FB Twitter

Barns Library

Barns Library

4.8
out of 5
Ratings from 51 reviews
100% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.9
Comfort
4.9
Condition
4.7
Location
4.8
Value
4.7
Customer
Service
4.8


Wonderful Barns Library

Review submitted on Fri, 16 Feb 2024
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had the most wonderful stay at Barns library
Everything was perfect and comfortable
We enjoyed our seven nights stay very much and the surrounding grounds and area are beautiful
We shall return very soon




3-nights stay

Review submitted on Tue, 09 Jan 2024
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Very comfortable and spotless property, with many original features and nice little touches, like some complementary materials left to prepare your first breakfast. Great shower and "easy to keep going" fireplace. Good layout for a family of four. Plenty of books to choose from to keep you entertained if the weather gets you grounded. Parking right at your front door in the courtyard makes offloading and loading super easy even on a rainy day. Walled garden is only a short stroll away from your back door to safely let your dogs off lead on a ball chase. Quiet location, yet still very close to Peebles.



Warm and welcoming stay at Barns Library

Review submitted on Mon, 30 Oct 2023
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The accommodation was extremely cosy. Lovely inside and very clean. Well equipped kitchen and the welcome pack was excellent. Beds very comfortable. Good location for Peebles. All in all a very enjoyable stay with good communication throughout booking process We would like to return.



Wonderful night in the Borders

Review submitted on Mon, 09 Oct 2023
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We loved the Barn Library, wonderful location, super furnishings and wood burner, beautiful outlook, comfy beds and glorious bed linen, fabulous bath tub and shower! Just a pity we only stayed one night.



Lovely cottage in a peaceful setting

Review submitted on Fri, 06 Oct 2023
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Cosy, beautifully furnished cottage with real character. Lovely / dining area and peaceful estate and surroundings in general.
Very comfortable bedrooms.
We had some issues with hot water which apparently we should have been informed of.
We have a few comments too, about kitchen items and the parking situation in relation to people who live and work on the estate. I will send a separate email to the admin office.




Great stay

Review submitted on Mon, 17 Jul 2023
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely place to stay it had everything needed in a quiet private but not isolated location. Worth more than you pay.



Fantastic short stay to celebrate our son's wedding.

Review submitted on Tue, 11 Jul 2023
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Wonderful weekend. The Library was a great choice for us to stay. Loved the location. The cottage was immaculately clean and fully equipped with everything needed for our stay!



Excellent summer stay

Review submitted on Fri, 23 Jun 2023
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Yet another lovely stay in the Borders. Cottage as lovely as ever with all facilities. Enjoyed amazing sunny weather so could relax in the peaceful garden. Excellent stay for us and very dog friendly as enjoyed the nearby walled garden for evening dog walks.



Peaceful country cottage

Review submitted on Sun, 11 Jun 2023
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Delightful roomy cottage with eclectic selection of books and DVDs. Comfy beds including impressive 4 poster. Welcome pack of breakfast ingredients much appreciated. Beautiful surroundings not far from Peebles.



Enjoyable Stay

Review submitted on Sat, 20 May 2023
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Excellent time at Barns Library. Visited three famous gardens nearby and Peebles for lunch at Coltmans Restaurant and the Cocoa Black chocolate shop. Thank you to the Neidpath team.



Perfect Stay

Review submitted on Mon, 01 May 2023
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Very well maintained and clean, modernized barn near to Neidpath Castle meeting the highest standards



Barns Library

Review submitted on Tue, 04 Apr 2023
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Very comfortable and stylish place. The others accommodations had complimentary products in the fridge but not at the Barns Library. Great stay.



Nice stay but a few initial headaches

Review submitted on Tue, 28 Mar 2023
3.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
3.0
Location
2.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
2.0
Very nice accomodation but instructions sent through microsoft docx was not convenient.
Lack of flexibility since we had to book 3 days in a row.





Clean, comfortable, warm and great value for money. Nice touch, the food parcel. Great location.

Review submitted on Mon, 20 Mar 2023
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Access road lot of potholes.
Hole in lounge carpet a trip hazard.
Mirror in twin room would be good.




Unique, clean stay

Review submitted on Wed, 15 Mar 2023
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The Library was a beautiful and unique place to stay. The breakfast things were really handy. It would have been good to have a clear parking space as we were asked to move our car. Overall we enjoyed the stay and are considering coming back as a family.



Quite simply brilliant

Review submitted on Fri, 24 Feb 2023
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The Library was the perfect spot for our guests during our wedding at Neidpath - convenient, comfortable, clean, cosy. It is a charming mixture of old world style and modern comfort, lovely and quiet and close enough to the castle to be just perfect.



Our visit to the ‘Borders’

Review submitted on Tue, 14 Feb 2023
3.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
3.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Ideal setting in terms of views and walks - the Borders is a scenic and often missed part of Scotland, it was perfect for a us on a much needed short break

The accommodation was comfortable, warm and cosy with plenty of logs for the fire.

Just a few areas of improvement:-
The rug in the sitting/dining room has a very large tear and I was constantly tripping over it - needs to be replaced !

The road into the property is full of potholes and there was an enormous pool of water at the entrance to the courtyard, where the property is situated. All could be remedied with a filling of hardcore. We had a 4x4 so we managed okay,

We had a fabulous tour of the castle and the lady was very informative

We did enjoy our stay but we won’t return because we like to visit different places




Barns Library

Review submitted on Fri, 13 Jan 2023
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a wonderful stay in the Barns Library. It is a magical place; cosy, beautiful surroundings and lovely furnishings. The staff are welcoming and accommodating. It was perfect for making you feel relaxed which is no mean feat with a young dog and baby! It is also very well equipped if you want to cook. We would 100% recommend it to others and would certainly stay again if we travel up to Scotland. Thank you!



Idyllic location in relaxing and homely surroundings

Review submitted on Fri, 16 Dec 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Beautiful cottage in stunning Neidpath countryside with calm and tranquil walks right on the doorstep



Gorgeous Cottage in the Scottish Borders

Review submitted on Tue, 06 Dec 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
My sister and I had a lovely few days at Barns Cottage Library. The cottage is cosy and yet has a touch of luxury about it. Immaculate presentation, a real home from home. I would happily live there! A nice touch on arrival was to find some food bits had been left for us such as fresh eggs, milk, bread and fruit. Thank you!
The location is stunning. Right in the thick of some dramatic scenery and so good walking all around. Peebles is conveniently a 10-minute drive away and has lots of cafes, restaurants, shops, and a good link to Edinburgh by bus.
Wonderful! Would recommend for a family or couple, or a group of friends as there's several beds and 2-bathroom areas.




Lovely rural accommodation

Review submitted on Sat, 29 Oct 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Beautiful accommodation in lovely rural setting. The conversion has been really thoughtfully done with good quality fixtures and fittings. Nice touches like the provision of basic foodstuffs and logs for the fire.
Please note the last half mile is along quite a bumpy rough road. Also worth noting that Barns is a bit away from the main castle, so is a 15min drive into Pebbles, rather than 5mins. This is noted in the information, but maybe not immediately obvious. Communication was easy and prompt. Would def recommend for couple and families. Our dog loved it to!




Very cosy cottage in beautiful surroundings

Review submitted on Tue, 27 Sep 2022
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
3.0
Splendid cottage, lovely alternative for families. Very charming. Not the most comfortable bed but very charming. Would love to come back. Had some difficulty getting in touch with the staff to ask some questions upon arrival, that was the only problem.



Beautiful place for a peaceful getaway

Review submitted on Mon, 05 Sep 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Barns Library is a charming cottage in a beautiful and peaceful location. We loved the tasteful and occasionally flamboyant decor, the silent surroundings and stunning scenery. We enjoyed some great hill walks, riverside bike rides and a night at the theatre in Peebles. The cottage was well kitted out, and the owners had kindly left fresh fruit, bread, milk, biscuits, tea & coffee etc for us. All in all, a lovely holiday.



Excellent everything

Review submitted on Thu, 04 Aug 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The Library was cozy and inviting! The little touches were great, wonderful surprise to find bread and butter and jams to go along with our morning coffee and tea. The patio area was wonderful for enjoying morning tea and my book. Thank you for making this such a lovely stay!



Thankyou ...

Review submitted on Mon, 25 Jul 2022
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed here for a short break in June 2022 the location was beautiful and very peaceful. The interior of the library was just gorgeous and also very comfortable with everything you need. There were generous extras including groceries, fruit bowl and toiletries. The grounds are stunning and the walled garden laid to lawn as an enclosed dog exercise area was great for our dog.
On meeting our host we can say that she genuinely cares that guests enjoy their stay.




Beautiful base for exploring

Review submitted on Mon, 18 Jul 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Had a fantastic stay at Barns Library. The cottage was well equipped and in the most beautiful location and close to the town of Peebles and surrounding walks. The host was very welcoming and we had a super time. We will be back!



Summer stay

Review submitted on Sun, 17 Jul 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Had two perfect weeks in the Borders. Location perfect surrounded by beautiful countryside with lovely walks from the cottage and easy access to Peebles and further afield in the Borders.
The cottage offers every home comfort and is perfectly equipped. Had yet another great holiday for us and our dogs.




Loved the place, the location, everything!

Review submitted on Tue, 28 Jun 2022
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We absolutely loved staying at "the library". It was very comfortable and had everything we needed. We liked being able to go on long walks and really appreciated the map provided in the "guide book" showing us the local walks.
There were a few things that weren't perfect, but didn't really make our stay less pleasant:
1. It was a challenge to figure out how to lock the doors. We were mystified for several days - it turned out the trick was that we needed to pull the door shut very firmly because the weather seal prevented the door from closing all the way.
2. The toilets were quite old and finicky to flush.
3. The knives in the kitchen were not great and it was difficult to cut vegetables with them.
But we really loved the places and would definitely recommend it for couples or up to 4 people sharing.




We'll definitely return for a longer stay

Review submitted on Mon, 13 Jun 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Beautiful location, perfect for dogs. We stayed here two days before our wedding at Neidpath Castle and it was a lovely relaxing stay



3 day break Library Neidpath Estate

Review submitted on Thu, 05 May 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0

We very much enjoy our stays in the Scottish Borders in particular we have enjoyed our stays within Neidpath Castle Estate, staying recently at the Library has been a pleasure, brilliant location and fantastic self catering accomodation. There is a quirkyness to the cottage with traditional features and modern convenience, its spaceous, warm and practical. The cottage is a brilliant start off point for any cycling and walking, close to the Tweed and Peebles along the road. Overall our stay was brilliant





























































































Absolutely wonderful stay in the Barns Cottage.

Review submitted on Tue, 19 Apr 2022
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is an absolutely lovely place to stay. The location is excellent if you like fresh air and exercise, in pretty countryside. It is very quiet and peaceful. Ideal for a bit of relaxation. The high ceilings and skylight made the living room feel airy and spacious. Comfy couches and chairs.

The kitchen is well equipped if you want to stay in and cook. They provided butter, bread, eggs and milk; a nice touch and really handy.

Having the outdoor space with bench and table were used by us as the weather was excellent. (A sun brolly would have been handy as it was quite hot-we did have a hunt but couldn’t find one).

The owners had obviously thought of all we would require for our stay. The toiletries were lovely, especially the hand soap. The roll top bath was made use of and felt very luxurious. The hot/cold tap was a bit stiff though!

Having the log burning fire was nice to cosy up in front of in the evening with a glass of wine.

This is our second time at Neidpath. Our last visit was cut short due to storm Arwen. We were in the tower that time. The owners kindly gave us the choice of a refund or credit towards another visit.We were glad to have made the decision to return, and to stay in the cottage.








Scotland At Its Best

Review submitted on Fri, 08 Apr 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Barns Library is located in the beautiful Borders of Scotland.
The location is perfect and the scenery is beautiful!




Anniversary Weekend

Review submitted on Tue, 02 Nov 2021
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had such a lovely, relaxing weekend at Barns Library. The cottage it’s self was beautiful, well finished and furnished. The wood burner kept the place cozy.
Make sure you arrive in day light as the road down to the cottage is littered with potholes (as farm roads are) and in the darker winters days it’s difficult to manoeuvre without scraping alloys.
This did not detract from my overall enjoyment of my time in Barns Library. I’ll just remember not to bring a sports car with low suspension next time!
Hopefully returning in the new year to checkout Barns Tower.




Amazing as always

Review submitted on Tue, 28 Sep 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is the second time we have stayed in the library and it is just perfect it really feels like home away from home. The cottages are so well equipped there is everything you could ever need. We hope to return very soon!!



Lovely Place; lovely location

Review submitted on Mon, 13 Sep 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Barns Cottage was an ideal place to stay to explore this part of the Tweed valley. Easy access to several good walks.
The accommodation was spacious, well appointed and very comfortable, particularly the large bed.
The welcome goodies were much appreciated.




Delightful lush retreat

Review submitted on Fri, 03 Sep 2021
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
What a delightful space to spend a few days - its was very comfortable - especially the four poster.
The little extras like eggs, butter, bread and milk in the fridge made for a warm welcome.
The décor was beautifully designed and furnished thoughtfully.
We enjoyed the bucolic atmosphere and so grateful to be a stones throw from the river Tweed - I even managed a deep paddle one day from the shore area which was drawn on a very useful map for visitors.

All rooms were spotless and felt covid safe - my only criticism would be the well loved but slightly smelly sofa - stale sweat or wet dog - hard to tell.

All in all a lush environment inside and out - peaceful and relaxing - thank you to the Neidpath team.





Amazing place

Review submitted on Tue, 31 Aug 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Amazing place where to spend your time off. All rooms are super. I highly recommend this cottage.



Honeymoon bliss

Review submitted on Sun, 08 Aug 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We arrived and were instantly in love with the accommodation and surrounding area, the accommodation was comfy , spacious, had all the necessary amenities and the beds were to a very high standard and mattresses comfy. The cottage was very clean on arrival and furnished to a very high standard.



Perfect short stay

Review submitted on Thu, 29 Jul 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
River swimming, arboretum wandering and book perusing all in beautiful, peaceful and clean surroundings.
So lovely that the man, the dogs and myself are returning in October. Thankyou Neidpath team.




Hidden Gem

Review submitted on Sat, 03 Jul 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Tucked away on the Neidpath Estate, Barns Library is a delight. Just back from a 3 night stay, the only disappointment was having to leave. Top notch quality, loved the unexpected essentials in the fridge, the bedrooms and bathrooms were immaculate and super comfortable, and the books! Well, you really need a fortnight to properly enjoy them. Loved the variety. Beautiful grounds for dog walking, Lara loved the walled garden for a run about. I've been in many a rental and this is up there at the top. Towels, toiletries, logs a plenty. We were very impressed.Thanks, Lulu, a fabulous hostess. Hope to return soon.



Wonderful

Review submitted on Wed, 30 Jun 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Wonderful accommodation in a tranquil location which is perfect for exploring the local area on foot or by car.
The walk into Peebles is simply stunning




Quirky accommodation in glorious surroundings

Review submitted on Tue, 22 Jun 2021
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Barns Cottage is surrounded by lovely countryside - the walk along the Tweed to Peebles is memorable, and it is a charming town with a host of interesting shops and at least one fantastic restaurant (Osso). The cottage is attractive, packed full of books - it's not a place for those committed to purely minimalist chic! The kitchen is on the small side, but adequate, and the bed was very comfortable. Lovely bathrooms!



Barns Library short break

Review submitted on Wed, 16 Jun 2021
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Very comfortable accommodation in an ideal situation, perfect for walking and cycling. An area we didn’t know well but will definitely come back



A lovely stay

Review submitted on Sun, 06 Jun 2021
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Many thanks to Lulu et al. for being great hosts. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Barns Library, and we will definitely be back! Such a beautiful place, very dog friendly, it was amazing. See you soon, from the Paddock family.



A fab short break!

Review submitted on Mon, 17 May 2021
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was a great cottage in a wonderful location. It was so nice to feel we didn’t need to follow lots of rules and regulations, and could just relax



Simply stunning

Review submitted on Mon, 17 May 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
What can I say... It was an important few days away after lockdown to rest and relax. It was amazing. I wanted luxury and it totally exceeded my expectations. From the furnishings to the interior design to the glasses cups dinner service everything was high end. The views were breathtaking. My little dog was in heaven walking along along and then being able to run free in the fantastic walled garden.
I would recommend to anyone. I will definitely be going again. It was a little peace of heaven.
Thanks so much team x




Barns Library

Review submitted on Fri, 30 Apr 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Great cottage perfect to relax walk or cycle. Easy walk into Peebles. All the special touches, ample wood for the fire, tea coffee etc
If it’s quality accommodations you are looking for and love the countryside then this is a must.
Thank you for a lovely stay.




Beautiful cottage and location

Review submitted on Mon, 14 Dec 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We loved our stay in Barns Cottage. It's beautiful, super clean and cosy. The perfect Scottish countryside location. It was winter and cold but we enjoyed the misty walks along the Tweed River and walking up into the surrounding hills in the drizzle knowing when we returned we could light the fire. Lulu the owner was very welcoming and helpful. Liesje, Sydney, Australia



Lovely holiday

Review submitted on Mon, 09 Nov 2020
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A very comfortable house. Was lovely to find some provisions there when we arrived. Would have been great if the heating had been on for arrival but this was quickly sorted.

I would recommend having a hoover in the property. Would have been good to clean up a bit after our muddy dogs.

Very clean and comfy bed.
We would come back

Thank you




Lovely quiet getaway

Review submitted on Sat, 17 Oct 2020
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Very lovely place to kick back and relax. Quiet spot outside of Peebles where we sat by the fire with our family and dog each evening. Just what we wanted and with picturesque walks on your doorstep we were right where we wanted to be.



Idyllic

Review submitted on Wed, 14 Oct 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely setting. Charming, comfortable and cosy. Well appointed and includes a wood burning fire. It is perfect for putting your feet up and to relax but if your active and like walking there are lots of walks on your doorstep - particularly along the nearby River Tweed or on a disused railway track. If walking into Peebles there are several options but if going via the old railway there is a tunnel 600metres so take a torch! Peebles is a small country town with a great golf course and many cycle paths - if you don’t have your own cycle you can hire in Peebles - try cycling the tarred and flat! cycle path from Peebles to Innerleithen and back some 12 miles in total. For food the Crown Hotel .
Barns Cottage and Peebles are a must. We intend to repeat next year.