FB Twitter

Shepherds Lodge

Shepherds Lodge

4.8
out of 5
Ratings from 14 reviews
100% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.7
Comfort
4.8
Condition
4.9
Location
4.8
Value
4.7
Customer
Service
4.9


A great location, very comfortable and perfect for us and our 2 dogs

Review submitted on Sat, 25 May 2019
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We enjoyed our stay at Shepherds lodge so much that we booked again for later on in the year as soon as we got back. Northumberland is a great place to visit with dogs and you wont go far wrong if you stay at this cottage, with or without dogs. Centrally placed for lots of visitor attraction, its fully equipped and had everything we could need to instantly feel at home: thanks for the cake and the wine!
We can't wait to visit again


Helen from Wakefield stayed at Shepherds Lodge for 4 nights in May 2019


Perfect holiday at Shepherds Lodge.

Review submitted on Sun, 24 Mar 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The owner, Sam, was very welcoming and friendly. This lodge is perfect for visiting beautiful beaches due to its location. Very dog friendly and well equipped - we wanted for nothing. Thanks Sam, you deserve to do well.

Nicola from Chorley stayed at Shepherds Lodge for 7 nights in March 2019


Sam Smith replied 92 days ago
Thank you Nicola it was so lovely to meet you and all the pooches and thank you for your kind words. I am really pleased you enjoyed your stay and exploring the beaches and I hope you all come and visit us again soon Thanks sam x

Great location

Review submitted on Sun, 04 Nov 2018
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Very happy with our stay and will look to book again in a couple of years time , great location and looking forward to new projects the owners are carrying out. Exciting times ahead

Nikki from stayed at Shepherds Lodge for 7 nights in October 2018


Superb!

Review submitted on Wed, 03 Oct 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Superb cottage , the most well equipped ever stayed in everything you could need and more ! Lots of little touches too that made you feel welcome and valued ! Spacious accommodation with private garden with amazing views ! Highly recommended you won’t be disappointed!

Faye from Sherwood stayed at Shepherds Lodge for 7 nights in September 2018


Samantha Smith replied 246 days ago
Hi Faye, thank you for your review and I am so pleased that the lodge had everything you needed for your stay. Thank you for recommending us and hope to see you again sometime thanks Sam

Great base to explore Northumberland

Review submitted on Mon, 17 Sep 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely modern lodge, three good size bedrooms, modern very well stocked kitchen.
Nice little garden, lovely to sit out at night with a glass of wine and watch the stars.
Only a 5 minute drive into seahous.
Warm welcome on arrival from the owner, any queries answered promptly.
Would definitely stay again!


Karl from stayed at Shepherds Lodge for 3 nights in September 2018


Samantha Smith replied 266 days ago
Thank you so much for your review for Shepherds Lodge, we are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay and the amazing dark skies we have in Northumberland. Hope to see you again soon thanks Sam

A Gem

Review submitted on Wed, 12 Sep 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Family owned this cottage is fantastic. A short walk away from Beadnell village and quietly situated off the road with a pleasent garden. Sam had left a cake and bottle of wine in the fridge and chocolate on kitchen bench. There was also a doggie goody bag. As long as we stay up Beadnell way we will try to book this cottage ( this our 3rd year) . Only family owned property's can offer this special touch and you usually bump into one off them during your stay as they do their own cleaning. Another plus point as it is done properly

Heather from stayed at Shepherds Lodge for 4 nights in September 2018


Samantha Smith replied 266 days ago
Hi Heather and gang, thank you again for your wonderful review and we are so pleased that you enjoy staying at Shepherds Lodge - hope to see you again next year Thanks Sam

Review submitted on Mon, 20 Aug 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had the best holiday ever none of us wanted to leave

Irene from Derby stayed at Shepherds Lodge for 7 nights in August 2018


Samantha Smith replied 295 days ago
Thank you Diane for your review and you will have to come and visit again Sam

Good family and dog holiday

Review submitted on Sun, 19 Aug 2018
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A superb location for children and dogs. Will return. Near to coast, Beadnell great, not too busy, able to park, easily access beach. Lovely quiet dog friendly area.

Guest from Wolverhampton stayed at Shepherds Lodge for 7 nights in August 2018


Excellent peaceful base for exploring coastal Northumberland

Review submitted on Mon, 30 Jul 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This property was chosen primarily for its location, being a relatively short distance from various great places to explore including the excellent beach of Beadnell Bay. Seahouses, Bamburgh, Berwick, Alnwick and Alnmouth are all close by. The lodge was spotlessly clean and the views over the fields were lovely. Facilities were great with everything provided from BBQ coals to dish washer tablets. There was even a bottle of wine and a carrot cake in the fridge. Shepherds Lodge is super dog friendly with a bowl, treats, blanket and toys provided. The local pubs are also dog friendly too.
I would certainly recommend Shepherds Lodge to anyone wishing to explore this stunning coastline.


Philip from Market Weighton stayed at Shepherds Lodge for 7 nights in July 2018


Beautiful lodge in a lovely location

Review submitted on Mon, 23 Jul 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Had a fabulous week at Shepherds Lodge . Very well equipped had everything you need . The goodies on arrival was a nice touch too . Will recommend this lodge to our family & friends . Keep up the good work !!

Peter from stayed at Shepherds Lodge for 7 nights in July 2018


Samantha Smith replied 330 days ago
Hi Peter Thank you for your kind review and we are pleased that you enjoyed your stay at the lodge and thank you for your recommendations. Kind regards Sam

Beautiful dog friendly cottage in fabulous location

Review submitted on Mon, 16 Jul 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Wow what a find. Stayed in this very dog friendly cottage for a week but could have stayed longer. The owners had thought of everything to make our stay comfortable. Coffee, tea milk in the fridge and a lovely home baked cake was waiting for us on arrival. Treats for the dogs too. The cottage was extremely well equipped and very comfortable. The garden was very safe and secure for our dogs. Location was perfect very near to the stunning beaches of Northumberland. Local pub within walking distance and served lovely food.The weather whilst here was fabulous what a bonus. Would love to keep this cottage a secret for ourselves but would highly recommended a stay here.

Debbie from Bishop Auckland stayed at Shepherds Lodge for 7 nights in June 2018


Samantha Smith replied 344 days ago
Thank you Debbie for your wonderful review and we are so happy that you enjoyed your stay. Hope you come and visit again sometime

Perfect holiday home....

Review submitted on Sat, 26 May 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Had a perfect week in 5 star accommodation! Great location for exploring near and far and Beadnell beach is wonderful - pale golden sand stretching on for miles.
Complimentary wine, cake and chocolate on arrival, along with tea and coffee making facilities makes for a fabulous welcome!Shepherds Lodge is all the more special because dogs are allowed - so difficult to find exceptionally nice holiday homes that welcomes your pet these days.


Caroline from Loughborough, stayed at Shepherds Lodge for 7 nights in May 2018


Samantha Smith replied more than 1 year ago
Hi Caroline Thank you for your review and it was lovely to meet you both last week. I am so pleased that you enjoyed your stay at Shepherds Lodge and we hope that you come and visit us again soon Kind regards Sam

First class Accommodation

Review submitted on Fri, 06 Apr 2018
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our arrival at the lodge was made all the more special with the provision of wine, home made cake and home made dog special treats for Bailey our Cockapoo. The lodge is obviously fairly new and is reflected in the standard and ambience of the interior. The bedrooms are large and cosy, the kitchen and utility room are well equipped and every facility is catered for including linen, towels beach towels, dog mattress and spare leads etc. Nothing has been missed out and due to the atrocious weather we had (beyond anyones control) it became a home from home for the 4 adults, 2 children and a dog for a few days. It is a pleasant walk to the village and the beach beyond and the village pub is a great dog friendly establishment with good beers and exceptional food. We had a great week and I would highly recommend it for anyone considering a stay. The owners obviously want to ensure clients have a great stay at the lodge and have done everything possible to make it so, if only they had control over the weather ?? Thanks and we hope to return........

Michael from stayed at Shepherds Lodge for 7 nights in March 2018


Samantha Smith replied more than 1 year ago
Hi Michael, Thank you so much for your wonderful review, we are so pleased that you enjoyed the lodge and the welcome packs for you and Bailey. We do hope that you come and stay again sometime and I will start the 'sun' dance now! Thank you for your recommendation too and hope to see you again

Even with the snow it was good......

Review submitted on Tue, 13 Mar 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our week at at Shepherds Lodge turned into 10 days, as we had to stay on due to the Beast from the East which snowed us in and Sam was very helpful in resolving the situation. If you had to be snowed in anywhere this was the place to be. Very dog friendly and our dogs had a great time and so did we.

Phillip from St. Breward stayed at Shepherds Lodge for 7 nights in February 2018


Samantha Smith replied more than 1 year ago
Hi Philip, Thank you for your kind review and I am pleased that you still managed to enjoy snowy Northumberland and your extended stay. Thank you for leaving the lodge so neat and tidy on your departure and we hope that you come and explore Northumberland again sometime