FB Twitter

Milking Parlour

Milking Parlour

4.5
out of 5
Ratings from 22 reviews
100% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.4
Comfort
4.6
Condition
4.4
Location
4.8
Value
4.2
Customer
Service
4.6


Located on the renowned Island attraction, The Garlic Farm, The Milking Parlour was first built as a threshing barn and then used for milking cows. It is an attractive barn conversion on one floor with a comfortable and spacious sitting room and kitchen with vaulted ceiling. It has one double room with ensuite, one double room and one bunk bedded room and a shared bathroom.

Milking Parlour IoW

Review submitted on Sun, 28 Jul 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A lovely cottage on a beautiful farm set in amazing countryside. The cottage is very well equipped, there is a tennis court and raquets available, a childrens play room in very good condition and a nice restaurant if you do not feel like cooking. Great for walks, seaside, surfing, exploring the isle. Great for families.

Philipp from Dresden stayed at Milking Parlour for 7 nights in July 2019


Excellent location, just need a bit of a clean!

Review submitted on Tue, 09 Jul 2019
3.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
3.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
4.0
This is a lovely location with the Garlic Farm on site for breakfast and lunches if you so desire. We went out most of the time to visit various attractions with the children and found this to be an excellent location being fairly central to get to everything quickly and easily.

The staff in the shop/cafe where friendly and helpful and the children were allowed to feed the 4 baby guinea pigs that they have! Out of hours when there was no staff around, we found ourselves helping new guests on where to go to so would advise that some signs would be helpful to direct new guests in.

The accommodation was well equipped with microwave, oven and BBQ (we used the BBQ!). Some little niggling things like the utensils could probably do with replacement now (the peeler was so blunt I could hardly peel a cucumber) and the built in fridge, the door would stick so you have to give it some welly to make sure it closed properly.

The only main comment I would make is that the property needed a good dust and clean, spiders/cobwebs everywhere and the general smell of dust in the air.


Melanie from Sherfield On Loddon stayed at Milking Parlour for 5 nights in July 2019


Melanie replied 23 days ago
Thank you for your review, we take our guests' comments seriously so arranged a spring clean, changed the vegetable peeler and ordered a new fridge. We are sorry for the inconvenience this may have caused you and hope you enjoyed your stay with us nevertheless. Hopefully see you again soon! Kind Regards, Melanie

part of family group

Review submitted on Wed, 12 Jun 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The Milking Parlour (together with the Little Mersley Farmhouse) was perfect accommodation for part of our group. The Boswell family were very helpful and supportive. Jenny's frozen dishes were delicious and generous! The cottage was well-equipped and clean. Set in a quiet valley, the Garlic Farm offers a range of activities as well as its own cafe, and makes a good base for exploring more of the Isle of Wight.

Agnes from Reigae stayed at Milking Parlour for 7 nights in May 2019


Fab accomodation in fab location.

Review submitted on Fri, 07 Jun 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The Milking Parlour fits in beautifully with the period charm of the Garlic Farm location on the Isle of Wight. There's lots to do for parents and children alike. It really is very special!

Pete from Rotherham stayed at Milking Parlour for 3 nights in May 2019


Melanie replied 59 days ago
Thank you Peter! It's always a pleasure to welcome you and your family! Kind Regards, Melanie

Why choose the Garlic Farm

Review submitted on Fri, 24 May 2019
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
This was our third holiday at the Garlic Farm and the only down side was that our stay had to be so very short. We choose the Garlic Farm, because it gives us everything we want from a holiday - peace and quiet in lovely countryside, no stress or pressure to do anything except roam around the Island and "sit and stare". The Garlic Farm always makes us feel welcome and it takes no time before we feel really at home. Thank you to everyone involved in making our holiday perfect.

Hugh from Lenham stayed at Milking Parlour for 2 nights in May 2019


Melanie replied 59 days ago
What a lovely review, thank you Hugh for taking the time to write it. We appreciate your kind words. See you again soon hopefully! Kind Regards, Melanie

the perfect easter break

Review submitted on Tue, 30 Apr 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The communication between myself and Melanie & Hugo (the owners) was very good, they were very helpful with quick feedback. The Milking Parlout was superb a wonderful clean cottage with all the equipment you would require for a short break.I did most of the cooking whilst we were there as it was convenient. My grandchildren absolutly loved it there not only because there was many things provided for them to do and the location was near Sandown.
I would advise anyone to go there if they want the perfect break, we will definitely go abain.


Garry from stayed at Milking Parlour for 3 nights in April 2019


The Garlic Farm. Milking Parlour

Review submitted on Sun, 14 Apr 2019
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
3.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Rather isolated and access roads very poor. No nearby shops or pubs to walk to. No "Private garden", and no evening meals in the restaurant.

John from Rhyl stayed at Milking Parlour for 7 nights in April 2019


Great property lovely location

Review submitted on Tue, 12 Mar 2019
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
3.0
Ideal property for a rural stay. Pleanty of walks. The view from the lounge area is very nice and the morning sun floods the garden and lounge.The two bathroom property is great for two families/couples.
The Garlic farm shop and cafe are behing the property and offers an alternative if you don't feel like cooking or want to travel and eat out, Unfortunately the WiFi did not work for the duration of our 3 night stay. Overall our stay was very relaxing and would recommend.


Geraldine from Pulborough stayed at Milking Parlour for 3 nights in March 2019


Lovely location

Review submitted on Wed, 02 Jan 2019
3.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
3.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We enjoyed it but not happy that on New Years Eve we were told that a couple next door wanted to sleep. On first night two parties were going on and we staied awake till next morning and on New Year Eve when people celebrate we were told to keep quiet after midnight.


Mihai from stayed at Milking Parlour for 2 nights in December 2018


A beautiful stay

Review submitted on Wed, 24 Oct 2018
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a beautiful stay at the milking parlour. The farm and scenery were fantastic. The food was delicious. The beds were comfy. The layout was perfect for our family of 4 and my mother in law to holiday together. We will definitely visit again.

Natasha from stayed at Milking Parlour for 3 nights in October 2018


Melanie replied 301 days ago
Thank you so much Natasha for taking the time to write a review. We are very glad you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to seeing you again in the near future :) Melanie (Hugo's wife)

September break lucky with the weather

Review submitted on Mon, 01 Oct 2018
3.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
3.0
Location
4.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
3.0
Nice accommodation a little cool but it was late September. Good quiet location red squirrel in the garden a bonus. Breakfast a little disappointing but hopes were very high and they were short staffed.


Carol from Barnstaple stayed at Milking Parlour for 2 nights in September 2018


Last minute trip

Review submitted on Thu, 20 Sep 2018
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
It was a last minute booking, Hugo was very accomadating and helpful. The accomadation was comfortable and well equipped kitchen. The location was excellent to explore the Isle of Wight . Lovely products in the Garlic shop, and on site restaurant if you didn't want to cook breakfast.

Sue from a stayed at Milking Parlour for 2 nights in September 2018


Very welcoming hosts

Review submitted on Wed, 19 Sep 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Very pleasant stay. Clean and lovely cottage. The garlic freebies were a lovely surprise. Would recommend

Guest from stayed at Milking Parlour for 3 nights in September 2018


A Great place to stay as a Base to explore the Isle, but also a great location for staying local.

Review submitted on Tue, 24 Jul 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The whole experience of staying at the Milk Parlour was excellent, the location was fantastic, the building nice and clean and also very cool in the hot weather. Made to feel very welcome, local amenities also great. Worth grabbing a bite to eat at the garlic farm as well. Would highly recommend and will certainly be back.

Alexander from Bramley, Guildford stayed at Milking Parlour for 4 nights in July 2018


A superb location with great facilities

Review submitted on Thu, 17 May 2018
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
A lovely setting and location. Easy enough to get to if you don't mind negotiating the odd country lane. Facilities were fantastic, just didn't get enough time to make the most of them AND see the island for the few days we were staying. Lots of safe outdoor space for children which was very well maintained. We did the tractor tour on our last day and didn't realise the extent of the farm, our fault! Accommodation was lovely. Loads of space and well set out. Would and have recommended 100% and we can see ourselves coming back soon. (and we are still enjoying our purchases made from the farm shop!)

Guest from stayed at Milking Parlour for 3 nights in May 2018


Relaxing break.

Review submitted on Tue, 15 May 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Excellent facilities, comfortable cottage, friendly staff. Peaceful surroundings. Nice to be welcomed on arrival. Every good reason to return.

Heather from Reading stayed at Milking Parlour for 3 nights in May 2018


Weekend break

Review submitted on Tue, 24 Apr 2018
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely place, very clean and well equipped. Amazing food in the restaurant. Very lovely staff. Had a great time there.

Maryam from Woking stayed at Milking Parlour for 3 nights in April 2018


Lovely cottage on farm in great location

Review submitted on Sat, 07 Apr 2018
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Very much enjoyed our stay here. Perfect set up for two adults and two small children. Loved the visiting peacock! Cafe breakfast very good.

Catherine from Bristol stayed at Milking Parlour for 2 nights in March 2018


Garlic farm

Review submitted on Tue, 21 Nov 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our second stay here. Love the milking parlour, garlic farm is a great location beautiful surroundings and the kids love the football pitch tennis court and peacocks!!!

Helen from stayed at Milking Parlour for 3 nights in November 2017


We had an excellent overnight stay at the cottage after a work event in the meeting room/restauarant

Review submitted on Mon, 13 Nov 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Great nights stay in the Milking Parlour. Our hosts could not have been more accommodating. We had to be off before the cook was on duty for breakfast so the owners provided cereals and toast etc for our early departure. Great service.

Stuart from stayed at Milking Parlour for 1 nights in November 2017


Fabulous, comfortable. Great location.

Review submitted on Wed, 25 Oct 2017
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
2.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely comfortable stay. Good location, 20 minutes from ports, 10 minutes from beaches. Unfortunately crockery and cutlery dirty and all needed washing before use.

Nicki from stayed at Milking Parlour for 3 nights in October 2017


Great place to stay

Review submitted on Tue, 03 Oct 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A perfect location especially if you like walking. Local pubs with excellent food within half an hours walk.
The Garlic farm has great facilities including great cooked breakfasts.
The cottage was excellent with everything you would need.
2nd stay would come again.


Jon from Fair oak stayed at Milking Parlour for 3 nights in September 2017