FB Twitter

Mill Cottage

Mill Cottage

4.7
out of 5
Ratings from 26 reviews
100% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.5
Comfort
4.8
Condition
4.6
Location
5.0
Value
4.5
Customer
Service
4.9


Located on the renowned Island attraction, The Garlic Farm, Mill Cottage sleeps up to 6 in 2 double ensuite rooms and 1 twin room with separate bathroom. It has an enclosed garden space opening onto the paddock field. Guests enjoy access to the games room, tennis court and football pitch and discounts in our onsite restaurant serving breakfast and lunch every day.

3 generation family holiday

Review submitted on Sat, 10 Aug 2019
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We have just spent a wonderful week on the IOW based in a lovely quirky cottage at the Garlic Farm. The cottage was well equipped and spacious with ample room for 3 generations. The Garlic Farm itself is fairly centrally located with a number of attractions to suit all ages all within a short drive. During our stay we ate in the restaurant which serves delicious food, attended a wonderful pizza and jazz evening, walked a few of the local walks, played in the games room, fed the chickens, peacocks and pigeons as well as visiting Blackgang Chine , Robin Hill Country Park, The Donkey Sanctuary, Amazon Zoo, The Needles, played crazy golf at Sandown, ate a lovely meal in Shanklin to name just a few highlights ! All in all a great time was had by all!

Janet from Andover stayed at Mill Cottage for 7 nights in August 2019


Excellent family stay at The Garlic Farm

Review submitted on Sat, 03 Aug 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We’ve just returned from a fabulous week at the Garlic Farm staying in Mill cottage.
Our party consisted of three adults a five year old and a baby and the property was perfect in terms of size, layout and facilities. The walls and doors are thick and soundproof meaning babies can sleep without being disturbed, the showers powerful and the bathrooms plentiful. The kitchen is really well equipped too, although there are so many great places to eat out you rarely need it. The Boswell’s were the most friendly and helpful hosts and made us feel really welcome. I’d definitely recommend this as a great base to explore the island and chill out and enjoy farm. Perfect for families and groups of friends. The food in the restaurant is very good as are the ready meals you can preorder! We will definitely be back.


Lauren from Leatherhead stayed at Mill Cottage for 7 nights in July 2019


Lovely country cottage

Review submitted on Fri, 28 Jun 2019
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A wonderful cottage in a picturesque farm with lovely walks and open areas. Access to the communal firepit area and the sports field are a definite plus. We very much enjoyed our stay!

Alexander from stayed at Mill Cottage for 5 nights in June 2019


Mill cottage

Review submitted on Tue, 04 Jun 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Amazing stay we all enjoyed it especially the kids and the dog! Loved the animals and kids loved the playroom! Food was also fantastic and all the staff so friendly we will be back!

Guest from Cuffley stayed at Mill Cottage for 3 nights in May 2019


Melanie replied 60 days ago
Thank you Nicola for taking the time to write such a great review! We truly appreciate it :) See you again soon! Kind Regards, Melanie

A short break on the Isle of Wight

Review submitted on Tue, 07 May 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We regularly order products from the Garlic Farm's on line site and when it came round to booking a weekend away for a birthday celebration we thought we would try out the accommodation on the farm. We were delighted from the moment we drove on to the farm. The cottage was amazing, spacious, clean and had everything we needed. We'd pre-ordered a hamper and a couple of Jenny's prepared meals (see extras) which were delicious. We ate in the restaurant and enjoyed the friendly atmosphere and the food. All the staff on the farm are friendly and helpful. We're planning to make it an annual event!

Valerie from London stayed at Mill Cottage for 3 nights in April 2019


Melanie replied 106 days ago
Thank you so much Valerie for taking the time to write such a lovely review. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay and would like to return, we look forward to welcoming you again! Kind Regards, Melanie

Achieving excellence . . . .

Review submitted on Sun, 28 Apr 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Hugo, Melanie, Colin and Jenny have a unique formula with the Garlic Farm, its accommodation, restaurant and shop.
First class in every respect.
Thank you.


Jeffrey from Sevenoaks stayed at Mill Cottage for 4 nights in April 2019


Melanie replied 106 days ago
Hi Jeff and Barbara, There isn't much to say apart from a big THANK YOU for your kind words. We look forward to seeing you again. Kind Regards, Melanie

A very lovely stay for a very lovely wedding

Review submitted on Tue, 23 Apr 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The cottage was lovely and had everything we could need. Very clean and tidy even a stay gate. Thank you

Joanne from Bushey stayed at Mill Cottage for 5 nights in April 2019


Fabulous stay at Mill Cottage

Review submitted on Sat, 20 Apr 2019
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
There were a few small areas of wear and tear that could be addressed (some tiles missing in the kitchen, the rail in one of the wardrobes had a lot of paint peeling off in large chunks, the shower doors in the large en suite didn't close properly meaning the floor got very wet as water would escape).
It would be really helpful if there was some children's crockery available for meals - such as bowls, cups and plates as we were very nervous during meal times that the children may break those In the cottage!
Overall we had a wonderful and comfortable stay in the cottage and can't wait to visit again. The horses, peacocks and Guinea pigs were a huge hit! And the owners were very responsive and helpful with any queries that arose. Fabulous.


Katrina from London stayed at Mill Cottage for 7 nights in April 2019


Thank you!

Review submitted on Tue, 19 Mar 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
What attention to detail and the right level of comfort that suited a large range of needs, from babies and pregnant women, to tall excited men! We had such a wonderful time, to be able to hire a few cottages and have us all around one huge table was also a treat.

The facilities were excellent with everything thought of.
The hot tub and new orchard are beautiful additions, A perfect spot to stay in and cosy up by the fire with a book in peace, or head out for a walk to some great pubs and beaches.


Josephine from stayed at Mill Cottage for 3 nights in March 2019


A place to celebrate special occasions

Review submitted on Wed, 13 Mar 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We booked Mill cottage for my 50th birthday and my in laws 60th wedding anniversary.. We couldn't have asked for more . It was perfect in every way. Warm cosy and comfortable.. Can't wait to go back again. Thanks Hugo and staff

Lynda from Brandon Suffolk stayed at Mill Cottage for 4 nights in March 2019


Great stay for our group of family and friends

Review submitted on Mon, 04 Mar 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Loved our stay. A great place for groups as there are different size cottages to suit different numbers. The team are friendly and very easy to deal with. We will be back and definitely recommend this lovely place to stay.

Judy from Kenilworth stayed at Mill Cottage for 4 nights in February 2019


Great place to stay

Review submitted on Tue, 20 Nov 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Central point on the island for getting around. Friendly family atmosphere around the garlic farm, great place to stay!

Jon from Fair oak stayed at Mill Cottage for 3 nights in November 2018


Lovely short break and comfortable accommodation

Review submitted on Sat, 03 Nov 2018
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Spacious and well equipped with comfortable beds and lovely hot, powerful showers in a beautiful setting.
The Garlic Farm is well located for reaching all areas of the island.
The lantern walk was a big hit with our 4 year old, as was the games room!
We are keen to return in the future.


Charlotte from stayed at Mill Cottage for 4 nights in October 2018


Melanie replied 276 days ago
Thank you so much for taking the write a review. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay at the farm. We certainly enjoyed the lantern walk too, what a magical moment! We hope to see you again in the future. Melanie

Excellent Stay and Service

Review submitted on Mon, 03 Sep 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Awesome stay with friends and family. Kids enjoyed the chickens, peacocks around the cottage. Super fun

Guest from Woodford Green, Essex stayed at Mill Cottage for 2 nights in August 2018


Fantastic stay at the Garlic Farm

Review submitted on Sat, 16 Jun 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Great hosts at the Garlic Farm, in a awonderful setting. We would recommend this place to anybody visiting the Isle of Wight and would most definitely return.

Adam from .a stayed at Mill Cottage for 4 nights in June 2018


Stunning location and great accommodation

Review submitted on Thu, 31 May 2018
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Stunning location and really interesting accommodation. There were 26 of us and this was just perfect to suit us all. There is lots to do, and it's brilliant for kids. We had beautiful weather so went to different amazing beaches every day-all such a close drive away. Hugo was very accommodating and on hand for any help we needed. The Mill Cottage was comfortable and well equipped. Would definitely go again!

Caroline from stayed at Mill Cottage for 3 nights in May 2018


Happy break at garlic farm

Review submitted on Sat, 28 Apr 2018
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The cottage was all that we remembered. Clean, comfortable and well placed. Everybody makes us feel welcome and the discount for shop and cafe add an extra sparkle. Great breakfasts and a well stocked shop.
Only downside was the unfortunate road closure through Newchurch but not the farms fault and soon resolved.
The Pointer Inn gives very good meals but is busy and needs booking.
Thanks to all.


Robin from Hitchin stayed at Mill Cottage for 7 nights in April 2018


Relaxing short break at Easter

Review submitted on Tue, 17 Apr 2018
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a lovely few days at Mill Cottage.
Location is excellent - pretty central with lots of attractions within reach.
The Garlic Farm itself occupied plenty of our time too - not least the woodlands around the farm trails, which the children loved exploring, making dens etc.
The cottage itself was good - comfortable, cosy and quiet. Only slight gripe would be that the crockery, cutlery and glassware were dirty on arrival. I suspect the dishwasher has seen better days!


James from Southampton stayed at Mill Cottage for 4 nights in April 2018


Loved our stay

Review submitted on Sat, 14 Apr 2018
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Amazing place! Beautiful and peaceful setting with lots of wildlife and country walks. Tennis courts, football pitch and games room which kept the kids entertained. Would definitely come back!

Paul from Horley stayed at Mill Cottage for 7 nights in April 2018


We had a great stay

Review submitted on Thu, 05 Apr 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The garlic farm is a charming and beautiful family run place, we had a lovely few days there and would happily return for longer. They took good care of us, the cottage was cozy, and the animals on the farm and the game room were a big hit with the kids.

Tamara from stayed at Mill Cottage for 3 nights in March 2018


Mill cottage.

Review submitted on Fri, 30 Mar 2018
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Had a lovely stay in mill cottage recently. Very comfortable and homely feel about the place.
Colin and Hugo were very welcoming and helpful.
Love the farm shop, and the food in the restaurant was superb.
Very much look forward to returning again very soon.


Christina from stayed at Mill Cottage for 4 nights in March 2018


Garlic Farm fabulous holiday location

Review submitted on Sun, 29 Oct 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Amazingly beautiful and relaxed stay at The Garlic Farm Mill Cottage. Great location views and very relaxing. Super welcome from the family with superb holiday cottages and Yurts. Super countryside surroundings with wildlife in abundance. The Mill cottage very clean and comfortable. 3 bedrooms with en suite bathrooms. Warm and cosy in the evenings. Torches provided for dark evenings. Breakfast a must in The Garlic Farm cafe, start the day with a hearty garlic fuelled sausage or bacon ciabatta...delicious, maybe spot a red squirrel. Well run and looked after. Thoroughly recommend this place and we live fed it and will be going back.

Julie from stayed at Mill Cottage for 4 nights in October 2017


Excellent family accommodation for a short Autumn stay.

Review submitted on Wed, 25 Oct 2017
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We were three generations of a family over to celebrate a 50th birthday. The cottage worked beautifully with 3bedrooms and 3 bathrooms. The grandchildren loved the playroom and the freedom. The added bonus was having a wonderful breakfast in the restaurant. Excellent walks for the dog. Thoroughly recommend Mersley Farm cottages.

Ann from stayed at Mill Cottage for 3 nights in October 2017


Lovely place to stay

Review submitted on Wed, 04 Oct 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Comfortable house for 6, good facilities and Garlic Farm an excellent venue, relaxed with plenty to do in the surrounding area. We had an excellent dinner in the restaurant on Saturday evening.

Harriet from stayed at Mill Cottage for 3 nights in September 2017


Weekend farm stay

Review submitted on Mon, 25 Sep 2017
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The Garlic Farm is a fantastic place to stay, we were so pleased we booked, it was even better than we expected. The setting is beautiful, there's so much to see and do on the stay, tracker ride, lovely cafe, garlic tasting experience, great shop, see the horses, feed the chickens and enjoy a lovely breakfast overlooking the views. All the staff were friendly and helpful and the cottage was very cosy and comfortable and had all you needed plus a small garden. We will be back!

Claire from a stayed at Mill Cottage for 1 nights in September 2017


Comfortable and relaxing

Review submitted on Tue, 19 Sep 2017
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Well equipped cottage in pretty surroundings. Lots of great walks and pubs nearby. Owners helpful and friendly. Good food at the Garlic farm restaurant.

Lynne from Poole stayed at Mill Cottage for 7 nights in September 2017