FB Twitter

Oughtershaw Hall

Oughtershaw Hall

4.9
out of 5
Ratings from 12 reviews
100% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.9
Location
4.8
Value
4.9
Customer
Service
5.0


The magnificent detached country estate of Oughtershaw Hall rests in splendid isolation within the heart of the Yorkshire Dales National Park. The property may date back to the 1600s, but don’t let this noble stone pile deceive you. Within its most Yorkshire of stone walls is more than the odd 21st-century surprise, non-more so than its own private heated swimming pool.


The perfect large country house to rent for all the family, sleeping up to 16 guests at one time. Escape to peace, tranquillity & natural beauty with this unforgettable luxury retreat.

Wonderful house in a fabulous location

Review submitted on Mon, 25 Apr 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We were a party of 15 aged between 6 months and 73 and it met all our needs perfectly. The house is great, impressive but also homely and the kitchen equipment was excellent.
The pool was a perfect temperature for little while ones to splash around with the added bonus of huge inflatable ducks! There was even an automatic inflator provided.
We loved the location and were blessed with sunny weather to explore.
We definitely plan to return!




Beyond our high expectations!

Review submitted on Tue, 29 Mar 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This beautiful property is just breathtaking, it is so welcoming & enfolds you like a warm hug. It is well equipped & very luxurious from the beautiful linens & towels to the cutlery & place mats, everything has been considered & executed very well. Ours was a family stay 5 siblings & partners staying under the same roof for the 1st time in 55 years. There is sufficient space that being together or seeking solace alone is seamless. The pool & sauna leave you feeling like you are at a luxury spa & we were lucky enough to have the weather to make the most of the bbq & patio. We enjoyed our stay so much that we have decided to make an annual event of a spring break together and cannot imagine anyone being disappointed with this jewel of the Yorkshire Dales.



Fabulous place.

Review submitted on Sun, 20 Mar 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed at Oughtershaw Hall for a family get together for us, our children and our grandchildren…..age range 70 down to 4 year olds. The property was ideal as it catered for everyone, with huge gardens the children loved playing in, a little games room in the cellar (should the weather be inclement) with a football table, air hockey table and a child friendly dartboard, lovely indoor swimming pool and a sauna. With 3 separate living rooms as well as a huge kitchen there was enough room to not feel on top of each other. Had we stayed longer we would have explored some of the walks in the beautiful surrounding countryside. We would love to stay again but as our family is rapidly expanding we may sadly exceed their occupancy capacity soon. Highly recommended!!



A relaxed long weekend with a group of friends staying in an exceptional property

Review submitted on Sun, 20 Mar 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our first stay at Oughtershaw Hall was a truly wonderful experience. The Hall is set in beautiful, tranquil surroundings with views of the river from the back of the house and walks on the doorstep. Each room has it's own character with working fireplaces creating a warm, comfortable atmosphere. An added bonus is the heated swimming pool and sauna. The kitchen is well equipped with everything you could possibly need to create a dinner party. The manager, Ben, couldn't be more friendly and helpful and he only lives 5 minutes away if anything should arise. We couldn't fault our visit here - we'll be back!!



Oughtershaw hall

Review submitted on Mon, 07 Feb 2022
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
3.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Absolutely loved oughtershaw hall beautiful building with stunning rooms kitchen to die for loads of room very comfortable beds all rooms lovely and warm everything and more in the kitchen lovely welcome hamper and Ben who showed my son in law around and printed name sheets for the bedroom doors and Tara who has been most helpful through out the bookings would definitely recommend this property without a doubt



Our 3rd visit to Oughtershaw Hall and we don't tire of it.

Review submitted on Tue, 09 Nov 2021
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have been visiting Wharfedale for c. 40 years. A family of 5 has increased to 16 in that time and so Oughtershaw Hall is ideal for special family holidays. A 40th birthday in 2017, Christmas 2018 and the recent half-term to celebrate our Golden Wedding. Obviously it is not cheap but for a large family or several smaller groups It is not expensive - if that makes sense!

The facilities are superb and there is oodles of space and several reception rooms to permit a quiet moment if needed. The ability to all eat together, the log fires, the pool, the sauna - need I say more.

Ben takes great pride in keeping the house and surrounds in good order and is only a phone call away in the event of a problem.

Great walking can be had from the house or is just a stones throw away.

A very special place. We have already booked another Christmas!




An outstanding property in a magic location

Review submitted on Wed, 03 Nov 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
For the ultimate in luxury in a wonderful location where you can enjoy peace and quiet with family or friends look no further !
This beautifully restored Hall is in an area which has probably seen little change in several hundred years and is ideal for walking
If you have a chance of going to Oughtershaw Hall take it !




Mrs Hopwood-Casson

Review submitted on Mon, 27 Sep 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
An amazing house with the most superb facilities. We booked the house the accomodate our now very large close family to celebrate our Golden Wedding. We couldn't have asked for a more perfect location and young and old made full use of the fabulous pool and sauna. With an age range of 86 years to 5 months its a big ask to find the right place to suit everyone but we certainly managed it.



Oughtershaw revisited!

Review submitted on Fri, 03 Sep 2021
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A second visit to this beautiful house did not fail to disappoint! The grandchildren had spoken of nothing else for weeks before we arrived. The swimming pool is such a hit - parents dragged along to supervise three times a day! Two of the youngest overcame their apprehension and achieved success swimming unaided. Great country for the triathletes, great walks,great river for messing about in - it really is a wonderful location. The house itself is so well appointed - everything you need for a great relaxing week. Ben most welcoming and able to help with any queries. All in all just a great place for the gathering of the clan!



Superb property in idyllic location

Review submitted on Tue, 10 Aug 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A wonderful property, packed with facilities and huge amounts of space to spread out in. Lovely walks on the doorstep, indoor pool and sauna, bluetooth enabled sound systems, amazing views and plenty of outdoors spaces.



A marvellous place for a largish family gathering in a beautiful part of Yorkshire

Review submitted on Mon, 07 Jun 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Eleven members of the family (7 adults & 4 children) spent a week for some senior birthdays in this lovely hall, where I had stayed for two weeks in 1952. My memories of a very happy holiday many years ago were not disabused by a return visit, not just because it now has electricity and hot water! The house is as magnificent as ever, but the big difference is that it has been extensively but tastefully modernised inside and most of the old features of the family who originally owned the house have been retained. There are several large rooms and a massive well fitted kitchen. All eight bedrooms are spacious and beds are very comfortable. Four are en suite and bathrooms are large. The large terrace is excellent for eating outside with views down Oughtershaw Beck, (not just eating - barbecuing, drinking and loafing and just enjoying the serenity). The garden is long and slopes down to the beck, but croquet is playable if not up to Hurlingham standards. It is a great place for walks and wildlife. (Spotted flycatchers abound). There is a heated indoor pool in the coach house, much used by young and old. Ben, the house manager is very helpful in explaining everything and helping with problems. It is simply a wonderful place and I really can not fault it.



A dream house in an amazing location.

Review submitted on Mon, 28 Dec 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Fantastic house in a stunning location, on a dark night the sky is so big with no light pollution.
The house was warm immaculately clean with plentiful supply of kitchen utensils for cooking a celebration meal.
Ben the house manager very helpful and keen to make our stay special. Ben had the log burners roaring for our arrival which was a lovely touch.
The swimming pool was a massive hit with the children.
What a special house, can’t wait to return.