FB Twitter

East Afton Farmhouse & Country Annex

East Afton Farmhouse & Country Annex

4.6
out of 5
Ratings from 30 reviews
97% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.6
Comfort
4.8
Condition
4.5
Location
4.8
Value
4.4
Customer
Service
4.8


Fantastic House, Helpful booking team

Review submitted on Mon, 07 Oct 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Stayed with a group of friends (adults/toddlers and babies) for a weekend. The team were super helpful throughout the booking process and were easily contactable throughout the stay if we needed anything.

The house is stunning and the hot tub has great views. The cinema room is pretty special too! There is a kitchen garden and lots of outdoor space to enjoy.

Would definitely stay here again, the only thing missing was a cheese grater!




An amazing place to stay!

Review submitted on Sat, 05 Oct 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We cannot recommend staying at East Afton Farmhouse highly enough. The house and annex are absolutely beautiful, with great spaces to socialise with friends & family. All the rooms are spacious and decorated in a unique way. Everything we could have needed was available, including a lovely gift of eggs and prosecco on arrival. Our children (and some grown up children!) made lots of use of the cinema room, and the hot tub with the stunning views was also a highlight for us. The barns provided us with a fantastic space for a party, and many of our friends stayed in accommodation on the farm meaning on a short distance to travel back to bed once the party was over! Chloe and her team were superb and accommodated all our needs, including for guests with additional needs. They could not have been more helpful - thank you. We will remember our weekend at East Afton with the fondest of memories and hope to stay again in the not too distant future!



2nd visit

Review submitted on Sun, 18 Aug 2019
3.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
3.0
Location
4.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a good time on our week long visits Aug 2018 & 2019. Windows need refurbishing (same comment last year!) BBQ is poor. Clearly set up for large group events but good for family holidays. Needs handyman TLC over the winter. Towel rails don’t heat. Cinema projector fan is very noisy. AGA out if control (can’t turn it down!). Had to defrost red fridge before use (door seal doesn’t). Rats in the garden but it’s by a farm so to be expected, we guessed. Take toilet rolls! We’d still recommend it to others. It is quiet and safe. The beds are comfy. You’ll never run out of glasses or plates. Garden is huge.



Wedding 22nd June

Review submitted on Fri, 02 Aug 2019
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Lovely wedding venue. Very well looked after, we were particularly grateful that trouble was taken to clean the windows and mow the lawn for our wedding. Chloe and Billie were very helpful. The house was fantastic, really well equipped and lovely.
The only feedback that I would suggest is that the floor of the barn was painted in an emulsion that dissolved during the day. Guests were covered in grey paint by the end. Unfortunately, despite a dry-cleaners concerted efforts, my dress is ruined. Perhaps the floor could be tiled or similar for the future to avoid the same think happening. But it is a minor side-issue and I would thoroughly recommend East Afton as a wedding venue.




Wedding at East Afton

Review submitted on Tue, 23 Jul 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had the most amazing time staying at the Farmhouse and hosting our wedding there.
Having the property from the Wednesday before the big day meant that both our families (x17 of us including x3 small children) could comfortably stay and gave us plenty of time to relax and set up the venue. The facilities available were perfect for our needs and the location couldn’t have been better with the beach and a large Co-Op close by.
Everything was clean and tidy and Chloe, Amanda and the team were incredibly helpful and welcoming.
As a wedding venue, the set up was just what we wanted as it meant the whole day could be run smoothly including the ceremony, drinks, meal and dancing all in one stunning location.
Could not have been a better experience!




Cawley Wedding Celebrations at East Afton Farmhouse

Review submitted on Fri, 21 Jun 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our stay at East Afton Farmhouse will be one that we never forget. Having the few days before to the build up to our Wedding to decorate, and allowing all the family to come and stay with us in the fantastic house and annex. The grounds were lovely and gave us the opportunity to explore and use different areas of the gardens and barns to use on our special day. Chloe was a massive support, she was fabulous and so hard working in making sure she tended to all our needs! Thank you so much for the most memorable stay and day! It would be lovely to come back one day as it is a great venue and place to celebrate with a family and friends. Thank you Chloe and Tommy



Family gathering

Review submitted on Tue, 28 May 2019
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a wonderful family gathering at East Afton Farmhouse. The accommodation is so spacious, we never felt on top of each other & thoroughly enjoyed making use of the fantastic cinema room and hot tub. Views from all around the property were stunning. We would definitely recommend and hope to return in future.



Wedding ceremony

Review submitted on Mon, 20 May 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Beautiful house and venue in beautiful location, was perfect for our wedding. Chloe was absolutely brilliant going above and beyond to make sure it all went as smoothly as possible for us.



Weekend stay

Review submitted on Thu, 02 May 2019
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a lovely weekend at East Afton Farm. The location and house are beautiful. Customer service throughout was excellent and Chloe is extremely helpful.



“Hen weekend”

Review submitted on Mon, 08 Apr 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
An amazing house full of character lots of fun. Perfect house to have a private party. Thank you to Tom who came and picked a friend up who couldn’t walk to the cow & co. Thank you very much We love it.

Gail x




Wonderful Family Weekend Away

Review submitted on Tue, 02 Apr 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had an amazing family weekend away celebrating our parents 70th Birthdays, the house is perfect for big groups, it is spacious, well equipped, we enjoyed games by the log fire, the children loved the cinema room, the table tennis and everyone loved the hot tub.
We visited 'The Cow' Restaurant and had a lovely meal on the Saturday evening. There are plenty of walks and things to do, we would love to return and would definitely recommend it.




Very happy guests

Review submitted on Mon, 04 Feb 2019
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Chloe and the Tapnell team made arranging our stay and our wedding at the property a breeze. The house, annex, it’s barns and grounds are beautiful, we had the best time, made so many amazing memories m and I would highly recommend a stay here, for as long as you can! We love East Afton Farmhouse!



A wonderful stay in a wonderful house.

Review submitted on Mon, 28 Jan 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a very enjoyable stay at this beautiful property for my husband's 40th. The customer service was excellent as was all aspects of our stay. Comfortable beds, beautiful views and walks as well as a well equipped kitchen. Just need to find another excuse to book again!



Absolute perfection! ( and I am seriously fussy!!)

Review submitted on Tue, 08 Jan 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
If you have looked on The website and think that East Afton Farmhouse and Annexe looks lovely then be prepared to be (pleasantly) shocked... Its so much better in real life!
The venue is the prefect space to meet up and reconnect with family and friends, comfortable bedrooms, excellent bathrooms and acres of communal space which means you can escape and have some time to yourself when you need it. The farmhouse kitchen which has a small dining table, and island and a large sofa was our "hub" where we congregated, drank tea in the morning and champagne and cocktails in the evening and danced to the early hours. There is a formal dining room which is so amazing as you can seat 18 people (at a push) around a gorgeous table and there is a comfy lounge with wood burning stove where you can relax.

So often when you rent a house you find its not terribly well equipped but East Afton exceeded our expectations! Endless glassware, crockery and cutlery which was good quality too! Saucepans, Knives, Utensils, dishes... everything you could possibly need! There is even a Nespresso coffee machine (with Milk frother!!) which was very popular with everyone

The rooms are all finished to an excellent standard, with well equipped ensuite bathrooms. There is an additional bathroom too to help with queues!
The roof top terrrace with hot tub was just such a luxury and we made lots of use of this despite visiting in early January and the cinema room was a lovely bonus too!
We really did not want to leave and will definitely be back in the future.

A little note on customer service too- Chloe and her team are AMAZING! Really quick responses to emailed queries and a lovely welcome text on the day we arrived.

I would definitely recommend to anyone who wants a thoroughly luxurious place to stay for a large group!





Great Christmas just a few disappointing things

Review submitted on Sat, 29 Dec 2018
3.0
out of 5

Guest doesn't recommend this property
Cleanliness
1.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
3.0
Location
5.0
Value
2.0
Customer
Service
3.0
The house is beautiful but not very well maintained,lots of faults with bits and pieces broken or missing. My son nearly lost his fingers when trying to open a window which turned out had broken sash strings. On a more positive note, the space and size of the house and surrounding area is great,peaceful and relaxing.



Perfect venue for a wedding

Review submitted on Thu, 29 Nov 2018
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We held our reception at East Afton in September and the groom’s family stayed in the Farmhouse. It makes for a perfect rural wedding location whatever the weather (ours was wet!) - great set-up for a party with plenty of room for dining, dancing, a kitchen suitable for caterers, lots of nooks and crannies for people to explore. Chloe went out of her way to help us on the day, including ferrying people back and forth from the venue to the after party when taxis were scarce!

Great venue for a large family gathering too - cosy Farmhouse feel with plenty of dining space and garden for kids to explore. Highly recommend!




Fabulous house

Review submitted on Mon, 05 Nov 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
From our initial enquiry until we left the house we always had immediate/ helpful and friendly response from all the Tapnell staff but especially from Chloe.
We all agreed the house was the best we had stayed in 20 years of renting properties. We had both the farmhouse and annex.
We were a group of grandparents our children and grandchildren. 12 adults, 1 baby, 2 toddlers and 2 dogs.
All the rooms were of equal good quality so no one felt short changed.
The kitchen/ dining /living is the hub of the house and was light and cosy and had everything you could wish for. The lounge provided respite for the granddads and the dining room was great for our evening meals.
An added bonus was the table tennis and cinema room. There is plenty of parking for many cars.
We visited the farm both days and we all enjoyed what was on offer.
We will definitely return.
Thank you Chloe




A Little Bit of Paradise

Review submitted on Tue, 09 Oct 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We booked East Afton Farmhouse for a short break to celebrate a Hen Weekend. We knew it would be nice but this was beyond our expectations! We entered the kitchen to find a massive bottle of Prosecco, a beautiful bouquet of flowers and a bottle of milk (always a must) what a lovely touch! Its in the quietest location, although still about 6 mins from civilisation! The kitchen was magnificent with a huge Aga (as well as a conventional oven/hob), big seating area, and loads of storage and fridges. Another quieter lounge with a log fire which we lit very easily. We used the cinema room twice and the hot tub was a lovely treat before bed! The rooms were all lovely and full of character, none of the normal boring hotels were all used to. Each had its own en-suite. Hot water flowed, the rooms were all lovely and warm, the views were magnificent, you could even see the water from a few.

We also booked the Annex which was equally as charming.

Definitely worth 5 stars!

Thank you for the most fabulous time! This truly is the real deal.

Gillian x




Wonderful house that meets all needs

Review submitted on Wed, 25 Jul 2018
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Had a magical time at the farmhouse which leant itself to a large group gathering. Best bits were the jaccuzi, great beds and linen, the cinema room, and on a practical side a great kitchen with loads of fridge/freezer space.
Chloe and the team were amazing in communicating prior to the booking and then in looking after our needs when we arrived.
Thank you. We had a very memorable long weekend.




Fabulous house!

Review submitted on Tue, 03 Jul 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Amazing short stay at East Afton Farmhouse. Chloe & the team were super-helpful & accommodating. This is the second time we have stayed in one of their properties and both have been superb. Would definitely recommend!



Very pleased with the house and annexe we rented.

Review submitted on Tue, 29 May 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Everything was provided in the house and very clean. Beautiful venue for a large group. very helpful regarding ferry crossings as well.



Leadership retreat - Ellen MacArthur Foundation

Review submitted on Mon, 21 May 2018
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
3.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Fantastic facility for our specific use of Business retreat. Events barn excellent for group meetings (ants were present) and other rooms great for smaller breakouts. Love the kitchen diner area (very heavy chairs round the table which could be bigger, light in pantry faulty & leak in kitchen ceiling). Rooms very comfortable. Loved the cinema (written instructions for use would be great) and spa superb (although lights didn't work). Lots of space and very cosy. Lovely BBQ area and gardens. Despite some minor issues we will definitely return as we felt looked after by the amazing Chloe! Thanks for having us :-)



Felt like a house party in a beautiful setting

Review submitted on Mon, 21 May 2018
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Lovely place for a group to stay as plenty of communal spaces including huge kitchen diner and another large lounge and of course the wonderful roof terrace with hot tub and sun until late evening!. Outdoors has plenty of space too so we never felt on top of each over and children were safe to wander around. We had the bonus of a beautiful weekend weather wise so actually spent a lot of time at the house when not walking over the downs or sampling the nearby beaches.



Wedding with a difference

Review submitted on Fri, 04 May 2018
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This house was the focal point for my wedding and it was perfect... I would do anything to own such a stunning home. Even though it is a holiday home, it had such a warm friendly feel. It was everything i hoped for.



Large farmhouse suitable for family get togethers

Review submitted on Fri, 06 Apr 2018
3.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
4.0
A good place for a family get together, with a lovely big kitchen and dining room. The hot tub was a lovely luxury after a walk up and over the downs, and we all enjoyed an Easter egg hunt in the garden. The table tennis table was in very good condition and in an ideal location. We loved seeing the newly born lambs in the paddock, and visiting the pigs and calves on the farm.

We would have benefited from instructions on which pans to use on the induction hob, especially as the aga wasn’t hot enough to cook on. Also the tumble drier set off the fire alarm, again a simple instruction to open the windows when using it would have prevented this disruption.




Large comfy house for weekend get together

Review submitted on Wed, 21 Mar 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We were a party of 12 old friends and we had a great time at East Afton - the kitchen, dining room and sofa area means that you can all hang out together whilst preparing meals, there's also another large dining room and a separate living room with a large wood burning stove. We also used the annex which is lovely. We had very strange weather in mid-March, which meant we sat in the hot tub on the roof terrace whilst it snowed on us! There are great walks nearby, we had an excellent meal at the Red Lion up the road, and there's a large co-op nearby if you need anything. Lastly, the Tapnell Farm team were very friendly and helpful and the whole experience felt very relaxed. We've stayed in lots of large houses and this has everything you need, it's very comfortable and is good value - we'd definitely come back another year.



Lovely new year break

Review submitted on Tue, 09 Jan 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
East Afton Farmhouse is perfect for a group getaway. 10 of us stayed for new year and we had a great weekend. The beds were so comfortable, the house is beautiful and the cinema room and hot tub are an excellent addition.
My only suggestion would be that the kitchen could be a little more equipped and possibly a couple of essentials, such as oil, kitchen roll etc provided. But this was not a big deal! Would recommend.




Brilliant country farmhouse stay!!

Review submitted on Tue, 05 Dec 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Excellent house and facilities, the rooms were all really nice and the cinema room and hot tub in particular were brilliant. Great communication from the team at Tapnel Farm, kept me updated with the booking and provided lots of useful information. Nice rural setting with nearby country walks, and the Cow Co restaurant on the farm (approx 15 minutes’ walk from the house) serves amazing burgers! Already looking to book again for next year!!



A lovely farmhouse with amzing views - great place to relax.

Review submitted on Wed, 01 Nov 2017
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A lovely farmhouse very comfortable especially the sitting room with the log burner. Plenty of room for a large party and lovely outside space. Extremely helpful staff.



Great for families and friends

Review submitted on Wed, 27 Sep 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Such a fantastic place for party or just a family gathering - so much fun for all generations - can't recommend this place enough and will definitely be returning soon.