FB Twitter

The Bothy

The Bothy

4.7
out of 5
Ratings from 20 reviews
90% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.8
Comfort
4.8
Condition
4.6
Location
4.9
Value
4.6
Customer
Service
4.9


A wonderful time at The Bothy

Review submitted on Mon, 01 Jul 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a lovely time at The Bothy it was very clean and tidy it was like home from home going off to places and just relaxing at The Bothy Sam and her husband were very helpful our pushchair had a mishap and Sam’s husband repaired it for us also Steve and is wife were most helpful and friendly would we Come again yes we would

Alan from Leeds stayed at The Bothy for 7 nights in June 2019


Samantha Smith replied 24 days ago
Hi Allan It was lovely to meet you and the family during your stay and we were pleased that we could help out with the pushchair. Thank you for your wonderful review and look forward to seeing you again next year

Lovely cottage great location

Review submitted on Sun, 30 Jun 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Location is good close to town and shops ,but lovely and quiet great views from garden.cottage has everything you need and some treats too wine biscuits cake even doggie treats!. Lots to do in area will definitely come back.

Moira from stayed at The Bothy for 4 nights in June 2019


Samantha Smith replied 24 days ago
Thank you for your kind review and I am so pleased that you enjoyed your stay at The Bothy. Hope you come and stay again soon thanks Sam

Wonderful Cottage and great location.

Review submitted on Wed, 19 Jun 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
What a wonderful time we had at this exceptional cottage, our puppy absolutely loved his stay. From the delightful treats upon arrival for all of us to the great location as a base to discover Northumberland. Fantastic hosts who made our stay so welcoming, we will definitely be returning. Can’t recommend this cottage highly enough, thank you so much Sam and family.

Jason from Scarborough stayed at The Bothy for 3 nights in June 2019


Samantha Smith replied 63 days ago
Dear Gillian, Jason and Jasper, It was lovely to meet you all during your stay and thank you for your lovely review, we are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay and puppy enjoyed his treats (we have emailed you the recipe) Hope you come and stay again sometime Kind regards Sam

Best doggie holidays

Review submitted on Sun, 16 Jun 2019
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We didn’t know what to expect but it couldn’t have been better. Our dogs absolutely loved it and it was very safe for two young collies. so we will most likely be back next year.
Sam and her team made us feel very welcome, the doggie treats were a nice touch.


Margaret from Mirfield stayed at The Bothy for 7 nights in June 2019


Samantha Smith replied 24 days ago
Hi It was great to meet you and the pooches during your stay and pleased the doggie treats went down well. Hope to see you again another time thanks sam

Comfortable, cosy cottage

Review submitted on Sun, 02 Jun 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A warm welcome awaited us with a delicious cake, a bottle of wine, chocolate and a welcome pack for our dog. The cottage was plenty big enough for of us. The cottage was comfortable and nicely furnished. The kitchen was well-equipped and looked quite newly fitted. There was an enclosed patio area (although sadly the weather wasn’t suitable for us to enjoy it as much as we would have liked). The Bothy was well-situated for lots of day trips and a 5 minute drive to the beach arbor a Beadnell Bay (free car park!).

Lesley from Rugeley stayed at The Bothy for 7 nights in May 2019


Samantha Smith replied 24 days ago
Thanks for your kind review and apologies for not responding earlier. It is wonderful to hear that you enjoyed your stay in The Bothy and hope you visit again sometime

A weeks holiday in the bothy with my partner, sister, brother in law and 5 dogs!

Review submitted on Sat, 18 May 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Excellent place to stay. Beautiful beaches within 2 miles and many more within the area. Banburgh Castle was also very close by. The bothy was a lovely place to stay with its beautiful countryside views and enclosed private garden. We saw hundreds of birds and we also saw deer in the field. The cottage was perfect for us and the welcome card, cake milk and wine was very much appreciated. The dogs enjoyed their home made biscuits and there was even a doggie first aid kit! The owners were like friends to us and were there for any advice or problems which we never had! We did not want to come home. As an extra bonus, the weather was beautiful. A very big thank you to all concerned for our fantastic holiday.

Mary from Melton Mowbray stayed at The Bothy for 7 nights in May 2019


Samantha Smith replied 24 days ago
Apologies for the delay in responding - It is so lovely to know that you all enjoyed your stay at the Bothy and the welcome packs - both human and doggie - were enjoyed. It was lovely to meet you and hope that you do come and stay again soon

the Bothy

Review submitted on Tue, 07 May 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Holiday cottage was very well equipped. Comfy and clean. Hosts were very welcoming. In an ideal location for the beaches of Northumberland.

Anne from stayed at The Bothy for 7 nights in April 2019


Sam Smith replied 107 days ago
Thank you Anne for your lovely review. It was great to see you and the pooches and look forward to seeing you later in the year thanks Sam

First, not last

Review submitted on Sat, 27 Apr 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We've stayed before on this site in a different property but this was the first time in the Bothy. We loved the Bothy, perfect small cottage for a small family. We are loving the area and this site is perfectly situated for the area.

David from Derby stayed at The Bothy for 7 nights in April 2019


Sam Smith replied 107 days ago
HI David Thank you for your wonderful review and it was so good to have you back. Pleased you enjoyed the Bothy and hope to see you again next year thanks sam

Brilliant at the Bothy

Review submitted on Tue, 19 Mar 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Very friendly welcome, the Bothy provided everything we needed for a wonderful stay in Beadnell, lovely place. Just one thing, we couldn't let our Lurcher dog off lead in the back garden as the fence/hedge was low. One sight of a rabbit and she'd have been over and off! Not really a problem as she had lovely runs on the nearby beach! Thank you again for a lovely stay, and the cake was delicious.

Margaret from Leeds stayed at The Bothy for 4 nights in March 2019


Samantha Smith replied 107 days ago
Thank you for your review and I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay and the cake! We appreciate your feedback about the fence and understand your concern. Pleased she enjoyed the beach though thanks sam

Good value for.money

Review submitted on Sun, 11 Nov 2018
4.0
out of 5

Guest doesn't recommend this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Cottage very cosy and comfortable. Lovely welcoming pack both for humans and dogs. The only disappointment was the garden. The fencing wasn't very high and any determined agile dog would be over it. Also the paved area could have done with a good clean as it was quite slippy when damp and falling leaves. The cottage could also do with a bit more outside lighting.

Margaret from Sheffield stayed at The Bothy for 7 nights in November 2018


Samantha Smith replied 281 days ago
Hi Margaret Thank you for your review and I am pleased that you found the cottage comfortable and enjoyed the welcome pack. I am sorry about the patio being slippy, we will sort that out this week and I hope it didn't cause too much trouble. We have looked at adding more lighting but with being in an area of dark skies it is not encouraged and we have supplied torches when being outside with the dogs. But we will certainly look to see if we can add any sort of downlighters so it does not have too much impact but helps when being outside Kind regards Sam

Perfect short holiday with our dogs.

Review submitted on Fri, 19 Oct 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The owners were there to welcome us with a homemade cake, wine and homemade dog treats. That set the happy tone for the remainder of our stay. I can't wait to return to the beautiful beaches, friendly village and the cosy Bothy.

Una from Tyne and Wear stayed at The Bothy for 5 nights in October 2018


Samantha Smith replied 306 days ago
Hi Una, It was lovely to meet you and Anne and the dogs last week and I am so pleased you all enjoyed your stay at The Bothy. We do hope that you come and stay again soon Thanks Sam

Very nice cottage, would recommend

Review submitted on Mon, 01 Oct 2018
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely cottage in walking distance of village and short driving distance to Seahouses. The cottage has everything you need and more, the owners have really thought of everything you could need during your stay.

Kaye from stayed at The Bothy for 5 nights in September 2018


Samantha Smith replied 324 days ago
Hi Kaye, thank you so much for your kind review, we are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay Thanks sam

A wonderful little bolt hole

Review submitted on Sun, 05 Aug 2018
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The Bothy provided my sister and I with a marvellous place to stay on our recent family holiday. The ‘children’ and grandchildren stayed in Shepherds Cottage so the grannies had a superb bolt hole away from the hubbub! The views at the back of the cottage are absolutely fantastic, we had our early morning cup of tea out there and our last drink of the day there too. Sitting in the dingy that was crafted into a bench seat, watching the wildlife, including a deer one morning! Well equipped cottage with very comfortable beds. The kitchen is very small but lacked nothing. An outside shed houses the washing machine etc. Will certainly recommend this place.

Catherine from Berwick stayed at The Bothy for 7 nights in July 2018


Samantha Smith replied more than 1 year ago
Wow, thank you Cathi for your review about The Bothy, we are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay there and all the family enjoyed the Cottage. Pleased you got to use the boat seat, that was something Stephen and I made last year. Sounds like you had a thoroughly enjoyable stay and hope to see you all again soon

Our stay at The Bothy

Review submitted on Sun, 05 Aug 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Had a fantastic time staying at the Bothy. The hospitality was excellent. Cake wine and treats for our dog when we arrived. It was clean and well placed with stunning views. I would certainly recommend staying here. The most pet friendly place we have ever stayed.

Christine from Bolton stayed at The Bothy for 14 nights in July 2018


A beautiful location with panoramic views.The hosts are welcoming and very generous.

Review submitted on Sat, 30 Jun 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A lovely week spent in the Bothy.The cottage location is a lovely rural one and our views from the garden were wonderful and very private.
The cottage is wonderfully equiped by thoughtful and generous hosts.On arrival there was cake,chocolate and wine together with homemade doggy biscuits our Staffie woofed down.


Elizabeth from Wigan stayed at The Bothy for 7 nights in June 2018


Samantha Smith replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your wonderful review and we are pleased that you all enjoyed the cake, chocolate and wine and that the Staffie enjoyed the homemade biscuits. Hope you come and visit us again soon thanks Sam

A fabulous find!

Review submitted on Mon, 07 May 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
What a wonderful place to stay! We found The Bothy clean. very comfortable, homely and well equipped. The welcome cake, wine and dog goodies were a lovely touch. It is clear how dog friendly The Bothy is and it gave us great peace of mind that the garden was completely secure. Our two would have found a way out if there was one! I slept in the massive double bed which was very comfortable. There was a lot of information provided in the cottage about things to do and places to go and I found the list of dog friendly pubs very helpful.

The location is very peaceful with lovely views from the garden. We were blessed with the weather and took full advantage of the beaches at Beadnell and Bamburgh for some lovely dog walks. Thank you also to Sam for arranging at short notice a wonderful dog sitter / walker so we could have a dog free day out at Alnwick Gardens - the cherry blossom was in full bloom and stunning. We felt totally confident leaving our two furries with Kate.

We very much look forward to more holidays at The Bothy in the future.

Thank you Sam and family.

Caroline, Shirley, Mr. Darcy and Ivy


Caroline from Gatehouse Of Fleet stayed at The Bothy for 3 nights in April 2018


Samantha Smith replied more than 1 year ago
Hi Caroline, Shirley, Mr Darcy and Ivy We are so happy that you enjoyed your time at The Bothy and exploring Northumberland. It was lovely to talk to you whilst you were staying. I am so pleased that Mr Darcy and Ivy had a great time with Kate and enjoyed their holidays too so that you could relax and explore Alnwick Gardens. We do hope that you come and stay again sometime Kind regards Sam

Very pet friendly

Review submitted on Sat, 05 May 2018
3.5
out of 5

Guest doesn't recommend this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
2.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Comfortable cottage in fantastic location and all dog needs catered for. Would benefit from some general refurbishment.

Lynda from Alfreton stayed at The Bothy for 7 nights in April 2018


Samantha Smith replied more than 1 year ago
Hi Lynda, Thank you for your review and for your feedback about refurbishment. We have recently completed a refurb on the main rooms in the house and we really appreciate your feedback about the bathroom refurb, which is our next plan, so won't be too long. Thank you again and I am pleased that you had a great holiday and look forward to you coming again Kind regards Sam

IDEAL FAMILY UNIT

Review submitted on Mon, 23 Apr 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
WE HAD THE BOTHY AND THE COTTAGE TO ACCOMMODATE A FAMILY WEEKEND SO MOST OF THE TIME WAS SPENT IN THE COTTAGE WITH THE BOTHY BEING USED FOR SLEEPING ONLY. IT WAS IDEAL FOR THAT AND WE WERE AWARE OF THE OTHER FACILITIES WHICH WE DID NOT USE - THE GARDEN AND AL FRESCO EATING ETC. THERE IS A LOT TO DO IN THE AREA AND BEADNELL IS AN IDEAL LOCATION. STRONGLY RECOMMENDED.

Don from stayed at The Bothy for 3 nights in April 2018


Samantha Smith replied more than 1 year ago
Hi Don Pleased that the Bothy helped with the extra guests this year and that you enjoyed the stay there. See you another time Sam

A lovely Bothy

Review submitted on Wed, 03 Jan 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a great visit to the Bothy, it was very clean and in excellent condition. Sam had kindly left us a bottle of fizz to see in the New Year as well as cake and a bottle of red. We are hoping to return soon.

Sarah from stayed at The Bothy for 4 nights in December 2017


Samantha replied more than 1 year ago
Dear Sarah, thank you for your kind review and we are so pleased that you enjoyed the cake and fizz and found The Bothy to your liking Hope you visit again soon thanks sam

Comfortable cottage in beautiful spot

Review submitted on Sat, 18 Nov 2017
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was our second time with Mains Cottages but first time in the Bothy. Loved our stay. Beautiful place

Martin from Maltby stayed at The Bothy for 7 nights in November 2017


Samantha replied more than 1 year ago
Hi Martin, Thank you for revisiting us and I am pleased that you enjoyed The Bothy and hopefully you will come back and stay again Kind regards sam