FB Twitter

Dandy Rigg Cottage

Dandy Rigg Cottage

4.8
out of 5
Ratings from 21 reviews
100% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.6
Condition
4.8
Location
5.0
Value
4.8
Customer
Service
5.0


Dandy Rigg Cottage is a traditional Manx cottage in a peaceful rural setting in the south of the Isle of Man

Comfort and Joy

Review submitted on Sat, 30 Dec 2023
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Great welcome pack from host and personal welcome as well. Cottage was very pretty internally and decorated properly for Xmas which was very cheery especially as the weather was awful. Incredibly warm, we turned the heat down as the walls were so thick there was no cold penetrating. Kitchen fully equipped and I cooked Turkey crown and gammon.
Location quiet and view would be great clouds allowing and we could park our car with care!
Could not have improved venue at all except perhaps something for host to consider and that would be to reduce the wardrobes space in double bedroom so that bed could have head end against outside wall as noise did permeate from a heavy snorer into the next bedroom. Just a little thought but not critical or a negative for our overall stay. Would highly recommend!!




A perfect stay!

Review submitted on Sun, 17 Dec 2023
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We looked for a central stay in the south of the island and feel we made the perfect choice with Dandy Rigg Cottage in Colby. The cozy cottage was outfitted with everything we needed - separate porch, 2 bedrooms, modern bathroom, kitchen with supplies, and a lovely dining/living room combo which had perfect Christmas decor.

The bedding was so comfortable and the heating was easy to operate and turn off when we were away. There was a manual book that had instructions for everything, e.g. heating and washing machine. A lovely surprise upon our very late arrival was the owner coming over from next door to invite us to park in her drive that night so we could empty our car easier in the cold rain. She was so lovely and helpful. True Manx spirit that really blessed us.

The regular parking was in a small lay-by on the road in front of the cottage and was easy to maneuver each day. It was easy to get to Castletown, Port St. Mary, The Sound/Calf of Man, Port Erin, and everything in between. We also easily got to Douglas. Really, it isn't too far to anywhere on island and this cottage is off a good road for wherever you want to go. (We were just focusing on the south during that week's stay.) The small Colby Glen is nearby and is a beautiful walk, as are all the island's glens we've seen.

Due to minimal parking, we decided to take a taxi to/from the cottage into Castletown for their Christmas Market and Tree Lighting and it was no issue with the taxis.

There is a handy, well-stocked Spar shop down the road with meat pies, eggs, milk, etc. and The Colby Glen pub, both of which came in handy.

We absolutely loved this stay!!




Isle of Man Heaven

Review submitted on Sat, 23 Sep 2023
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Smashing place to stay. Quiet and set back a bit from the main town area. Made very welcome for our first ever visit to the IOM.



Fantastic Place!

Review submitted on Sat, 19 Aug 2023
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Stayed here for a week for our family holiday. Fantastic place that had everything we needed. Was very cosy and comfortable. A great base for us to explore the island. Will be back 100%!



1st-8th July 2023. Dandy Rigg Cottage IoM

Review submitted on Sun, 09 Jul 2023
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
A very pleasant stay at this cosy property. A little home from home. As previously mentioned tv package definitely needs updating but all in all an enjoyable break. If two couples staying who travelled in separate cars parking could be an issue really only parking for one car.



TT 2023

Review submitted on Wed, 14 Jun 2023
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely cottage in fantastic location. Would love to stay here again.
We found fridge/freezer compact, and missed a vacuum cleaner to keep carpets as we found them.




Dandy Rigg stay

Review submitted on Sun, 30 Apr 2023
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lacking sockets in 1 bedroom; no bin bags & no provision for recycling. Lovely place- more updating needed



A lovely, cosy cottage

Review submitted on Sun, 16 Apr 2023
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We very much enjoyed our stay at Dandy Rigg Cottage. It was a cosy, little cottage in a lovely spot up the hill with sunny day views across the fields to the water. An easy walk to a small supermarket & local pub. Would stay again.



Island Escapes Team replied 319 days ago
We are so glad you enjoyed your stay at Dandy Rigg Cottage, and that the property met all your needs and expectations..... it's such a great spot up there! We would look forward to welcoming you back again in the future! Island Escapes Team

Our 6 night stay at Dandy Rigg cottage

Review submitted on Thu, 06 Apr 2023
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a very enjoyable stay at Dandy Rigg cottage. Its location was peaceful with lovely views. Queries were dealt with quickly
by Island Escapes and the owner. It was clean and comfortable and we would go again.




Island Escapes Team replied 325 days ago
We are so glad you enjoyed your stay at Dandy Rigg, it's such a cute cottage and the location is beautiful. We're glad we were able to assist you during your stay. We would very much look forward to welcoming you back again in the future. Thank you for your review, and for choosing Island Escapes!

truly a dandy cottage

Review submitted on Thu, 29 Sep 2022
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A delightful little place for a relaxing break. This property has been very tastefully renovated to the highest order and we highly recommend it .



Lovely stay at Dandy Rigg Cottage

Review submitted on Fri, 05 Aug 2022
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed at Dandy Rigg Cottage with our two young children and had a lovely time. The cottage was clean and well equipped, and what a spot! We loved the huge front garden, and the view to the coast. Beds were comfortable and the shower worked well. I was pleased to see a DVD player (in the absence of streaming services - good for entertainment in the evening or if the weather's poor) and if we stay again I'll pack some films. Having two young children and being on the Island for a week, we made good use of the washing machine and drying line at the back - a godsend! If staying with children you probably would want to have a car in this location - otherwise you could walk and bus or train to many places. The Spar shop in Colby was handy for essentials. We would love to stay again.



Lovely cottage with stunning views

Review submitted on Sun, 24 Jul 2022
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
What a lovely cottage set in complete peace and tranquillity. You can sea the sea over the long front garden and all you can hear outside is the occasional sheep. Comfy beds and excellently presented. Nicely appointed shower room (recent) and the Kitchen is adequate rather than lavish, but enough as I don’t expect many will be cooking big meals when there is so much around.



A very enjoyable week.

Review submitted on Fri, 03 Jun 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Excellent accommodation in a peaceful location. Ideally situated for visiting the whole island as we brought our car on the ferry.



Excellent place to stay

Review submitted on Sat, 30 Apr 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A lovely spot for a very restful break on the island. The staff at island escapes were very helpful at all times and the owner who lives next door was also friendly and helpful.



Lovely cottage in a beautiful location

Review submitted on Tue, 19 Apr 2022
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We loved our stay at Dandy Rigg and will definitely be returning.
The cottage is set in a big garden and there was a field behind which we could use to play in with the kids. The views are amazing.
The cottage comfortably slept 2 adults and 2 children and the facilities provided all that we needed. The cottage is priced very reasonably, and the host was lovely.
I'd fully recommend it.




a fine and dandy cottage

Review submitted on Tue, 01 Mar 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A most excellent 1st time visit to the island, thanks in part to using this very pleasant cottage as a home from home.




Beautiful setting

Review submitted on Tue, 21 Sep 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Very clean & well supplied with kitchen utensils. A bit out of the way but peaceful & scenic. Excellent eatery the Colby Glen Inn 5mins away



A nice weeks break

Review submitted on Mon, 13 Sep 2021
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A nice little cottage in a very good location. The host was very nice and took care of our needs. Overall, good value for money and a very pleasant stay.



Great location, lovely cottage

Review submitted on Wed, 16 Jun 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The cottage was perfect for our self-isolation week (2 adults). It is in a beautiful location with a big front lawn and attractive views down the hill and out to sea. The owner was very friendly, attentive to our needs and respectful at all times of isolation requirements.
The beds were incredibly comfortable, exceeding all expectations. The cottage was spotlessly clean and had everything we needed. It did get a little cool in the lounge in evenings but there is a heater in the bedroom wardrobe which we used so this was not a problem. All in all a fantastic stay and would love to stay there again.




Beautiful Cottage

Review submitted on Fri, 09 Apr 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Had the best time at Dandy Rig Cottage, the cottage has everything you need .. super cosy .. garden is lovely with amazing views.. can not recommend enough.. will definitely be going back.



Comfortable, relaxing break

Review submitted on Sun, 27 Sep 2020
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A lovely relaxing weeks stay. Nice clean comfortable cottage. Friendly owner. Would recommend to the family and friends. An upgrade on the tv package would be good.