FB Twitter

Farthing Cottage

Farthing Cottage

4.8
out of 5
Ratings from 102 reviews
100% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.8
Comfort
4.8
Condition
4.8
Location
4.8
Value
4.7
Customer
Service
4.9


  • Sleeps 4 in a king size bedroom and twin bed bedroom
  • Unlimited dogs welcome, free of charge
  • Off road parking for up to 3 cars
  • EV charger for guest use
  • Small secure garden with 6ft solid fencing
  • Garden laid to grass and patio with seating
  • Modern, comfortable and very dog friendly cottage
  • Open plan living space, underfloor heating and non-slip slate floor
  • Dogs allowed on beds (guest bedding to be used)
  • Short walk to the local dog friendly pub
  • Short drive to many of the sandy, dog friendly beaches.
  • Exceptional level of doggy extras provided

Farthing cottage was a lovely cosy cottage

Review submitted on Sat, 10 Feb 2024
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The cottage was warm and welcoming, plenty of room and well stocked. The layout was perfect for humans and dogs alike. We loved the welcome pack for both humans and dogs. Location was great with walks from the house and a very short stroll to the Crown pub that served yummy food and was super dog friendly too. We tried several of the suggested cafes in the welcome pack and found everyone to be super friendly:
This was our second visit to an erc property and will definitely return

How dog friendly was this property for you?
Never been anywhere so dog welcoming before!

How likely are you to return?
Would love to come back!





Quality cottage

Review submitted on Tue, 06 Feb 2024
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Lovely stay at Farthing Cottage
Lots of dog friendly extras too
Mundesley beach very close a great dog friendly place to visit .

How dog friendly was this property for you?
Great for dogs!

How likely are you to return?
Certainly will consider it.





A lovely new year break

Review submitted on Wed, 03 Jan 2024
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our stay at Farthing cottage was lovely . Two humans and three dogs . The welcome package was great , even providing dog balm and dog soap ! Human Cookies were amazing !!!
The cottage is an ideal location , short drive to an amazing beach and a very short walk to the local pub - be sure to say hi to Ed in the pub if he is working .

How dog friendly was this property for you?
Great for dogs!

How likely are you to return?
Would love to come back!





Wet and Windy Week ....

Review submitted on Sat, 04 Nov 2023
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our third stay at Farthing Cottage in Trunch with our two Leonbergers and the added delights of Storm Ciaran. Despite the wet and windy weather we had an excellent week - beaches were largely deserted and the waves spectacular. Cottage excellent as always.

How dog friendly was this property for you?
Great for dogs!

How likely are you to return?
Would love to come back!





Farthing Cottage - what a find

Review submitted on Sun, 15 Oct 2023
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The cottage is beautiful. The circular walks from there are amazing and the folder documenting the walks was so helpful. Local pub was great as was the farm shop and butchers. Caroline the owner was so lovely, answering any questions we had. Very happy dogs and people

How dog friendly was this property for you?
Great for dogs!

How likely are you to return?
Would love to come back!





Peaceful & restorative

Review submitted on Sat, 14 Oct 2023
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Where to begin! What a totally dog savvy cottage.. everything the dogs needed & more.. bowls, beds, buggy’s, beds.. awesome
The kitchen had everything you needed as well.. for me, it was a cottage with a bed I could sleep in, I have a degenerative spine.. holiday cottage are a gamble, I’ve come away from some stays worse than when I arrived, not here though.. came away rested.. have booker the cabin for next year as I struggled with the stairs… farthing cottage was just the tonic.. East Ruston cottage were brilliant in communication & even have a facebook group… thank you

How dog friendly was this property for you?
Great for dogs!

How likely are you to return?
Already booked!



Happy holiday

Review submitted on Tue, 03 Oct 2023
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Fantastic accommodation welcome hamper was amazing
Will definitely be back
The most pet friendly accommodation

How dog friendly was this property for you?
Never been anywhere so dog welcoming before!

How likely are you to return?
Would love to come back!





Just perfect!!

Review submitted on Sat, 30 Sep 2023
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
What an amazing cottage and thoughtful in everything that was provided for us and our dogs to have the most perfect of stays..
comfortable and cosy in the most beautiful village location, with easy reach of some stunning beaches ..
we will certainly return in the very near future ..

How dog friendly was this property for you?
Never been anywhere so dog welcoming before!

How likely are you to return?
Would love to come back!





Country escape

Review submitted on Sat, 23 Sep 2023
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely open plan cottage with great non slip slate floor French doors into fully enclosed garden …with downstairs loo 2 great sized bedrooms upstairs and spacious bathroom. Located in fantastic village - if you like rural quiet and few facilities! Local pub and social club along with very active social events ongoing in community … beautiful walks from doorstep over fields stunning beaches 10/15 minutes away national trust amazing beautiful woodland walks open Dawn til dusk - after opening hours for property it was a haven of peace and tranquility to explore which was a real find with reactive dogs. Lots of big name food stores in Cromer. My dogs loved the cool slate floor in the mini heatwave. I did look in the garage to discover just about everything you could need for floofies - crates/ elevated beds/slow feeders/toys incredibly dog friendly.
The Welcome Pack absolutely blew me away and I would come back just for that alone as would the floofs

How dog friendly was this property for you?
Never been anywhere so dog welcoming before!

How likely are you to return?
Would love to come back!



Enjoy holiday

Review submitted on Sat, 09 Sep 2023
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is our third time staying in this beautiful cottage we all had a fab time so dog friendly great location

How dog friendly was this property for you?
Never been anywhere so dog welcoming before!

How likely are you to return?
Would love to come back!





Return stay, didn't disappoint

Review submitted on Tue, 29 Aug 2023
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
My 4th stay in Farthing Cottage for 2 weeks of mixing work and leisure. So many walks from the door, without having to drive anywhere. Love the walks to Mundesley and back; and Southrepps and back. Both have good pub stops. The Crown in Trunch is super friendly, either for coffee/cake, drinks and/or pies. Trunch village has a real community spirit, everyone friendly.
Inside Farthing there is everything you need and more, main bedroom has had a nice makeover. Welcome hamper is the best ever. Garden could do with a little TLC.

How dog friendly was this property for you?
Never been anywhere so dog welcoming before!

How likely are you to return?
Certainly will consider it.



Pleasant stay

Review submitted on Sat, 12 Aug 2023
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Very well equiped cottage and the best welcome pack that we have experienced over the years, filled with quality local products and a bottle of prosecco as we were celebrating a birthday.
Dog friendly is probably an understatement more like a shop, can't think of anything that was not provided for there comfort.
The car charger is a welcome asset and I am sure will attract more people.

How dog friendly was this property for you?
Never been anywhere so dog welcoming before!

How likely are you to return?
Not again (but do please let us know why)





Lovely place to stay

Review submitted on Sat, 29 Jul 2023
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Very comfortable, super dog friendly, lovely walks nearby, overly generous welcome pack, highly recommend.

How dog friendly was this property for you?
Never been anywhere so dog welcoming before!

How likely are you to return?
Certainly will consider it.





Another Fabulous Stay at Farthing Cottage

Review submitted on Tue, 25 Jul 2023
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our second stay here, and just as good as ever! Everything you could possibly want for a holiday with your dogs, with walks from the door, a short hop to the dog friendly pub, and the most amazing beaches within a very short drive. Caroline has everything set up so well, and the welcome hamper is one of the best we’ve ever had (for us AND the dogs!). I’m sure we’ll be back soon, it’s just a question of when.

How dog friendly was this property for you?
Never been anywhere so dog welcoming before!

How likely are you to return?
Would love to come back!





Last minute Weekend stay

Review submitted on Tue, 18 Jul 2023
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Found Farthing Cottage after a spur of the moment internet search for a last minute break.What a find! Everything you could need and more, for both humans and dogs, including a magnificent welcome pack. By far the best company for accommodation in the last eleven years of booking dog friendly holidays.Will certainly use ERC again when holidaying in Norfolk.We even received a birthday card after mentioning our eldest dog would have a birthday during our weekend stay.

How dog friendly was this property for you?
Never been anywhere so dog welcoming before!

How likely are you to return?
Would love to come back!





Absolutely amazing!

Review submitted on Sun, 09 Jul 2023
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had the BEST week at Farthing Cottage. I fell in love with the cottage within minutes, and was blown away by how everything had been thought of to make it home from home! It was great not to have to bring so much dog and human stuff (especially the dog stroller!), as it was all provided. I just had to bring my own bedding as my girls are used to sleeping on my bed, which is fine :) The garden was completely secure and a lovely sun trap. The welcome pack was amazing (and the dogs loved theirs too!). We'll definitely stay at Farthing Cottage again :)



How dog friendly was this property for you?
Never been anywhere so dog welcoming before!

How likely are you to return?
Would love to come back!



Delightful cottage in good location

Review submitted on Sat, 01 Jul 2023
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Delightful semi-detached Norfolk stone cottage in the village of Trunch a few miles from the Mundesley coast.

Cottage has 2 bedrooms sufficient size for 4 people. Downstairs is a very spacious, lounge, diner and very well equipped kitchen - all stone floor. Does have underfloor heating, which I am sure is very cosy in colder months. Fully secure rear garden.

I've got 3 dogs and there was plenty of room for them. Plenty of doggy ancillary stuff on hand, including crates, grooming kit and throws for the furniture.

Was met by a lovely hamper of biscuits, cookies, crisps and a large sliced white loaf. In the fridge were sausages, bacon, ham, eggs, butter and milk. This was very useful as there is currently no village store. The local pub in the village sells papers and may start a small grocery store, but it hadn't happened when I was there. Pub is closed on Mondays as many of them are in the villages.

How dog friendly was this property for you?
Great for dogs!

How likely are you to return?
Certainly will consider it.



Mid week break at Farthing Cottage

Review submitted on Sat, 03 Jun 2023
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We booked a very last minute stay in Norfolk. Farthing Cottage was one of a few places we found that would welcome our dog as well as provide an EV charger. I was prepared to change areas from North Norfolk to have these amenities and I’m glad we did as it was a great find.
The house was just what we needed, lovely enclosed garden, comfortable beds, very well equipped for us and our dog (and not a trace of previous four legged guests, very thoroughly cleaned in between guests). I’ve never been so well catered for in terms of our dog and human goodies - a gorgeous welcome hamper that was much appreciated.
We enjoyed walks at Happisburgh and Sea Palling, and visited Blickling and Felbrigg NT houses.
Highly recommend!

How dog friendly was this property for you?
Never been anywhere so dog welcoming before!

How likely are you to return?
Would love to come back!



Holiday Home You Want For Nothing & More - Truly dog friendly and some!

Review submitted on Mon, 29 May 2023
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have now stayed at Farthing Cottage 8 times in the last 10 Years and keep coming back. I believe we were the second people to stay here when it was first advertised after we discovered Sue Allen's East Ruston Cottages and how truly dog friendly they are, it has been amazing. Nothing too much trouble and everything well catered for. Sue and East Ruston Cottages are so helpful to your every need, their holiday homes are properly dog friendly, and you are going to have a great time with your four legged friends, let's be honest they are your best friends!

As for Farthing Cottage we love the place, nestled in the heart of Trunch with wonderful walks and nearby Mundsley with miles of sand to walk along on in either direction. The latest owner Caroline has made some lovely upgrades to the property and provides so many facilities to ensure your stay has everything you didn't realise you may need. A secluded garden that our dogs loved, as we use to sit on the patio of an evening after a walks and daily activities. Now even if you have an EV, Caroline has had a charge point installed, something useful for those needing this service.

We have some favourite places all within short drives, from Sea Palling to Yarmouth, Cromer to Sheringham and all places in between, so many places to go with your best friends. We will definitely be back again

How dog friendly was this property for you?
Never been anywhere so dog welcoming before!

How likely are you to return?
Would love to come back!



Norfolk village bliss

Review submitted on Tue, 16 May 2023
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
An absolutely wonderful stay in the delightful Farthing Cottage. A perfect location in a blissful Norfolk village - plenty of countryside walks from the door, a superb pub within walking distance (The Crown) where the locals give you and your four legged friends a very warm welcome and only a short drive to the most wonderful beaches.
Farthing Cottage was incredibly well equipped with everything we could possibly need. A huge welcome hamper of local goodies along with thoughtful touches such as holiday dog tags, dog bowls, crates and throws for the sofas ensured that humans and dogs could properly relax - and not need to load up the car with all the essentials! A well secured garden meant that we could let the dogs out without having to worry or watch their every move and we loved sitting out there in the evening sunshine after a long walk on the beach.
A truly, dog welcoming cottage and we will most definitely be back!

How dog friendly was this property for you?
Never been anywhere so dog welcoming before!

How likely are you to return?
Would love to come back!



A perfect holiday cottage!

Review submitted on Sat, 29 Apr 2023
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had the most wonderful few days in Norfolk saying at Farthing Cottage! Dog friendly at its best and not a doggy smell to be found as the cottage was thoughtfully modelled around doggie visitors… the wonderful owners had thought of everything - we have never stayed in such a well equipped cottage. It was cosy, homely (a ‘real’ home from home) and we did not want to leave… we will be back!

How dog friendly was this property for you?
Never been anywhere so dog welcoming before!

How likely are you to return?
Would love to come back!





A wonderful week at Farthing cottage

Review submitted on Sat, 15 Apr 2023
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
What a wonderful week we had at the beautiful Farthing Cottage. The cottage was warm, spotless and welcoming with an amazing welcome pack for both humans and dogs. As ever the communications with ERC and the owner was excellent and the information book in the cottage had lots of recommendations and suggestions for beaches, walks, trips, meals out etc. The cottage is beautifully situated for days out in the car and especially for some amazing local walks straight from the door. Farthing cottage is extremely well equipped, a real home from home. The only downside of our week was having to leave to go home.

How dog friendly was this property for you?
Never been anywhere so dog welcoming before!

How likely are you to return?
Would love to come back!



Returning to Farthing Cottage

Review submitted on Sat, 08 Apr 2023
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our 2nd time staying at Farthing Cottage with our 4 dogs . Generous welcome pack Dog welcoming ,secure garden in a great location for dog walks from the door . Home from home with usual excellent communication and care from property owner and East Ruston .looking forward to holidaying with E.R.C later in the year .Excellent as always .have used the company many times and always enjoyed ourselves

How dog friendly was this property for you?
Great for dogs!

How likely are you to return?
Would love to come back!





Weekend away retreat

Review submitted on Tue, 07 Mar 2023
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Just had a very relaxing weekend in Farthing cottage. Most important to us very secure garden. Everything could need for your dogs.

Very clean cottage, well equipped.

Great walks from front door around fields. Beach walk just couple of miles away. Great cottage to stay in.

How dog friendly was this property for you?
Never been anywhere so dog welcoming before!

How likely are you to return?
Would love to come back!





Superb Communication

Review submitted on Sat, 11 Feb 2023
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
What a super cottage. A modern property so not quirky but it is very comfortable and well equipped. The dogs loved it and it is very secure.
While staying there was an issue with the boiler ….. absolutely superb service from the owner and in the background the ERC “family”.

How dog friendly was this property for you?
Great for dogs!

How likely are you to return?
Certainly will consider it.





New year at farthing

Review submitted on Thu, 05 Jan 2023
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Great property in a lovely quiet location. Thanks to sue at erc and Caroline the owner for their help and understanding for our late arrival due to family illness and the offer of an extra day at no cost. Great customer care. Our 3 dogs had a wonderful time walking and swimming on mundesley beach. We visited sheringham, wells, holt, Norwich, cromer during our stay. Loved farthing to relax in the evening and will be back.

How dog friendly was this property for you?
Never been anywhere so dog welcoming before!

How likely are you to return?
Would love to come back!





A peaceful, relaxing cottage

Review submitted on Wed, 28 Dec 2022
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Farthing Cottage is a beautiful and cozy cottage in a peaceful village. The welcome pack was very generous for both humans and dogs. We could truly relax for Beachmas as the cottage had everything that we needed. Ideal location to visit local beaches of Mundesley, Happisburgh, Bacton and Cromer. We had a delicious festive veggie pie in The Crown pub in the village and the locals were very friendly and welcoming. Sadly we had no need to light the fire as the cottage was so lovely and warm. Thank you to Sue (ERC) and Caroline (Farthing Cottage) for the lovely gifts. Another ERC winner!

How dog friendly was this property for you?
Never been anywhere so dog welcoming before!

How likely are you to return?
Would love to come back!



A happy customer - and two very happy pooches!

Review submitted on Tue, 13 Dec 2022
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Despite difficulties with getting away, owing to unforeseen circumstances, and a subsequent late arrival, everything was found to be of a high standard. Although the place is so very dog friendly, the level of cleanliness was nevertheless pleasing, and the treats in the fridge and in the hamper were well received.

How dog friendly was this property for you?
Never been anywhere so dog welcoming before!

How dog friendly was this property for you?
Great for dogs!

How likely are you to return?
Would love to come back!





Short November break with St Bernard.

Review submitted on Sat, 19 Nov 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
As always booking was easy liaison with Sue prior to arrival was excellent. On arrival had all we needed with excellent local produce, ranging from sausages to double choc biscuits. Even a beautiful, very large, lemon cake for my birthday.
Having stayed before we knew most of local info/geography, but there was an indepth information folder and loads of local and wide range information. In the village is a nice pub serving food and papers in the morning. Local beaches are plentiful and dog friendly, good parking at all, some with dog friendly cafes/pubs.
A hgreat property to stay in and excellent area to enjoy for dogs and their owners.

How dog friendly was this property for you?
Great for dogs!

How likely are you to return?
Would love to come back!



Fabulous cottage for people and pets

Review submitted on Sat, 05 Nov 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Cannot fault Farthing Cottage. Everything has been thought of to make for a relaxing break. Welcoming, warm and comfortable. Great provisions in fridge and hamper. Well equipped kitchen. Spotless throughout. Very secure garden. Dog buggy, crates, throws etc. Peaceful village.
We were a bit worried in case ‘unlimited dogs’ might mean a little bit ‘lived-in’. Nothing could be further from the truth. This is a great place to stay, with or without dogs.

How dog friendly was this property for you?
Great for dogs!

How likely are you to return?
Would love to come back!





Lovely holiday at Farthing Cottage

Review submitted on Mon, 17 Oct 2022
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Great cottage with easy access to both the Norfolk coast and the Broads. Very comfortable (only slight downer was the creaking made by the bed, although it was comfy). Very well kitted out and warm. Secure garden. Not huge but perfectly adequate. Loads of great dog walks from the door and within a short drive. Best ever and most generous welcome pack I have ever seen.

How dog friendly was this property for you?
Great for dogs!

How likely are you to return?
Would love to come back!





Short break at Farthing Cottage

Review submitted on Wed, 05 Oct 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Have just returned from our short break at Farthing Cottage - the best dog friendly cottage we have found. Our 3 hounds loved the quiet location, safe, secure garden and all the lovely peaceful walks close by. Everything was supplied for the dogs, food bowls and stands, throws and blankets and much more besides. For us humans the welcome pack was excellent and all very useful. Very comfortable, cosy cottage and would hope to be able to visit again soon. So many lovely beaches to explore, National Trust properties and all close at hand.

How dog friendly was this property for you?
Never been anywhere so dog welcoming before!

How likely are you to return?
Would love to come back!



Classic

Review submitted on Sat, 17 Sep 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We needed a cottage that was dog friendly, had all the mod cons and was based in North Norfolk. And we found this one. Great stay, pretty good weather and very successful touring around Norfolk. Brilliant cottage with everything need and more. Definitely would return.

How dog friendly was this property for you?
Great for dogs!

How likely are you to return?
Certainly will consider it.





Feedback on Farthing Cottage

Review submitted on Sun, 11 Sep 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely Cottage in a quiet village. Easy access to everything. A great pub 5minutes walk away. Very dog friendly and staff attentive. Very generous welcome hamper provided for your stay.

How dog friendly was this property for you?
Great for dogs!

How likely are you to return?
Certainly will consider it.





First timers

Review submitted on Sun, 04 Sep 2022
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was our first holiday with our 15 month golden retriever so was a bit apprehensive what to expect from a dog friendly cottage. Those worries quickly disappeared after stepping through the doorway of Farthing cottage. It had everything we needed and much more, even a dog paddling pool. The welcome hamper was absolutely superb and my son instantly dived into the cookies. Wonderful. The cottage was located in a brilliant position. We had fields and woods to walk in and a little further the amazing beaches. We loved Holkham. We even hired a boat on the Broads which we all thoroughly enjoyed. All in all an absolutely fabulous holiday at Farthing cottage. A clean, beautifully presented place to stay and I’m so pleased we found them. Looking forward and planning our next visit. Thank you

How dog friendly was this property for you?
Never been anywhere so dog welcoming before!

How likely are you to return?
Would love to come back!



A Perfect Break

Review submitted on Sat, 06 Aug 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We went for a super short notice cancellation and we’re absolutely delighted we did. Two adults, and an older teen, with three Pointers made for a little juggling on the sofas, but the cottage is packed full of everything you could possibly need for dogs and humans too! In the beautiful village of Trunch, with walks from the door to die for. It was truly idyllic, and we couldn’t have wished for more. Great pub, well stocked shop, and near the Broads and beaches and stunning countryside, but away from the crowds. Perfect for us!

How dog friendly was this property for you?
Never been anywhere so dog welcoming before!

How dog friendly was this property for you?
Great for dogs!

How likely are you to return?
Would love to come back!



Super dog friendly property

Review submitted on Sat, 25 Jun 2022
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Farthing Cottage is a truly dog friendly property, the owners have thought of everything it is very well equipped with everything you and your dogs could need. A more than generous welcome pack far exceeded what we expected it was a lovely surprise. The cottage is conveniently situated for exploring Norfolk you will not be disappointed if you stay here. Lovely friendly pub less than a 5 minute walk away what more could you want.

How dog friendly was this property for you?
Great for dogs!

How likely are you to return?
Certainly will consider it.





Lovely Farthing cottage

Review submitted on Tue, 14 Jun 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
What a great place to stay, Farthing cottage has everything you and your doggies need for a wonderful holiday, although it is definitely not dog tired.
The cottage is very well kept and maintained, beds are comfy, plenty of towels, throws for humans and dogs. The garden is enclosed and safe for dogs.
There is a fabulous welcome pack on arrival including local produce and a doggie welcome pack also.
We found Trunch to be a very central base for exploring the north Norfolk area, with a local shop and very friendly pub a couple of minutes walk away from the cottage.
We would definitely recommend Farthing cottage to anyone wanting to enjoy Norfolk, you won't be disappointed!!

How dog friendly was this property for you?
Never been anywhere so dog welcoming before!

How likely are you to return?
Would love to come back!



Great holiday!

Review submitted on Sat, 28 May 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Great location with perfect dog friendly beaches within easy access. Local walk were excellent good places to eat.

How dog friendly was this property for you?
Never been anywhere so dog welcoming before!

How likely are you to return?
Would love to come back!





Farthing Cottage Trunch

Review submitted on Sat, 14 May 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We really enjoyed our stay at Farthing Cottage. It was very well appointed, & the welcome hamper was most generous, with lots of excellent local produce. Caroline, the owner was very helpful when we had one or two queries, & nothing was too much trouble The pub was very welcoming, but unfortunately the food was disappointing’ but it was still nice to be able to pop along for an evening drink. All in all Farthing Cottage was one of the best cottages we have stayed in, in all our many doggy holidays.

How dog friendly was this property for you?
Never been anywhere so dog welcoming before!

How likely are you to return?
Certainly will consider it.



.

Review submitted on Fri, 22 Apr 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have been to this cottage before & always find it very welcoming & comfortable. The welcome package for us & the dogs is brilliant. There is not much that we can of that they don't supply to make your stay very enjoyable. Lovely walk not far from the cottage & trips to the coast not far. Bacton woods is a great walk. Definitely recommend this cottage.

How dog friendly was this property for you?
Never been anywhere so dog welcoming before!

How dog friendly was this property for you?
Great for dogs!

How likely are you to return?
Would love to come back!





Home from Home

Review submitted on Sat, 02 Apr 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
4th stay at this property but this has to be the best time under the new owner . Wonderful new additions include the sofas and window shutters. So much attention to detail.. . The most well equipped cottage we have ever stayed in by far. Neat and organised. It really is a home from home. The dogs loved the new beds too so much so I'm going to buy one!! Love the underfloor heating. We spent a lot of time relaxing here and did some lovely walks around the village. Visited Mundsley and Seapalling beaches with the dogs Sheringham and Cromer are favourite places we like to visit and not far from either.
Thank you for the amazing Welcome pack which we really enjoyed and the beautiful flowers

How dog friendly was this property for you?
Never been anywhere so dog welcoming before!

How likely are you to return?
Would love to come back!



We will be back!

Review submitted on Sat, 26 Mar 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Fab dog friendly, comfy cottage in great location for easy and enjoyable dog walks . Everything we needed was here . meticulously cleaned and maintained. from booking to departure everything was easy.

How dog friendly was this property for you?
Great for dogs!

How likely are you to return?
Already booked!





Our favourite place

Review submitted on Sun, 20 Mar 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is the 2nd time now staying at farthing cottage.
We love staying here, it’s so dog friendly. Has everything you need!
The toasty log burner fire just adds to the nice quiet evening after taking the poochies for a local beach walk.

Everything is in close proximity….
You have bacton beach 10 min drive
Local walks which are amazing to see the wildlife
Local pub The Crown trunch that serve amazing food (even for vegan)
The cottage has a big booklet with places the recommend.

The cottage also has everything….
Dog crates
Dog bowls
Blankets
Towels
Dog washer
Cosy beds
Toasty fire
Hamper when you arrive for you & the dogs
Baby gate on the stairs (helpful as we have a dog going blind)

Caroline is also so amazing, she is so helpful with any questions and will try and help you the best she can.

How dog friendly was this property for you?
Never been anywhere so dog welcoming before!

How dog friendly was this property for you?
Great for dogs!

How likely are you to return?
Would love to come back!



Birthday getaway

Review submitted on Fri, 18 Mar 2022
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have stayed at this lovely little cottage a few times now , it has everything you could possibly ask for . Had a fantastic goodie hamper when we arrived, not just for us but for the dog as well , so much appreciated !
We all enjoyed the underfloor heating & log burner after a long day out , sitting on the nice new sofas . A perfect base to explore so much & has some great walks right on the doorstep too !

How dog friendly was this property for you?
Never been anywhere so dog welcoming before!

How likely are you to return?
Would love to come back!





Beautiful house and excellent facilities

Review submitted on Sat, 19 Feb 2022
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is my first holiday with all our 8 dogs. It was seamless, a beautiful cottage and everything has been though if. Already booked again. Stunning food basket too. Can’t wait to go back.

How dog friendly was this property for you?
Never been anywhere so dog welcoming before!

How likely are you to return?
Already booked!





An excellent visit and we may come again.

Review submitted on Sun, 13 Feb 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We expected a good service from East Ruston Cottages anyway, but this stay exceeded our expectations. The cottage was delightful: comfortable, well-appointed and well supplied with everything you could need for a week's stay for 3 people and a dog, including a selection of fresh locally produced foodstuffs. The location was ideal for us, offering opportunities for country and coastal walking with the dog. The village was very quiet at all times, which ensured a very relaxing experience. There are plenty of good pubs and restaurants in the vicinity, as highlighted in the very useful welcome pack, and the village shop is well-stocked with most things. The facilities for dogs were excellent too; the secure garden was ideal.

We left wishing we had had longer and would like to come back here again.

How dog friendly was this property for you?
Great for dogs!

How likely are you to return?
Would love to come back!



Lovely short break, beautiful cottage

Review submitted on Tue, 01 Feb 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A Friday to Monday stay for my family and our two dogs. Really loved being able to just pop to the beach for a walk and a beachcomb for the kids. Great fish and chips at The Ship Inn in Mundesley, huge portions! Visiting the beautiful Bacton Woods too for a nice Sunday walk before a lovely lunch at the dog friendly Lighthouse Inn at Walcott.

The accommodation itself was lovely, nice little welcome basket, cute woodburner, amazing underfloor heating, plenty of blankets for the dogs/children and very comfy beds! My wife also commented on how nice the bath was - very long and wide to relax in!

Would certainly recommend to friends and family looking to get away with their children and/or dogs!

How dog friendly was this property for you?
Great for dogs!

How likely are you to return?
Certainly will consider it.



First timers!

Review submitted on Tue, 25 Jan 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We really wanted to start taking our dogs on holiday with us but weren’t sure how they’d be in a strange place so needed a real home from home. Farthing Cottage is perfect! Our babies settled in a heartbeat in front of the cosy fire. The garden is totally secure which was a huge bonus and peace of mind for us. Facilities in the cottage are just as you would expect in your own home, I think that says it all! We loved it and can’t wait to book again. Thank you ERC for making our first time such a wonderful, positive experience.

How dog friendly was this property for you?
Never been anywhere so dog welcoming before!

How dog friendly was this property for you?
Great for dogs!

How likely are you to return?
Would love to come back!



Couldn’t have asked for a better home from home

Review submitted on Wed, 05 Jan 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Farthing gave us everything we needed for a much needed break away to the coast for us and our 4 little dogs. Fully equipped and so dog friendly but not shabby which in the past we’ve had to endure with other supposedly dog friendly accommodation.
Beach walking every day on the various near by areas and although busy due to it being holiday time, enough space so we could always let our pups have a free run.
Incredibly lucky again with the weather but coming home to a cosy cottage was the icing on the cake.
Didn’t really eat out too much but had a few visits to the local pub after our walks, very welcoming.
Can’t wait for our next cottage break with East Ruston Cottages ❤️

How dog friendly was this property for you?
Never been anywhere so dog welcoming before!

How likely are you to return?
Certainly will consider it.



An amazing first dog holiday

Review submitted on Sun, 31 Oct 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was our first dog holiday with all 10 dogs.

We loved that we could come away with all 10 as we have never been able to before.
The poochies just settled in straight away after having a long drive. They felt so comfortable which is what we wanted.

They had zoomies in the garden and then rested by the fire (even thou it wasn’t on haha)

We loved our welcome pack and thought it was a lovely touch, the poochies enjoyed all their welcome pack.

We loved that they felt like it was home.

The best thing was it was totally great for a reactive dog the garden was secure and So many nice quiet walks around.

The garage was filled of doggy wash stuff, bowls, crates and much more…..

We loved coming here and are so excited for our next stay.

Thank you for letting us enjoy your cottage

How dog friendly was this property for you?
Never been anywhere so dog welcoming before!

How likely are you to return?
Already booked!



Really nice week at Farthing Cottage

Review submitted on Sun, 17 Oct 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Had a great week at Farthing Cottage - we've been to the cottage before, and always have a great time. We were lucky with the weather, making the Norfolk coast and countryside even more enjoyable. A lovely welcome pack greeted us on arrival and everything was excellent from there on.

How dog friendly was this property for you?
Great for dogs!

How likely are you to return?
Would love to come back!





Farthing cottage

Review submitted on Sun, 26 Sep 2021
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely cottage,fairly well placed to be able to get around.The cottage was clean and very well equipped. The fully enclosed garden was a huge bonus as we have 4 dogs, great to know you can leave the door open without worrying.Mundesly and Trimmimgham beaches are great for dog walking and are within a few minutes drive.

How dog friendly was this property for you?
Great for dogs!

How likely are you to return?
Would love to come back!





Staycation 2021

Review submitted on Sun, 22 Aug 2021
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A wonderful property to stay with 3 dogs. Comfortable, spacious and digs totally provided for. Lovely walks, lovely village and near beach. Secure quiet garden ideal for dogs and sitting in when weather allows. Highly recommend

How dog friendly was this property for you?
Never been anywhere so dog welcoming before!

How likely are you to return?
Certainly will consider it.





Great Place

Review submitted on Thu, 05 Aug 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Enjoyed a really lovely week at Farthing cottage. It was very comfortable and well equipped for both humans and dogs, with a secure garden. Lovely quiet location close to beaches, good dog walks and pubs. I would highly recommend it.

How dog friendly was this property for you?
Never been anywhere so dog welcoming before!

How likely are you to return?
Would love to come back!





Just so welcoming

Review submitted on Sun, 18 Jul 2021
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is our second time at this property and once again, it felt clean, comfortable and very welcoming. Good location, spoilt for choice with places to eat and the nearby beaches were great for walks. Would highly recommend for any dog owner!

How dog friendly was this property for you?
Never been anywhere so dog welcoming before!

How likely are you to return?
Would love to come back!





Excellent dog friendly cottage

Review submitted on Sun, 04 Jul 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Used various times always provides everything you could ever need in a lovely location. Excellent dog walks from the front door.

How dog friendly was this property for you?
Never been anywhere so dog welcoming before!

How likely are you to return?
Already booked!





A cosy, dog friendly cottage in a great position to explore North Norfolk.

Review submitted on Sun, 04 Jul 2021
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have stayed at Farthing Cottage twice, I don't think it will be our last visit!
Farthing cottage is a modern but is built in the local style and looks older.
It has modern applliances, central heating, under floor heating etc, but also has a wood burner for added ambiance.
Good sized rooms, nice furniture, fully enclosed rear garden with grass and patio area.
Very dog friendly with lots doggy throws and towels, dog crates available too.
Nice welcome packs for humans and dogs.
Trunch has a village shop for basics, and, the Crown pub which does lovely pizzas. There are some nice quiet walks around the village.
Beaches of the North Norfolk coast are only a few miles away, Bacton and Sea Palling are our favourites.
There are lots of pubs and cafés to visit in the area.
All in all a great place to holiday.

How dog friendly was this property for you?
Never been anywhere so dog welcoming before!

How likely are you to return?
Certainly will consider it.



Farthing Cottage

Review submitted on Mon, 21 Jun 2021
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our second stay at an East Ruston cottage and it won’t be our last! The cottage itself was great, clean and comfy with everything we needed. We particularly liked the garden, which is small but very secure and peaceful, and was perfect for our reactive dog. He was so relaxed out there, more so than he is at home! The location is great too: a short drive to various beaches and towns for days out; nice walks around the village and a very friendly welcome from the staff and locals at the local pub, the Trunch Crown. And for meat lovers a trip to Tavern Tasty in Swafield is a must, we had the most delicious chicken, burgers, sausages and pies from there! All in all, a wonderful, relaxing week, we will be back!

How dog friendly was this property for you?
Never been anywhere so dog welcoming before!

How likely are you to return?
Would love to come back!



A Quiet Week

Review submitted on Sun, 06 Jun 2021
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We were really lucky to have a lovely sunny week . Had the weather not been so lovely , we still think we would have had a great week .
Dog friendly .....no
Better than friendly !
Absolutely everything was there for our two dogs . I’d taken everything too but there is no need . Even a grooming box was available in the garage .
We are so glad we have booked another week with this company . If the next place is anything like Farthing Cottage , we will have a great time .
Walks in fields , quiet beaches , perfect for our two dogs .
The village was very peaceful , with one shop and one pub .

How dog friendly was this property for you?
Never been anywhere so dog welcoming before!

How likely are you to return?
Certainly will consider it.



Home from Home and so ideal for our two dogs who settle in and chill straight away

Review submitted on Tue, 01 Jun 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We keep coming back for more to Farthing Cottage, and have been for several years. The cottage is ideal with a lovely secure garden and patio area to enjoy in the evening or for breakfast. The new owners have provided perfect gentle upgrades to the property making it even better and the new cleaners are amazing making sure it is spotless for you when you arrive. You pull into the driveway and smile as you know you are in for a great time staying here. Our dogs love staying here and quickly settle in and it is definitely dog friendly place, as many properties are dog tolerant though claim to be friendly. Not quite the same. But you will not find that here, All your dogs needs are catered for including additional equipment in the garage if you need it.

A nice touch with the welcome pack making you feel special upon your arrival and the Apple Juice was amazing and makes a nice change from a bottle of Proseco etc often left at establishments. Oh those choc cookies were almost too nice to be legal!

Farthing Cottage is a wonderful home from home to take time off away from day to day life in a quiet country village setting. Local shop and pub top off a perfect place for evening walks around the village and out further if you desire.

The coast is walkable to Mundesley but a few minutes by car with plenty of parking and you are on the glorious Norfolk coast line, dog friendly clean beaches and a wealth of places to walk or go to for days out all without too much time in the car. Cromer, Sheringham, Sea Palling, etc., even Great Yarmouth although more commercialised, still has a great atmosphere without being too much and the refurbished water gardens are a treat and so pleased to see they are still there and brought back to life.

Sue at East Ruston Cottages has brilliant properties on her books and nothing is too much trouble in getting anything sorted out - everyone involved is friendly and helpful ensuring everyone is focused on providing a quality experience alongside the property owners all working to the same goal. It shows.

How dog friendly was this property for you?
Great for dogs!

How likely are you to return?
Would love to come back!



lovely short break

Review submitted on Sun, 23 May 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Arrived after a long journey to find this very well presented cottage pretty much as described, which was a real treat.
The village of Trunch was well placed for beaches, woods, Norfolk Broads and N.T properties. There was also several well marked walks/runs from the cottage too.
The village shop was well stocked the pub was open but we did not try it as only outside eating!
The cottage was cosy, underfloor heating was great the dog loved it, and very well equipped, even cooking oil and tin foil in the cupboard, amazing!
Bed was really comfortable and we all slept very well.
The cottage info. folder was useful too.
Sue from ERC was really helpful and answered emails quickly prior to arrival.
In covid times the cottage was clean and tidy on arrival and the instructions for leaving cottage where clear.
We really enjoyed our break thank you.


How dog friendly was this property for you?
Never been anywhere so dog welcoming before!

How dog friendly was this property for you?
Great for dogs!

How likely are you to return?
Would love to come back!



Very dog friendly holiday

Review submitted on Sat, 08 May 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a lovely week in a much anticipated holiday postponed from last year. Lovely welcome pack and very dog friendly cottage, enclosed garden, plenty of parking space at front. Closest beach at Mundersley was so quiet we often had it to ourselves. Trunch is a quiet and friendly village, lots of walking from the door and a well stocked village shop and post office. A lovely relaxing week.

How dog friendly was this property for you?
Great for dogs!

How likely are you to return?
Would love to come back!





Farthing Cottage

Review submitted on Sun, 08 Nov 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Great cottage, in a lovely quiet village, ideally located for visits to the glorious North Norfolk beaches & beautiful countryside walks. The cottage is fully equipped, dog friendly & feels like a true home from home. The welcome pack that was left for us was amazing & was much appreciated. A lovely restful break.



EXCELLENT

Review submitted on Wed, 04 Nov 2020
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0


FARTHING COTTAGE TRUNCH NORFOLK

STAYED 30 OCT TO 2 NOV 2020

This is a lovely cottage and is home from home. Everything you can possibly want is in the kitchen including a washing machine, tumble dryer and an integrated dishwasher. An integrated double electric oven and a separate gas hob. Microwave, plenty of kitchen units.

The lounge is off the kitchen (open plan) and has an open brick fireplace with a wood burner. There is underfloor heating so the cottage is very cosy. Two double seated settees and a coffee table. A television unit with flat screen TV.

There is a downstairs cloakroom.

Upstairs there is a nice sized bathroom with a bath and a shower attachment. There are two nicely furnished bedrooms with TV, comfortable beds and nice linen.
Bath towels, hand towels and linen is provided.

Free Wi Fi.

This is a dog friendly cottage and all things to cater for dogs is included which includes a nice gift bag for the dog/dogs on arrival.

Plenty of car parking space and within easy reach of several beaches and eateries.

We had a great time and would highly recommend.

How dog friendly was this property for you?
Never been anywhere so dog welcoming before!

How likely are you to return?
Certainly will consider it.



Lovely place to stay

Review submitted on Wed, 14 Oct 2020
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Farthing Cottage is a modern building in an older style in keeping with Norfolk tradition.
It is set with walking distance of both the general store and The Crown village pub.
There are good walks in the area, and Trunch is within easy driving distance of the coast. We found Bacton beach (car park near the caravan park) and Sea Palling are especially good for allowing dogs to run free (do check for when the tide is out!).
The cotage is cosy and the log stove adds to the atmosphere. All the facilities we needed were included.
The rear garden is fully enclosed and although not large it was big enough for our greyhound x to run round in. The patio area would be nice in the summer as it catches the evening sun.
It is a real "dog friendly" property with the owner leaving a dog goodie bag with treats, dog wipes and other extras There were also treats for humans!
Be aware that during Covid restrictions some pubs/restaurants were not open at lunchtimes and in the evenings had limited availability.

How dog friendly was this property for you?
Great for dogs!

How likely are you to return?
Would love to come back!



Great location

Review submitted on Sun, 04 Oct 2020
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
3.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Farthing cottage was a great place to stay very close to everywhere. Lovely friendly pub in walking distance.

How dog friendly was this property for you?
Great for dogs!

How likely are you to return?
Certainly will consider it.





Farthing Cottage

Review submitted on Mon, 21 Sep 2020
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Have stayed here once before, now under new ownership. Changes have been made to make the cottage better. Comfortable, clean and with all the amenities you would want.

How dog friendly was this property for you?
Great for dogs!

How likely are you to return?
Certainly will consider it.





Excellent cottage, great with dogs.

Review submitted on Sun, 13 Sep 2020
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Very enjoyable week. The cottage is really good and well equipped. The location is fantastic being close to so many beaches.

How dog friendly was this property for you?
Never been anywhere so dog welcoming before!

How dog friendly was this property for you?
Great for dogs!

How likely are you to return?
Would love to come back!





Ideal, dog friendly, place to stay.

Review submitted on Thu, 10 Sep 2020
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A comfortable, well equipped, dog friendly holiday home.
It was ideally located for those who love this area and has the added plus of being only a short walk from both the village shop and pub.

How dog friendly was this property for you?
Great for dogs!

How likely are you to return?
Would love to come back!





Farthing Cottage

Review submitted on Sun, 16 Aug 2020
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Really good facilities and equipment, the cottage was really clean which was really important during Covid. Nice local shop and pub within walking distance and near lots of good walks and beaches. Very dog friendly although the garden is small it was adequate and we had some good barbecues.

How dog friendly was this property for you?
Great for dogs!

How likely are you to return?
Would love to come back!





Comfortable, safe and in good location

Review submitted on Sun, 26 Jul 2020
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This no frills, basic little cottage is in an ideal quiet village with a great secure garden for the dogs. It was clean and comfortable, with all the facilities you would expect. It is showing signs of wear and tear, particularly in the bathroom, but it was clean and so not an issue for us. The kitchen was well equipped and the garden has table and chairs that capture the sun in the evening. The Wifi speed was also pretty good.


We found the village to be friendly and the location great for exploring. The local shop was a great convenience and the local pub, although only partially open due to the Covid-19 restrictions, was welcoming when open and serves a great Pizza.

How dog friendly was this property for you?
Great for dogs!

How likely are you to return?
Certainly will consider it.



A Cosy Cottage

Review submitted on Thu, 16 Jul 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Farthing Cottage was a real home from home and a great place to relax. Clean, well-equipped and with super-comfy beds! Rolo, our dog, thought it was great too. The village of Trunch is a delight and there are many excellent local walks. After months of 'lockdown' it was wonderful to have a week away and walk along beautiful golden beaches. Social distancing certainly isn't a problem in North Norfolk as long as you avoid the towns.

How dog friendly was this property for you?
Great for dogs!

How likely are you to return?
Certainly will consider it.





Special memories

Review submitted on Thu, 26 Mar 2020
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We love coming to Norfolk & staying in this beautiful little cottage makes it more special.
Location is perfect for everything. Beach 5min away , lovely country walks just down the lane , village shop for essentials & a lovely pub that does great food & is so dog friendly .
Easy Ruston cottages & the owners of all there cottages are so accommodating & make your holiday so special nothing is ever to much trouble . We have some of the best memories of our old two girls ( Poppy & Minnie) curtesy of Sue & her team & we’re now lucky enough to make new memories with our new little girl Martha & that means a lot . So a very BIG THANK YOU to you all xxx

How dog friendly was this property for you?
Never been anywhere so dog welcoming before!

How likely are you to return?
Already booked!



Home from Home

Review submitted on Tue, 25 Feb 2020
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
What a find! Farthing Cottage was a Home from Home experience. Comfortable, Very dog friendly. Secure back garden and large front entrance for your pet to roam around. The availability of a bath was a lovely surprise after the long days out exploring the Norfolk coast. A log burner added a relaxing and warming touch. Super fast internet service was great for our teenager. Overall just a lovely place to spend sometime away.

How dog friendly was this property for you?
Great for dogs!

How likely are you to return?
Would love to come back!





Comfortable and relaxing holiday

Review submitted on Sun, 16 Feb 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely stay and perfect for the dogs. Trunch is a really friendly and well located village with easy access to the seaside and the broads. We used the local shop, pub ,and even booked the car in for a service at the garage down the road :-) Farthing Cottage is very cosy and a real home from home. We have booked again with East Ruston but this time we are venturing to a different location after staying here twice

How dog friendly was this property for you?
Great for dogs!

How likely are you to return?
Already booked!





Home from home

Review submitted on Tue, 21 Jan 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a lovely stay at the beautiful farthing cottage lovely friendly village lovely size house a real home from home. Sue was great made booking easy and made sure we had everything we needed couldn't ask for more thank you to sue and louise for making our stay wonderful. Should just say the dogs loved the garden xx

How dog friendly was this property for you?
Great for dogs!

How likely are you to return?
Certainly will consider it.





Fabulous holiday

Review submitted on Mon, 02 Dec 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We all had a great time. The cottage is great, comfortable and super dog friendly. It was so nice to not have to worry about all the rules of what our best friend is allowed to do whilst in the cottage.
It’s set in a sweet little village where everyone is very welcoming.
We look forward to going again.

How dog friendly was this property for you?
Never been anywhere so dog welcoming before!

How likely are you to return?
Would love to come back!





Great stay in Farthing Cottage, Trunch

Review submitted on Sun, 13 Oct 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely property, nice village, and some great walks nearby (as well as some good local pubs) - thanks for an excellent week!

How dog friendly was this property for you?
Great for dogs!

How likely are you to return?
Would love to come back!





Our first cottage holiday with our dogs

Review submitted on Sun, 06 Oct 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The whole booking process was so easy and when we arrived at the cottage we were pleasantly surprised how welcoming it all was. The dogs immediately went for a good sniff and nosy round. The garden is totally enclosed so we felt confident there would be no escapees. The village of Trunch is very quiet with plenty of walks for humans and dogs and I managed to go running every day down the quiet country lanes. The beach isn’t too far away either. All in all Farthing Cottage was the perfect location for us. The cottage itself was definitely a home from home and I think we will be returning for another holiday.

How dog friendly was this property for you?
Great for dogs!

How likely are you to return?
Would love to come back!



3rd visit

Review submitted on Sun, 06 Oct 2019
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
3rd visit to this cottage. Very well equipped in kitchen. Tv's in both bedrooms. All linens and towells provided. Quiet village location with pub and shop. Ideally located for Mundsley beach a short drive.
Secure garden for dogs.

How dog friendly was this property for you?
Great for dogs!

How likely are you to return?
Certainly will consider it.





A four-legged review

Review submitted on Sun, 29 Sep 2019
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Every year our humum takes us on holiday, and this year was the bestest by far! Not only did we stay for free but we were also allowed on the furniture! (Bonus!!) We had our own secure garden...so no peeing on-lead (we hate that) and it was so peaceful we could sleep without being disturbed after a busy day at the beach or in the woods. Thanks to the Barking Buggle magazine Mum found loads of great dog friendly places to take us, we even rode on a steam train one day! Bacton woods were our most favorite place, we went there every day. We would definitely recommend Farthing Cottage to other furry guests. Woofs and wags, Ollie & Bruno, Elmo & Chip

How dog friendly was this property for you?
Never been anywhere so dog welcoming before!

How likely are you to return?
Certainly will consider it.



Home from home!

Review submitted on Sun, 18 Aug 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a fantastic time! The cottage is beautiful, clean and well kept. The location is perfectt. We loved all the welcome gifts. The home made dog treats went down well! Us humans and the dogs felt at home right away. The garden is perfect for dogs ours loved playing out as did my 8 year old daughter. Cant wait to book to come again.

How dog friendly was this property for you?
Great for dogs!





An excellent break in a lovely area

Review submitted on Mon, 22 Jul 2019
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Absolutely brilliant break again at Trunch, ideal location with lots of beach and woodland walks for our 2 St Bernards. Will book again soon.

How dog friendly was this property for you?
Great for dogs!





Last minute break in Farthing Cottage

Review submitted on Mon, 22 Jul 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The cottage was clean and well equipped with plenty of parking off road. It was situated in a quiet vliiage with a shop and pub within walking distance. Bonnie our golden oldie loved spending time outside on the grass in the very secure garden. There was dog beds, towels and accessories as well as welcoming treats for dog and humans alike.
It was a short drive to the coast and we loved going to the coastal times just for a walk round and coffee on the front as we were lucky to have good weather.
If you are feeling adventurous, drive about 14 miles South of the village to hire a day boat on the Broads and they also welcome dogs onboard.

How dog friendly was this property for you?
Never been anywhere so dog welcoming before!



A lovely stay in nolfolk with the dog

Review submitted on Wed, 10 Jul 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Absolutely lovely cottage. Beautifully kept and perfect for taking the dog too! Would recommend for anyone looking for a uk break near the coast/beautiful walks.

How dog friendly was this property for you?
Never been anywhere so dog welcoming before!





Stay at Farthing Cottage

Review submitted on Sun, 07 Jul 2019
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Property had everything we needed. Lovely and clean and welcoming. Have already booked to go again.

How dog friendly was this property for you?
Great for dogs!





Brilliant dog friendly cottage

Review submitted on Sun, 16 Jun 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A super cottage well suited to families with multi dogs. All needs catered for with lots of extras. Very comfortable for humans as well. Kitchen well thought out with all the the necessary equipment to cater independently. Garden dog friendly and easy to keep clean. Would recommend cottage

How dog friendly was this property for you?
Great for dogs!





Wonderful little home from home!

Review submitted on Sun, 09 Jun 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Fabulous little place. Comfortable, well equipped and totally dog friendly! Ideally located for the beautiful beaches and nearby woodland areas.

How dog friendly was this property for you?
Never been anywhere so dog welcoming before!





A dog friendly home from home

Review submitted on Sun, 02 Jun 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Farthing Cottage is perfect for people with dogs. There is no limit to how many dogs you can take and there is everything there that you would need during your stay. We had a lovely week there with lots of walks around nearby areas. Highly recommended

How dog friendly was this property for you?
Great for dogs!





Excellent place beautiful cottage

Review submitted on Mon, 20 May 2019
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We couldn’t fault the cottage it was lovely plenty big enough garden location is so near everything people are so friendly Cottage was very clean bed very comfy every thing you needed was there we will be coming again thanks fir every thing sue

How dog friendly was this property for you?
Great for dogs!





An amazing place to stay

Review submitted on Tue, 30 Apr 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had such a lovely Easter break at farthing cottage, greeted with cake and prosecco, and special home baked treats for the dog. Lots of room for the four of us. We used it as a base for exploring all the lovely spacious beaches in Norfolk.

How dog friendly was this property for you?
Great for dogs!





A nice place to visit

Review submitted on Mon, 18 Mar 2019
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
2.0
Farthing cottage is spacious and comfortable with everything you need provided, plenty of games and books and even a dart board in the garage for those wet days. The rear garden is very secure so if you are bringing dogs it's no problem. The local pub is only a short walk away and has recently become a community run business very friendly and nice food but limited choice at the moment. We did have an issue with the heating / hot water as the boiler had lost pressure, this took a day and a half to get sorted as no one at East Ruston Cottages was responding to our calls or texts, when they finally did they called Louise the cleaner who came round with her husband Shane and they sorted it all out, they were very friendly and contacted the owner of the cottage who was upset that our much needed break had been spoilt. Despite this we would stay there again and recommend it to others. We have yet to hear from East Ruston Cottages.



An excellent break in a lovely area

Review submitted on Sun, 10 Mar 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The location is ideal for walks in the local area or following a 5 min drive to Mundsley beach, a large expanse of beach. If you wish to venture further afield,then the coast to the North and South have lovely walks and dog friendly beaches. Many also have dog friendly cafes for a hot drink and food. The accommodation was an ideal size for 2 adults and 2 St Bernards, with a nice size garden for them to use. The village has a local shop and Pub both of which are a very short walk from the cottage. The Pub is dog friendly and offers food most days/evenings, they also offer various takeaway Pizzas, freshly made, we highly recommend especially on your first night saves cooking. The area offers a vast myriad of entertainment options covering every taste.
We liked the village that much we are now looking at retiring there in the next 12 months.





Perfect for a quiet break and a tour of Norfolk

Review submitted on Sun, 24 Feb 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The cottage is very clean and comfortable and is supplied with everything you need. The underfloor heating and the log fire made it very snug in winter when we have stayed there.The garden is completely enclosed with a decent high fence so is dog proof. There are many walks from the front door across beautiful countryside,maps are provided. The village is very quiet and pretty but only 10 minutes from a larger town with all the amenities. It is also a short drive from many lovely beaches. East Ruston Cottages are not just dog friendly,they positively encourage you to bring your dogs and supply everything you need. Can't recommend them highly enough.



Terrific Holiday Coattge

Review submitted on Thu, 03 Jan 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a lovely week's holiday over Christmas at Farthing Cottage in Trunch, Norfolk. This was our second visit to the cottage but it was our first visit to Norfolk in the winter. The cottage was perfect, very clean and welcoming and was very tastefully decorated for Christmas. There were even lots of presents from the cottage owners and the cottage company for our 2 Boxer dogs, a very nice gesture and much appreciated! There was also a nice bottle of Prosecco and a cake for us! There are good dog walks around the village of Trunch and brilliant beach walks not too far away. Trunch has a good local shop and a nice pub which is also dog-friendly.
This was a perfect getaway over the Christmas period and we have no hesitation in recommending it.




Break in the country

Review submitted on Sun, 25 Nov 2018
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a fantastic weeks break in Farthing Cottage with 6 well behaved small dogs. When we arrived there was a welcoming bottle of prosecco chilling in the fridge which was enjoyed with our evening meal. There are many good pubs nearby which welcome dogs and have a good selection of ales. I can recommend Farthing Cottage and whoever stays there I'm sure will enjoy all the home comforts it has to offer .



Our First Stay in Norfolk

Review submitted on Tue, 13 Nov 2018
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Loved what we saw of Norfolk. Unfortunately we had awful weather and came home early. It was difficult to find places to shelter from the rain when out and about with two big dogs. The weather was dry at times and we explored some of the coast - I particularly liked Overstrand. The cottage was very cosy and warm, clean and well equipped.
A few suggestions:
some more hooks please in the hall and living space to hang coats and towels
bigger dog beds - we have two large greyhounds and what was provided wasn't really adequate especially as the sofas are quite small. We were a bit squashed on the two sofas!
Hooks in the bathroom please - there is nowhere to put bathrobes or clothes
the dining table is too big for the size of the cottage as is the coffee table. We rearranged the furniture to make it less cluttered. I suggest putting a smaller dining table against the wall but with leaves so that ir can be extended if required. I hope this feedback is helpful




really dog friendly

Review submitted on Mon, 15 Oct 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Farthing cottage is a really dog friendly place to stay. Totally secure garden.
Cottage so clean and tidy.
Great off road walk a short way from the doorstep and beaches a short drive away.
Everything you could possibly need was provided.
Really enjoyed our stay here.




Soooo Dog Friendly

Review submitted on Mon, 01 Oct 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A beautiful very dog friendly cottage. Everything provided for dogs and humans. The garden is perfect as the only access is through the cottage so no chance of escapees!



Lovely relaxing cottage

Review submitted on Mon, 18 Jun 2018
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Very clean and comfortable. Welcome package for humans and hounds a nice touch, thankyou. Nicely situated for the beaches and national trust properties. Extremely dog friendly and we’ll be back. Our three dogs have come home for a rest



May half term break

Review submitted on Mon, 04 Jun 2018
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
super location: quiet village, shop a few feet away, circular walk on doorstep, off set from road, quiet at night, close to many places to visit,everyone we met friendly and welcoming.
house: comfortable sofas, very comfy beds, well equipped, lovely garden, garage great for storing bikes, great extras like: dog beds, dog toys, dart board, DVD, ps2, BBQ, crabbing equipment.
improvements could include: more powerful shower (though Norfolk water pressure not great I know) Bath a bit damaged inside, sharper cooking knives, better placed mirror in bedroom for hair drying.
Cleaners arrived as we were leaving. A lovely warm and welcoming couple.
Thank you, we really enjoyed our stay.