FB Twitter

Yan

Yan

4.8
out of 5
Ratings from 33 reviews
100% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.9
Comfort
4.9
Condition
4.9
Location
4.5
Value
4.6
Customer
Service
4.9


Great Stay

Review submitted on Thu, 10 Sep 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We thought the place was lovely and in a great location for our day trips.
The Owners were great and very friendly.
We would highly recommend staying here




Jude Walker replied 43 days ago
Thank you Gemma and Dan for the kind words, very much appreciated. It was lovely to meet you both and great to hear such lovely comments. Many thanks

Lovely getaway

Review submitted on Sat, 29 Aug 2020
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Great base to explore the Lakes away from crowds.
Cottage was well equipped with everything a family needs; including some games for rainy days.




Lovely house in beautiful location great for exploring northern lakes, border country and coast.

Review submitted on Sun, 16 Aug 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a lovely stay and enjoyed exploring this part of the country - the northern lakes, borders and coast are all within easy reach by car. Our paddle-boarding lesson at Ullswater lake was a highlight! The cottage is in a peaceful location, cosy (but not small), very comfortable and clean with lovely views over the countryside. Our 8 year old daughter loved the little den in her room. The hosts are friendly and accommodating.





Jude Walker replied 69 days ago
Lovely to meet you all and so pleased you enjoyed the property and had fun with Adrian at Ullswater Paddleboarding, it really is a fabulous set up and having such great weather was a real bonus. Thank you for taking the time to post a review, really appreciated. Best wishes Jude

Great stay

Review submitted on Sun, 09 Feb 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Had a great stay at Hall Hills, ideal for the whole family with local amenities nearby and only 29 minutes from the Lake District.



Relaxing break away

Review submitted on Sun, 05 Jan 2020
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A last minute decision to get away and start the new year with relaxing family time. The cottage is lovely and cosy with everything you need for your stay. It’s kept very clean and decorated well throughout. Lots of walks from the doorstep to take our dog out , she loved the new adventures . Beautiful area, very peaceful .. would definitely recommend and will return .



Love love love this place!

Review submitted on Sun, 29 Sep 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is our third visit to Hall Hills, taking the same property that we always have - Yan. It's just perfect for us both with our dog. The peace and quiet, the magnificent countryside views all within the setting of the Northern Lakes. It's such a great base from which to explore the surroundings.
The property itself is always spotlessly clean and really well laid out with everything that you could think of that might be needed for a short stay.
There is an abundance of books and leaflets of so many different places to visit and enjoy the countryside walks with our dog, it's lovely.
It really is a proper home from home, but with so many extras included. Our favourite is the integrated sound system that means when you're having a relaxing soak in the bath at the end of a long day exploring, you can listen to your favourite music.

All in all we would definitely recommend Halls Hills to anyone. It's our 'go to' place when we need some proper R & R.




Fantastic family friendly cottage

Review submitted on Sun, 18 Aug 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Beautiful, extremely well appointed cottage. We stayed for a week with our two young daughters and could not have asked for anything more. From the cot provided to the kiddy friendly utensils, the toys and the secret toy den in their bedroom, it was a real home from home.
We found the entertainment facilities (Netflix, dvds and games) really useful too, along with the laundry.
The location was excellent - a short drive to the shop and pub in Dalston - the blue bell? (Lovely friendly service, dog friendly and good food) far enough out to be peaceful, and also close enough to Carlisle and the lakes.
Highly recommend!




Had a lovely stay

Review submitted on Tue, 06 Aug 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Me and my partner and our 4 month old daughter stayed in the yan cottage for 4 nights. We found the location wonderful and very accessible. The cottage was very spacious and well equipped and the host took in account everything we needed for our daughter. We would highly recommended to stay at Hall Hills and we are already planning our return trip.
Thank you very much for a lovey stay.
Adam, Jade and Elsie




Yan Hall Hills July 2019

Review submitted on Mon, 08 Jul 2019
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Return visit to Yan at Hall Hills just as good as the first. Excellent, clean accommodation in a great location. Ideal for northern lakes and Carlisle. Jude welcoming and helpful.



Wonderful short break

Review submitted on Mon, 25 Mar 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Spent two nights in the Yan Cottage. Very comfortable and relaxing stay. Our Border Terrier also enjoyed his stay, including the wonderful walks nearby. We are looking forward to returning in 2020.



Perfect Christmas break

Review submitted on Mon, 14 Jan 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Absolutely perfect from start to finish.
Perfect location and amenities, will most definitely be booking again.




Another wonderful stay at Hall Hills

Review submitted on Sat, 29 Dec 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Having stayed at Hall Hills only a few months ago and thoroughly enjoyed our stay, we decided to return for the Christmas break. We were again very warmly welcomed by the hosts, Tim and Jude, who are always more than happy to assist with making our stay as comfortable as possible.
The added extras of cheese, biscuits and chutney were really lovely. Our dog enjoyed his Christmas chew as well - very well thought of.
The accommodation is extremely comfortable, the bed is pure luxury for a restful night's sleep and the whole place is absolutely spotless.
If you are looking for a few days' respite you definitely need to visit Hall Hills as looking under the stars on a clear night just reminds you of relaxation.




Family celebration

Review submitted on Sun, 18 Nov 2018
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
3.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A very comfortable stay. Hosts so lovely nothing too much bother for them even let us check out late at no extra cost as no one was coming in to the property.
Great facilities. We stayed in the fog friendly house.




A real rural retreat

Review submitted on Thu, 27 Sep 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Wow - what a beautiful place! A lovely setting, very quiet and peaceful. The cottage was immaculately clean and very comfortable.

The hosts were very welcoming and the added extras of milk, cheese, crackers and chutney were a lovely surprise.

I would definitely recommend others to stay at this very serene cottage.




Lovely little cottage ideal for small children

Review submitted on Thu, 02 Aug 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Stayed for 3 nights in Yan and had a lovely time. Even though it was a last minute booking, everything was ready for our arrival and Jude was very welcoming, giving us a quick tour and some pointers.

The cottage is small but very comfortable and has everything needed for a nice break. It's particularly brilliant for young children - having stairgates, cot, highchair, changing mat, and even baby spoons, meant that we didn't need to drag additional clobber for our 9 month old. We also all loved the secret play den!

Sofas and bed were really comfy, shower was also good. Everywhere was very clean. There's an amazing sound system in the cottage that we had a good play about with. The decor was nice and everything was in good condition.

It is a bit out of the way - we were looking for a base so we could do the Lakes primarily - but this does mean it's really quiet, and there is lovely countryside all round. There's also a largish village just a few miles away with some shops which is handy. It's a good location if you want to visit Carlisle, Penrith, the west end of Hadrian's Wall or to nip over the border into southern Scotland.

All in all, a fantastic stay and we'd love to come back.




Good few days

Review submitted on Fri, 20 Jul 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Had a very relaxing and enjoyable few days in yan. Everything was thought of and hosts very friendly



Heavenly

Review submitted on Mon, 04 Jun 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had such a lovely time. The cottage is very comfortable and clean and we felt at home straight away. The location is very peaceful with a lovely view over the fields. We we‘re travelling with our son (10 months) and really appreciated the toys, baby bath, high chair etc. that had been put in the cottage prior to our arrival. In short, everything was perfect and we can highly recommend the cottage



Dog friendly

Review submitted on Sat, 14 Apr 2018
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Great converted barn easy access to the lakes and Carlisle. Dog friendly, only thing is that there is not much room for parking



Bank holiday

Review submitted on Thu, 12 Apr 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We loved the stay at the cottage it worked out very well as my dog had a place too. The hosts are helpful too can recommand for a memorable family holiday



Simply Fantastic - what a wonderful person Jude is

Review submitted on Wed, 29 Nov 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Loved it - great value for money, fantastic location - couldn’t have asked for more. Loved the sound system and smart Tv



Family Wedding Long Weekend

Review submitted on Tue, 12 Sep 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Everything was perfect, Jude and Tim are the best, with special thanks to Tim for getting us to the "Church" on time.
Would higly recommend and would stay again




Excellent accommodation in Cumbria

Review submitted on Tue, 09 May 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We thoroughly enjoyed our weekend here with our dog, and all our needs were excellently catered for, especially for her as she was provided with a crate, bean bag, bowls, chews, towel and poo bags. Us humans had a goodie box too, with cheese, chutney, biscuits, cookies, and milk, tea and coffee. All much appreciated. We did not award full marks for comfort as we found the master bed rather soft and too low down for us oldies - however, that is only our personal choice! The property was well situated for sight seeing in the Lake District and had lovely walks from the front door. The hosts were very welcoming and friendly.



Half term in the lakes

Review submitted on Sat, 29 Oct 2016
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely half term break quietly located on the fringes of the lakes area. The cottage is fantastic well appointed with quality soft furnishings, great electronic equipment (and all important great WiFi) and good cooking facilities. We had a great family holiday with our puppy in great surroundings. Would recommend to anyone!



A lovely autumn break

Review submitted on Tue, 11 Oct 2016
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Beautiful cottage in a stunning area, perfect for visiting the lakes and Hadrian's wall. Very comfortable would return,



September Short stay review

Review submitted on Sat, 17 Sep 2016
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a very enjoyable stay with our dogs, Tim was helpful and friendly, the cottage had very good, clean facilities.
The only negative was that we would have liked more garden area/green area for us to walk around and relax with our dogs, however there were walks from the doorstep.




Very clean accommodation, had a great time.

Review submitted on Mon, 01 Aug 2016
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Excellent quality property.
Very clean.
No issues at all.
Would stay again as very welcoming to the dog and set up for dogs was great.
Shower was very powerful, which is nice as you get that hotel feel.




The perfect location

Review submitted on Mon, 04 Apr 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
What a lovely place to stay not too far from the M6. superb location for the lakes, Keswick , ullswater, Caldwell, Ambleside all within 30 minutes and with stunning views and drive to get there...the owners Jude and Tim have thought of everything and the beds are comfy!!!!! So important on holiday. Definitely recommend .



Peaceful Location

Review submitted on Mon, 04 Jan 2016
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
4.0
Location
3.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Peaceful Location ....................................................................................................................................



yan stay

Review submitted on Sun, 01 Nov 2015
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is a lovely converted farm. The cottage is very modern, and immaculate. The owner could not have been more accommodating or friendly, and was extremely helpful. The facilities were great, with a laundry and extensive DVD collection. It is situated in lovely countryside 10 minutes from Carlisle. We visited Hadrians wall and spent much of our time in the lakes. Keswick was about 45 minutes drive. Overall a great place for a holiday.



Beautiful cottage, loved our stay

Review submitted on Sun, 20 Sep 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was our second time at The Yan cottage at Hall Hills & we enjoyed our stay as much as the first time. Our beautiful cottage was very clean, well equipped with all mod cons that are user-friendly & all the great facilities, provided for us a welcoming & relaxing stay. The scenic views from the cottage invite lovely walks. Thank you Jude & Tim, see you again!



Dog friendly great location/base to explore so much more than 'just' the lakes

Review submitted on Sun, 06 Sep 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
What a lovely property, clean well cared for, dog friendly with all your 'modern' requirements met. A stunning barn conversion with each unit having it own modern heat unit (not some old/dodgy or shared unit you fight with to keep warm) & well insulated, the owners are suitable proud of the place and rightly so. Yan has a small (not too small) fenced area outside the patio doors, so no need to worry about keeping you dog 'in' all the time or worry about them escaping out the door, with small walls giving privacy between units 'gardens'
Being at the top end of the lakes gives you all the access you need to the area but without the hassle of being trapped inside the lakes (& never venturing further), you have easy access to the Kielder forest (and Northumberland National Park), Hadrian's Wall & the North Pennines.
Use this as a base to explore more than 'just' the lakes or do the lakes without the hassle of being inside what feels like a tourist trap, we can't recommend it enough.




A Short Bank Holiday Break

Review submitted on Fri, 04 Sep 2015
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
3.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Very crisp, clean and well presented property with great character. Attention to detail with extra touches just makes it better than expected. welcome hamper much appreciated



David from Woking

Review submitted on Wed, 26 Aug 2015
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A fantastic cottage, comfortably sleeping a family of four (plus dog). The owners were really friendly and made us all very welcome. Whilst the location for a trip to the Lakes is a little off the beaten track, you'll appreciate the quietness and it's only a short trip to the main tourist areas.