FB Twitter

Barns Bothy

Barns Bothy

4.9
out of 5
Ratings from 44 reviews
100% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.9
Condition
4.9
Location
4.9
Value
4.8
Customer
Service
4.8


Another great stay at Barns Bothy

Review submitted on Fri, 05 Apr 2024
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is a returning visit to Barns Bothy for us as we stayed in the Library last year for my son's wedding and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. We returned to the Bothy in October for a lovely few days. Cosy accommodation for two with everything you need for a home from home comfortable stay!! We will definitely be back again soon.



Its a stylish retreat

Review submitted on Tue, 05 Dec 2023
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
After a long drive the cottage was very welcoming - warm and cozy and well equiped. The cottage felt spacious. There were comfortable seating to relax infront of the very efficient log burner. It was nice to have a reasonable sized a table to eating at. The kitchen was compact but workable with all the expected appliances. The bathroom was suprisingly big. The bed was confortable and it was fun lying in bed looking up at the stars through the velux windows. We were visiting for a wedding at the castle (which was also great fun in a wonderful setting). One thing to rememder is to book the taxi to the castle - we used Gold Star who were prompt and friendly.



We love this bothy!

Review submitted on Wed, 18 Oct 2023
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A return visit to this delightful and cosy bothy, packed with character and equipped with everything you might need. We love staying at Barns Bothy and once again had a fabulous time.



Fantastic place to enjoy some quiet time.

Review submitted on Mon, 16 Oct 2023
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Beautifully presented property, with great facilities, in an excellent location to enjoy the peace of the countryside. Lovely walks along the Tweed, including a walk to Peebles passing Neidpath Castle.
Looking forward to going back.




Lovely stay at Barns Bothy

Review submitted on Sun, 15 Oct 2023
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Excellent stay at Barns Bothy. We revisited it after staying in the Library for our son's wedding in July. The Bothy is a great retreat to get away from it all. The place was immaculate on arrival. Will definitely be back.



Relaxing short break

Review submitted on Wed, 04 Oct 2023
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Have visited Neidpath cottages before but not the Bothy. Had yet another relaxing break in a lovely location. The Bothy is lovely and cosy for two and very well equipped with a private garden.



Everything perfect. Lovely place, nice house.

Review submitted on Mon, 02 Oct 2023
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Everything was perfect. Lovely place, nice house. Even basic ingredients and food were prepared for us.
Beautiful landscape around. I highly recommend




Pictures do not do it justice

Review submitted on Fri, 29 Sep 2023
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This space absolutely blew us away. I don't know what I was expecting when we booked, but it wasn't this! Gorgeous, cozy spot, perfect for a little getaway, lots of nice touches. We absolutely fell in love and will definitely be back!



A wonderful short stay in beautiful Borders countryside.

Review submitted on Tue, 29 Aug 2023
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Barns Bothy is a great place to stay. It is a well equipped, clean , comfortable haven for two.
All the online communications were clear and helpful. The surrounding area is beautiful.
The stairs up to the bed on the mezzanine are steep which I imagine could be a problem for those with limited mobility.
We have already recommended to friends.




Beautiful place to stay!

Review submitted on Sat, 12 Aug 2023
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We loved staying at Neidpath, it was a beautiful, clean, and cozy cottage. We had all of the amenities we could need and loved that it had so many walking trails and was so close to Peebles. Everyone was very friendly and I would definitely stay here again!



Wish we’d stayed longer

Review submitted on Thu, 10 Aug 2023
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We just completed a three night stay at Barns Bothy, and our only complaint was that we did not stay long enough.

Upon arrival, I found the accommodation to be extremely clean, well, equipped to a high standard, and even had some nice touches, such as Eggs, butter, milk, etc.

I was also pleasantly surprised in that from the pictures it appeared more rustic than it actually was.

A wonderful, safe location not far from Peebles, the space had a wonderful shower with plenty of hot water, luxurious towels,great Internet, and smart TV with all the streaming apps. Plenty of great walks right outside your doorstep.

Check-in was super easy with a lockbox.

Next time we will be sure to book longer.




Beautiful location, so peaceful and well kept

Review submitted on Wed, 02 Aug 2023
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We loved our stay here, and our dog was very happy with the walks available on the doorstep.
Actually we need a bigger space but the bothy was the only accommodation available when we booked. The bedroom area is so compact - nice once in bed! It was lovely to have a private garden space too.
The bothy is so pretty and well designed and decorated especially the kitchen. Some minor maintenance would make the place perfect - oven and cooker hood could do with a deep clean or change of filter as there was a cooking smell as soon as either of these were switched on. If the washing machine door was attached at the other side the detergent drawer could be used, wobbly taps in bathroom sink. These did not spoil our visit and hope this is helpful feedback.
We look forward to a return visit!




Excellent stay

Review submitted on Wed, 19 Jul 2023
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a lovely weekend staying here while visiting Peebles for a family wedding at Neidpath Castle. The Barns Bothy was ideal for a two people - it was clean, comfortable, and had everything we needed for a perfect stay. We would highly recommended to anyone and would be keen to return in the future.



Brilliant stay

Review submitted on Mon, 17 Jul 2023
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely place to stay it had everything needed in a quiet private but not isolated location. Worth more than you pay.



excellent stay

Review submitted on Sun, 28 May 2023
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
perfekter aufenthalt. es gab sogar ein paar kleinigkeiten wie butter, marmelade, obst und frisches brot in der küche fürs erste frühstück. lulu, die gastgeberin stand uns mit rat und tat zur seite. ein schöner aufenthalt… wir empfehlen barns bothy eindeutig weiter!!!



A very special place in our memory

Review submitted on Mon, 22 May 2023
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Amazing accommodation, beautiful countryside and very well thought out provisions for a traveler. We would definitely give you a 10 if we could.
David & Lisa




Lovely accommodation

Review submitted on Tue, 09 May 2023
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Great accommodation, clean and well equipped, excellent value for money. 5 min drive to peebles, great walks along river Tweed, would recommend this to any one wanting a nice relaxing break




Another peaceful break

Review submitted on Tue, 11 Apr 2023
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The bothy is so cute with the mezzanine level bed.

Loved the bathroom/shower. Push button - easy peasy, no scalding or freezing yourself! The facilities are perfect for 2 people. The bed was super comfy, and romantic stargazing out the velux windows above.

We were booked for a long weekend birthday treat. There was bread, butter, jam, cereal bars, milk and eggs at the bothy, so you didn’t have to worry about breakfast.

Comfy sofa. We lit a fire one night only. There is central heating but tbh the fire itself would be cosy enough as the heat output was sufficient. We have stayed in The Tower and The Library with friends, however the bothy is perfect for just the 2.

You can enjoy the outdoors too on the little patio which catches the sun at exactly the right time of day.




Very clean and friendly

Review submitted on Wed, 15 Mar 2023
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
3.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
My family who stayed here told me they found it clean and loved that there were breakfast things. This was handy as they felt the location was not the best and the condition of the road might have made things difficult for some. Otherwise it was very cozy and when they had an issue people were happy to help



A lovely cosy retreat

Review submitted on Fri, 14 Oct 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We loved our time in the Bothy, it was the perfect place to retire to after a spending the day fishing on the Tweed. A very effective wood burner and if it hadn’t been cloudy we would have loved looking at the stars! Arriving to find provisions such as bread, milk and fruit was a real boon. We were delighted that the local curry house delivered to such a remote location. 5 stars all round!



Very cosy little cottage

Review submitted on Tue, 27 Sep 2022
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
3.0
Lovely cottage in beautiful surroundings. Nice view of stars from bed. Pretty walks in neighbourhood. Little but good kitchen. Nice bathroom. A little strange smell in the hallway, otherwise everything very cosy. There was no blanket, which would have been nice in the evening. Wonderful with fire. We had some difficulty with getting in touch with staff on arrival, otherwise no issues. Would love to come back.



A pleasure and a treasure

Review submitted on Thu, 15 Sep 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was a short break for a special birthday and we could not have found anywhere more perfect. This cosy and comfortable "Bothy" has been thoughtfully and tastefully created. It had all we needed, and more. Generously provided for, lovely log burner, comfortable bed in the loft, a great shower and a well-equipped kitchen. The grounds were delightful to wander, and the ready access to Tweed walks and to Peebles made for a fantastic stay. The owner and housekeeper were both very helpful and friendly. Full marks from us! The only downside was that we could not stay longer. Thank you for the care you have taken in making this accommodation of such a high standard.



Super stay

Review submitted on Wed, 07 Sep 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Excellent little property, ideal for two. We were here for a long weekend for the Tour O The Borders bike ride and it was perfect for us. Unbelievably great bath and shower !!



Doggy Heaven

Review submitted on Mon, 05 Sep 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The website doesn’t do the Bothy or it’s surroundings justice. The Bothy itself is beautifully decorated and ample for 1/2 people plus dogs. Whilst the kitchen is small it was very well equipped. The sitting room was very comfortable as was the bedroom. Note it’s in the roof space so the occasional head bump is possible.
The best bit for me, however, was the garden space and the walls from the door. Level walks in all directions on good paths, easy access to the Tweed Path, ‘private’ gardens to explore including the walled area which was completely secure so ideal for dogs with little or no recall! Peebles and all that the Borders have to offer very easy to get to.




Barnes Bothy.

Review submitted on Sat, 03 Sep 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Although we spent little time at the property as we were attending our Son's wedding, Barns Bothy was the perfect place to relax after the high energy event. We managed a lovely walk along the river where we were helpfully directed by the friendly gentlemen from the Manor. We can recommend the property for a relaxing stay.



A wonderful retreat

Review submitted on Tue, 19 Jul 2022
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We loved the Barns Bothy. It was the best of retreats before and after a wedding. Very comfortable sitting area and bed.
The only downside was the strong smell from the oil fired boiler next to the front door. We managed to minimise this by closing all openings on the boiler side of the house & opening windows on the non-boiler side.




Excellent stay

Review submitted on Sat, 02 Jul 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Really enjoyed our stay such a lovely place and welcoming house will definitely stay again
Thank you




A short and lovely stay despite the rain

Review submitted on Mon, 20 Jun 2022
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Great place. Lovely to listen to the birds and watch the sky at night in bed with interesting walks by day.



My stay at Barns Bothy

Review submitted on Sat, 18 Jun 2022
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
4.0
I really enjoyed my stay at Barns Bothy with my dog. I live in Peeblesshire, so it wasn’t far from home, however it felt like a real change. The walled garden was a real bonus and allowed my dog Reni to run around off lead. The trees on the walk to the walled garden are lovely. The only small negative was the strong smell of cleaning products/polish, however this improved with the windows being opened.



A wonderful stay

Review submitted on Fri, 10 Jun 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This place is just wow!! The bothy is beautifully decorated and the owners have made good use of the space available. The area it is in is so tranquil and we were spoilt for options to take the dogs. Highly recommend!



A beautiful location

Review submitted on Thu, 12 May 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Barns Bothy was clean, warm and comfortable. Well equipped for our short stay. The location is excellent for wildlife and walks. We shall return.



Short stay

Review submitted on Thu, 28 Apr 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A very cosy cottage which was ideal for our needs. We were made very welcome by Lulu and we appreciated having the essentials made available for our arrival so as not to have to go shopping.



Barns Bothy

Review submitted on Fri, 17 Dec 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We enjoyed our 3 night stay immensly.
Great location for walking/ quiet and scenery.
The kitchen facilities are excellent and bathroom shower was super!





A magical way to finish off our Peebles Holiday!

Review submitted on Mon, 18 Oct 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Oh my goodness, what a treat you are in for staying in Barns Bothy, we also stayed in Barns Library and that was just as delightful! Not a corner of design, thought or kindness has been missed! From the beautiful porch to store your mucky boots to the underfloor heating in the bathroom.
From the welcome pack in the fridge to watching the night sky rest whilst you are having a disco nap after dinner is equally delightful too! Our two furry friends were very welcome too and enjoyed lazy river and woodland walks. So much so, we had to wake them up for breakfast!

The hosts are always on hand by email or phone which makes a massive difference if you have a wee question to get answered. There is a fabulous visitor's book with lots of hints and tips, I passed on extra information if you fancy a manicure or hair appointment.

The drive to the accommodation is delightful particularly in the autumn seeing all the autumnal colours. It was just the tonic we needed. Go on you know you fancy taking a peek! Enjoy as we did! Much love, Vicki, Bob, Pickle and Cilla the Black Labradors xxx




Brilliant Break at Barns Bothy

Review submitted on Thu, 09 Sep 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Loved our stay at Barns Bothy. The perfect little hideaway for a short break. The riverside walk to Peebles is a must.



Quiet gem

Review submitted on Sat, 28 Aug 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We loved our stay at the Bothy. Lulu was really kind and accommodating in dealing with the numerous changes due to personal circumstances and then Covid and we are really grateful - thank you again. We'll be back. Our only note is that the salt cellar needs refilling! :-)



Wonderful stay

Review submitted on Fri, 09 Jul 2021
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a lovely stay at Barns Bothy. There was everything we needed.
The surrounding area in the Tweed Valley is beautiful and a stroll through the grounds was just perfect.
My only little gripe was that the taps on the bathroom sink were almost impossible to turn off completely.
Comfortable, relaxing and tranquil.




A comfortable spot nestled off the banks of the river tweed

Review submitted on Sun, 04 Jul 2021
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Barns Bothy was comfortable, clean, and cozy. It was a very good stop during a journey back from the Highlands for a holiday. The decor and the furniture were stylish and the kitchen had all the amenities including a Nespresso machine! I definitely appreciated this in the mornings. Walks around the hills and the river tweed nearby were lovely. Lulu gave some great advice for wild swimming, and Matthew gave great directions to Neidpath Castle which we had stayed in before. It was very dog friendly and had some kennels next door.



Beautiful place for a relaxing break

Review submitted on Sun, 23 May 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The accommodation is in a perfect location just a few miles outside Peebles right next to the River Tweed. The Barn is a high quality with all the amenities you require including a nice garden area to relax after walking in the beautiful countryside.



Barns Bothy

Review submitted on Fri, 30 Apr 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Stayed here for three nights. Fantastic location with walks directly from the door. The Bothy was well equipped with a lovely welcome pack and Lulu was on hand for help if required. Tour of Castle well worth it.



Amazing Hospitality!

Review submitted on Fri, 12 Mar 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
What a great stay! The location is perfect, close enough to walk if you want but far enough that you feel secluded on the countryside. The place itself is extremely comfortable and cozy, it has all the amenities from home. We will definitely be back!



Very comfortable and well equipped

Review submitted on Sat, 26 Dec 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed at Barn Bothy for a few days with our dog. In a lovely location and recently refurbished to a very high standard; the kitchen perfectly equipped, the bed very comfortable and a shower with good pressure. Everything you could ask for really. Despite it being the middle of the winter we didn't feel the need to light the fireplace. Highly recommended.



Wonderful Stay

Review submitted on Tue, 08 Dec 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
It was an absolutely wonderful stay. The cottage was really quaint, we loved the stove and character. The hosts were really accommodating and made our time their really special. We will definitely go back! Highly recommended!



Gorgeous!

Review submitted on Sun, 08 Nov 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We loved our stay at Barns Bothy. It's a well designed, well equiped, stylish cottage located in the beautiful Borders countryside. Lulu the owner was very friendly and helpful. We would definitely come back.