FB Twitter

Cottage 2

Cottage 2

4.4
out of 5
Ratings from 22 reviews
95% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.6
Comfort
4.2
Condition
4.2
Location
4.4
Value
4.3
Customer
Service
4.6


Entry into open-plan kitchen,dining and lounge area. Fully equipped kitchen.

Stairs leading to first floor. Two first floor bedrooms: one family room containing; one double bed and three single beds. One triple room containing; three single beds. First floor bathroom containing walk in shower, hand wash basin and W/C.

All bed linen and towels are included.

BBQ facilities are available upon request.

Lovely cottage

Review submitted on Wed, 17 Apr 2019
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a great time for a hen weekend. The cottages have everything you need. A suggestion is to bring a sleep mask as the sunlight in the morning can be bright.

How did you hear about us?
Google search

How would you rate our website?
4

How would you rate your booking procedure?
5

How would you rate your welcome and checking in experience?
4

How would you rate your overall stay?
5

Would you return to stay with us?
Yes

How did you find your personal events with Party York (if applicable)?
4



Sarah from Southampton stayed at Cottage 2 for 2 nights in April 2019


Great weekend

Review submitted on Fri, 12 Oct 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed for the weekend for a hen party and had a great time. The accommodation was great, all the essentials provided, clean and the space downstairs was good. Upstairs is a little crowded but we knew that with 4 beds in one room and 3 in the other.

How did you hear about us?
Internet search

How would you rate our website?
4

How would you rate your booking procedure?
5

How would you rate your welcome and checking in experience?
5

How would you rate your overall stay?
5

Would you return to stay with us?
Yes



Eleanor from Manchester stayed at Cottage 2 for 2 nights in September 2018


Pleasant stay

Review submitted on Sat, 15 Sep 2018
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Pleasant stay and very clean very spacious needs updating not as nice as Villa Farm but still good accommodation

How did you hear about us?
Online

How would you rate our website?
5

How would you rate your booking procedure?
5

How would you rate your welcome and checking in experience?
5

How would you rate your overall stay?
5

Would you return to stay with us?
Yes



Guest from Halifax stayed at Cottage 2 for 1 nights in September 2018


Dave’s stag do weekend

Review submitted on Mon, 26 Feb 2018
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Great place, really easy to get into York, couldn’t of picked better place to stay for my mates stag do, would definitely recommend

How did you hear about us?
Internet

How would you rate our website?
5

How would you rate your booking procedure?
5

How would you rate your welcome and checking in experience?
5

How would you rate your overall stay?
5

Would you return to stay with us?
Yes



Daniel from Gainsborough stayed at Cottage 2 for 2 nights in February 2018


Great stay.

Review submitted on Mon, 27 Nov 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Great accommodation for groups, big open social cottages, conveniently close to York town centre by taxi. Comfortable and all in all a great stay.

How did you hear about us?
Previous stay.

How would you rate our website?
4

How would you rate your booking procedure?
4

How would you rate your welcome and checking in experience?
4

How would you rate your overall stay?
5

Would you return to stay with us?
Yes



Harry from Leeds stayed at Cottage 2 for 2 nights in November 2017


Hen part weekend

Review submitted on Tue, 05 Sep 2017
3.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
3.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Thank you for a welcoming stay at your cottage. The cottage was clean and provided us with what we needed. The only negative was the shower was poor it wasn't very powerful and if stayed again with number of girls would book accomodation with more than one bathroom. Other than that a comfortable stay.

How did you hear about us?
Internet

How would you rate our website?
4

How would you rate your booking procedure?
4

How would you rate your welcome and checking in experience?
4

How would you rate your overall stay?
4

Would you return to stay with us?
Yes



Heather from Bedale stayed at Cottage 2 for 2 nights in September 2017


Good for a hen do

Review submitted on Mon, 07 Aug 2017
3.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
3.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Great location (£20 in a 7 seater taxi to town). It was modern and the beds were comfy. Ideal for a hen party as there was an ok sized living room and a table and chairs outside for socialising. Good selection of kitchen appliances and glasses etc.
Only grumbles were that there were no blinds in the roof windows so we were woken up by the sun at around 6am every morning. Also, none of the lamps in the bedrooms worked.

How did you hear about us?
Google

How would you rate our website?
4

How would you rate your booking procedure?
5

How would you rate your welcome and checking in experience?
5

How would you rate your overall stay?
4

Would you return to stay with us?
Yes

How did you find your personal events with Party York (if applicable)?
5



Amy from S44 6px stayed at Cottage 2 for 2 nights in August 2017


My 40th

Review submitted on Mon, 13 Mar 2017
3.5
out of 5

Guest doesn't recommend this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
2.0
Condition
2.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Really enjoyed our stay but on arrival we found a broken bed but because we did not report it they charged me £185

How did you hear about us?
Internet

How would you rate our website?
4

How would you rate your booking procedure?
4

How would you rate your welcome and checking in experience?
3

How would you rate your overall stay?
4

Would you return to stay with us?
No



Alison from Rotherham stayed at Cottage 2 for 1 nights in March 2017


Murton Grange replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for taking the time to leave feedback. I am pleased that overall you enjoyed stay. Following guest's departure, the housekeepers enter the cottages and begin with stripping the beds. Each cottage is thoroughly checked for damages and we then release guest's card details providing everything is ok. Should the bed have already been damaged, the previous guests would have been charged for this. I am sure you can appreciate the reason for our charge.

Perfect

Review submitted on Wed, 16 Nov 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Stayed at Murton grange for girls away weekend. Cottage was ideal for our party, it was comfortable, cosy and well maintained. It's on the outskirts of York however you can get a book a taxi from cottage into York easily. This place is a little gem and will certainly be back. Team and Murton Grange look after you really well

How did you hear about us?
Booking . Com

How would you rate our website?
5

How would you rate your booking procedure?
5

How would you rate your welcome and checking in experience?
5

How would you rate your overall stay?
5

Would you return to stay with us?
Yes



Fiona from Redcar stayed at Cottage 2 for 1 nights in November 2016


enjoyed staying at Murton Cottages ideal for a trip into York

Review submitted on Mon, 24 Oct 2016
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Ideal for large families who all want to be together. Cottages were clean and tidy. It would have been nice for some books or games to be available in the cottages

How did you hear about us?
Internet

How would you rate our website?
4

How would you rate your booking procedure?
5

How would you rate your welcome and checking in experience?
5

How would you rate your overall stay?
4

Would you return to stay with us?
Yes



Moira from Hebburn stayed at Cottage 2 for 2 nights in October 2016


Hen weekend

Review submitted on Mon, 08 Aug 2016
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Brilliant stay for a friends hen weekend. Cottage was clean and comfortable. Hot tub and waiters really finished the weekend. I would definitely recommend this to others. Thank you

How did you hear about us?
A friend

How would you rate our website?
4

How would you rate your booking procedure?
5

How would you rate your welcome and checking in experience?
4

How would you rate your overall stay?
5

Would you return to stay with us?
Yes

How did you find your personal events with Party York (if applicable)?
5



Lyndsey from Hartlepool stayed at Cottage 2 for 2 nights in July 2016


A wonderful experience and perfect location for a Hen- do /family break

Review submitted on Fri, 22 Jul 2016
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Everything regarding Murton Grange was first class, from the service, advice and assistance offered to the aftercare package. I have no doubt in recommending this package to anyone- and the addition of the hot tub combined with the wonderful weather was fabulous.

Unlike other establishments, no hard sell and attention to detail were above and beyond expectation

How did you hear about us?
searched internet for suitable establishments

How would you rate our website?
5

How would you rate your booking procedure?
5

How would you rate your welcome and checking in experience?
5

How would you rate your overall stay?
5

Would you return to stay with us?
Yes

How did you find your personal events with Party York (if applicable)?
4



Alison from County Durham stayed at Cottage 2 for 2 nights in July 2016


Amazing

Review submitted on Mon, 27 Jun 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Could not fault this accommodation for anything rooms were clean and spacious beds comfortable. We went on a hen night and every one of us (8) were over the moon. Hot tub went down a treat. Everyone who I spoke to arranging this was very helpful. Definitely coming again.

How did you hear about us?
Google

How would you rate our website?
5

How would you rate your booking procedure?
5

How would you rate your welcome and checking in experience?
5

How would you rate your overall stay?
5

Would you return to stay with us?
Yes



Claire from Silksworth stayed at Cottage 2 for 2 nights in June 2016


Stay at the murton

Review submitted on Mon, 23 Nov 2015
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Really impressed, the size of the cottage is great, all very clean and in good condition, the recommended taxi driver was a top bloke as well, would certainly stay again

How did you hear about us?
Booking.com

How would you rate our website?
5

How would you rate your booking procedure?
5

How would you rate your welcome and checking in experience?
5

How would you rate your overall stay?
5

Would you return to stay with us?
Yes



Jamie from Bournemouth stayed at Cottage 2 for 1 nights in November 2015


Murton Grange replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for taking the time to respond to our survey regarding your recent stay at Murton Grange, York. We are pleased you had a great time and would be delighted if you choose to stay at Murton Grange again in the future. With kind regards

Review of Cottage 2

Review submitted on Mon, 09 Nov 2015
3.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
3.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed for 1 night (Saturday) recently. It was very a flexible arrangement regarding check in. Very comfortable beds and very good value for money. Very clean and well equipped. The only slight issue was a rowdy disturbance during the early hours (5am) by nearby cottage guests who were very noisy. This only lasted about half an hour but was a sudden awakening very early. However This could have been a "one off" and it would not stop me from booking again.

How did you hear about us?
On line

How would you rate our website?
4

How would you rate your booking procedure?
5

How would you rate your welcome and checking in experience?
5

How would you rate your overall stay?
3

Would you return to stay with us?
Yes



Guest from Hull stayed at Cottage 2 for 1 nights in November 2015


Murton Grange replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for taking the time to respond to our survey regarding your recent stay at Murton Grange, York. We are sorry for the disturbance which you experienced from other guests staying on site. We do remind guests to be respectful of others on site, however this can be difficult to control from time to time. We really appreciate your response and are delighted to see you would choose to stay at Murton Grange again in the future. With kind regards - Murton Grange.

Perfect Hen weekend

Review submitted on Mon, 28 Sep 2015
3.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
3.0
Location
3.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
3.0
Eight of us stayed here for a hen weekend, it was perfect from the size of the cottage, location and the customer service provided through the staff at Murton Grange!

How did you hear about us?
Internet

How would you rate our website?
4

How would you rate your booking procedure?
4

How would you rate your welcome and checking in experience?
4

How would you rate your overall stay?
5

Would you return to stay with us?
Yes



Amy from Leeds stayed at Cottage 2 for 2 nights in September 2015


Murton Grange replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for taking the time to complete our recent feedback survey. I am pleased to hear that overall you enjoyed your stay with us at Murton Grange. We value guest feedback and appreciate your comments. We would be delighted if you choose to stay with us again in the future. Kindest regards Murton Grange York

cottage 2

Review submitted on Mon, 17 Aug 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We all had a wonderful time at cottage 2.
The cottage was clean and had everything we needed. Tip.. pack toilet role 1 isnt enough between 8. Thankyou!

How did you hear about us?
internet

How would you rate our website?
5

How would you rate our website?
4

How would you rate your booking procedure?
4

How would you rate your welcome and checking in experience?
5

How would you rate your overall stay?
5

Would you return to stay with us?
Yes

How did you find your personal events with Party York (if applicable)?
5



Hannah from Loughbrough stayed at Cottage 2 for 2 nights in August 2015


Murton Grange replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for taking the time to respond to our survey regarding your recent stay at Murton Grange, York. We really appreciate your response and comments. I can only apologise that you did not have enough toilet roll. We usually supply several rolls per bathroom, which appears to have been overlooked by our housekeeper on this occasion. We have been more than happy to bring you some more should you have contacted our site manager or any of the numbers provided in the welcome pack. With kind regards - Murton Grange.

Beautiful location, perfect cottages with great support from Ben!

Review submitted on Mon, 06 Jul 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A group of 13 of us stayed at Murton Grange for my friend's hen do(cottages 1 & 2)! Absolutely fantastic. Ben the site manager was great, made us feel very relaxed, helped with pointing out helpful taxi services and was available at the drop of a hat when we need more toilet roll! The cottages are ideal for any sort of stay, they are well equipped with everything you need and very comfortable. Alan's local taxi service is highly recommended too, he was fab. He took us to and from York town each time and agreed a very reasonable price per person each way. Absolute star. These cottages are a great price too. Veryvery highly recommendend!

How did you hear about us?
internet

How would you rate our website?
5

How would you rate your booking procedure?
5

How would you rate your welcome and checking in experience?
5

How would you rate your overall stay?
5

Would you return to stay with us?
Yes

Guest from stayed at Cottage 2 for 2 nights in July 2015


Murton Grange replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for taking the time to respond to our survey regarding your recent stay at Murton Grange, York. We really appreciate your response and would be delighted if you book to stay at Murton Grange in the future. With kind regards - Murton Grange.

Loved it! Epic stag doo.

Review submitted on Mon, 22 Jun 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
I'd booked three cottages to provide the best accommodation and location for 15 men on a stag doo. And I can honestly say I achieved it with top marks from everyone who came.
The cottages were perfect for our poker night, 15 minutes away from our FootGolf venue, 8 minutes from the go-karting and 15 minutes from York's night life. Perfect.
The cottages are beautiful and comfy.
Ben the groundsman is welcoming, funny and a top bloke.
Thank you to all at Murton Grange.

How did you hear about us?
friend

How would you rate our website?
5

How would you rate your booking procedure?
5

How would you rate your welcome and checking in experience?
5

How would you rate your overall stay?
5

Would you return to stay with us?
Yes



Guest from Runcorn stayed at Cottage 2 for 2 nights in June 2015


Murton Grange replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for taking the time to respond to our survey regarding your recent stay at Murton Grange, York. We really appreciate your response and would be delighted if you book to stay at Murton Grange in the future. With kind regards - Murton Grange.

Hen Party Stay

Review submitted on Mon, 08 Jun 2015
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Would have given excellent but the fridge was very smelly and had to be cleaned on arrival, some bed sheets had cigarette burns in and we did not realise 2 of the beds were sofa beds. other than this very enjoyable stay, even booked us taxis into York at short notice. We would return. luxury BBQ we booked was fantastic - highly reccommended

How did you hear about us?
friends stayed at Villa Fram

How would you rate our website?
4

How would you rate your booking procedure?
4

How would you rate your welcome and checking in experience?
4

How would you rate your overall stay?
4

Would you return to stay with us?
Yes

How did you find your personal events with Party York (if applicable)?
4



Guest from Burnley stayed at Cottage 2 for 2 nights in May 2015


Murton Grange replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback following your recent reservation at Murton Grange Cottages. Please accept my sincere apologies with regards to the fridge and bed linen. I will be taking the matter up further with our housekeeper as to why this was overlooked. I am pleased that you enjoyed the BBQ which we arranged for you. I will pass on your kind comments to the caterers. Overall I am delighted that you would choose to return and hope you see our improvements should you book again. Thank you again for your honest feedback, with kind regards.

Excellent stay

Review submitted on Tue, 26 May 2015
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We had a fantastic time again. Staff are very accommodating and are friendly. Can't complain about anything. We will definitely be back in the future. Thank you.

How did you hear about us?
From a friend.

How would you rate our website?
3

How would you rate your booking procedure?
4

How would you rate your welcome and checking in experience?
4

How would you rate your overall stay?
5

Would you return to stay with us?
Yes

How did you find your personal events with Party York (if applicable)?
5



Guest from stayed at Cottage 2 for 2 nights in May 2015


Murton Grange replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for taking the time to complete our feedback survey. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay and hope you choose to book with us again in the future. Kindest regards, Murton Grange

Lovely cottages, great for a large group and very well equipped

Review submitted on Mon, 13 Apr 2015
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We enjoyed our stay at Murton Grange - the cottages were clean, well equipped and comfortable. Although we were a taxi ride out of the city it worked fine in a large group as the taxi journey was only about £3 per person each way. I was a bit worried that it would be noisy with 2 other hen groups staying at the same time but actually we hardly heard anything. The bedroom I slept in had a blackout blind which was fantastic for a good nights sleep. The staff were very helpful during the booking process and again once we arrived, with someone being there to meet us and they quickly sorted out an issue we had (we were unable to close one of the window vents). The only negative I would mention is that we came down in the morning to find a lot of ants in the kitchen, as we had left some food out on the side. We got rid of them quickly using some ant powder we found under the sink - I assume this is a recurring problem in Cottage 2 so it would have been good to have been pre-warned so we knew not to leave any food on the kitchen counter. Other than that, we were very pleased with the accommodation and would use it again.

How did you hear about us?
Google

How would you rate our website?
4

How would you rate your booking procedure?
5

How would you rate your welcome and checking in experience?
5

How would you rate your overall stay?
4

Would you return to stay with us?
Yes

Guest from stayed at Cottage 2 for 2 nights in April 2015


Murton Grange replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for taking the time to respond to feedback request form. I am pleased to hear that overall you enjoyed your stay. I can only apologise with regards to the ant issue. I will ask our maintenance team to look into this further and hopefully rectify the problem for future guests.