FB Twitter

Hidden Gem

Hidden Gem

4.9
out of 5
Ratings from 50 reviews
100% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.9
Comfort
4.9
Condition
4.8
Location
5.0
Value
4.8
Customer
Service
4.9


  • As with so many of our other houses, this two bedroom cottage in Winterton has been bought by some regular guests who fell in love with the area on their holidays and decided to get a holiday home of their own.
  • This little gem of a cottage has the famously dog friendly Winterton Dunes literally at the back door step.
  • Miles of walks on the sandy beach and the dunes are right there for you and your dogs.
  • Winterton village has a dog friendly pub, super dog friendly cafe, a small stores and fish and chip shop.
  • Pretty much the perfect dog friendly holiday village!

A perfect week

Review submitted on Mon, 22 Nov 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
I could not recommend highly enough, Hidden Gem provided the perfect base for a relaxing week's holiday. Given the dark evenings in November, comfort of the accommodation was more still as we spent all but 2 evenings indoors. I would say that it's a 'home from home' but in actual fact, Hidden Gem is considerably more cosy, well equipped and inviting than my home (not to mention cleaner).
Our 4 dogs quickly settled and enjoyed our lazy, warm evenings after their exhausting days exploring the impressive surrounding countryside.
Having no prior knowledge of the area and it's wildlife, we considered ourselves blessed to have accidentally seen the grey seals within the 10minutes of first leaving the cottage.
Wonderful

How dog friendly was this property for you?
Never been anywhere so dog welcoming before!

How likely are you to return?
Would love to come back!



owner replied 5 days ago
We are so happy that you all enjoyed your stay! What a wonderful review and so glad that you felt very much at home! We would love to welcome you back.

The perfect dog friendly cottage

Review submitted on Mon, 22 Nov 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Hidden Gem is the cosiest cottage I have ever stayed in. It is so welcoming and the owners have gone out of their way to make you feel at home.

It’s in the perfect location, right next to Winterton beach and my two dogs absolutely loved bounding over the dunes each morning.

The communication prior-to and during our stay was second to none. I wouldn’t hesitate to recommend this cottage in beautiful Norfolk.

How dog friendly was this property for you?
Never been anywhere so dog welcoming before!

How likely are you to return?
Would love to come back!





Owner replied 6 days ago
Thank you for your wonderful review. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with you two beautiful dogs. Welcome back anytime!!

A brilliant place to stay

Review submitted on Sun, 24 Oct 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The cottage is fantastic and in a brilliant location. The back door leads straight onto the dunes and then the beach. It feels very homely and we would all happily have stayed an extra week.

How dog friendly was this property for you?
Great for dogs!

How likely are you to return?
Would love to come back!





Owner replied 34 days ago
Thank you for your review. Was great to hear how much you have enjoyed your stay - we would love to welcome you back, once the doggies have had a rest of course!

Exactly what we needed

Review submitted on Mon, 11 Oct 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We were looking for a quit place to enjoy time with our dogs. And what should I say … just find a perfect match. Perfect to walk with the dogs. A perfectly and lovingly furnished and decorated. Also everything what you need for dogs is there.
We defiantly will come back.
Thank you for the possibility to stay in your cottage.
Ralph, Alessa, Muffin Qube, Limit, Weasel

How dog friendly was this property for you?
Never been anywhere so dog welcoming before!

How likely are you to return?
Would love to come back!





Owner replied 48 days ago
Thank you for your review, we are so glad you travelled so far for your holiday and that it met your expectations. We would love to welcome you back!

Wonderful holiday at Hidden Gem

Review submitted on Sun, 10 Oct 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely place to stay for a relaxing holiday, we have had a great time. So convenient for the dog friendly beach, cafe, pub and so many walks right from the door. Hidden Gem has everything. We loved it and so did our three dogs they were so happy here. The house is lovely and clean with a great garden to sit in too we can't wait for our our next holiday.

How dog friendly was this property for you?
Never been anywhere so dog welcoming before!

How likely are you to return?
Would love to come back!





Owner replied 48 days ago
Thank you for your wonderful review, we are very pleased you and the doggies had a wonderful time.

Jasper’s Delight

Review submitted on Wed, 06 Oct 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
What a wonderful cottage to stay in , sand dunes and beach just behind the property which our dog Jasper was absolutely delighted with. Property clean and comfortable with great facilities and fantastic location. On arrival a much welcome hamper was awaiting us and also one for our dog, nothing like having milk readily available for a cuppa after a long journey!!! Would highly recommend this property and location , village had all necessities including a lovely cafe and great pub. Will definitely be booking a return break in the future.

How dog friendly was this property for you?
Great for dogs!

How likely are you to return?
Would love to come back!



Owner replied 53 days ago
Thank you for a wonderful review for Hidden Gem and what a great Title "Jasper's Delight" ! We are so glad you had a lovely short break and we would be delighted to welcome you back in the future.

Lovely short break

Review submitted on Sun, 22 Aug 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Felt at home from the moment we arrived and so did the dogs.
Cottage was lovely and had everything and was far better equipped than we ever imagined. We were amazed at the attention to detail.
Location was fantastic backing onto the dunes and the dogs loved every minute of their walks!

How dog friendly was this property for you?
Never been anywhere so dog welcoming before!

How likely are you to return?
Would love to come back!





Owner replied 97 days ago
Thank you for a beautiful review we are so glad you had a lovely time! Always welcome at Hidden Gem!

Deeply relaxing holiday

Review submitted on Mon, 09 Aug 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our golden retriever loved the location as much as we did! A week of beach walks and dune exploring!

How dog friendly was this property for you?
Never been anywhere so dog welcoming before!

How likely are you to return?
Already booked!





A WONDERFUL SAFE STAY AT HIDDEN GEM

Review submitted on Wed, 04 Aug 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had just spent 16 months shielding so were a bit nervous about going away but as soon as we walked into Hidden Gem we knew it was going to be good ! It felt so welcoming and everything has been done so thoughtfully and with love. Beautifully decorated and so clean. Covid protection excellent, we felt so safe there.There is everything you could possibly want and then some . Not to mention the wonderful welcome pack and gift bags , not just for us but the dogs as well !
Our two rescue dogs settled in very quickly, we all loved our walks over the dunes and on the beach ( what an amazing beach ).We saw seals every day.
We had a lovely meal at The Dunes Cafe and enjoyed a drink at the Fisherman's Return.. Everyone was so friendly, this has to be the most dog friendly place we have ever been to.
This was our first of normal for a very long time and it was so hard to leave but we will be back !!!
Thank you Laura,Pete, Sue and the rest of the team for such a wonderful holiday.
Val and Roger Parr and Zak and Mia the dogs.

How dog friendly was this property for you?
Never been anywhere so dog welcoming before!

How likely are you to return?
Would love to come back!



Owner replied 116 days ago
Thank you very much for such a glowing 5/5 review. We are so glad you all had such a well deserved relaxing and happy holiday - we would love to welcome you back.

Hidden Gem

Review submitted on Sun, 20 Jun 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Just love this cottage, it feels like home as soon as you step in the door, fabulous location in a fabulous village. Lovely welcome pack for humans and dogs, will definitely be back (again)

How dog friendly was this property for you?
Never been anywhere so dog welcoming before!

How likely are you to return?
Would love to come back!





Owner replied 160 days ago
Thank you for your glowing review, so glad you had another lovely holiday at Hidden Gem !

One of our favourite hideaways

Review submitted on Sun, 06 Jun 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Every time we come to Hidden Gem it feels like walking into our second home from seal spotting on the beach, to lovely fish and chips and a fabulous pub at the Fisherman’s Return, Winterton has everything you need.

Cozy, beautiful views and everything catered for, from a welcome basket for Hoomans and Furbabies, all our needs were met. We love it here


How dog friendly was this property for you?
Never been anywhere so dog welcoming before!

How likely are you to return?
Would love to come back!





Owner replied 175 days ago
Thank you for a wonderful review we are pleased you had another great holiday always lovely to have such lovely returnees!

Fantastic dog friendly accommodation

Review submitted on Sun, 30 May 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a fantastic holiday there and our dogs were in heaven
The most dog welcoming place we have ever stayed
East Rushton holidays are a fantastic company to deal with and the owners of the cottage kept in touch with us to check if everything was okay
We made some special memories and the biggest endorsement was on the second day there we booked for next year !!

How dog friendly was this property for you?
Never been anywhere so dog welcoming before!

How likely are you to return?
Already booked!





Fabulous Holiday at Hidden Gem

Review submitted on Sun, 23 May 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have had an amazing week away. The cottage is in a superb location and provides everything you need for a relaxing break for you and your dog. The dunes and beach are literally on the door step where you can walk for miles and miles. We will most definitely be returning.

How dog friendly was this property for you?
Never been anywhere so dog welcoming before!

How dog friendly was this property for you?
Great for dogs!

How likely are you to return?
Would love to come back!





Owner replied 189 days ago
Thank you for such lovely comments! You are wonderful guests who will be made more than welcome again !

Hidden Gem

Review submitted on Sun, 09 May 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Another great week at Hidden Gem. The property is fantastically well located with access directly on to the dunes. Lovely and comfortable with everything you need for a brilliant holiday.

How dog friendly was this property for you?
Great for dogs!

How likely are you to return?
Would love to come back!





owner replied 203 days ago
Thank you for a lovely review and 5/5 ! We are so glad you had another great holiday!

A dogs delight

Review submitted on Sun, 15 Nov 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Fantastic week, dogs had a lovely time.
Excellent customer service from East Rushton as usual.
Lovely location and cottage

How dog friendly was this property for you?
Great for dogs!

How likely are you to return?
Would love to come back!





Perfect cottage for a relaxing break.

Review submitted on Mon, 09 Nov 2020
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We loved our stay at Hidden Gem, it is aptly named as it is close to everything but tucked away in a quiet spot. Very dog friendly, our dog Albus loved the treats left for him. We loved ours too ! Winterton is a favourite of ours and it was great to be so central to the shops, fish and chip shop and of course the pub, we had lots of car free days walking on the beach and following some of the walks listed in the cottage. Can’t wait to return.

How dog friendly was this property for you?
Great for dogs!

How likely are you to return?
Would love to come back!





Lovely autumn break with dogs

Review submitted on Sun, 18 Oct 2020
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We love staying in Winterton and found this lovely little cottage which is situated a few steps from the dunes and beach. The cottage is comfortable and cosy with bright kitchen, lovely modern bathroom and cosy lounge and conservatory on the ground floor and two nice bedrooms, one double and one twin. The dogs absolutely love the dunes and beach where they can run free for miles! The cottage is extremely dog friendly. Only a very short walk to the pub, shops and cafe and restaurant . The only slight disappointment was the garden which could be updated but as we were there in October we didn't actually use. The owners of the property were the most helpful I have ever come across when booking and dealing with queries and there is plenty of information in the cottage on the surrounding areas. Would recommend!

How dog friendly was this property for you?
Never been anywhere so dog welcoming before!

How likely are you to return?
Certainly will consider it.



Hidden Gem

Review submitted on Sun, 18 Oct 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our first time in Winter on Sea and after finding the cottage we were very impressed with the cottage. Comfort and cleanliness were really good. Well equipped and dog friendly. Would recommend this cottage as the position for the sea is really good. Out of the back door which is the sand dunes and a five minute walk onto a superb beach. Great for seal watching.

How dog friendly was this property for you?
Great for dogs!

How likely are you to return?
Would love to come back!





Perfection

Review submitted on Sun, 04 Oct 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Hidden Gem - perfect name for this delightful cottage in the most fantastic location. Despite howling winds and torrential rain the first few days, me and my 2 furbabies had the most relaxing and tranquil holiday- I really didn’t want to leave. The cottage had everything we needed and was very clean and comfortable. Can’t wait to come back

How dog friendly was this property for you?
Never been anywhere so dog welcoming before!

How dog friendly was this property for you?
Great for dogs!

How likely are you to return?
Would love to come back!





Owner replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for such a glowing review! So glad you enjoyed your holiday despite the worst weather this year.

Hidden Gem

Review submitted on Mon, 28 Sep 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had fantastic week at Hidden Gem the cottage far exceeded our expectations it was the perfect doggy holiday can't wait to go again.
Thanks Ann AL Louise
Rocco Kaiser and Dudes

How dog friendly was this property for you?
Great for dogs!

How likely are you to return?
Would love to come back!





Fantastic location, back door, dunes, beach, sea....heaven.

Review submitted on Tue, 04 Aug 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Best holiday cottage location we have experienced to date, that said, Hidden Gem had so much more to offer than just the location. It is the first holiday let where we have wanted for nothing in terms of everything you could possibly want in a holiday cottage was to hand, from kitchen tin foil, to a beach windbreak.
Lovely small sheltered back garden to grab some afternoon relaxation time with a book and a cold drink. The attention to detail with the interior decor and maritime theme was amazing. We would definitely stay again. A most appropriately named property.

How dog friendly was this property for you?
Great for dogs!

How likely are you to return?
Would love to come back!



Owner replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for such a great review, we are so pleased you enjoyed your holiday, and would love to have you back again!

Fabulous Location

Review submitted on Sun, 26 Jul 2020
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Lovely well equipped cottage. Location is fabulous - from the back gate right onto the dunes and five minutes to the gorgeous dog friendly Winterton beach.

How dog friendly was this property for you?
Ok for dogs.

How likely are you to return?
Certainly will consider it.





Owner replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your review on your recent holiday marking 5/5 for cleanliness, very reassuraing for future guests and for 5/5 for location! We believe your lower marks were for size of beds, sofas, downstairs loo and only small garden area (enclosed), however all property details are described on the website, with regard to value for money, pricing is moniotired by ERC based on similar sized properties in the area, how many people can be accommodated and will differ throughout low, mid and peak season. Sue Allen has now also added an extra tool on the website to filter even more personal requirements that hopefully can help guests when looking for future ERC holidays along with her pre and post holiday emails.

Lives up to its name

Review submitted on Sun, 19 Jul 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Wow this property really is a “Hidden Gem”
Thoroughly enjoyed our stay, wonderful walks across the dunes to the sea, pit stop at cafe on the beach, the dogs kept staring at the kitchen door, clearly making it known where they wanted to be. Kitchen well equipped, beds and sitting room really comfortable for humans and dogs alike. Short stroll to the fish and chip shop, convenience store and pub, pretty village and not an amusement arcade in sight. Would recommend highly to anyone looking for a peaceful hideaway

How dog friendly was this property for you?
Never been anywhere so dog welcoming before!

How likely are you to return?
Certainly will consider it.



Owner replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for a glowing review - we are so glad you enjoyed a well earned holiday and that the doggies loved their stay!

Perfect location for breaks at any time of year

Review submitted on Sun, 08 Mar 2020
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A cosy little cottage, well located for the beach, a dog-friendly cafe and pub. We visited in March but it would be great any time of year. Very dog friendly but it is quite small so multiple large dogs may be a problem. Also there isn’t much enclosed outside space so again it maybe better for smaller dogs but of course it’s only a minute’s walk onto the dunes so they can walk/run for miles along the coast. Our dog loved it.

How dog friendly was this property for you?
Great for dogs!

How likely are you to return?
Certainly will consider it.





Great stay in Hidden Gem

Review submitted on Tue, 10 Dec 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have used East Ruston Cottages for a number of holidays now but this was our first at Hidden Gem. What a gorgeous little cottage, the owners have thought of everything. Tastefully decorated, very well equipped, lovely and comfortable and a great little log burner that burns beautifully :-) They even supply throws and towels for your dogs. The beach and dunes are straight out of the back door and there is great little coffee shop called Poppy's and the Fishermans Return pub which are both dog friendly and literally a couple of minutes walk away. Winterton itself is delightful. Super friendly village too. What's not to like.
Definitely will return soon.

Sean and Jackie Emens

How dog friendly was this property for you?
Great for dogs!

How likely are you to return?
Would love to come back!



Cosy cottage

Review submitted on Tue, 26 Nov 2019
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Another lovely week spent at Hidden Gem
Even the weather was more than we could expect for the time of year. Most days wall to wall sunshine so we could take full advantage of the beautiful beaches. Cottage super warm and cosy and very well equipped. Hope to return again soon.

How dog friendly was this property for you?
Never been anywhere so dog welcoming before!

How likely are you to return?
Would love to come back!





Really is a Hidden Gem

Review submitted on Wed, 20 Nov 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Hidden Gem is a very special hideaway from all the stresses of the world. This property is just gorgeous and so lovely that everything for the dogs is also taken into account too with plenty of throws and dog towels provided.

A highlight for me was that the back double bedroom overlooks the dunes and just having the windows open and listening to the sound of the wind through the grasses combined with the sound of the sea is magical both in the day and at night to drift off to sleep to. The house has everything thought of for you and is very nicely decorated throughout. We all adored walking straight out onto the dunes from morning through to night for our dog walks and being so close to the sea is a bonus for those long, leisurely beach walks.

Lovely to have a cafe, tearoom and pub all in the village itself and all accepting and accommodating dogs whilst providing some gorgeous food too!

Nearby villages are easy to get to both by foot and car (depending on how energetic you're feeling).

This holiday had everything we could have wanted and more, so nice to also have a little welcome tray on arrival. Ours had jam, bread, apple juice, a jam roly-poly sponge and some Nero dog biscuits (which ours loved) as well as a pint of milk in the fridge and tea and coffee to get you started. It's so wonderful to walk in somewhere, instantly feel at home and to be able to have a cake and cuppa before unpacking.

Sue at East Ruston Cottages was brilliant to deal with throughout (not that we needed her whilst we were away but I'm sure if we had have she would have helped out without hesitation). The feeling we got was that Sue at East Ruston Cottages (and the cottage owners) go out of their way to make sure you have the most amazing holiday possible.

We will certainly be returning customers and will recommend to everyone we know

Hayley & David (Ansel and Ernie) :-)


How dog friendly was this property for you?
Never been anywhere so dog welcoming before!

How likely are you to return?
Would love to come back!



Lovely comfortable cottage a home from home in grey location

Review submitted on Sun, 20 Oct 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our fourth visit to Hidden Gem! Walks across the dunes and on the beach as this is all right on the doorstep! Highly recommend East Ruston Cottages , There are always welcome goodies for humans and dogs and no hidden charges for your four legged friends . Great location with a dog friendly pub 5 minutes away. We have already booked for next April :)

How dog friendly was this property for you?
Great for dogs!

How likely are you to return?
Already booked!





Review of hidden gem

Review submitted on Sun, 13 Oct 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Wonderful cottage perfect setting for a relaxing break, if you are looking for a complete break from the usual grind this is perfect place.
Just my wife myself and our two dogs plenty of walks, walk out the back door and you’re in the dunes.
The village has an excellent chip shop and the food in the fisherman’s return was very good and good value,
All in all I would recommend the Hidden Gem and Winterton-on-Sea to any one and east Ruston cottages if you have dogs in my opinion are the best.

How dog friendly was this property for you?
Great for dogs!

How likely are you to return?
Would love to come back!





Perfect get away

Review submitted on Sun, 06 Oct 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
I have been a regular at Hidden Gem since it became a member of the East Ruston Cottages family. It’s really well equipped for humans and dogs, everything you need is there. The location is fabulous, literally walking out of the back door onto the miles of dunes at Winterton on Sea. No restrictions for dogs makes it a truly dog friendly stay, and to give you an idea of how much Laura the owner tries to ensure you have a great time, she left a birthday card for my girl as she knew we were there to celebrate her birthday. It has and continues to be one of my favourite places to be, never disappointed always delighted and sad to leave. Highly recommended.



How dog friendly was this property for you?
Never been anywhere so dog welcoming before!

How likely are you to return?
Would love to come back!



A true hidden gem

Review submitted on Sun, 15 Sep 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely cottage with dune access right from the back door, the dogs loved walking over there and heading onto the beach, the dune cafe and local pub both offered excellent food.

How dog friendly was this property for you?
Great for dogs!





Satisfied customers (human and canine)

Review submitted on Sun, 08 Sep 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our dogs squeak with excitement as we approach Winterton-on-Sea in the car anticipation of their week at the beach, off lead dunes running available directly from the back door, what could be better?
Hidden Gem is a lovely cottage, all mod cons supplied, wonderful location and all day to day essentials, including a dog friendly pub serving delicious food, a quick walk away in the village. We’ve stayed here multiple times, which tells you all you need to know!

How dog friendly was this property for you?
Never been anywhere so dog welcoming before!





Hidden Gem August 2019

Review submitted on Mon, 19 Aug 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have a fabulous time at Hidden Gem. Everything you could possibly need was there. The location is second to none. The dunes are so pretty and the beach spotless with fine sand. The local shops and pub was really friendly and great facilities.
All in all we will definitely be looking to return

How dog friendly was this property for you?
Great for dogs!





Small break, big value

Review submitted on Sat, 20 Jul 2019
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Hidden Gem is lovely - but it’s all about the location. If you have lead reactive dogs and want to walk undisturbed, this is the place for you. Winterton’s cafe and pub welcome dogs of all sizes, and the beach is wide and safe for those with salty sea dogs. Spend a few days at Hidden Gem and feel like you’ve had a 5* spa break. Bargain!!


How dog friendly was this property for you?
Never been anywhere so dog welcoming before!





Fab-u-lous!

Review submitted on Sun, 30 Jun 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our holiday was Fab-u-lous in every way.
Not one single dog hair it was spotless accommodation. The cottage had everything any doggy/owners could want. Beautiful location. Have just booked up for next year. Missing you already!

How dog friendly was this property for you?
Great for dogs!





Great place to stay

Review submitted on Sun, 02 Jun 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Brilliant location. Loved the Hidden Gem had the perfect holiday. Kids loved it and dogs. Loved all the extra dog touches in the house.

How dog friendly was this property for you?
Never been anywhere so dog welcoming before!

How dog friendly was this property for you?
Great for dogs!





Hidden Gem, it certainly is

Review submitted on Sun, 26 May 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our 3rd trip to Hidden Gem and it’s like going home. Love Winterton-on-Sea along with the Dunes Cafe and Fisherman’s Return pub ! Relaxing holiday a stone throw away from the beautiful beach. Would definitely recommend ☺️

How dog friendly was this property for you?
Great for dogs!





A Truly Hidden Gem

Review submitted on Sun, 12 May 2019
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Tucked away down and unadapted road is a blue garden gate through which you enter Hidden Gem. You go into the property via a conservatory with a tiled floor ideal for drying off wet dogs from a run on the beach and the hose pipe outside means you don’t end up with the beach inside. As you go through the property and into the kitchen the real wow of this place is evident the back of the property is directly onto Winterton dunes and all that wonderful open space for you and your dogs to explore. This is a well equipped fantastically located cottage and we have already booked to return next year.

How dog friendly was this property for you?
Great for dogs!



Great holiday

Review submitted on Tue, 02 Apr 2019
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Another wonderful stay at this delightful little cottage
Again we struck lucky with the weather and were abe to use the conservatory on a daily basis
being able to walk to the beach and not use the car is an added bonus
Winterton has an excellent fish and chip shop again only a five minute walk from the cottage
Can't wait for our return visit at the end of the year the dogs love these holidays and return home rejuvenated after their stay




Spur of the moment weekenf

Review submitted on Thu, 21 Mar 2019
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Booked last minute via a lovely helpful lady at East Ruston Cottages due to family commitments. Often stay in Winterton and love it so knew the location would be fab. Cute cottage and exactly it’s name a Hidden Gem for sure. Very well thought out and equipped with generous welcome hamper and lots of useful information to enhance your stay. Very relaxing and the sea beach and dunes just perfect as always. Only grumble was late entry and a bit of a doggy smell in sitting room but cleaners explained previous guest had left cottage in an awful mess.



Perfect Hidden Gem

Review submitted on Wed, 27 Feb 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We adored this cottage. So comfy for us and our 2 hounds. Everything we could possibly want and the location was absolutely wonderful. Open the back door and you are on the dunes where miles of paths and see views are available for exploring. 3 minutes walk and you are on the beach. 3 minutes out the front door and you are in the middle of a lovely village and amenities such as the village shop. The cottage was geared up for dogs with throws, bowls, hard floors and a small secure garden for those night time outings. We would definitely like to come back....soon.



Wonderful Winterton

Review submitted on Sun, 03 Feb 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our stay at Hidden Gem in Winterton-on-Sea was excellent. As a dog owner I chose to stay here because of the miles of dunes and sandy beach, which provided hours of fun!
Hidden Gem is just that, a perfect bolthole which is extremely dog friendly. Everything that you might need for your four legged friend is provided, all you need to do is bring your dog and his/her food! The cottage is really warm and cosy, and we enjoyed long walks and visits to Horsey to see the seals on the beach.
We really hope to return to this lovely peaceful spot, and make it an annual trip!




Perfect venue for a restful break

Review submitted on Sun, 25 Nov 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Always enjoy our stay at Hidden Gem
So relaxing and the dogs just love the beach walks
The cottage is very well stocked with everything needed for a stress free break




Perfect location, very dog friendly clean and comfortable cottage

Review submitted on Sun, 04 Nov 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was our second visit to Hidden Gem. The location is brilliant as it’s right on the Dunes. The walk from the cottage through the dunes to the beach is lovely; the beach is dog friendly and clean. Our dogs love running on the beach and watching the seals in the sea. The cottage has everything you could need with some nice welcome goodies for dogs and humans. We have already booked again for January next year!



Fabulous truly dog friendly cottage backing onto Winterton-on-Sea dunes

Review submitted on Sun, 21 Oct 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Everything you could possibly need in this cottage, truly a home from home for humans and their dogs



Another lovely stay

Review submitted on Mon, 01 Oct 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
My first visit to Winterton On Sea and couldn't have wished for a better place to stay in than Hidden Gem.
My one year old puppy loves a beach and the sea and has now fallen in love with sand dunes! Hidden Gem provides all three within about five seconds of leaving the door, straight out onto the dunes.
Hidden Gem is well appointed, very clean and seems to get bigger the longer you stay! The central heating is extremely effective but the log fire gives that extra bit of interest and comfort.
It has everything you need although a cupboard in the kitchen for food would help. However, for a week's stay the worksurface was ok and you can at least see where everything is!
The local Mace shop was excellent and well priced, and The Fisherman's Return pub was very dog friendly. The food and service was first class on my two visits.
In summary, thanks again to ERC for another excellent dog friendly stay and I am already looking forward to my third one in November!




Holiday in winterton-on-sea The Hidden Gem Cottage. (September 14th / 21st. 2018 ).

Review submitted on Mon, 24 Sep 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Hidden Gem was Excellent we had 3 small dogs with us. From the back garden straight onto the sand dunes great for walking dogs. And after a good walk straight to the beach cafe where they do great breakfast.
We would definitely go again now that we ve found this cottage.
Thank you sue for this lovely holiday. September 14th / 21st 2018. ( Weather was very good for that week ).




Fabulous

Review submitted on Sun, 17 Jun 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Had a week at Hidden Gem and that is exactly what it is. There was no need to worry if you had forgotten anything as plenty if throws, bowls, leads, bedding and crates supplied. Just a 5 minute walk over the dunes to the beautiful beach. Cottage was spotless and spacious. Highly recommended.



Lovely place to stay

Review submitted on Sun, 17 Jun 2018
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Wonderful location, beautiful view from kitchen window, a lovely cafe at the dunes and a wonderful fish and chip shop and pub. Very dog friendly



Hidden gem

Review submitted on Fri, 08 Jun 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Fabulous house & location, friendly locals beautiful clean beach. totally dog friendly village. will definitely return.