FB Twitter

Cottage 5

Cottage 5

4.4
out of 5
Ratings from 28 reviews
93% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.4
Comfort
4.4
Condition
4.4
Location
4.4
Value
4.3
Customer
Service
4.6


Entry into open-plan kitchen,dining and lounge area. Fully equipped kitchen.

Two ground floor bedrooms: one double room and one triple room containing three single beds. Single sofa bed in the lounge area.

Ground floor house bathroom containing; bath, separate shower cubicle, hand wash basin and W/C.

All bed linen and towels are included.

BBQ facilities are available upon request.

Xmas break

Review submitted on Mon, 06 Jan 2020
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
3.0
Location
4.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We booked two cottages for three days for our Xmas break.
This cottage enabled us all to eat together as we were allowed to bring tables across from our other cottage.
It was warm and comfortable and very clean. Cot and high chair was provided and bedding for sofa bed.
Only quibbles were- taps need attention as they are wobbly in the bathroom, quality of utensils such as veg peelers and knives could be improved as it was hard work prepping the veg for large group at Xmas, but realise many people may not eat in as large groups when staying so close to York.
All in all a good stay.

How did you hear about us?
Internet search

How would you rate our website?
4

How would you rate your booking procedure?
4

How would you rate your welcome and checking in experience?
4

How would you rate your overall stay?
4

Would you return to stay with us?
Yes

Tracey from Barlby stayed at Cottage 5 for 3 nights in December 2019


The Murton Grange Team replied 48 days ago
Thank you for your positive review we are glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We have made note of the areas we could improve and will look into this. We do hope that you will come and stay with us again in the future. Everyone in The Murton Grange Team wishes you a great year :)

Ideal and accommodating

Review submitted on Mon, 06 Jan 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We were travelling with adults and students on a school trip and had very specific requirements for staying close to York. All of which were met by the lovely staff at Murton Grange. They went above and beyond to help our group with the accommodation and anything else needed. The team had a great stay and a good night's sleep - Would absolutely recommend!

How did you hear about us?
Online

How would you rate our website?
5

How would you rate your booking procedure?
5

How would you rate your welcome and checking in experience?
5

How would you rate your overall stay?
5

Would you return to stay with us?
Yes



Kate from Plymouth stayed at Cottage 5 for 1 nights in December 2019


Review

Review submitted on Wed, 02 Oct 2019
3.8
out of 5

Guest doesn't recommend this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
4.0
The slats on my bed kept breaking every time i sat on bed so had no sleep for 2 nights had to sleep on the setee and its was a nice place but was secluded had to go in taxi everywhere, bit expensive for what it was

How did you hear about us?
Friend

How would you rate our website?
2

How would you rate your booking procedure?
3

How would you rate your welcome and checking in experience?
2

How would you rate your overall stay?
3

Would you return to stay with us?
No

How did you find your personal events with Party York (if applicable)?
1



Kerry from Rotherham stayed at Cottage 5 for 2 nights in September 2019


Lovlely weather

Review submitted on Wed, 04 Sep 2019
3.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
3.0
Location
3.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
3.0
Well lovely place to stay , spacious clean . Not to far from pubs . 30mins by taxito York absolutely perfect

How did you hear about us?
Internet

How would you rate our website?
4

How would you rate your booking procedure?
4

How would you rate your welcome and checking in experience?
4

How would you rate your overall stay?
4

Would you return to stay with us?
Yes



Bradley from Doncaster stayed at Cottage 5 for 2 nights in August 2019


Murtle Grange

Review submitted on Tue, 09 Jul 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
It was very good and also very rural Ben the site manager did make us very welcome and provided any help that was required to ensure our stay was a good experience
The cleaning staff also ensured that very thing was fine and or stay of nearly 5 weeks was very very pleasant.
The reservation staff also made every thing easy
Overall a good experience and same as our 3 previous stays with Villa Barn

How did you hear about us?
Prevoius visit

How would you rate our website?
4

How would you rate your booking procedure?
5

How would you rate your welcome and checking in experience?
5

How would you rate your overall stay?
5

Would you return to stay with us?
Yes



Jim from Linlithglow stayed at Cottage 5 for 33 nights in June 2019


Cracking place to stay

Review submitted on Wed, 29 May 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Well placed just off the A64 and not that far from York centre. Very modern and up to date. Will be back again

How did you hear about us?
Google

How would you rate our website?
5

How would you rate your booking procedure?
5

How would you rate your welcome and checking in experience?
4

How would you rate your overall stay?
5

Would you return to stay with us?
Yes



Oliver from Halifax stayed at Cottage 5 for 2 nights in May 2019


Daughters hen party

Review submitted on Wed, 01 May 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Had a fantastic time cottages very clean and spacious also had the farmhouse and cottage 1 cottage 5
Will definitely use again

How did you hear about us?
Internet

How would you rate our website?
5

How would you rate your booking procedure?
5

How would you rate your welcome and checking in experience?
5

How would you rate your overall stay?
5

Would you return to stay with us?
Yes

How did you find your personal events with Party York (if applicable)?
5



Michelle from Tamworth stayed at Cottage 5 for 2 nights in April 2019


Convenient and practical.

Review submitted on Wed, 22 Aug 2018
3.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
3.0
Ideal for our purpose to be able to visit relations spread around county. Everything needed was provided and walks for dog nearby.
No one to great when arrived but sent text saying where to find keys.

How did you hear about us?
Online through Cottages.com

How would you rate our website?
5

How would you rate your booking procedure?
2

How would you rate your welcome and checking in experience?
4

How would you rate your overall stay?
3

Would you return to stay with us?
No



Amanda from stayed at Cottage 5 for 3 nights in August 2018


Great Venue!!!

Review submitted on Mon, 16 Oct 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Murton Grange was great. The place is spotless and we really enjoyed our stay there. The staff were fantastic with all the various things they organised. I was very impressed. Thanks.

How did you hear about us?
Google

How would you rate our website?
5

How would you rate your booking procedure?
5

How would you rate your welcome and checking in experience?
5

How would you rate your overall stay?
5

Would you return to stay with us?
Yes

How did you find your personal events with Party York (if applicable)?
5



Matt from Milton Keynes stayed at Cottage 5 for 2 nights in October 2017


Amazing

Review submitted on Mon, 18 Sep 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Just back from a perfect weekend in York staying in the cottages. Perfect for getting into York with taxis just over £10 .

Here for my stag do and will be returning again for sure. Helped make it the best weekend!

How did you hear about us?
Online

How would you rate our website?
5

How would you rate your booking procedure?
5

How would you rate your welcome and checking in experience?
5

How would you rate your overall stay?
5

Would you return to stay with us?
Yes



Stuart from Howden stayed at Cottage 5 for 2 nights in September 2017


Nice cottage

Review submitted on Sat, 19 Aug 2017
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We spent a very relaxing holidays at Murton Grange. Cottages are very nice and spacious. Customer service was very good and prompt. We recommend it as a basis if you want to visit the area.

How did you hear about us?
Internet

How would you rate our website?
4

How would you rate your booking procedure?
5

How would you rate your welcome and checking in experience?
4

How would you rate your overall stay?
5

Would you return to stay with us?
Yes



Massimo from Watford stayed at Cottage 5 for 5 nights in August 2017


Just what we needed!

Review submitted on Wed, 26 Jul 2017
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Booked 3 cottages for a hen weekend, was exactly what we needed and accommodated the 20+ people with ease. Found the communication to be easy and straight forward with the venue as were the bookings for the events we had planned. The cottages were spacious and clean and there were no problems with noise or other guests.

Thank you for a lovely weekend.

How did you hear about us?
Google search

How would you rate our website?
4

How would you rate your booking procedure?
4

How would you rate your welcome and checking in experience?
3

How would you rate your overall stay?
4

Would you return to stay with us?
Yes

How did you find your personal events with Party York (if applicable)?
4



Guest from Otley stayed at Cottage 5 for 2 nights in July 2017


Hen party

Review submitted on Mon, 26 Jun 2017
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Very good, however I think the sofa bed wasn't comfy enough to be classed as a paying bed.
Also the shower wasn't very good, it was either extremely hot or too cold, we all tried it and none of us could regulate it.
Otherwise everything was excellent.
Thankyou.

How did you hear about us?
Found on Google

How would you rate our website?
5

How would you rate your booking procedure?
5

How would you rate your welcome and checking in experience?
3

How would you rate your overall stay?
4

Would you return to stay with us?
Yes



Kate from Otley stayed at Cottage 5 for 2 nights in June 2017


A week in Murton Grange

Review submitted on Mon, 01 May 2017
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
A nice and quiet cottage close to York, close to the shops and park and ride.
Many posibilities for daytrips in the neigbourhood

How did you hear about us?
Booking.com

How would you rate our website?
4

How would you rate your booking procedure?
5

How would you rate your welcome and checking in experience?
4

How would you rate your overall stay?
4

Would you return to stay with us?
Yes



Mireille from Ijsselstein stayed at Cottage 5 for 6 nights in April 2017


Hen party weekend

Review submitted on Mon, 10 Apr 2017
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Really great place to stay, good location to get into york. Quite close to a main road. Otherwise brilliant stay, I'd recommend it for a hen do

How did you hear about us?
Google

How would you rate our website?
4

How would you rate your booking procedure?
4

How would you rate your welcome and checking in experience?
4

How would you rate your overall stay?
4

Would you return to stay with us?
No



Lucy from London stayed at Cottage 5 for 2 nights in March 2017


Shirt leisure/shopping trip

Review submitted on Sun, 11 Dec 2016
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The cottage was lovely. We did have some difficulty finding it in the dark but that was our fault for not having the sat Nav with us. However, Karen and Ben were extremely helpful in directing us over the phone. Beds were clean and comfortable. Bathroom v clean. Jive large kitchen/diner-lounge. Useful information brochure with taxied/restaurants etc Handy for Monks Cross and a 10 drive/taxi into the Centre of York. Enjoyed our two nights.

How did you hear about us?
Bookings.com

How would you rate our website?
4

How would you rate your booking procedure?
4

How would you rate your welcome and checking in experience?
5

How would you rate your overall stay?
5

Would you return to stay with us?
Yes



Avril from Stockton On Tees stayed at Cottage 5 for 2 nights in December 2016


Very nice cottage near York.

Review submitted on Tue, 15 Nov 2016
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Very nice and clean cottages in the neighbourhood of York. A real recommendation for groups travelling to York.

How did you hear about us?
Booking.com

How would you rate our website?
4

How would you rate your booking procedure?
4

How would you rate your welcome and checking in experience?
4

How would you rate your overall stay?
5

Would you return to stay with us?
Yes



Davy from Kontich stayed at Cottage 5 for 2 nights in November 2016


Great stay

Review submitted on Mon, 10 Oct 2016
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
There were 19 of us on a hen do split between the Farmhouse and cottage 5. We used the farmhouse as our base which was perfect.
They kitchen was clean and had all the facilities required. Lovely big dining table and plenty of seating.
Location was perfect for our day at the races and night out in York. Streamline Taxis arrived with no issue and rang us when on their way and outside.
All in all a great stay!

How did you hear about us?
Found Online

How would you rate our website?
5

How would you rate your booking procedure?
5

How would you rate your welcome and checking in experience?
5

How would you rate your overall stay?
5

Would you return to stay with us?
Yes



Natasha from Hebden Bridge stayed at Cottage 5 for 2 nights in October 2016


York races ! Fab xxx

Review submitted on Mon, 18 Jul 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
I booked here to stay with my boyfriend and his friends as a suprise for his birthday ! As we were going to the races the location was spot on ! Also not far from the town centre either , the cottage was very clean & noise was not a problem as everyone was there for a party however I didn't hear a peep from the others once we were in the cottage , I will definitely be visiting again and would recommend !

How did you hear about us?
Internet

How would you rate our website?
5

How would you rate your booking procedure?
5

How would you rate your welcome and checking in experience?
5

How would you rate your overall stay?
5

Would you return to stay with us?
Yes

How did you find your personal events with Party York (if applicable)?
5



Hannah from Thornton Cleveleys stayed at Cottage 5 for 2 nights in July 2016


Weekend stay in July

Review submitted on Mon, 18 Jul 2016
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Very well equipped and comfortable cottages. We came to York for a hen party so little things like the ice in the freezer, champagne flutes and supply of basic things like kitchen and toilet roll were very helpful. We really enjoyed our stay.

How did you hear about us?
Google

How would you rate our website?
4

How would you rate your booking procedure?
5

How would you rate your welcome and checking in experience?
4

How would you rate your overall stay?
5

Would you return to stay with us?
Yes



Rachael from York stayed at Cottage 5 for 2 nights in July 2016


Perfect!

Review submitted on Sun, 13 Mar 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
I can't fault anything. Everything ran smoothly. Cottages are lovely, very well equipped. Communication is fab with the offices. Thankyou. Would definitely return

How would you rate our website?
5

How would you rate your booking procedure?
5

How would you rate your welcome and checking in experience?
5

How would you rate your overall stay?
5

Would you return to stay with us?
Yes

How did you find your personal events with Party York (if applicable)?
5



Laura from Southport stayed at Cottage 5 for 1 nights in March 2016


Desperately needs updating

Review submitted on Mon, 04 Jan 2016
2.5
out of 5

Guest doesn't recommend this property
Cleanliness
1.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
2.0
Location
4.0
Value
2.0
Customer
Service
3.0
We stayed in cottage 5 over new year. The location was perfect for us, just a 10minute drive into York.
The cottage itself wasn't what we were expecting at all. The pictures we had seen were clearly old pictures. The cottage is in need of a good clean! Curtains, carpets and bathroom especially! The bedrooms were OK and comfortable enough. We had 2 fridges in the kitchen, 1 of which didn't work and a few kitchen untensils didn't work. We had to clean the cooker before we used it. We had a nice big table to sit at but 1 of the chairs was wobbly so we didn't bother using it. We had 2 light bulbs in the living room area out. The bathroom tiles were lose around the shower and had lots of damp.
Could be a lovely place with a bit of money spent on it as most of our complaints could easily be fixed.

How would you rate our website?
4

How would you rate your booking procedure?
4

How would you rate your welcome and checking in experience?
3

How would you rate your overall stay?
3

Would you return to stay with us?
No

Margaret from Whitley Bay stayed at Cottage 5 for 3 nights in December 2015


Murton Grange replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback following your recent stay Murton Grange. We are grateful for guest feedback, positive and negative, as this can only help us to improve for the future. Please accept my sincere apologies that the cottage did not meet your expectations. I will ensure our maintenance team take a look at the cottage make necessary repairs and take your comments into consideration for our next scheduled redecoration of the cottage. Again please accept my apologies for your disappointment. We hope if you do choose to stay with us again in the future that you will see our improvements.

Hen weekend

Review submitted on Tue, 01 Sep 2015
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Excellent cottage and great location. Really friendly staff (they even stayed around to collect our shopping delovery because traffic meant we were arriving too late.

Thank you very much.


Guest from Stanmore Place stayed at Cottage 5 for 2 nights in August 2015


Murton Grange replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for taking the time to respond to our survey regarding your recent stay at Murton Grange, York. We really appreciate your response and would be delighted if you book to stay at Murton Grange in the future. With kind regards - Murton Grange.

An enjoyable stay

Review submitted on Sun, 30 Aug 2015
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
3.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A very nice place to stay, cottage 5 was very clean and bright with excellant facilities .
The beds were comfortable and the bathroom was clean and spacious. The kitchen and living room area were also very clean and bright.
A very enjoyable place to stay for our visit to York.

How did you hear about us?
Previous visit to another property

How would you rate our website?
5

How would you rate your booking procedure?
5

How would you rate your welcome and checking in experience?
5

How would you rate your overall stay?
5

Would you return to stay with us?
Yes



Guest from stayed at Cottage 5 for 3 nights in August 2015


Murton Grange replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for taking the time to respond to our survey regarding your recent stay at Murton Grange, York. We really appreciate your kind comments and hope you choose to stay again. With kind regards - Murton Grange.

Hen Weekend 31st july - 2nd august

Review submitted on Mon, 03 Aug 2015
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Had a great weekend! 12 staying in 2 cottages and there was plenty of room, lots of space as the 1st night we all chilled in 1 cottage. I would recommend it to anyone!!

How did you hear about us?
online

How would you rate our website?
4

How would you rate your booking procedure?
5

How would you rate your welcome and checking in experience?
4

How would you rate your overall stay?
5

Would you return to stay with us?
Yes



Guest from stayed at Cottage 5 for 2 nights in July 2015


Murton Grange replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for taking the time to respond to our survey regarding your recent stay at Murton Grange, York. We really appreciate your response and would be more than happy for you to book to stay at Murton Grange in the future. With kind regards - Murton Grange.

Great cottages, we're thinking about returning here already. Best stag doo ever.

Review submitted on Mon, 22 Jun 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
I'd booked three cottages to provide the best accommodation and location for 15 men on a stag doo. And I can honestly say I achieved it with top marks from everyone who came.
The cottages were perfect for our poker night, 15 minutes away from our FootGolf venue, 8 minutes from the go-karting and 15 minutes from York's night life. Perfect.
The cottages are beautiful and comfy.
Ben the groundsman is welcoming, funny and a top bloke.
Thank you to all at Murton Grange.

How did you hear about us?
A friend

How would you rate our website?
5

How would you rate your booking procedure?
5

How would you rate your welcome and checking in experience?
5

How would you rate your overall stay?
5

Would you return to stay with us?
Yes



Guest from Runcorn stayed at Cottage 5 for 2 nights in June 2015


Murton Grange replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for taking the time to respond to our survey regarding your recent stay at Murton Grange, York. We are delighted with the scores you have provided us and your kind comments. We really appreciate your response and would be more than happy for you to book to stay at Murton Grange in the future. With kind regards - Murton Grange.

Brilliant cottage

Review submitted on Tue, 02 Jun 2015
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Brilliant cottage. Shower is awful though, not very powerful at all, needs a new one. Very clean, comfy, brilliant location. Would recommend to friends

How did you hear about us?
Web

How would you rate our website?
4

How would you rate your booking procedure?
4

How would you rate your welcome and checking in experience?
4

How would you rate your overall stay?
4

Would you return to stay with us?
Yes



Guest from Ilkeston stayed at Cottage 5 for 3 nights in May 2015


Murton Grange replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for taking the time to respond to our feedback survey. We appreciate all feedback and rely on this in order to improve. I will take your comments regarding the shower into consideration for our next weekly meeting and will bring this issue up with the maintenance team. I am pleased to see however that overall you enjoyed your stay and would choose to stay with us again in the future. Kindest regards, Murton Grange.

Hen Weekend

Review submitted on Mon, 01 Jun 2015
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The cottage was very well equipped and presented. The main living area was pleasant, spacious and light with plenty of room. We did not spend too much time there as we were out and about but wouldn't have felt crowded had we needed to.

How did you hear about us?
Internet

How would you rate our website?
4

How would you rate your booking procedure?
5

How would you rate your welcome and checking in experience?
4

How would you rate your overall stay?
5

Would you return to stay with us?
Yes



Elizabeth from Kendal stayed at Cottage 5 for 2 nights in May 2015


Murton Grange replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for taking the time to provide us feedback following your recent stay at Cottage 5, Murton Grange. I am pleased to hear that overall you enjoyed your stay. We would be delighted if you choose to book with us again in the future. Kindest regards, Murton Grange