The location is brilliant for York.
The other guests in large parties ruined our stay by being excessively loud into the early hours of the morning.
The metal framed bed was very creaky and uncomfortable.
I think a lot of work has gone into making this the perfect party haven and would be great for large groups but defiantly not for couples wanting a quiet relaxing break. Lovely place though just wanted to give an honest review.


Debbie from Adelaide stayed at Melrose Cottage for 2 nights in June 2019


A hidden Gem

Review submitted on Wed, 05 Jun 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Excellent! Everything was superb. A hidden gem. So many reasons to stay. Ours was for a wedding taking place at York Barn. Thank you

Ian from York stayed at Melrose Cottage for 2 nights in May 2019


Great weekend away

Review submitted on Thu, 02 May 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Enjoyable break in a lovely cottage. Handy for Monks Cross & Clifton Moor shopping. Plus only a short car/bus/taxi ride into York city centre. Would definitely book again

Susan from Northallerton stayed at Melrose Cottage for 3 nights in April 2019


Melrose cottage review

Review submitted on Mon, 04 Jun 2018
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Villa farm cottages are very nice. Lovely place to stay. Would book again in the future. Grounds very clean and tidy.

Richard from Wakefield stayed at Melrose Cottage for 2 nights in June 2018


Wedding Weekend

Review submitted on Wed, 09 May 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Everything about Villa Farm was perfect, the cottages, the grounds but especially Corrina and her team. The entire weekend was planned down to the finest detail and then executed without a glitch (that we could tell anyway). There really is not a single thing that we would change

Steph from YORK stayed at Melrose Cottage for 2 nights in May 2018


Winter weekend in York with friends

Review submitted on Mon, 15 Jan 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We were actually in Dante and our friends were in Melrose, they loved it as much as we did. Both cottages are lovely, far nicer and more peaceful than staying in a hotel. Brilliant weekend.

Jean from Dumfries stayed at Melrose Cottage for 2 nights in January 2018


Short break

Review submitted on Sat, 02 Sep 2017
3.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
4.0
Location
3.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The cottage is certainly bijou, clean and has all facilities you would expect. Main road nearby is busy and to be honest whilst brilliant for access to York, it was noisy and spoiled sitting outside. The staff Brilliant and perhaps one suggestion, a chair in addition to the sofa, or better still 2 comfy chairs instead of sofa would be better. X.

Marion from Wigan stayed at Melrose Cottage for 3 nights in August 2017


Beautiful cottages

Review submitted on Tue, 09 May 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We recently held our wedding reception at Villa Farm and booked 5 cottages in total for both ourselves and our guests to stay in. The cottages were consistently well appointed, clean and well kept and all our guests were impressed with the standard of them. The Melrose Cottage was our 'bridal suite' and it was absolutely perfect. The bedding and towels were beautiful and we absolutely loved our little cottage. We're already planning our next stay with Villa Farm we loved it so much!

Eleanor from YORK stayed at Melrose Cottage for 2 nights in May 2017


Perfect Little Cottage

Review submitted on Mon, 01 May 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We booked this cottage So I could join my sister's hen party (with my newborn). It had all the facilities we needed and was a lovely cottage.

Guest from Leeds stayed at Melrose Cottage for 2 nights in April 2017


Melrose Cottage Stay

Review submitted on Mon, 03 Apr 2017
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
3.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Very nice cottage, clean and quiet. Helpful owner and lots of information on what to do in the area and how to get around.

Claire from stayed at Melrose Cottage for 2 nights in March 2017