FB Twitter

The Bullpen

The Bullpen

4.3
out of 5
Ratings from 8 reviews
88% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.4
Comfort
4.1
Condition
4.4
Location
4.9
Value
4.3
Customer
Service
4.0


The Bullpen is a contemporary style cottage and is situate in a courtyard. The cottage is on one level and has one double bedroom with space for an extra bed/cot.

My stay

Review submitted on Tue, 12 Oct 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely cottage, so quiet and peaceful.. wonderful area so close to the beach. I have not visited this part of wales before so it was really special.. i hope to come back with a friend at some time as i only had a few days. There were many interesting places i would of liked to visit.. a special place and thankyou . The cottage so clean and comfortable. Strict recycling which i really agreed with.
Lovely not feel crowded with lots of people. A place you could really escape. Quite special.




Stay at the Bullpen

Review submitted on Sat, 21 Aug 2021
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a great stay at Portclew. The location was very convenient for us, and it was quiet and peaceful. I was just a bit disappointed to find that we only had a double bed, a king size would be much better!



stay at the Bullpen disappointing

Review submitted on Sat, 14 Aug 2021
2.7
out of 5

Guest doesn't recommend this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
2.0
Condition
3.0
Location
4.0
Value
2.0
Customer
Service
1.0
Bed linen worn out. If it were mine I'd have binned it long ago.
Bath towels small and thin
Dishwasher basket had holes in which ment you couldn't use the dishwasher safely
Light bulbs missing or not working
Settee and chair very low and hard to get up from






comfortable well equipped cottage

Review submitted on Tue, 29 Jun 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Comfortable accommodation which had everything we needed for our stay. Thoughtful welcome box of goodies. Bed was a little soft for me, but that's just a personal thing. Location was great for visiting surrounding area. Would book again if in the area.



The Bullpen

Review submitted on Sat, 24 Oct 2020
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Clean and comfortable and, very much appreciated on chilly October days, warm and cosy. The cottage was well provided with crockery and cooking pots, needed when feeling unsure of eating out in these odd times. The beach is in walking distance and any help needed was just a phone call away. Thankyou for providing us with a much needed break.



The Bullpen at Portclew House

Review submitted on Sat, 03 Oct 2020
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Arrived at The Bullpen with the spectre of additional lockdowns in Wales due to COVID 19 looming on the horizon. What a pleasant experience. The cottage was absolutely spotless with all the unnecessary items removed and all the ones you would ever need or expect to have available and easily accessible. The cottage which is all on one level has been well thought out with access to all rooms easily accessible for both able bodied or visitors using a wheelchair. A minor gripe was the size of the bed. Being used to a kingsize the 4’ / 4’6” bed did take a little getting use to. Perhaps a kingsize or 2 single beds could be considered as the bedroom was huge and easily capable of fitting these in without restricting access elsewhere. Only stayed for 4 nights but would definitely consider going back although having stayed in the main house a couple of weeks earlier I might consider going back their if only to take advantage of Sarahs delicious breakfasts. A thoroughly enjoyable stay with easy access to the local beaches, places of interest and a really good mix of places to eat out.



Lovely cottage in a great location

Review submitted on Sun, 06 Sep 2020
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We arrived to find everything as promised on check in. The cottage was very comfortable with all the amenities we needed. It is a short walk down to Freshwater East beach downhill (so be prepared for the steep climb back!), which is a beautiful beach, lots of space (no issues with social distancing). We enjoyed a great holiday with other family members who were in another cottage, lots of walking, body-boarding, swimming and eating/drinking. Would recommend!



Lovely place needs a deep clean

Review submitted on Tue, 14 Jul 2020
3.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
2.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
3.0
Excellent location and the Bullpen is a lovely place to relax for a short stay. The standard of the fixtures and fittings is very good. However, whilst the immediate surfaces and cooking facilities were lovely and clean, look any further and the premises need a deep clean - dead flies on the windowsills cobwebs, dusty cupboard tops and a dirty old sock in the sofa bed! May be due to this being the first weekend out of 'lockdown although you may consider that is a reason it should be scrupulously clean !!!