FB Twitter

Coastguard Cottage

Coastguard Cottage

4.6
out of 5
Ratings from 27 reviews
96% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.8
Comfort
4.2
Condition
4.5
Location
5.0
Value
4.3
Customer
Service
4.8


Just 45 seconds walk from the quay and coastal path, castles and bird reserves. The cottage is smart, bright, and the upstairs bedroom has great views of the Isle of Wight and Solent water. Milford village 1 mile away has masses of foodie options. One small dog welcome.

Long weekend break

Review submitted on Tue, 22 Nov 2022
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A fantastic cottage with all the facilities you could possibly need. Ideal location if you enjoy walks by the sea. Can't wait to return.



Review

Review submitted on Tue, 25 Oct 2022
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
The place was great and beds very comfy. Your liability insurance is out of date.
A welcome pack that included a few more bits would be better -milk cheese bread juice ice. It would also be helpful to know exactly what was in welcome pack too. Thanks

Nice to get phone calls before




Harri at New Forest Escapes replied 34 days ago
Thanks very much for your feedback Anne Marie, we really appreciate you taking the time and are glad you had a great holiday! Thanks for letting us know we have now updated the old liability insurance certificate in the property with our new one. And yes, tricky with the welcome pack as it's different for every property. Sometimes it's local produce and can depend what's around at the time so we don't like to specify. You did have some milk and ice left for you though along with a cake we hope you enjoyed :) We also advise that all the basics are left for you too such as tea, coffee, salt and pepper... etc. Hope this helps and please keep us in mind if you come back to The New Forest, you're welcome anytime.

lovely cottage in stunning surroundings

Review submitted on Mon, 03 Oct 2022
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Coastguard cottage was just how we expected it ,photos did it justice , very clean , home from home with all the equipment required ,really loved the bathroom and the view from the top bedroom was just stunning , both beds very comfortable ,Staffe very helpful always on the end of telephone .The pub nextdoor was very handy perhaps too !!!!with lovely food and very friendly staff ..Lots of things to do and see within walking distance paricularly Hurst castle and Milford and to top it all we were blessed with beautiful weather for the time of year .We will be back .Thankyou Helen Hardick



Susan replied 58 days ago
Super to hear you enjoyed your stay with us at our wonderful Coastguards Cottage. Thank you so much for taking time to send your review. You were lovely guests and welcome back anytime. Best wishes from all at New Forest Escapes.

Review

Review submitted on Sun, 14 Aug 2022
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
2.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
The stairs are a problem for older people and we think there ought to be a warning about that. No soap rack in the shower. Furniture is pretty basic and it was not easy to sit comfortably. Obviously the kitchen is too small, but overall it is what it is and we enjoyed it, helped by wonderful weather



Harri at New Forest Escapes replied 108 days ago
Thanks again for your reviews Alan, we will pass everything onto the team. We hope to see you again :)

Very pleasant compact cottage with great location for coastal walks and bird watching.

Review submitted on Tue, 12 Jul 2022
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A charming compact cottage, very tastefully furnished and decorated. Views from the second floor bedroom are superb. The location is terrific with superb coastal walking from the front door (excellent bird watching) as well as other close benefits of a decent pub, Hurst Castle day-trip and nearby Milford on Sea for restaurants, chip shop and Co-op. However the two staircases are somewhat steep and and may not suit anyone with limited mobility issues, and although perfectly adequate the small living room might be considered by some to be functional rather than especially comfortable. The customer service from New Forest Escapes was excellent.



Susan replied 140 days ago
Thank you for reviewing your recent stay at Coastguards Cottage. We are happy to hear you made the most of this fantastic cottage and it's stunning location. We do understand the stairs are steep and are completely open and honest about this in the hometruths section of our website. We really don't want anyone to have any surprises and be uncomfortable here. Please do think of us for your next visit to the new Forest, from all at New Forest Escapes.

Coastguard Cottage

Review submitted on Tue, 05 Jul 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A charming property well equipped with everything you could possibly need. The Gun pub next door is excellent.



Susan replied 140 days ago
Fab' thanks so much for the 5 star review - as a small business we really do appreciate this thank you :)

Keyhaven

Review submitted on Wed, 08 Jun 2022
4.5
out of 5

Guest doesn't recommend this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Very nice location. Good with parking. Very clean. No essentials missing. Very much as advertised or better.



Susan replied 175 days ago
Great to hear you enjoyed your stay and the local area. We appreciate you taking time to send through. Best wishes from the team at New Forest Escapes.

Wonderful views, great location and comfy accommodation

Review submitted on Tue, 07 Jun 2022
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is a lovely compact place with a great location. Beautifully decorated with very comfortable beds. The view from the master bedroom is amazing and wonderful to wake up to! I would say this is perfect for couples with dogs. Lovely walks in the surrounding areas with great local amenities. The local pub is great with very friendly staff and fab food. We enjoyed a great stay in this place and would recommend.



Susan replied 175 days ago
Fantastic to hear you enjoyed your stay at Coastguard Cottage & the surrounding area. We couldn't agree with your comments more, thanks for taking time to send through. As a small business this means a lot to us. Until next time, best wishes from all at NFE :)

Wonderful relaxing stay at Coastguards Cottage

Review submitted on Mon, 30 May 2022
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We loved Coastguards cottage! The cottage was very well thought out and had everything you could need for a week away. We especially loved the top floor bedroom with its amazing picture windows and view out over the water. Location was fab - who can complain about bring next door to The Gun pub?!! Loved the fact that you can walk straight from the door. Would definitely come back



Susan replied 183 days ago
Fantastic to hear Christine. We appreciate you taking time to leave a review of you stay, thank you for being great guest :)

Coastguard Cottage

Review submitted on Sat, 07 May 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Coastguard Cottage is a quirky cottage set in the centre of Keyhaven, a beautiful village on the estuary within the New Forest National Park. It's a fantastic spot for walkers and birdwatchers and for those seeking complete relaxation.



Susan replied 205 days ago
Thanks so much for the 5 STAR review of your recent stay at Coastguards Cottage. Happy to hear you enjoyed your holiday here. Until next time, best wishes from all at NFE.

Lovely cottage in a prime location with fantastic views from the bedrooms

Review submitted on Wed, 01 Dec 2021
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Coastguard Cottage is a lovely cottage in a prime location with fantastic views from the bedrooms, especially the top floor. Lovely walks to Lymington and Milford on Sea and a short drive to lots of different walks in the New forest and the jurassic coast.
The only down sides were:
1- If you are there in the winter months as we were, the cold air coming in from the front door/hallway is freezing. Keeping the kitchen door closed helps and we were warned about this but until you are there you don't realise how cold it is. We would suggest a thick curtain was put up over the front door for the winter months.
2 - The stairs are quite steep so need to be very careful.
3 - The sofa is very basic and has no arms so a more comfortable sofa would have been nice to come home to and snuggle up on after a long day out. Overall it was a great stay and would have given 5 across the board if not for the above.




Susan replied 359 days ago
Thank you for taking time to leave a review of your recent stay at our lovely Coastguards Cottage. We're happy to hear you enjoyed your stay and this special location. We completely take on board your comments in relation to front door and will notify the owners as the door has recently been refit and we are not sure the air should be coming through this way. Fortunately, and as you said, there is an internal door to keep the downstairs area toasty and warm - especially with the fire going. We do include info on the stairs in our 'home truths' section of our website and direct people to this at the time of booking. We will endeavour to pass your feedback onto the owners about the sofa for info also. Thanks again and very best wishes from all at New Forest Escapes.

Perfect location

Review submitted on Wed, 29 Sep 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed 4 nights, but would have liked to stay longer. We walked everywhere, we did not need to use our cars. Hurst Castle and the wildlife were fabulous. The very short trip to the pub next door - the Gun- was a bonus. The food there was delicious. Also lots of places in Milford. The cottage was very well equipped, and the views from the master bedroom delightful.




Susan replied more than 1 year ago
Wonderful to hear you enjoyed your short break at Coastguards Cottage and the beautiful area. Do come stay with us again, you're welcome back anytime. Best wishes from all at New Forest Escapes.

Fantastic!

Review submitted on Sun, 26 Sep 2021
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A beautiful cottage in a wonderful location, amazing views from the master bedroom and a perfect base for exploring the New Forest. We will definitely be back!



Susan replied more than 1 year ago
Lovely to hear you had a fantastic break at Coastguards Cottage. We very much look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Best wishes from all at New Forest Escapes :)

Lovely

Review submitted on Wed, 15 Sep 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A lovely cottage in breathtaking surroundings. Sparklingly contemporary restoration of an interesting old building.



Susan replied more than 1 year ago
Thanks for leaving a top review of our lovely Coastguards Cottage... we'd love you to come stay again. Until then, warm wishes from all at New Forest Escapes

Beautiful stay at Coastguards Cottage

Review submitted on Thu, 09 Sep 2021
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Beautiful cottage in a fantastic location - we thoroughly enjoyed our visit here and would book again in a heartbeat. just a few minor points of feedback, and i'm being picky here:
It would be great to have a security light that comes on automatically in garden. Also sofa is not particularly comfortable and it would be great if TV were a smart TV to enable signing into Netflix, etc.




Susan replied more than 1 year ago
Good to hear you enjoyed your stay at Coastguards Cottage. Feedback is super important to us so thank you for your comments. Do visit us again when you can, best wishes from all at New Forest Escapes

Lovely location and local walks not much to do for teens, great for younger children

Review submitted on Sun, 05 Sep 2021
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Great location, lovely coastal walks very picturesque with marina and yacht club etc Milford on sea an easy walk with nice restaurants chip shop, wine bar and local necessities.
Loved the view out to The needles aisle of Wight,
Hurst castle. Nice clean, comfortable accommodation, my only request would be for better seating which we found quite hard and not enough.




Susan replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for taking time to send a review of your recent stay with is at Coastguards Cottage. We're super happy to hear you enjoyed your stay there and the surrounding area, we love it there. Until next time warm wishes from all at New Forest Escapes

Very enjoyable and peaceful holiday.

Review submitted on Sun, 01 Aug 2021
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We arrived and met the owners. They were very friendly and helpful. We were told there was a problem with the WiFi but it was being sorted.They went above and beyond to sort it out and there was no inconvenience to us at all. Lovely place to stay, huge bathroom and bedrooms, lovely view from bedroom window. Smaller downstairs but we were a family of four adults and it was adequate for us. The only downside if it is one , was there was no sweeping brush or hoover.lol.We like to keep things tidy. Overall we thoroughly enjoyed our stay and it is the perfect spot to explore lots of places.We would stay there again.



Susan replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you Rodney for leaving a review of your stay at Coastguards Cottage and for your understanding with the WiFi issue. We are so happy to hear you enjoyed this lovely place and hope do welcome you back again one day soon. Until then, best wishes from all at New Forest Escapes

Family Break

Review submitted on Mon, 19 Jul 2021
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a wonderful time staying at the cottage in Keyhaven. The peaceful location was perfect and the cottage was very clean and comfortable. The only thing we’d recommend is getting a smart TV so you can log in to Netflix etc…



Susan replied more than 1 year ago
Thanks Zoe for leaving a review of your recent stay at Coastguards Cottage, we are so pleased you enjoyed your time there. Great feedback for the TV we totally understand people will want to log into their own streaming accounts, we'll be sure to pass onto the owners for their consideration. Please do think of us for your next visit to the New Forest, we'd love to have you stay again. Warm wishes from all at New Forest Escapes.

Keyhaven retreat

Review submitted on Sun, 23 May 2021
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Location lovely - very peaceful. Off street parking cramped for a large car.
Very good view from master bedroom towards the Solent and Isle of Wight but beware it is at the top of two steep/narrow flights of stairs. The bed was supremely comfortable. We didn't use the second bedroom but that was beautifully appointed too.
Fantastic bathroom - probably the best we have ever encountered in a small cottage.
Kitchen - very good with plenty of equipment.
Sitting room - this let the property down. The sofa was really uncomfortable and the gas fire didn't work. We put the central heating on but it would have been nice to have the fire as the weather was cold with rain and a howling gale force wind outside!
We had some great walks from the property and took the opportunity to have lunch at the The Gun which is next door. The staff were very friendly and the food was good.




Susan replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for leaving a review for our lovely Coastguards Cottage, we care & value our guests feedback. We are happy you enjoyed the cottage and surrounding area. We do our best to ensure guests are aware of anything that could effect their stay such as steep stairs, and are sorry if this caused any issue. The fireplace was fully working but we've passed onto the property manager to double check and replace remote batteries. You were great guests and we hope you'll stay with us again soon. Warm wishes, Susan & the team.

Pretty cottage in coastal location

Review submitted on Fri, 06 Nov 2020
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Well-appointed cottage in a lovely setting. Enjoyed walks and shopping in Milford on Sea and Lymington. Excellent customer service from Sarah and Rachel at New Forest Escapes.



Good but needs some extras

Review submitted on Mon, 26 Oct 2020
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Accommodation is good quality but need more creature comforts/ updating

Needs more kitchen utensils
No frying pan, only a wok. Two small knives needs a knife block. Not enough other equipment. With current issues with COVID would expect new cling film for each stay and new kitchen foil. Was only enough left for 1 sheet of foil we had to buy our own.

Also expect new washing up liquid and new hand wash/ soap in all bathrooms and kitchen instead of already used.

Only 1 spare clear bin liner was left thankfully we had some shopping bags we could use.

The sofa was missing 2 back cushions not sure if by design but meant it was less comfortable and had to use other cushions which again is not very COVID safe.

Tv is very old so have no access to Netflix or Amazon prime, most rental properties have these available. Cost of a more updated TV is probably 3 days rent.

Second freezer drawer can’t be opened.

The property is in a great location and kept to a good standard but just needs a few extras




Beautiful Cottage Break

Review submitted on Mon, 19 Oct 2020
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Beautiful cottage in scenic peaceful location.
Well equipped , beds comfortable, beautiful bathroom , had everything we needed.




Lovely little cottage in the most amazing location.

Review submitted on Wed, 07 Oct 2020
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Very enjoyable stay. We spent most of our time out and about in the local area.

The bed was soooo comfy and the main bedroom def was the nicest with beautiful views over Keyhaven.

Downstairs area is practical, with everything you'd need - but not that cosy in the lounge, so wouldn't be wanting to spend evenings in.

Little courtyard was nice.

Second bedroom and bathroom all very comfortable!




Great place for a break

Review submitted on Wed, 30 Sep 2020
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We spent a week at this lovely property and really enjoyed local walks every day and a few excursions.



Excellent location. Good property, Well equipped. Sitting room small.

Review submitted on Wed, 30 Sep 2020
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Nothing more to add.xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx



We will be back

Review submitted on Wed, 30 Sep 2020
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We loved our weeks stay. The cottage was both stylish and cosy and well equipped. We particularly liked the enormous bath and the lovely comfortable bed. Great to have views across to the Isle of Wight. Location was great for us as you can walk along the coast in either direction and we loved walking towards Milford in the evenings to watch the sunset. We weren’t bothered by noise at all. Enjoyed lunch at The Gun next door. All in all a great stay. Than you!



Great place for a short break

Review submitted on Mon, 31 Aug 2020
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Perfect if you like walking and nature in a picturesque location. The cottage is very well appointed and there is a pub next door!