FB Twitter

Middlerigg

Middlerigg

5.0
out of 5
Ratings from 14 reviews
100% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.9
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0


The motherly arms of Craster harbour’s two whinstone piers hold a protective embrace. The resulting small cove shelters from the wild North Sea. It has welcomed Craster’s fishermen and their cobles for generations. Ramshackle stacks of lobster pots mirror the ragged silhouette of tumbledown Dunstanbugh Castle in the distance. Plucky oystercatchers peep support for their industrious colleagues, frantically strutting and prodding in the mud. The orange of their elongated beaks a close match for Middlerigg’s pantile roof that sits in contrast above its dark grey stone walls. Proudly, the house looks down at the boats resting at jaunty angles below, each one decorated with ropes strewn with oversized colourful plastic baubles. If Craster is the harbour, then the harbour is Middlerigg.

Beautiful cottage in perfect location.

Review submitted on Fri, 06 May 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Wow! We have been to this area many times and love it for fantastic walking, eating and drinking places. This cottage was the best we have stayed in for it’s beautiful setting, comfort and attention to details. We couldn’t fault it and can’t wait to return. What a treat!



Stunning!

Review submitted on Fri, 29 Apr 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our stay in Middlerigg was splendid. Stunning position and magnificently refurbished and very well equipped.



Perfect house in a perfect location

Review submitted on Fri, 15 Apr 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Wonderful house that has everything you need and more! Our 15 year old claimed the cosy snug above the kitchen and loved hanging out in there when we weren’t out exploring the fabulous area! The beds are so comfy and going to sleep listening to the sound of the sea was just lovely. In addition to days we loved rock pooling and walking to Dunstanburgh Castle which we could do from our doorstep. A very special place indeed!



Fabulous property

Review submitted on Tue, 22 Mar 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is a very lovely property with everything needed for a comfortable holiday. It is beautifully furnished with all mod cons.The position looking out towards the castle ruins is exceptional. We had a fabulous holiday and have already rebooked.



Just wonderful, a perfect stay!!

Review submitted on Wed, 16 Mar 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Middlerigg is an outstanding property. The views and the sound of the waves crashing into the harbour are just fabulous. The lounge area is very comfortable with a superb log burner. Bedrooms are all very comfy and all have front facing views. The shower room for the yellow room is very small but it is a small price to pay to have all en-suite rooms. The kitchen-diner is so spacious with a fabulous range cooker and American style fridge freezer. We ate in every night enjoying cooking in such a fabulous space an everything we needed was there. My favourite spot was the mezzanine, especially first thing in the morning with a coffee when the village was so quiet. Onsite parking is very neat if you have 2 large cars but not impossible with care. The coastal path walks are great and it is possible to walk for miles and then catch a bus back as there are 2 regular services running through the village. This is a perfect place to get away from it all and we will definitely return.



Beautiful house in perfect location

Review submitted on Thu, 03 Mar 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We felt very spoiled - everything we needed in a brilliantly renovated house with the best views in Craster. We had friends joining us, so the en-suite bathroom for each bedroom was very smart. The open kitchen and mezzanine area were perfect for socialising and the kitchen itself had absolutely everything for the perfect stay. The staff at Catch The Breeze were extremely helpful and answered any questions we had.



Outstanding property with wonderful views

Review submitted on Fri, 25 Feb 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Very well equipped luxury property, beautiful furnishings with nice touches board games & books.
Perfect location
Will definitely be back
Thank you




Excellent

Review submitted on Fri, 24 Dec 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The recommended pubs and restaurants were excellent.
M&S shopping at Alnwick recommended.
Bamburgh Castle museum very interesting.




A perfect holiday cottage and location

Review submitted on Fri, 08 Oct 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A beautiful cottage overlooking Craster harbour. The house has everything you need and is well appointed.



Wonderful stay at Middlerigg

Review submitted on Tue, 28 Sep 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Middlerigg has the most fantastic setting. The views from it are simply amazing with Dunstanburgh Castle in the distance and the sea at one's feet. It was wonderful to hear the waves from the house.
It is right on the coastal path and has the kipper smokery next door with its excellent shop and the Jolly Fisherman pub behind it.





Best view in the village

Review submitted on Fri, 03 Sep 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have just returned from the most brilliant stay in Middlerigg with our 3 children aged 10, 8 & 8. The property is beautifully appointed and the recently refurbished decor has been completed to a very high standard. The house also benefits from the best view in the village! We loved our stay here so much, as did our children so we’ve already booked again for next year.



Summer shizzle

Review submitted on Fri, 03 Sep 2021
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a restful and interesting stay in Craster, where the lovely house was central to all that goes on there. Good times!



Stunning views from an ingenious renovation, impeccably executed

Review submitted on Fri, 20 Aug 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Middlerigg is a fantastic place to kick back and relax. You don't really have to do much more than open the French doors on to the terrace and spend your holiday taking in the view. We spent a week there in August and had the type of weather you should not be expecting from a Northumberland summer. The renovation of the property is masterful - subtly combining the traditional feel of the original building with modern surfaces and appliances. No stone has been left unturned by the owners in seeking to provide you with everything you might need for a relaxing and stimulating holiday. We liked it so much, we booked for next year before we had finished with this one. We hope to be coming back for may years to come.



A Very Special Property In A Very Special Location!!

Review submitted on Mon, 16 Aug 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Staying at Middlerigg exceeded all expectations in every way. Newly refurbished and luxuriously fitted out, the property is an extremely high end home from home.

Our holiday consisted of dining and lazing around on the patio with it's wonderful views of Craster Harbour and Dunstanburgh Castle to trips to Alnwick Castle (15 mins), Seahouses for a boat trip to the Farne Islands (15 mins) and the beautiful Bamburgh and it's lovely castle (20 mins).

Highly recommend the Jolly Fisherman Pub next door and also The Joiners Arms at Newton by the Sea. Also not forgetting the delicious Craster kippers!

We've already booked again for next year!!!