FB Twitter

Tethera

Tethera

4.8
out of 5
Ratings from 34 reviews
100% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.9
Comfort
4.9
Condition
4.9
Location
4.5
Value
4.7
Customer
Service
4.8


Very comfortable cottage had everything we needed.

Review submitted on Sun, 11 Oct 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a lovely week at Tethera and would definitely return. The beds were fab and the cottage comfy and warm. We had everything we needed.



Jude Walker replied 13 days ago
Thank you so much for takin the time to post a review and so pleased you enjoyed your holiday, the huge beds with fully sprung mattresses are fabulous to relax in after a long day out on the fells. Look forward to your return visit.

Stay at Tethera

Review submitted on Tue, 22 Sep 2020
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Very enjoyable and help from owner regarding local walks very much appreciated.
Sad that local caterer could not provide for small groups as one of reasons for booking was that this facility we understood was available.
Otherwise a very impressive cottage with all facilities and comforts.




Home from Home...

Review submitted on Wed, 02 Sep 2020
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a very comfortable stay at Halls Hill,we stayed in Tethera,home from home. Bed very comfortable. They had everything you needed to keep you going,well equiped. Owners were very friendly and helpful,nothing was to much trouble.
The cottage was clean and comfortable. Would definitely stay again,and would highly recommend. If you don't mind travelling to get to places,then this is the place to stay. Or if your looking for peace and quite,this is for you. Keswick was a 45 min drive from Halls Hill,easy route without using motorway, lovely scenic route.




Jude Walker replied 52 days ago
Thank you for the lovely review Mandy so pleased you felt Tethera was 'home from home' as we really like all guests to feel relaxed and comfortable throughout their stay. You really packed in the activities with the electric bike hire and kayaking on Derwentwater. Obviously you took in all the sights on your long way round to Keswick as it only takes us 20 mins but if you have the time then the longer scenic route is a real treat on the eye. Lovely to meet you all.

Beautiful inside & out

Review submitted on Wed, 12 Aug 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Jude & Tim have created an exceptional holiday haven - fitted out to a very high standard with gorgeous decor, thoroughly cleaned & set in an exceptional area of beauty, with amazing views of rolling fields & horses running free. Their customer service & friendliness were 5 star also. I would thoroughly recommend at stay at Hall Hills. Thank you so much.



Jude Walker replied 69 days ago
Wow, thank you for your high praise and kind words, it is so rewarding when guests really appreciate our holiday properties and all the little touches. Being a truly independent business, it is quite humbling when guests take the time to write such a positive review. Thank you

Excellent property

Review submitted on Sun, 19 Jul 2020
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Very comfortable property, very well equipped and to the highest standards. Jude and Tim extremely helpful and went out their way to make our 2 weeks most enjoyable. Thanks



Half term holiday

Review submitted on Sun, 03 Nov 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Jude, the owner was brilliant and the communication excellent. The cottage itself is beautiful having everything you could need-full size fridge and freezer, dishwasher, smart tv, DVD player, sound system, books, games and a laundry room if you wish to use a washer and dryer. The views from
the cottage are stunning with rolling hills, a stone bridge and a river, very tranquil. A fantastic base for exploring the Lake District. We would highly recommend!!




Idyllic location and accommodation

Review submitted on Tue, 01 Oct 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
If you want a tranquil holiday in comfortable accommodation, this is the place for you. Delightful owners just added to the experience.



Good

Review submitted on Sun, 11 Aug 2019
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely time the cottage very comfy and clean. Laundry room use full and lovely places around to visit but you would need. Car



Cumbrian halls

Review submitted on Sat, 27 Jul 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our accommodation was part of a small group of adjoining properties. Everything was great, loads of information, maps, books to assist us in planning our time in Cumbria. Picturesque and quiet.



Our stay at Hall Hills holiday home - Tethera - in June 2019

Review submitted on Sat, 29 Jun 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Accommodation elegantly designed, comfortable and very well equipped - our hosts had thought of everything we might need.
The location was quiet and beautiful - it was lovely in the evenings to sit on the patio and enjoy the views of open country, with no other person, habitation or vehicle in sight or sound.
The hosts, Tim & Jude, were very friendly and welcoming and always ready to respond to any request for advice or help.
The provision of large amounts of printed information - pamphlets, maps, etc - about visitor attractions and shops was very helpful.
We had a really happy stay.




A brilliant New Year’s Eve getaway

Review submitted on Wed, 02 Jan 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We thoroughly enjoyed staying here. The owners were lovely and made up feel welcome the minute we arrived. The decor was well thought out and up to date. We would definitely come again.



First week in December

Review submitted on Tue, 04 Dec 2018
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Furnished beautifully. Very well equipped - everything in the kitchen you could possibly need. I love the bathrooms. Very handy for Carlisle Races although really the trip was about spending time with the in-laws (ahem!)



Lovely weekend - and car charging as well

Review submitted on Wed, 29 Aug 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Managed to get Tethera Cottage for the August Bank Holiday weekend. It was the perfect base for the North Lakes and the Border region and the whole family had a lovely relaxing weekend. Electric car charging on site was just icing on the cake.
A real gem.




Wonderful and relaxing stay

Review submitted on Tue, 31 Jul 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We spent a lovely few days at Hall Hills. Very comfortable and the Tethera had everything we needed. Hosts very friendly and helpful. Hope to return soon.



Short break in the Lakes

Review submitted on Wed, 11 Jul 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have had a lovely time staying in Tethera. A well-equipped, comfortable cottage with everything you need for a relaxing break. Thank you Jude for your warm welcome and for the complimentary basket of goodies - a really nice touch. A highly recommended place to stay.



Excellent accommodation perfect location

Review submitted on Mon, 09 Apr 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was our first time here.
We arrived to a very friendly welcome and shown round the accommodation.
Everything was absolutely beautiful. Bedrooms were so comfortable and immaculate, as was the whole
Accommodation. It was also a great location for visiting other places. We will most certainly return here.




Great weekend retreat !

Review submitted on Tue, 05 Dec 2017
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
3.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Such a lovely place to relax - we were a group of 4 (adults) booked for a weekend of chilling out and walking
The place had everything you could possibly need -lovely and clean and really nice .

The beds are huge and the decor trendy -especially loved the sound system

Would definitely recommend -great value for money !




Another great stay!

Review submitted on Mon, 16 Oct 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Loosing count now of how many times we have stayed at Hall Hills with Jude and Tim! We couldn't think of anywhere else that we would consider going if coming to The Lakes - our 'go to' place to escape the pressure of day to day living.

We have stayed in all of their wonderful cottages at least once but have settled on Tethera as our favorite. All the cottages have everything and more that you could possibly need for a relaxing stay in The Lakes from the welcome hamper including that all important pint of milk for the first drink when you arrive after a long journey, to top class linen and towels all provided.

Jude and Tim have also just given Tethera a make over and somehow it has made a great cottage even better - more modern but still relaxing and comfortable - great job guys!

Despite the best efforts of the English weather to dampen our spirits, we had a great nine day stay and left relaxed, unwound and feeling that we were ready again to return to 'the rat race' - something that Hall Hills does every time we stay!

If you are looking to unwind and de-stress in a quiet relaxed atmosphere, Hall Hills should be up at the top of your list!




Great house, friendly owners, lovely surroundings!

Review submitted on Mon, 02 Oct 2017
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is a great place to stay if you want to visit Lake District. The owners have done everything they can to make you feel at home. The houses are superbly furnished. Great starting place for walks, and long and short drives to famous places.
We were with 2 families and a lot of (older) children in 3 adjacent houses. The situation was just perfect!




Very high standards

Review submitted on Mon, 28 Aug 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have stayed before when visiting friends in the area. The standard of accommodation is excellent, with great attention to detail. I would recommend it as a very good base to explore the area.



Great place to stay for Lake District

Review submitted on Tue, 18 Apr 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Really enjoyed our stay at Hall Hills! Beautiful location, clean accommodation and the welcome basket was a lovely surprise!



Recent Visit

Review submitted on Fri, 14 Apr 2017
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We had a few days in the Lake District and stayed at Halls Hills. The accommodation was great, and would highly recommend anyone that likes to visit the Lakes and appreciates excellent accommodation.



a great weekend find

Review submitted on Wed, 22 Mar 2017
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
3.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Excellent find in a very rural setting.fabulous facilities and great set up. Very friendly and great little extras provided!



Mini break in the Lake district

Review submitted on Sat, 05 Nov 2016
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a wonderful stay at Tethera, which was excellent value for money. We were quite lucky to find it available at such short notice! The cottage was perfect size, the beds huge and very comfortable, the kitchen very well fitted, and lots of lovely details for the whole family, specially games and DVDs for the children. Our stay was too short to make take full advantage of it, but we would really recommend it. It is a bit of a drive north of the Lake District proper through winding country lanes, but it is a very pleasant drive and very well worth the effort for the lovely cottage and excellent value, considering it was half term. Wish we could have stayed longer!
The owners were very friendly, welcoming and helpful.




Weeks break at the lakes

Review submitted on Tue, 27 Sep 2016
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
3.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Tethers is a beautiful property, with every amenity you will need whilst on a self catering holiday. The view from the property is beautiful and it is a very tranquil area. The only down side for us, and this problem was really of our own making, and that is that the property is a bit far north to give really good access to the lakes, had I have realised the distance involved I would have probably booked somewhere more central, that having been said, because of how lovely the property was, it almost outweighed this issue.



Luxury in the countryside with hi-tech kit to keep the kids happy

Review submitted on Sat, 20 Aug 2016
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A really lovely cottage decorated to a very high standard in a peaceful location. Access to Hadrian's Wall and the Lake District and charming villages with friendly pubs - The Plough at Wreay is highly recommended . Only stayed for the weekend but felt at home immediately.



Comfortable family accomodation on good location for Lake district visit

Review submitted on Wed, 17 Aug 2016
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
An excellent location for families to explore the Lake district. Wonderful accomodation, very comfortable and everything you can imagine is present! Generous host provides good suggestions for day trips! We hope to return soon!



potfest visit 2016

Review submitted on Mon, 01 Aug 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
we arrived after a long journey from Berkshire to be greeted with a warm welcoming smile. we were shown to our "stunning" accommodation. it was clean, fresh and the fridge had been stocked with the necessary essentials. The view from the kitchen window was beautiful and more importantly the surroundings were "quiet". We only stayed for a short amount of time as we wanted to visit Potfest and the Lakes,: we would happily make a return visit for a longer period of time given that our stay was so relaxing.



Half Term mini break

Review submitted on Mon, 06 Jun 2016
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The cottage was to a high standard with everything you would require for a self catering break.
The location was good as a base for various days out in the area.
Would defiantly return to the cottage and next time possibly with friends and utilise the private chef/bar.




Tethera

Review submitted on Thu, 02 Jun 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Immaculate and well equipped house which was exceptionally comfortable.
Welcome pack was a lovely touch and Tim and Jude could not have been more helpful.
I would have no hestitation in recommending Hall Hills to my friends and family.




Tethera long weekend

Review submitted on Mon, 11 Apr 2016
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Tethera was a nice place to stay, very well equipped, in excellent condition and very comfortable, particularly the master bed!
It is a little remote so you do have to drive to get provisions.
We mostly ate out but were able to cook a Sunday Roast in fine style on our one night in!
A bit more expensive than most but you do get what you pay for.




Yet another GREAT stay @ Hall Hills

Review submitted on Wed, 21 Oct 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is the 6th or 7th time (lost count) that we have stayed with Jude and Tim @ Hall Hills and we are never disappointed!

I am always a little nervous about returning to a place when the first visit has been so good, but Hall Hills is a complete exception and every time that we have been since that first visit 6 years ago has more than lived up to expectations - so much so that I couldn't think of anywhere else that I consider staying on a self catering basis in The Lakes.

We have now stayed in all of the superb cottages that make up Hall Hills and although we prefer Tethera, any one of the five superbly equipped 'home from homes' will not disappoint. The quality of the accommodation is excellent throughout - the fixtures and fittings are always of the highest quality - the new bed added to the main bedroom in Tethera has to be the biggest, most comfortable bed I have ever slept in! If I had brought a big enough car it would have come home with me!

Jude and Tim are the PERFECT hosts - there if you ever need them, but invisible when you don't - they provide just the right level of information and assistance - little local delicacies and the very important pint of milk on arrival, down to a huge amount of information on where to go and what to do when you arrive. Some how, they have the knack of knowing just how much input is required!

If you are looking for a holiday with lots of nightlife etc - this is probably not the right place for you BUT if you are looking for some where to relax, unwind and recharge the batteries and, that is a little 'off the beaten track' then I cannot recommend Hall Hills enough.

I have been very fortunate to have stayed in many so called 5* accommodation - Hall Hills is right up there with BEST!

Thank you Jude and Tim, yet again, for just the perfect, relaxing week!





good review

Review submitted on Tue, 22 Sep 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Great place to stay, friendly /helpful hosts, excellent / well equipped house, loved the bar area. Location good, we enjoyed a great meal at The Plough Inn,



Amazing Place

Review submitted on Sat, 22 Aug 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Absolutely fantastic place. We stayed here for 4 nights with our two boys. Spotlessly clean and the most amazing bed I have ever slept in. The owners have thought of everything to make your stay perfect, nothing is too much trouble. They have a huge range of board games and DVDs which is brilliant if you have children. A laundry room for those wet clothes that you often end up with in the Lake District and the residents bar is the perfect finishing touch after a day of exploring the lakes. We sat there on the terrace in the sunshine drinking Hendricks and tonic overlooking rolling hills - what an amazing way to end the day!! We will definitely be back.