FB Twitter

Thie-Ma-Chree

Thie-Ma-Chree

4.3
out of 5
Ratings from 25 reviews
84% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.3
Comfort
4.2
Condition
3.6
Location
4.8
Value
4.1
Customer
Service
4.8


A delightful holiday cottage with a lovely elevated view out to sea. A railway enthusiasts delight situated right next to the Manx Electric Railway.

It was ok

Review submitted on Fri, 13 Oct 2023
4.0
out of 5

Guest doesn't recommend this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
3.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Location was good, easy to get everywhere, I feel the property needs a little updating, especially the shower and also needs an extractor fan in the bathroom to help get the dampness out. The property is equipped well enough it just feels a bit tired and dated.



Excellent location

Review submitted on Sat, 30 Sep 2023
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Just enjoyed our first visit to the Isle of Man. It will not be our last. The cottage is in an exceptional location on the edge of Laxey especially if you decide to purchase a go explore pass and use it on all rail and bus travel around the island. The tram stop is directly outside the back of the cottage and bus stop outside the front. The sunrise over the sea is beautiful to watch. The sun shines in whilst having breakfast in the conservatory.
It’s a warm, cosy and welcoming property but it does look tired and could do with a bit of TLC, but some might argue it has character, it’s certainly charming.




A return visit

Review submitted on Fri, 08 Sep 2023
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is the second time we have stayed at Thie-Ma-Chree and we are already planning our next stay. The place is very well equipped and perfectly situated just outside Laxey. You can walk to the beach and local restaurants and shops, although the walk home is pretty steep!



A weeks stay for The Manx GP

Review submitted on Thu, 31 Aug 2023
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
3.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The location was ok for visiting the island by car but not much ells in walking distance.
Huge living room and we'll equipped kitchen.
Bedroom is a little tricky to get around and the bed is quite small but comfortable.
The wifi is a bit hit and miss but more miss than hit.
The shower was pretty poor.
there is a strong smell of fumes in the conservatory.(possibly heating oil?)
Complaints aside it was overall very clean and comfortable and I would use it again.




Nice small cosy home for a couple and two pets, great seaviews not to far from nearest town.

Review submitted on Tue, 01 Aug 2023
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Location was great with tram and bus connections right outside our door less than 1mins walk away. Laxey seaside area about 20mins walk downhill about 45mins uphill extremely steep unless yer fit. Plenty of walks in the area for dog lovers like us. And Laxey has many train / tram connections plus 15 to 20mins from Douglas by car.

Downside there was a low wall at back of house not ideal for dogs be nice if owner has a glass panelled barrier there as a suggestion. We blocked it off. Plus because of Tram station at rear of house twice cars parked blocking the driveway to house. Although a traffic cone is provided , it was handier for us to reverse into driveway as door were in boot of SUV.
But you needed the pull in area before you made that manouver as sometimes traffic was heavy.

Other than that we had a great holiday and would recommend it to anyone wishing to go to the Isle of Man with their pets.




My fantastic holiday

Review submitted on Mon, 24 Jul 2023
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
It is in a very good space for the see only 5 minutes away very good condition everything you could possibly need even down to the washing machine they have everything will be back next year for the 3rd year in a row



Charming stay ,good people to deal with.

Review submitted on Tue, 04 Jul 2023
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Good bits
Great view and interesting location . Just right for two people.
Fridge stocked with milk ,bread and cheese for your arrival ( was a nice touch.)
15 mins drive to the ferry. Trams do not run past until 9.30am so o.k.
Period features.
Less good bits ( no bad)
Bed could be better (standard double super soft mattress could be king size)
Good ten minute walk to the the nearest shops and pub. 20 minute to come back as the hill the cottage is on is very very steep.
The location is not for less able bodied . ( In all fairness like most of the I.O.M )




Charming and quaint cottage

Review submitted on Mon, 06 Mar 2023
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Quirky and quaint but very charming and cozy cottage with a really nice 'feel' to it. Fantastic views of the sea, morning coffee with a sunrise view, just lovely. Handy off road parking. Great for train lovers as the electric trams pass just behind the cottage



Island Escapes Team replied 360 days ago
Thank you for your review, we are so glad you enjoyed your stay at Thie Ma Chree, it is indeed a very beautiful part of the island. We hope to welcome you back to Island Escapes again in the future.

Disappointed

Review submitted on Wed, 14 Dec 2022
3.7
out of 5

Guest doesn't recommend this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
3.0
Location
5.0
Value
2.0
Customer
Service
4.0
A lovely little cottage, with a fantastic view, however, the radiators in the kitchen and bathroom don't get hot, leaving both rooms freezing cold. It took 3 days for the bathroom to dry out after having a shower. Also the radiator in the bedroom needs bleeding. Had a struggle shutting the conservatory door. It could be a lovely little cottage with a bit of money spent on it.
Over expensive for what it is, I won't be staying here again.




Island Escapes Team replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your review and feedback on your stay at Thie Ma Chree. We are very sorry to read you experienced issues with the heating during your stay. Our on call service means that any problems that occur during your stay can ordinarily always be attended to on the same day. We would have loved to have come and sorted the problems out for you if we had known of them. These problems are now being rectified. We really hope to welcome you back again in the future, our team would be more than happy to chat with you and match you up with a suitable property should you choose Island Escapes again. Kindest regards, The Island Escapes Team

Comfortable and convenient.

Review submitted on Sat, 26 Nov 2022
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a lovely stay at Thie-Ma-Chree. Beautiful views and comfortable and convenient cottage. Do think position of shower needs to be changed though.



Island Escapes Team replied more than 1 year ago
We are so glad you enjoyed your stay at Thie ma Chree, the views certainly are stunning, aren't they?! Thank you for your helpful feedback, and we look forward to welcoming you back to Island Escapes in the future.

Holiday

Review submitted on Wed, 09 Nov 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Stayed in the bungalow thie ma chree it was brilliant could see the see from every window it has everything you want washing machine inning bored and ion lovely and clean plenty of room didn’t want to come home if I could have I would have lived there for the rest of my life we went on the end of October and the weather was still warm it’s dog friendly we will definitely be back fantastic



Island Escapes Team replied more than 1 year ago
We are so glad you enjoyed your stay Thie Ma Chree. We very much hope to welcome you back again in the future. Thank you for your review, and for choosing Island Escapes!

Cottage with super views, well located for transport but property needs updating

Review submitted on Sun, 21 Aug 2022
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
3.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Cottage has all the equipment you need and so handy for trams and buses. Only downside for us was the steep walk to the beach with our dog (partner has health issues) therefore we probably wouldn’t return due to this. However on the flip side we did enjoy breakfast every morning with stunning views over the bay and beautiful moonlight evenings. The cottage is homely but could do with some modernization.



Fantastic views and location

Review submitted on Tue, 02 Aug 2022
3.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
2.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
3.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
This cottage is ideally located next to the tramlines with a fantastic seaview. The kitchen is well equipped and the welcome items such as bread and milk etc were a lovely touch.
Unfortunately the cottage is let down by dated, tatty furniture and a strong smell of damp in the bedroom. The cottage would benefit from a change in furniture and the installation of a better and safer shower. Otherwise a fantastic stay.




A homely cottage with sea views

Review submitted on Thu, 16 Jun 2022
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
3.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A homely cottage with great sea views, off road private parking and in walking distance to Laxey and the old town. Cottage was comfortable enough for 2 adults although some improvements internally would have improved our stay. Fast response when the WiFi went down and problem resolved by Island Escapes within a couple of hours.



Sunny march stay

Review submitted on Sat, 02 Apr 2022
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a lovely time. Very convenient location for Laxey and we left the car at home all week as it was so easy to use the tram!



Andy C Skoda man I O M

Review submitted on Sat, 12 Mar 2022
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
3.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Very nice, Comfortable little cottage.
Although furnishings need to be brought up to date.Comfy bed and all amenities are adicuat.This property would really benefit from a full referbishment,This property is old and has a slite damp smell but not overpowering.
The Sea views are to die for at sunrise,Tram
Stop 45 sec from front door,Bus 2mins.Douglas port 15 min drive.
What a lovely place to stay.Would definitely recommend that you give this little cottage a try.You won't be disappointed.
We will stay again.




Great little cottage.

Review submitted on Wed, 29 Dec 2021
3.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
3.0
Location
4.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Great seas views. Comfortable cottage. Only issue was very poor shower set up and very low wall which meant we couldn’t let the dog in the small garden.
Tram and bus stops nearby. Clean and welcoming on arrival.
Enjoyed staying and would visit again.




Stunning view

Review submitted on Sun, 17 Oct 2021
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
3.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Beautiful rustic property with an amazing view. Had everything we required. Perfect location for public transport.



Great location but tired cottage

Review submitted on Mon, 23 Aug 2021
2.7
out of 5

Guest doesn't recommend this property
Cleanliness
2.0
Comfort
2.0
Condition
1.0
Location
5.0
Value
2.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Excellent location in Laxey with great views across the bay. Unfortunately, the cottage itself is rather poor quality with many aspects clearly done on the cheap side. Including the conservatory that was cold in August!!!!!! This is a shame given the location, views and good communications from Island Escapes.



Nice stay overall

Review submitted on Sat, 21 Aug 2021
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had an excellent stay in the I.O.M
Thie-Ma- Chree cottage was an excellent base for touring the island, the only downside was the rather steep walk into Laxey and back. Due to Covid or lack of staff most of the eating establishments were not open or operating reduced hours making it hard to get a meal when we first arrived. If we were to go again we would definitely use Island Escapes and Steam packet company, they have both been fantastic with allowing us to make a number of changes to the booking (again due to covid) Overall an excellent holiday. Thank you.




Views, views, views

Review submitted on Wed, 14 Jul 2021
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This property is all about the views! Absolutely lovely. Well equipped & clean, only downside was no outdoor chairs to enjoy the great weather & amazing views.



Good and bad

Review submitted on Mon, 28 Jun 2021
3.5
out of 5

Guest doesn't recommend this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
2.0
Condition
2.0
Location
5.0
Value
2.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Very clean but property in poor condition. Hedge needed cutting to make the most of the sea view. Wallpaper hanging off wall in bedroom. Whole property smelled musty and generally in need of some TLC. I left a day early as i couldnt stand the musty smell any longer. Tv worked intermittently.



Lovely little cottage

Review submitted on Fri, 25 Jun 2021
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Great public transport links, short walkaway from shops, lovely view, difficult to gauge the temperature in the shower, very blunt knives - next time will bring my own.



Long stay

Review submitted on Thu, 22 Apr 2021
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Great place to stay very quiet the views are amazing
Even though it’s small it has a lovely calm feeling great for meditation
And if you love birds there are several different types on your door step
Finally it’s lovely to wave at the people going past on the tram




Cosy staycation

Review submitted on Mon, 28 Sep 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The cottage was perfect for a couple. The location was very convenient for Laxey village on foot, and for the Electric tram to Ramsey. Views over the sea are wonderful.
The welcome pack was great and very welcome. I love the corner bath!