FB Twitter

Cottage 1

Cottage 1

4.5
out of 5
Ratings from 21 reviews
95% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.7
Comfort
4.4
Condition
4.7
Location
4.3
Value
4.4
Customer
Service
4.7


Entry into open-plan kitchen,dining and lounge area. Fully equipped kitchen.

Two ground floor bedrooms; one double room and family room containing three single beds. One single sofa bed in the lounge area. Ground floor shower room containing shower cubicle and hand wash basin. Separate W/C.

All bed linen and towels are included.

BBQ facilities are available upon request.

Perfect weekend getaway

Review submitted on Wed, 16 Oct 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We booked for our friend's 30th birthday we couldn't of enjoyed ourselves anymore than we did, everything was clean and tidy beds are soooooo comfy, cute little location and all the amenities we could need we will definitely be returning!!

How did you hear about us?
Stayed before

How would you rate our website?
5

How would you rate your booking procedure?
5

How would you rate your booking procedure?
4

How would you rate your welcome and checking in experience?
5

How would you rate your welcome and checking in experience?
4

How would you rate your overall stay?
5

Would you return to stay with us?
No



Pippa from Scarborough stayed at Cottage 1 for 2 nights in October 2019


The Murton Grange Team replied 90 days ago
Thank you for your 5 out of 5 review for your stay with us at Murton Grange. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and we hope you will come back and stay with us again in the future. Kind Regards The Murton Grange Team

Daughters hen party

Review submitted on Wed, 01 May 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Had an excellent stay
Will definitely recommend your company to family and friends
Stayed as a big group

How did you hear about us?
Internet

How would you rate our website?
5

How would you rate your booking procedure?
5

How would you rate your welcome and checking in experience?
5

How would you rate your overall stay?
5

Would you return to stay with us?
Yes

How did you find your personal events with Party York (if applicable)?
5



Michelle from Tamworth stayed at Cottage 1 for 2 nights in April 2019


A wonderful place to stay in York

Review submitted on Sat, 29 Sep 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
I would really just like to say that you to the wonderful people who looked after me at this wonderful apartment whilst starting a new job on York. The property was ideal at a great price and helped me settle in as I adjusted to life away from home for the first time. I would recommend this beautiful area for anyone, couples and families and once again thank the most helpful of staff.

How did you hear about us?
Expedia

How would you rate our website?
5

How would you rate your booking procedure?
5

How would you rate your welcome and checking in experience?
5

How would you rate your overall stay?
5

Would you return to stay with us?
Yes



James from Bo'ness stayed at Cottage 1 for 16 nights in September 2018


Clean, Comfortable and Convenient

Review submitted on Mon, 20 Aug 2018
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
I stayed in Cottage One for a week with my husband, adult son and two dogs. The cottage is exactly what is needed when staying in the countryside with dogs; there is nothing for them to break and everything can be wiped clean. The rest of the site was quiet all week. The dogs enjoyed safe off lead walks along the bridlepath. The cottage is well located for visiting York but is also a good base for touring other areas. Monks Cross shopping centre is close and the 24 hour Asda is useful.

How did you hear about us?
Search engine

How would you rate our website?
4

How would you rate your booking procedure?
5

How would you rate your welcome and checking in experience?
5

How would you rate your overall stay?
4

Would you return to stay with us?
Yes



Ann from Deal stayed at Cottage 1 for 7 nights in August 2018


Perfect weekend

Review submitted on Mon, 23 Apr 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
I booked the cottage as part of a large hen party and had and amazing weekend. Very clean, comfortable and value for money

How did you hear about us?
Recommendation

How would you rate our website?
5

How would you rate your booking procedure?
5

How would you rate your welcome and checking in experience?
5

How would you rate your overall stay?
5

Would you return to stay with us?
Yes



Toni from Newcastle Upon Tyne stayed at Cottage 1 for 2 nights in April 2018


Great Venue!!!

Review submitted on Mon, 16 Oct 2017
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Murton Grange was great. The place is spotless and we really enjoyed our stay there. The staff were fantastic with all the various things they organised. I was very impressed. Thanks.

How did you hear about us?
Google

How would you rate our website?
5

How would you rate your booking procedure?
5

How would you rate your welcome and checking in experience?
5

How would you rate your overall stay?
5

Would you return to stay with us?
Yes

How did you find your personal events with Party York (if applicable)?
5



Matt from Milton Keynes stayed at Cottage 1 for 2 nights in October 2017


Lovely cottage

Review submitted on Mon, 18 Sep 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We booked cottages 1 & 8 and they where fantastic. The cottages had everything you could need, a real home away from home.

How did you hear about us?
Party york

How would you rate our website?
5

How would you rate your booking procedure?
5

How would you rate your welcome and checking in experience?
5

How would you rate your overall stay?
5

Would you return to stay with us?
Yes

How did you find your personal events with Party York (if applicable)?
5



Claire from Wirral stayed at Cottage 1 for 2 nights in September 2017


Hen party 21/04/17

Review submitted on Mon, 01 May 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was the smallest of three cottages we hired. Lovely decorated, cosy and ideal for our purpose! All cottages are in close proximity so we never felt away from the group. Less than 10 steps away was the farmhouse where most of the girls were staying. Gorgeous patio/sitting area.

How did you hear about us?
Website

How would you rate our website?
5

How would you rate your booking procedure?
5

How would you rate your welcome and checking in experience?
5

How would you rate your overall stay?
5

Would you return to stay with us?
Yes



Cian from Dunfermline stayed at Cottage 1 for 2 nights in April 2017


My 40th

Review submitted on Mon, 06 Mar 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Had a fantastic stay with 13 of my friends for my 40th and loved every minute, spacious, clean and really enjoyable

How did you hear about us?
Internet

How would you rate our website?
4

How would you rate your booking procedure?
4

How would you rate your welcome and checking in experience?
4

How would you rate your overall stay?
5

Would you return to stay with us?
Yes



Alison from Rotherham stayed at Cottage 1 for 1 nights in March 2017


Great location

Review submitted on Mon, 12 Dec 2016
3.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
The cottage was very clean and nicely presented. Ideal for larger groups and families.
It was comfortable on the whole however the sofa bed was very hard and uncomfortable.
It's not walking distance to local amenities but lots of places within 5/6 miles

How did you hear about us?
Booking.com

How would you rate our website?
4

How would you rate your booking procedure?
3

How would you rate your welcome and checking in experience?
3

How would you rate your overall stay?
4

Would you return to stay with us?
Yes



Emma from Willenhall stayed at Cottage 1 for 1 nights in December 2016


A very pleasant stay

Review submitted on Thu, 10 Nov 2016
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a nice family stay for half-term and enjoyed our cottage. It was located 10 min. from the University and 15 min. fromthe city centre, access to the ring road was also very convenient, even though we wouldn't recommend staying in the cottages that are at a stone's throw of the ring road. The noise insulation, however, is very satisfactory, as well as the heating system, both simple and effective.
The cottage is very comfortable and up to daten tastefully decorated and furnished, the beds firm and the linen provided were amply sufficient. We appreciated the personal amenities like a brand new sponge in the kitchen, paper towel, sugar, tea and coffee.
The staff were friendly, quite helpful and available.
The only thing which could be improved upon is the quality of wifi reception, a bit haphazard to the taste of a connected family.
Altogether, an excellent stay and we would stay at murton Grange again.

How did you hear about us?
booking.com

How would you rate our website?
5

How would you rate your booking procedure?
4

How would you rate your welcome and checking in experience?
5

How would you rate your overall stay?
4

Would you return to stay with us?
Yes

Yann from Marseille stayed at Cottage 1 for 7 nights in October 2016


Nice stand alone cottage

Review submitted on Thu, 27 Oct 2016
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Nice spacious country cottage, worked well for our family of 6. Kids enjoyed getting out and playing.

How did you hear about us?
Booking

How would you rate our website?
5

How would you rate your booking procedure?
5

How would you rate your welcome and checking in experience?
4

How would you rate your overall stay?
4

Would you return to stay with us?
Yes



Joe from San Pietro Val Lamina stayed at Cottage 1 for 2 nights in October 2016


Don't stay here

Review submitted on Wed, 03 Aug 2016
1.0
out of 5

Guest doesn't recommend this property
Cleanliness
1.0
Comfort
1.0
Condition
1.0
Location
1.0
Value
1.0
Customer
Service
1.0
Don't stay here if you have a family - not once did anyone tell us that the place would be full of hen parties. Our cottage "cottage 1" was right in the middle and we were surrounded by quite a few different hen parties in every other cottage. I mentioned when we enquired about booking that we were a family with young children and going to a wedding at sandburn hall on the Sunday and I asked if it would be suitable and was reassured yes it's prefect, as its really close and other guests had used the cottages for that reason also. We have been kept awake all night by screaming, shouting, singing, swearing women, they have them running around the car park with blow up dolls, men in very short pants, people looking in our windows, the next cottage hot tub and sitting area was right next to the are bedroom window. The blinds are either broken or missing and the curtains are paper thin, so the whole place lights up when a taxis arrives. This was not the experience I really had in mind for my 5 and 2 year old, they are too young to be exposed too this type of behaviour. I am totally disappointed and it has spoilt our whole weekend. Dont stay here ever

How did you hear about us?
Search on internet

How would you rate our website?
1

How would you rate your booking procedure?
1

How would you rate your welcome and checking in experience?
1

How would you rate your overall stay?
1

Would you return to stay with us?
No

Keeley from Halifax stayed at Cottage 1 for 2 nights in July 2016


Murton Grange replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for taking the time to leave feedback following your stay. As mentioned when we contacted you direct, we can only apologise for the disturbance caused on the first night only of your stay. At the time of your booking there were only two other properties booked for your dates. Unfortunately we do not have control over who chooses to book online. You raised concerns during your telephone conversation to our on-site manager, prior to your arrival on the Saturday, and he confirmed we did have groups already on site that had arrived Friday. He proceeded to ask you if you wished to cancel, to which you declined and chose to stay. We understand your frustration from the noise caused, however this was only for one night of your stay as all other guests departed on Sunday morning, therefore this issue should not have ruined you entire stay. I can only apologise once again.

Great weekend

Review submitted on Tue, 28 Jun 2016
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a great weekend at the cottages we rented. It was ideal for our needs. The option to reserve the cottages for a week without fee prior to booking was very useful.

How did you hear about us?
Internet search

How would you rate our website?
5

How would you rate your booking procedure?
5

How would you rate your welcome and checking in experience?
3

How would you rate your overall stay?
4

Would you return to stay with us?
Yes



Guest from Halifax stayed at Cottage 1 for 2 nights in June 2016


Good Stag Do Location

Review submitted on Mon, 13 Jun 2016
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Booked 3 cottages for a party of 20. Accommodation was great for what we needed. Whilst we didn't use the party planning service, the company happily provided suggested evening venues and taxi numbers etc.

How did you hear about us?
Online

How would you rate our website?
5

How would you rate your booking procedure?
3

How would you rate your welcome and checking in experience?
5

How would you rate your overall stay?
5

Would you return to stay with us?
Yes



David from Mirfield stayed at Cottage 1 for 2 nights in June 2016


Lovely location. Lovely cottage. Cannot find fault with anything. 5 ladies very happy. 100%

Review submitted on Mon, 14 Dec 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Clean. Clean.clean. You should give your cleaning staff a pay rise. And take some apples to feed four hungry horses. Absolutely lovely location. Will come back in the summer when we can sit outside and take the view in. Alan the taxi driver was brilliant. Will come back and book him again. Very helpful and a gent. Thank you for our stay . Excellent.

How would you rate our website?
5

How would you rate your booking procedure?
5

How would you rate your welcome and checking in experience?
5

How would you rate your overall stay?
5

Would you return to stay with us?
Yes



Alex from Wylam stayed at Cottage 1 for 1 nights in December 2015


Murton Grange replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for taking the time to respond to our survey regarding your recent stay at Murton Grange, York. We are pleased to see that you enjoyed your stay and would be delighted if you book again at Murton Grange in the future. With kind regards - Murton Grange.

Shame about some of the other guests....

Review submitted on Fri, 14 Aug 2015
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
3.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The cottage was exactly as described and comfortable for a few nights. Customer service throughout the booking process and on our arrival was fantastic and made us feel welcome. The use of a washing machine as the cottage did not have one was very generous. The only issue was that other units had been rented out to a road gang who appeared each evening with their work vehicles and trailers and parked in considerately. We had to ask them to move one vehicle as they blocked our way out of the front door ( we were using both doors as we had a child in a buggy to accommodate) and the patio door entrance was blocked through the night when the driver turned up on full headlights at 2 am proceeding to unload the truck and trailer. It was perhaps not the ambience you wished for to sit and enjoy the sun during an evening.
I found it particularly bothering as we have been living near a major road building scheme for nearly 3 years and the last thing I wanted was construction vehicles, mini diggers in my view whilst on a relaxing break away in what is marketed as a rural village.
Perhaps Murton Grange could have told us in advance. Certainly did not expect to share with a road gang.!

How did you hear about us?
Web search

How would you rate our website?
3

How would you rate your booking procedure?
4

How would you rate your welcome and checking in experience?
5

How would you rate your overall stay?
4

Would you return to stay with us?
No

Guest from Newton Abbot stayed at Cottage 1 for 5 nights in August 2015


Murton Grange replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for taking the time to respond to our survey regarding your recent stay at Murton Grange, York. We really appreciate your response and value guests feedback, positive and negative, as this helps us to improve for the future. As there is no reception at Murton Grange and we manage bookings and enquiries from an off-site location, our reservations team were unaware that other guests at Murton Grange had large vehicles parked there. I can only apologise for the inconvenience and disturbance that this caused you. However, if this had been reported to us immediately we could have arranged for the vehicles to be moved to alternative parking so as not to disturb you throughout the duration of your stay. With kind regards - Murton Grange.

Excellent Stay

Review submitted on Tue, 04 Aug 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Brilliant property, well maintained, friendly staff, spacious. We couldn't ask for more. Will definitely recommend to others. Thankyou for a great stay!

How did you hear about us?
Google

How would you rate our website?
5

How would you rate your booking procedure?
5

How would you rate your welcome and checking in experience?
5

How would you rate your overall stay?
5

Would you return to stay with us?
Yes



Guest from Stockport stayed at Cottage 1 for 2 nights in July 2015


Murton Grange replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for taking the time to respond to our survey regarding your recent stay at Murton Grange, York. We really appreciate your response and would be delighted if you book to stay at Murton Grange in the future. With kind regards - Murton Grange.

Short stay at Murton Range, July 2015

Review submitted on Sat, 01 Aug 2015
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have just returned from a four day stay at Murton Grange cottages and it was lovely. The cottages are situated about a quarter of a mile from the 'main' road (which is very quiet in itself) and are surrounded by fields. Our cottage was clean and bright with lots of room for three adults and two children. There were plenty of cupboards and drawers for our clothes. The kitchen was well equipped for all our dining needs. Also, we were about 5 minutes away from the Monks' Cross and Vanguard Shopping Centres which were easy to access and had a great selection of high street shops. Another plus is the Park and Ride facility at the Vanguard retail park. We were able to leave the car and get a bus into York in 10 minutes! The village of Murton was a mile from our cottage and has a lovely, old-fashioned pub where we met some friendly locals. Finally it was only 10 minutes from the York Maze where we had a fantastic day. The only downside to the cottage is a main road which passes nearby (which you cannot really see, but you can hear the bigger lorries) but it was not really that intrusive. Finally, it would only be fair to mention that they could have spent a bit more on their mattresses which were too thin.

How did you hear about us?
Internet (Booking.com)

How would you rate our website?
4

How would you rate your booking procedure?
5

How would you rate your welcome and checking in experience?
5

How would you rate your overall stay?
4

Would you return to stay with us?
Yes

Guest from Corpach stayed at Cottage 1 for 4 nights in July 2015


Murton Grange replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for taking the time to respond to our survey regarding your recent stay at Murton Grange, York. We really appreciate your honest response and will take your comments into consideration in order for us to improve for the future. We would be delighted if you book to stay at Murton Grange in the future. With kind regards - Murton Grange.

Beautiful location, perfect cottages with great support from Ben!

Review submitted on Mon, 06 Jul 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A group of 13 of us stayed at Murton Grange for my friend's hen do(cottages 1 & 2)! Absolutely fantastic. Ben the site manager was great, made us feel very relaxed, helped with pointing out helpful taxi services and was available at the drop of a hat when we need more toilet roll! The cottages are ideal for any sort of stay, they are well equipped with everything you need and very comfortable. Alan's local taxi service is highly recommended too, he was fab. He took us to and from York town each time and agreed a very reasonable price per person each way. Absolute star. These cottages are a great price too. Veryvery highly recommendend!

How did you hear about us?
internet

How would you rate our website?
5

How would you rate your booking procedure?
5

How would you rate your welcome and checking in experience?
5

How would you rate your overall stay?
5

Would you return to stay with us?
Yes

Guest from stayed at Cottage 1 for 2 nights in July 2015


Murton Grange replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for taking the time to respond to our survey regarding your recent stay at Murton Grange, York. We really appreciate your response and would be delighted if you book to stay at Murton Grange in the future. With kind regards - Murton Grange.

Great cottages, we're thinking about returning here already. Best stag doo ever.

Review submitted on Mon, 22 Jun 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
I'd booked three cottages to provide the best accommodation and location for 15 men on a stag doo. And I can honestly say I achieved it with top marks from everyone who came.
The cottages were perfect for our poker night, 15 minutes away from our FootGolf venue, 8 minutes from the go-karting and 15 minutes from York's night life. Perfect.
The cottages are beautiful and comfy.
Ben the groundsman is welcoming, funny and a top bloke.
Thank you to all at Murton Grange.

How did you hear about us?
A friend

How would you rate our website?
5

How would you rate your booking procedure?
5

How would you rate your welcome and checking in experience?
5

How would you rate your overall stay?
5

Would you return to stay with us?
Yes



Guest from Runcorn stayed at Cottage 1 for 2 nights in June 2015


Murton Grange replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at Murton Grange. We are delighted to see that you enjoyed your stay and hope you do return to stay with us in the future