FB Twitter

Shepherds Cottage

Shepherds Cottage

4.6
out of 5
Ratings from 22 reviews
100% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.4
Comfort
4.8
Condition
4.5
Location
4.5
Value
4.5
Customer
Service
5.0


40th birthday party

Review submitted on Mon, 23 Mar 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
10 adults, a 2 year old and 2 dogs had a fantastic stay for my 40th. Could not fault anything about the cottage. Loads of space for all inside and out, perfect garden for dogs, hours of fun in the games room for all, could not fault a thing. Everything we needed was there. Lovely welcome from Sam and so close to the beach. AMAZING, thankyou.

Pamela from Richmond stayed at Shepherds Cottage for 7 nights in March 2020


Mains Cottages, Shepherds Cottage

Review submitted on Sun, 08 Mar 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Brilliant holiday again, 5th year in a row & already booked for next year. The place is superb & Sam & family cannot do enough for you.

Rob from Manchester stayed at Shepherds Cottage for 7 nights in February 2020


Week escape from fireworks for our dogs

Review submitted on Mon, 09 Dec 2019
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
What a wonderful week we had at Shepherds Cottage. Our dogs don’t like the fireworks so we always like to take them away and it was wonderful we didn’t hear any:)

Family joined us for a few days and we were all able to enjoy the fantastic facilities at the cottage playing darts, table tennis, snooker and pool. On the a couple of the evenings we used the BBQ hut which was fabulous and really good fun.

The surrounding area was great with some beautiful beaches which were so quiet at this time of year we were extremely fortunate.

A big thank you to Sam for the goodies left for us and for all the helpful advice it was really appreciated. We would definitely recommend the cottage it really is a wonderful home to all get together


Michelle from Coventry stayed at Shepherds Cottage for 7 nights in November 2019


Samantha Smith replied 180 days ago
Thank you for your lovely review, we are so pleased that you enjoyed the cottage and all the games in the games room, we hope that you stay again sometime thanks Sam

Fabulous

Review submitted on Wed, 09 Oct 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Everything you need is here in fact if you never left the house you wouldn’t be bored, the games room is a child ( or big kids delight) the BBQ hut is fab.. the garden is huge and the dogs absolutely loved playing.

Sam and her family are truly wonderful hosts and will highly recommended any of their property’s ( please don’t book though we want to go back next year ha ha:-)




pamela from stayed at Shepherds Cottage for 5 nights in October 2019


Samantha Smith replied 236 days ago
Hi Pamela, thanks for your review and your recommendation - you need to get booked in for next year so you don't lose out. Pleased that you enjoyed your stay and it was great to meet you when you stayed thanks Sam

Super week at Shepherds Cottage

Review submitted on Mon, 07 Oct 2019
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Recently returned from a great week at Shepherds Cottage with our multi dog family! What a fabulous place for a holiday, the cottage was well furnished with comfy beds and lots of facilities. The conservatory was used far more than the lounge, it's a brilliant space, it may be a suggestion to have a small TV in there as well as in the lounge? Not that we watched much TV as the walks, beaches and points of interest were too many to mention. The cottage is ideally placed for visiting so many places and we will definitely be hoping to return again next year.
The garden was ideal in many ways, though we were just slightly worried about how 'dog secure' the fencing was as a couple of our dogs can be quite determined escapologists and with the fast traffic on the adjacent road, we didn't ever leave them unattended in the garden. That isn't a criticism in any way and I'm sure there's never been an issue but it was just something we were aware of and we understand that no garden can be deemed as 'dog proof'.
Many thanks for a great week in beautiful Northumberland (even in the pouring rain!) you are very lucky people living there!


Catherine from Chorley stayed at Shepherds Cottage for 6 nights in September 2019


Sam Smith replied 236 days ago
Thank you Catherine for your review and I am so pleased that you enjoyed your stay. We will have a think about a TV in the conservatory but sometimes as you say there is lots of other things to do. I understand about the garden and we have had our two collies, lucy and bella test it out but I know what some houdini dogs are like and we will keep checking the fencing to ensure that it stays safe. Hope you visit again soon thanks sam

Spacious and comfortable

Review submitted on Sun, 18 Aug 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
It was our 4th time staying at Shepherds cottage. We have enjoyed every trip here but the recent changes have made it even better...new kitchen along with new beds and modernised ensuites. Beautiful location with plenty landmarks in driving distance (or walking).

Victoria from stayed at Shepherds Cottage for 7 nights in August 2019


Samantha Smith replied 316 days ago
Hi Victoria Thanks again for your fab review and visiting us year on year. We will be tackling the bathrooms this year so you will have to come back again and see the changes thanks sam

Brilliant location, good level of comfort and great welcome

Review submitted on Fri, 19 Jul 2019
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The cottage offers plenty of comfortable accommodation in a very handy location. The beds were great and cleanliness to a high standard. A good deal of thought has gone into caring for all needs, including children and dogs. The welcome was brilliant including the home-make cake in the fridge and bottle of wine. From early morning walks on Beadnell beach to sitting in the conservatory watching the sun go down over the fields, Northumberland has so much to enjoy and Shepherds cottage is very well placed for accessing all there is on offer.

If possible to make to a small request for some oven gloves, that would be great!


Penelope from The Sands, Farnham stayed at Shepherds Cottage for 7 nights in July 2019


Samantha Smith replied 341 days ago
Thank you Penelope for your wonderful review. I am so pleased that you enjoyed the cottage and all it has to offer, as well as the cake! Apologies for the missing oven gloves I will make sure that there are some there next time thanks sam

Great Celebration weekend

Review submitted on Thu, 18 Jul 2019
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A beautiful cottage with plenty of room for everyone. Cottage very well equipped everything you need. Our dog loved the treats left for him.
Very clean and good beds.
Owners very helpful and friendly.
Games room perfect for families on rainy days. Would book again and will highly recommend to friends.


June from stayed at Shepherds Cottage for 3 nights in July 2019


Samantha Smith replied 341 days ago
Thank you for your wonderful review and I am so pleased that your enjoyed your anniversary celebrations with us at Shepherds Cottage. Hope you come and stay again soon thanks Sam

just perfect for our family

Review submitted on Sun, 30 Jun 2019
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Had a great holiday and the weather was mostly kind to us. Accommodation very spacious, plenty of room for 6 adults, 2 children, 2 babies and 2 dogs. Garden is a bit of a wilderness but that attracts the wildlife which we love and there is plenty of room to run and play and the children and dogs loved it. Indoor bbq hut and games room were amazing, well equipped and frequently used. Views front and back of hills, fields, the sea. Loved sitting watching the birds in the garden. Location excellent, far enough on edge of village to be peaceful but just a 20 min stroll to the Craster Arms (and I am an arthritic 65 yr old, the younger members of the party did it in 10 mins.) Shops and eating places close by. Beadnell bay beach is a five minute drive from the property, short distances to other places for sightseeing. We think Cragside House is well worth a visit.
Yes its a bit dated and showing wear and tear in places but it has the atmosphere of a well loved family home, comfortable and cosy. Décor is not a big issue when you can sleep well in comfortable beds, chill out on the numerous sofa's, get together for meals in the well equipped kitchen, get some quiet space if wanted in the massive conservatory, garden, bbq hut, games room, lounge or your bedroom (all en suite so no queues for toilet and shower.)
Altogether a real find. Owners friendly and helpful and I wouldn't hesitate to recommend to others and would stay here again if over the north east again in future.


Gillian from Barrow In Furness stayed at Shepherds Cottage for 7 nights in June 2019


Samantha Smith replied 341 days ago
Thank you for your very informative review I am so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us at Shepherds Cottage and all of the amenities it has to offer. We are working our way through the decor so hopefully you will see some changes if you come and stay with us again. We do like to keep the cottage feel about it but we are aware that some areas need some updating. Thanks again for your review and your recommendations and do hope you visit the North East again in the future thanks Sam

Even Better than we expected!

Review submitted on Tue, 18 Jun 2019
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We (3 adults and 6 Kids) stayed in shepherds cottage for a week. The weather was awful for the First 2 days so the games room, BBQ indoors and wood burning stove we're Just what we needed! The cottage was very comfortable, the kitchen was very well equiped, the views were Amazing.

Jane from stayed at Shepherds Cottage for 6 nights in June 2019


Samantha Smith replied more than 1 year ago
HI Jane Thanks for your review and we are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay despite the English weather! Pleased that you got to use all of the facilities and explored some of Northumberland thanks Sam

Making memories!

Review submitted on Sun, 21 Apr 2019
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our family are spread quite far apart in location so we try to get together for a week at least once a year.
Shepherds Cottage is located in one of our favourite places. The cottage has everything we could wish for , spacious and well equipped. Each bedroom has an en-suite which is important to us . The garden,games room and BBQ hut were hugely enjoyed by us all and our 3 Whippet’s . The conservatory was so relaxing in the afternoon after a long walk on the superb beaches .
We can’t wait to return!


Karen from stayed at Shepherds Cottage for 7 nights in April 2019


Samantha Smith replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you Karen for your great review, we are so pleased that everyone enjoyed their stay, including the Whippets. hope to see you again next year thanks Sam

Great base for exploring all Northumberland has to offee

Review submitted on Wed, 27 Mar 2019
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This cottage was a fantastic find - well laid out and provisioned, plenty spacious for the number of guests it caters to (three communal rooms, plus the kitchen and outside games room).
Comfortable bedrooms with plenty of space. Positioned in a quiet space outside the village but there's a pavement to walk in and Beadnell is all of half a mile away. Easy to hop into the car and explore the Northumberland coast or head into the Cheviots (only a 30 minute drive to Wooler). Sam and Steve were both lovely and accommodating, and made us feel very welcome. Would definitely recommend and actually wondering if we can fit in another trip, because a weekend really wasn't long enough...


Guest from York stayed at Shepherds Cottage for 3 nights in March 2019


Samantha Smith replied more than 1 year ago
Hi Laura Thank you kindly for your wonderful review, we are so pleased that you enjoyed your weekend and it was lovely to meet you all. WE do hope that you come and stay again soon Kind regard Sam x

The best dog friendly property we have come across

Review submitted on Sun, 03 Mar 2019
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is the third time we have stayed at this property and if we are visiting this area we would not consider anywhere else. We have two Jackapoo's who love the nearby beach. The owner is Sam Smith who cannot do enough for you & is contactable at any time along with her brother Steve. We have already decided to book again for the same time next year.

Rob from Manchester stayed at Shepherds Cottage for 7 nights in February 2019


Samantha Smith replied more than 1 year ago
Hi Rob, thank you so much for your wonderful review, it was great to see you all again this year and the new little addition - betty. We are so pleased that you love the cottage and we look forward to seeing you all again next year. thank you also for letting me know you made an error with the cleanliness score (marking it 3 out of 5 instead of 4 out of 5) I will ensure that the cobwebs are cleaned away from the corners of the rooms thanks Sam

Family retreat

Review submitted on Sat, 02 Mar 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A beautiful property in a great location with the beach just a 15 minute walk away. There are good local amenities within 5 minutes drive. The cottage itself is wonderfully spacious, there was 2 children and 7 adults plus our dogs staying there for a week, and there was more than enough room for us all. Whether you choose to relax in the conservatory watching the wildlife in the garden, or watching tv in the living area with a hot chocolate next to the real fire or doing cross words at the huge kitchen table or even sat playing board games, or going to play snooker, pool, darts in the games room you're sure to have enough room and things to do. It caters for all ages our group ranged from 2yrs to 72yrs old. Also there is a wonderful bbq hut in the garden something not to miss using it was so snug on a cold February night. The garden is secured well for your dogs and is quite big for them to have a good run around if there not tired out by all the walking you have done. Definitely a place not to be missed out on. I don't normally do reviews but I can honestly say we all loved this cottage. Sam and her brother Stephen make you feel so welcome it was lovely meeting such genuinely lovely people. Plus Sam gave us a sneak preview of her new shepherds retreat lodges. They are absolutely stunning so if you want a romantic break for 2 i would definitely book one. Just imagine been sat outside in the hot tub with a glass of wine then going to bed looking through the glass roof falling asleep looking at the stars. Plus the other shepherds retreat lodge sleeps 4 so you don't have to miss out if you have children with you. We will definitely be returning for sure . I had one upset 8yr old girl that did not want to leave.

Cheryl from Hull stayed at Shepherds Cottage for 7 nights in February 2019


Samantha Smith replied more than 1 year ago
Hi Cheryl, I'm going to hire you for my marketing !! Thank you so much for this fabulous review, we loved meeting you and all the family and we are so pleased that you loved the cottage. Also thank you for your feedback about the new huts as it really helps to know we are doing the right thing, you will have to come and stay in them next time. Thank you for your lovely presents you gave us it was so kind and very much appreciated, still have the tulips - they are lasting well. Take care and see you again Sam x

Wonderful stay in fantastic cottage

Review submitted on Sun, 04 Nov 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Clean, comfortable, spacious, has everything you need, greeted with a huge salted caramel cake! Perfect for our 3 generations as lots of room to spread out and relax. Games room was fantastic for 2 teenage boys. BBQ hut unique and cosy! Hosts were lovely and we would definitely return.

Jo from stayed at Shepherds Cottage for 7 nights in October 2018


Sam Smith replied more than 1 year ago
Thanks Jo for your kind review, It was lovely to meet you and looking forward to your return next year

Fantastic home to discover northumberland from.

Review submitted on Mon, 22 Oct 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We booked the October school week with friends in Shepherd's Cottage, hoping to explore an area we did not know - what a fantastic base it turned out to be. The accommodation was more than we could have hoped for (4 adults and 3 'tween' girls) and we were made especially welcome by Sam and the lovely cake, chocolates and wine she left for us (as well as milk, tea, coffee ect.) There was also lots of very useful information on the local area. Shepherd's Cottage has everything and more you could want for a holiday home and was a fantastic place to spend time with friends ..... the girls even cooked for us one night and hosted a Murder Mystery game, which was great fun. We loved the BBQ hut and enjoyed cooking the great produce from the butcher in Bamburgh and the Games Room was well used. Beadnell is a short walk from the cottage and The Craster Arms pub does great food. We fell in love with the Northumberland coast - beautiful beaches, castles, great food, fantastic golf courses and friendly locals. The girls loved their day out to Alnwick Castle and learning the 'fly' a broomstick. We will definitely be back to explore some more and hope the weather will be as kind. Many thanks to Sam and family for making this a holiday with lots of memories.

Wendy from stayed at Shepherds Cottage for 7 nights in October 2018


Samantha Smith replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you Wendy for your fabulous review, it makes me so happy that we have helped to make lots of wonderful memories of your holidays. It is lovely to hear that you all had a fantastic time and made use of all the facilities. We loved having you to stay and hope that you come again sometime thanks Sam

Great place to stay!

Review submitted on Wed, 03 Oct 2018
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
A group of friends stayed at Shepherds Cottage for a week & thoroughly enjoyed it. The house, although on a main road, is remarkably quiet, very well equipped & comfortable. There is oodles of space for both dining & relaxing. Outside space is lovely with plenty of patio furniture & fantastic games room. Good communication with the owner who responded quickly to any queries. Overall a great base for a holiday in Northumberland.

Judith from stayed at Shepherds Cottage for 7 nights in September 2018


Excellent service. Fantastic, comfortable and well equipped accommodation.

Review submitted on Fri, 28 Sep 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a lovely catch up with friends in Shepherd’s Cottage. The Cottage is very comfortable and has everything you would need. There are lots of room to sit and chat including a lovely log fire. There are various dining areas and a very well equipped kitchen for catering. The games room went down well.
Any issues we had were dealt with promptly and we really appreciated the lovely welcome we received from the owners including a delicious cake.


Gillian from Edinburgh stayed at Shepherds Cottage for 3 nights in September 2018


Beautiful holiday home

Review submitted on Sun, 05 Aug 2018
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The exterior of this cottage belies the beautiful and very large interior. All the rooms are large light and airy. Plenty of room to find your own space when need be. Three eating areas for different occasion meals, Indoor BBQ was great fun, and handy should it rain. The massive games room was a No 1 hit with everyone and kept the grandchildren occupied from first thing in the morning, allowing parents a little lie in! An exceptional property which provided an exceptional holiday.

Catherine from Berwick stayed at Shepherds Cottage for 7 nights in July 2018


Samantha Smith replied more than 1 year ago
Hi Cathi, Thank you for your wonderful review and it was lovely to have you all stay. Pleased the games room game in useful for the grandchildren. Thank you for leaving the cottage so tidy when you left it was much appreciated

A lovely relaxing cottage

Review submitted on Sun, 29 Jul 2018
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Excellent pre stay information.
A great cottage with plenty of room for 8 adults and 2 babies.
The games room was popular and the weather was very kind.
Lots of interesting places to visit and eat nearby.
Thank you Samantha and family, we had a brilliant holiday. The welcome pack was well received, especially the cake! The dog also liked his treats.
Hoping to return next year.
Carol


Carol from stayed at Shepherds Cottage for 7 nights in July 2018


Samantha Smith replied more than 1 year ago
Hi Carol Thank you for your kind review, we are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay at the cottage and enjoyed exploring Northumberland Sam x

An ideal base with something for everyone

Review submitted on Wed, 25 Jul 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The entire family had a brilliant week in Shepherds Cottage - the actual cottage provided us with everything we could need and the location was perfect for exploring the area. The games room was particularly appreciated as were all the 'goodies' left to make us feel welcome - thank you, Sam. A minor issue occurred and this was dealt with swiftly and efficiently so thank you again, Stephen, for sorting this.
We visited various beaches, castles, gardens as well as enjoying crabbing off the harbour wall, crazy golf at Seahouses, the Grace Darling Museum at Bamburgh and causeway crossing to Holy Island, as well as a selection of good eateries suitable for all ages. Our last morning was a breakfast brunch at the Salt Water Café in Beadnell - excellent!


Lynn from stayed at Shepherds Cottage for 7 nights in July 2018


Samantha Smith replied more than 1 year ago
Hi Thank you for your review and we are so pleased you enjoyed the goodies and your stay at the cottage. We hope that you come and stay with us again soon Kind regards Sam

IDEAL FAMILY UNIT

Review submitted on Mon, 23 Apr 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
THIS WAS OUR SECOND STAY AT THE COTTAGE WHICH HAS ABSOLUTELY EVERYTHING ONE COULD WISH FOR INCLUDING A LARGE WELL EQUIPPED GAMES ROOM AND AN INDOOR BBQ UNIT. THE COTTAGE IS VERY ROOMY AND EVEN OUR LARGE FAMILY COULD EASILY FIND A QUITE SPOT AWAY FROM THE MADDING CROWD IF THEY WISHED. NO COMPLAINTS AT ALL. STRONGLY RECOMMENDED FOR A FAMILY GET TOGETHER

Don from stayed at Shepherds Cottage for 3 nights in April 2018


Samantha Smith replied more than 1 year ago
Hi Don Thank you for your wonderful review and we are so pleased that your enjoyed your stay at the cottage with all the family and thank you for leaving the cottage so tidy when you left. We hope you come and stay again soon Sam