FB Twitter

The Folly

The Folly

4.7
out of 5
Ratings from 38 reviews
97% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.8
Comfort
4.9
Condition
4.8
Location
4.6
Value
4.4
Customer
Service
4.8


short break

Review submitted on Sat, 30 Nov 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
great location and warm welcome. everything works so 10 out of 10

would stay again withou a doubt..




A lovely place to relax

Review submitted on Sat, 26 Oct 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Out of the normal tourist area so not too busy. Very peaceful . The Folly is comfortable and well equipped with everything you need.



short stay

Review submitted on Sun, 07 Jul 2019
3.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
3.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
3.0
Good location - handy for Ullswater etc
Folly was equipped with everything you could need.
It was a very nice stay- the towel rail needed a clean in the bathroom and some areas needed a little TLC.
However nice touch with the welcome cheese, crackers and milk,




Short stay in the folly

Review submitted on Sat, 20 Apr 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We were very impressed with the Folly and the owners who were very helpful . Ideally situated for visiting Carlisle, the Lakes and Hadrians Wall . The good weather was a bonus.



3 night stay April 2019

Review submitted on Tue, 16 Apr 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our 3 nights was booked as a quiet getaway. Lovely drive assisted by directions from Jude due to diversions.
Location is isolated but beautiful, perfect for what we wanted.
The Folly itself is a spacious open plan kitchen / living room/ dining area with all the facilities you could need (washers and drier are a few steps away in a well appointed wash room-come-tourism office).
Self catering was important for us and again every facility was available. M&S in Carlisle was only 25 minutes by car, more local was a co-op in dalton.
Plenty of activities are available which are a drive away.
Overall the perfect place for our needs and we shall return.




Great stay

Review submitted on Mon, 25 Feb 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Was there for the weekend and couldn't have been better. Very peaceful and enjoyed the stay. Location wasn't to bad either.



4 nights in rural north Cumbria

Review submitted on Sun, 21 Oct 2018
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A very good self catering option in North Cumbria within easy reach of the North Lakes, historic Carlisle and the Solway coast.

Very well appointed with The Folly, in which we (two of us) stayed, offering a high degree of privacy with a lovely countryside view from the main window. The kitchen area was particularly well equipped.

The on-site owner was very helpful with advice and suggestions but not at all obtrusive.

Just right for us.




Little chill time

Review submitted on Tue, 02 Oct 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Wanted a little chill out time perfect location , owner very helpful . Could not fault it . Would go again all mod cons tv sound system very clean through out . Was that cozy didnt want to move . Thanks again



Short break

Review submitted on Tue, 22 May 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The Folly accommodation was excellent and had everything you would need for an excellent holiday. The location was very peaceful and the scenery stunning exactly why we booked the Folly. The hosts were excellent and very helpful. The Folly is a fantastic place if you are looking for excellent accommodation in a peaceful location and with easy access to the Lakes.



first of four

Review submitted on Fri, 27 Apr 2018
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
booked four premier cottages this year and were off to a good start.
lovely view from balcony just needed warmer weather.
how to find us instructions spot on




Beautiful views and a cosy winter retreat

Review submitted on Fri, 09 Mar 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our stay at The Folly was made possible by a generous donation from Jude and Tim to Macmillan Cancer Support. Unexpectedly, we were snowbound during our visit and The Folly was the perfect base for enjoying the solitude of a beautiful winter landscape. Tim and Jude took care to ensure all of our needs were met and kept in regular communication with us - they were amazing hosts!



A lovely quiet week in an area that is well away from tourists either in the Lakes or Dales.

Review submitted on Fri, 23 Feb 2018
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Very well equipped apartment with plenty of places to visit and walk.
We have visited the vicinity before but still came across new places to explore.
The Lakes and Dales are very close and easy to drive to.




A great retreat with spectacular views in every direction!

Review submitted on Sat, 30 Dec 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The Folly is well stocked, well presented and excellently located. Being only a thirty minute drive to some of the most beautiful lakes the UK has to offer, we truly had a break to remember!



Fantastic place with a warm welcome

Review submitted on Mon, 06 Nov 2017
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Jude & Tim have created a wonderful place for guests to relax and unwind in a tranquil setting. From arrival we were met by Tim who was happy to give advice and pass on some local knowledge. They had printed off directions to Bitts Park for the Firework display showing ideal parking locations prior to arrival which was well received.
The property itself is stunning with open beams and floods with natural light (a wonderful sight first thing in a morning especially when you arrive at night)
The Folly is fitted with an integrated sound system that can be controlled and played in each room of the accommodation, ideal for a cozy night in with a horror movie streamed directly via the Smart TV with Netflix or just to play some music while taking a shower.
On our departure we were lucky enough to meet with Jude who was kind enough to show us around the other properties Hall Hills has to offer, not a bad word can be said about this place, friendly people, warm, comforting accommodation with views that literally stop you in your tracks to admire.
Thank you both for the weekend just passed. We look forward to seeing you sometime in May 2018




Total relaxation

Review submitted on Tue, 15 Aug 2017
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Fantastic accommodation with everything thought out for your stay. Very quiet area and was able to switch off and relax fully but close enough to local areas of interest.

Jude was extremely helpful and the little hamper was a lovely touch.

Would love to visit again and more than likely will be doing in the near future.




Very pleasant weekend

Review submitted on Tue, 25 Jul 2017
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely place to spend a few days. Would definitely recommend. It was a pity that we could not use the balcony due to the weather. If the sun had come out then it would be the perfect venue






Beautiful, well equipped accommodation

Review submitted on Sun, 16 Jul 2017
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Fabulous, relaxing week exploring the Lake District.

We choose this property as it has been finished to a very high standard and is well equipped.

The supersize king bed, the large sofa and the TV/media system made for a comfortable and relaxed stay, in a very peaceful location.




A July Break

Review submitted on Sat, 08 Jul 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Very helpful and hospitable hosts, Jude and Tim. The apartment was super, well deserving of its 5 star rating. Everything was clean and tidy, and a good selection of provisions were provided for us. Definitely recommended.



Mini-Moon stay

Review submitted on Sat, 01 Jul 2017
3.5
out of 5

Guest doesn't recommend this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
3.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
3.0
Lacked a little attention to detail with certain things, kitchen could have been slightly better equipped. We were honeymooners, maybe flowers on the table or a bottle of wine would have been nice. Slight leak in the ceiling above coffee table in lounge from the rain we had.
Very private though, never saw a sole all week, nice and peaceful if you just want to get away from it all,




Hall Hills

Review submitted on Tue, 13 Jun 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Fantastic accommodation wonderful helpful hosts.
Great welcome basket cheese was amazing.
Laundry facilities were a bonus when travelling for weeks.
Countryside great for nightly walks.




Well appointed and comfortable accommodation for a relaxing stay

Review submitted on Tue, 25 Apr 2017
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Very spacious and well equipped apartment in a quiet and relaxing setting with beautiful views. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay there!



Excellent accommodation in beautiful surroundings

Review submitted on Tue, 18 Apr 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We recently spent a long weekend at the Folly and it was superb. The accommodation itself is light and modern and immaculate throughout. Tim and Jude were excellent hosts and Tim's knowledge of the area really helped us make the most of our visits to the lakes.

I would highly recommend staying at Hall Hills. We will definitely be back!




SUPERB ACCOMDATION LOVED EVERYTHING ABOUT IT!

Review submitted on Mon, 27 Mar 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Hall Hills is a beautiful place to stay, the accommodation is absolutely superb, very clean, tidy and has all the essentials you need. I will definitely be going back there and will definitely recommend it to anyone that would like to go out and stay near the lakes. The area is peaceful, the owners are lovely and it is a excellent location away from anything. The service provided from getting the keys to giving them back was lovely. The place was stunningly tidy and the design and architecture of the place was jaw dropping. Was much needed and a perfect place for my weekend getaway. If you are looking to stay away from the busy areas of the lake district and not too far out then Hall Hills is definitely your place to stay.



Amazing Folly!

Review submitted on Mon, 13 Mar 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The Folly was perfect for us, it was clean, the location was ideal hidden away in the middle of a peaceful, quiet countryside setting. Could not have asked for a better weekend getaway spot.



A weekend at the Folly

Review submitted on Wed, 15 Feb 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had such a lovely weekend away at The Folly. The views from the house were beautiful, especially in the morning as the sun was coming up. On arrival we were greeted by Jude's mum, who was really welcoming and happy to show us around the house. We were also treated to a little hamper of local goodies, which went down a treat. The location itself was a short drive away from Penrith and Keswick, so we had plenty of options for the day. The bed was particularly comfortable, one of the best nights sleep I've had in a while! The added perk was also having the ability to play our own music throughout the property as there were inbuilt speakers in every room that could be controlled by a remote.

This luxury apartment was perfect to surprise my boyfriend with and we will definitely stay here again if we're ever in the area. The Folly is a place I would certainly recommend to my family and friends for their own relaxing weekend.




Wonderful

Review submitted on Mon, 23 Jan 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A beautiful cottage set in idyllic surroundings, with stunning views, very tastefully decorated, very comfortable "huge" king sized bed, we had a perfect weekend relaxing in this environment would highly recommend a visit



Beautiful Accommodation

Review submitted on Mon, 24 Oct 2016
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Beautifully presented and really well furnished cottage which is equipped with everything you need.
Wonderful countryside views.




One of the best places I have stayed

Review submitted on Mon, 12 Sep 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The Folly is easily one of the best self-catering places we have been to. The accommodation is excellent and thoroughly deserves its 5* grading. The location and the view from the apartment is wonderful. The owners are kind and helpful and we really appreciated the nice touches such as the provision of tea, coffee and milk as well as the unexpected cheese and biscuits.



The Folly

Review submitted on Sun, 04 Sep 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Great place to base our short break, the accomadation was fantastic with everything needed available. Really enjoyed our time in the Folly, will definitely book again



Lovely accommodation, good location

Review submitted on Wed, 29 Jun 2016
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed in the Folley, a lovely first floor apartment with stunning views over the countryside. Very comfortable accommodation, plenty of room and very well set out. On arrival we were met by Tim who made sure we had everything we needed. This is a very peaceful area to stay. We had a lovely week and were able to do several lovely walks nearby as well as a few trips out to the coast and upper lakes. Thoroughly recommend this area which seemed much quieter than the southern lakes. Thank you to Jude and Tim for a lovely stay.



Superb. Highly recommended.

Review submitted on Thu, 16 Jun 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Having stayed in many cottages across the country, Halls Hill is at the top of the list. 'The Folly' itself was a first class facility providing everything you would possible require, whether just relaxing within your surroundings or going out and about day to day. The location is ideal for visiting Lake District so don't be put off by the fact it just sits on the peripheral. Dalston, the local village has all immediate amenities and anything else isn't that far away. Take time to venture down roads that you perhaps wouldn't go down en route to the Lakes and surrounding areas, you come across some lovely countryside. Would definitely recommend.



Folly Review

Review submitted on Sat, 02 Apr 2016
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
3.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Good stay in a nice contemporary cottage, well equipped, we arrived to milk in the fridge, teabags and crackers, cheese and chutney on the side. Our only gripe would be we were unaware, from looking at the pictures on the internet, that we would be staying right on top of the owners main residence, as photos suggest that the cottage was set off away from others and a little bit more secluded.



Jude Walker replied more than 1 year ago
Dear Christopher Many thanks for taking the time to review your stay at The Folly, feedback is always valued and important to us. I am however a little confused that you thought you were 'staying right on top of the owners main residence' as this is not the case. The Folly is a first floor apartment and is not above another property, it is above our private guest dining area which is only utilised if all properties are booked by one party which was not the case during your stay. The owners, myself and Tim and our daughters do live at Hall Hills opposite the cottages which is clear on the website and often seen as a bonus to guests as we can help with any problems or advice needed on arrival or during your stay. Once again thank you for your review and I hope this clarifies your concern. Best wishes Jude Walker The Owner

Fantastic weekend

Review submitted on Mon, 29 Feb 2016
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Just spent an amazing and relaxing weekend here for my fiances birthday. Beautiful accommodation and location. The welcome treats were a lovely touch. Facilities were fantastic with some cozy homely features. Couldn't have asked for anything more. Could have easily stayed a lot longer. Will definitely return and would highly recommend to anybody.



lovely stay

Review submitted on Mon, 16 Nov 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
I stayed in the folly for 3 days and all what we can say is WOW...it was just what we needed relaxation :). We will definitely be re visiting as we didn't want to leave. 10/10



A very relaxing get away

Review submitted on Wed, 07 Oct 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was a get away for our 40th birthdays & it was perfect. Very relaxing & the views were amazing. Tim was very welcoming on our arrival & Jude was very helpful with the returning emails. It was also very nice to arrive to our shopping after it had been delivered & carried to our apartment for us after our very long journey. Thank you Tim & Jude



Wonderful break

Review submitted on Sun, 04 Oct 2015
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a lovely 3 night stay at the folly, it was just perfect for us. Quiet peaceful relaxing and the weather for October was wonderful. There was everything you could possibly need in the accomodation, from a welcome basket of goodies including, milk cheese and bottle of wine. A great sound system and a large dvd library for quiet nights in after days walking in the nearby lakes. Can't wait to return in the new year.



Excellent accommodation

Review submitted on Thu, 24 Sep 2015
3.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We stayed in this property for 4 days. It is very comfortable and well equipped with many thoughtful extras. Lovely peaceful view from the property. A short drive from the property to places of interest such as Carlisle and Cockermouth, and little further to the Lake District itself.

Our only criticism relates the bed, which was too firm to be comfortable for my wife who has a bad back, and she did not sleep well.




Beautiful

Review submitted on Sat, 05 Sep 2015
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Hall Hills is an amazing place to stay. Set in a quiet and peaceful area not too far away from the main attractions. Highly recommend everyone to stay.