FB Twitter

Shepherds Cottage

Shepherds Cottage

4.7
out of 5
Ratings from 12 reviews
100% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.3
Comfort
4.9
Condition
4.6
Location
4.6
Value
4.6
Customer
Service
4.9


Making memories!

Review submitted on Sun, 21 Apr 2019
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our family are spread quite far apart in location so we try to get together for a week at least once a year.
Shepherds Cottage is located in one of our favourite places. The cottage has everything we could wish for , spacious and well equipped. Each bedroom has an en-suite which is important to us . The garden,games room and BBQ hut were hugely enjoyed by us all and our 3 Whippet’s . The conservatory was so relaxing in the afternoon after a long walk on the superb beaches .
We can’t wait to return!


Karen from stayed at Shepherds Cottage for 7 nights in April 2019


Samantha Smith replied 41 days ago
Thank you Karen for your great review, we are so pleased that everyone enjoyed their stay, including the Whippets. hope to see you again next year thanks Sam

Great base for exploring all Northumberland has to offee

Review submitted on Wed, 27 Mar 2019
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This cottage was a fantastic find - well laid out and provisioned, plenty spacious for the number of guests it caters to (three communal rooms, plus the kitchen and outside games room).
Comfortable bedrooms with plenty of space. Positioned in a quiet space outside the village but there's a pavement to walk in and Beadnell is all of half a mile away. Easy to hop into the car and explore the Northumberland coast or head into the Cheviots (only a 30 minute drive to Wooler). Sam and Steve were both lovely and accommodating, and made us feel very welcome. Would definitely recommend and actually wondering if we can fit in another trip, because a weekend really wasn't long enough...


Guest from York stayed at Shepherds Cottage for 3 nights in March 2019


Samantha Smith replied 77 days ago
Hi Laura Thank you kindly for your wonderful review, we are so pleased that you enjoyed your weekend and it was lovely to meet you all. WE do hope that you come and stay again soon Kind regard Sam x

The best dog friendly property we have come across

Review submitted on Sun, 03 Mar 2019
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is the third time we have stayed at this property and if we are visiting this area we would not consider anywhere else. We have two Jackapoo's who love the nearby beach. The owner is Sam Smith who cannot do enough for you & is contactable at any time along with her brother Steve. We have already decided to book again for the same time next year.

Rob from Manchester stayed at Shepherds Cottage for 7 nights in February 2019


Samantha Smith replied 105 days ago
Hi Rob, thank you so much for your wonderful review, it was great to see you all again this year and the new little addition - betty. We are so pleased that you love the cottage and we look forward to seeing you all again next year. thank you also for letting me know you made an error with the cleanliness score (marking it 3 out of 5 instead of 4 out of 5) I will ensure that the cobwebs are cleaned away from the corners of the rooms thanks Sam

Family retreat

Review submitted on Sat, 02 Mar 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A beautiful property in a great location with the beach just a 15 minute walk away. There are good local amenities within 5 minutes drive. The cottage itself is wonderfully spacious, there was 2 children and 7 adults plus our dogs staying there for a week, and there was more than enough room for us all. Whether you choose to relax in the conservatory watching the wildlife in the garden, or watching tv in the living area with a hot chocolate next to the real fire or doing cross words at the huge kitchen table or even sat playing board games, or going to play snooker, pool, darts in the games room you're sure to have enough room and things to do. It caters for all ages our group ranged from 2yrs to 72yrs old. Also there is a wonderful bbq hut in the garden something not to miss using it was so snug on a cold February night. The garden is secured well for your dogs and is quite big for them to have a good run around if there not tired out by all the walking you have done. Definitely a place not to be missed out on. I don't normally do reviews but I can honestly say we all loved this cottage. Sam and her brother Stephen make you feel so welcome it was lovely meeting such genuinely lovely people. Plus Sam gave us a sneak preview of her new shepherds retreat lodges. They are absolutely stunning so if you want a romantic break for 2 i would definitely book one. Just imagine been sat outside in the hot tub with a glass of wine then going to bed looking through the glass roof falling asleep looking at the stars. Plus the other shepherds retreat lodge sleeps 4 so you don't have to miss out if you have children with you. We will definitely be returning for sure . I had one upset 8yr old girl that did not want to leave.

Cheryl from Hull stayed at Shepherds Cottage for 7 nights in February 2019


Samantha Smith replied 105 days ago
Hi Cheryl, I'm going to hire you for my marketing !! Thank you so much for this fabulous review, we loved meeting you and all the family and we are so pleased that you loved the cottage. Also thank you for your feedback about the new huts as it really helps to know we are doing the right thing, you will have to come and stay in them next time. Thank you for your lovely presents you gave us it was so kind and very much appreciated, still have the tulips - they are lasting well. Take care and see you again Sam x

Wonderful stay in fantastic cottage

Review submitted on Sun, 04 Nov 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Clean, comfortable, spacious, has everything you need, greeted with a huge salted caramel cake! Perfect for our 3 generations as lots of room to spread out and relax. Games room was fantastic for 2 teenage boys. BBQ hut unique and cosy! Hosts were lovely and we would definitely return.

Jo from stayed at Shepherds Cottage for 7 nights in October 2018


Sam Smith replied 224 days ago
Thanks Jo for your kind review, It was lovely to meet you and looking forward to your return next year

Fantastic home to discover northumberland from.

Review submitted on Mon, 22 Oct 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We booked the October school week with friends in Shepherd's Cottage, hoping to explore an area we did not know - what a fantastic base it turned out to be. The accommodation was more than we could have hoped for (4 adults and 3 'tween' girls) and we were made especially welcome by Sam and the lovely cake, chocolates and wine she left for us (as well as milk, tea, coffee ect.) There was also lots of very useful information on the local area. Shepherd's Cottage has everything and more you could want for a holiday home and was a fantastic place to spend time with friends ..... the girls even cooked for us one night and hosted a Murder Mystery game, which was great fun. We loved the BBQ hut and enjoyed cooking the great produce from the butcher in Bamburgh and the Games Room was well used. Beadnell is a short walk from the cottage and The Craster Arms pub does great food. We fell in love with the Northumberland coast - beautiful beaches, castles, great food, fantastic golf courses and friendly locals. The girls loved their day out to Alnwick Castle and learning the 'fly' a broomstick. We will definitely be back to explore some more and hope the weather will be as kind. Many thanks to Sam and family for making this a holiday with lots of memories.

Wendy from stayed at Shepherds Cottage for 7 nights in October 2018


Samantha Smith replied 238 days ago
Thank you Wendy for your fabulous review, it makes me so happy that we have helped to make lots of wonderful memories of your holidays. It is lovely to hear that you all had a fantastic time and made use of all the facilities. We loved having you to stay and hope that you come again sometime thanks Sam

Great place to stay!

Review submitted on Wed, 03 Oct 2018
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
A group of friends stayed at Shepherds Cottage for a week & thoroughly enjoyed it. The house, although on a main road, is remarkably quiet, very well equipped & comfortable. There is oodles of space for both dining & relaxing. Outside space is lovely with plenty of patio furniture & fantastic games room. Good communication with the owner who responded quickly to any queries. Overall a great base for a holiday in Northumberland.

Judith from stayed at Shepherds Cottage for 7 nights in September 2018


Excellent service. Fantastic, comfortable and well equipped accommodation.

Review submitted on Fri, 28 Sep 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a lovely catch up with friends in Shepherd’s Cottage. The Cottage is very comfortable and has everything you would need. There are lots of room to sit and chat including a lovely log fire. There are various dining areas and a very well equipped kitchen for catering. The games room went down well.
Any issues we had were dealt with promptly and we really appreciated the lovely welcome we received from the owners including a delicious cake.


Gillian from Edinburgh stayed at Shepherds Cottage for 3 nights in September 2018


Beautiful holiday home

Review submitted on Sun, 05 Aug 2018
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The exterior of this cottage belies the beautiful and very large interior. All the rooms are large light and airy. Plenty of room to find your own space when need be. Three eating areas for different occasion meals, Indoor BBQ was great fun, and handy should it rain. The massive games room was a No 1 hit with everyone and kept the grandchildren occupied from first thing in the morning, allowing parents a little lie in! An exceptional property which provided an exceptional holiday.

Catherine from Berwick stayed at Shepherds Cottage for 7 nights in July 2018


Samantha Smith replied 314 days ago
Hi Cathi, Thank you for your wonderful review and it was lovely to have you all stay. Pleased the games room game in useful for the grandchildren. Thank you for leaving the cottage so tidy when you left it was much appreciated

A lovely relaxing cottage

Review submitted on Sun, 29 Jul 2018
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Excellent pre stay information.
A great cottage with plenty of room for 8 adults and 2 babies.
The games room was popular and the weather was very kind.
Lots of interesting places to visit and eat nearby.
Thank you Samantha and family, we had a brilliant holiday. The welcome pack was well received, especially the cake! The dog also liked his treats.
Hoping to return next year.
Carol


Carol from stayed at Shepherds Cottage for 7 nights in July 2018


Samantha Smith replied 322 days ago
Hi Carol Thank you for your kind review, we are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay at the cottage and enjoyed exploring Northumberland Sam x

An ideal base with something for everyone

Review submitted on Wed, 25 Jul 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The entire family had a brilliant week in Shepherds Cottage - the actual cottage provided us with everything we could need and the location was perfect for exploring the area. The games room was particularly appreciated as were all the 'goodies' left to make us feel welcome - thank you, Sam. A minor issue occurred and this was dealt with swiftly and efficiently so thank you again, Stephen, for sorting this.
We visited various beaches, castles, gardens as well as enjoying crabbing off the harbour wall, crazy golf at Seahouses, the Grace Darling Museum at Bamburgh and causeway crossing to Holy Island, as well as a selection of good eateries suitable for all ages. Our last morning was a breakfast brunch at the Salt Water Café in Beadnell - excellent!


Lynn from stayed at Shepherds Cottage for 7 nights in July 2018


Samantha Smith replied 322 days ago
Hi Thank you for your review and we are so pleased you enjoyed the goodies and your stay at the cottage. We hope that you come and stay with us again soon Kind regards Sam

IDEAL FAMILY UNIT

Review submitted on Mon, 23 Apr 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
THIS WAS OUR SECOND STAY AT THE COTTAGE WHICH HAS ABSOLUTELY EVERYTHING ONE COULD WISH FOR INCLUDING A LARGE WELL EQUIPPED GAMES ROOM AND AN INDOOR BBQ UNIT. THE COTTAGE IS VERY ROOMY AND EVEN OUR LARGE FAMILY COULD EASILY FIND A QUITE SPOT AWAY FROM THE MADDING CROWD IF THEY WISHED. NO COMPLAINTS AT ALL. STRONGLY RECOMMENDED FOR A FAMILY GET TOGETHER

Don from stayed at Shepherds Cottage for 3 nights in April 2018


Samantha Smith replied more than 1 year ago
Hi Don Thank you for your wonderful review and we are so pleased that your enjoyed your stay at the cottage with all the family and thank you for leaving the cottage so tidy when you left. We hope you come and stay again soon Sam