FB Twitter

Barns Tower

Barns Tower

4.8
out of 5
Ratings from 22 reviews
95% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.7
Condition
4.9
Location
4.8
Value
4.7
Customer
Service
4.7


Burnetts’ Return!

Review submitted on Thu, 04 Aug 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A unique and memorable stay! The tour of Neidpath was excellent, informative and fun! Barns Tower has a connection to our line of Burnetts. A recent dna study that my father took part in, led us here, so the tower is extra special! Although, you don’t need an ancestral connection to thoroughly enjoy it!



Our own castle

Review submitted on Thu, 07 Jul 2022
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We stayed three nights in this great restored tower. What a space for just the two of us. And a lot of stairs. Unsuitable for the infirm. We had to think carefully where we have left which of our stuff because otherwise we kept on walking the stairs.
The bedroom had a nice big bed. The downstairs bathroom had the best shower of our holiday. It had also underfloor heating which was a bit to warm for our taste, but they will look into that so I have been told.
The kitchen was very well stocked with everything you could think of. They provide some first supplies but since the tower is a few minutes drive from Peebles take some groceries for making dinner with you before arriving.
The Tweed walk goes just outside the tower.




Wonderful historic tower

Review submitted on Sat, 30 Apr 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have stayed at the Barns Tower in the past. The return refreshed our memories of this beautiful Pele Tower House. Renovated with sympathy to its heritage. The very large bed was comfortable, the main room with its roaring fire was grand and the kitchen living room a lovely space. There is a generous welcome pack which is helpful after a long drive. The setting in the Tweed Valley with walks and nearby gardens is idyllic. Peebles is a great small town, with a thriving high street. Edinburgh is a relatively short drive and the Park and Ride a useful facility. A few hitches with the electrics (items apparently switched off by previous visitors) were sorted by Lulu who was very helpful. Definitely recommend and hope to make a further visit at sometime in the future.



Stunning!!!

Review submitted on Sat, 30 Apr 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a fantastic time at Barns Tower. Four nights of bliss; the location is ideal for touring around the Peebles area. Marvelous, walks, stunning scenery, all capped off by a roaring fire in the most comfortable accommodation. Very well appointed, including a great shower in a heated floor room. Very high class. Would not hesitate to stay again. Thanks for a wonderful time!!



Beautiful area and atmospheric tower

Review submitted on Tue, 08 Mar 2022
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Barns tower is a 15th century peel tower and although it has been modernised very tastefully and comfortably it retains features like a very tricky set of stairs to enter the 1st floor ( uneven, steep and twisty) so it’s not for the unfit!
It is warm and cosy and well equipped for 2 people, we very much enjoyed our stay here. The countryside surrounding it is stunning and we could hear Owls at night.




Lovely stay

Review submitted on Tue, 01 Feb 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Very peaceful stay, exactly as described on the website. Exceptionally clean and warm despite high winds. There was a great store of logs, plenty to keep the real fires going. They are smokey though but the heating was warm enough not to rely on them and the tower was draught free, despite extreme weather. Very remote so bring everything you need for the first night including matches and a torch. Internet connection is also reliable.



Uniquely accommodating

Review submitted on Thu, 13 Jan 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The tower has history, location, comfort and class - and everything you could need.
We had an adventure exploring this beautiful spot and the river tweed walks that extend from its location - a very special holiday. Thankyou




Happy New Year

Review submitted on Tue, 04 Jan 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed in Barns Tower for new year 2022 and found it to be an incredible experience. The Tower is obviously very old but warm and very comfortable and it has a fabulous atmosphere. If you love the outdoors the surrounding countryside is beautiful and the town of Peebles well worth a visit. There's lots of other things to do also. A magical experience.



Worth the wait

Review submitted on Thu, 30 Dec 2021
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We had to cancel for Xmas and New Year 2020 due to covid and we were gutted, the lovely Lady Lulu offered us different dates a year later and wow - it was so worth the wait. So isolated and quiet, while at the same time being a stones throw from Peebles and an easy trip to Glasgow and Edinburgh. Beautifully kitted out, managed to cook a ridiculously huge Xmas dinner for 2 using everything there - we could have fed 10!. We used the fires in the kitchen and lounge constantly which were easy to light if you follow the instructions, gorgeous real Xmas tree ready and waiting when we arrived and a very generous bundle of goodies - wine, fresh fruit, bacon, xmas pud and mince pies etc - all truly lovely. I just can't wait to go back and try out the other cottages in the library and bothy. Many thanks to everyone esp Katarina and her team who carry everything up and down those stairs to make it perfect.



Weather dependent!

Review submitted on Mon, 01 Nov 2021
2.7
out of 5

Guest doesn't recommend this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
1.0
Value
1.0
Customer
Service
1.0
Whilst the wedding venue was lovely, access to the tower was difficult, especially with torrential rain



Barns Tower, Neidpath Castle

Review submitted on Sun, 17 Oct 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Wonderful experience, it exceeded our expectations in every way, a bucket list item achieved, thanks



Unique and perfect, even the weather!

Review submitted on Mon, 30 Aug 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We've never stayed anywhere quite like it. A unique atmosphere bursting with quirky charm. Not great for people with any mobility issues or the very tall. We had great weather but I'm sure the setting and the heating would make a stay in any weather special. Very isolated and away from it all but the owners and management were around and friendly.



A perfect romantic hideaway

Review submitted on Mon, 16 Aug 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our stay at Barns Tower surpassed all expectations. If you need some time off from the world, this is where you need to be. The attention to detail was exemplary and just when we found ourselves going “wouldn’t it be wonderful if they had ..”, we would find it. We turned up to find everything necessary for a yummy vegan breakfast (they were so accommodating with dietary requirements) and settled into a blissful couple of days. Thank you for soothing a pandemic-worn body/mind. Much love from two key workers x



Wonderful stay in magical accommodation

Review submitted on Thu, 08 Jul 2021
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We just loved the Tower castle. Quirky, peaceful, well equipped and enough stairs to drop a few pounds of weight over the week. We loved our fires, although if lit for any time you began to feel like a smoked kipper. Lovely walks just outside the door. And for the brave... a river to swim in. Katarina kindly gave us a tour of Neidpath Castle and was generous with her time, friendly and helpful.



Unique and incredible stay in Barns Tower

Review submitted on Thu, 03 Jun 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
My partner and I recently stayed in Barns Tower for three nights and honestly had the most wonderful time. It’s cosy and intimate whilst having so much to explore having the whole tower to yourself. The fires, huge bath, large bed and amazing ambience the place had where personal highlights! It’s comfy and in a lovely quiet location with a stunning Tweed walk on your doorstep and not a lot to hear other than birds and sheep! Bliss!!



Our own tower for the weekend!

Review submitted on Mon, 17 May 2021
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a wonderful stay in Barns Tower! It's a beautifully restored 16th century building, full of character, steeped in history and situated in the beautiful Scottish Borders near the River Tweed. Each of the rooms have been tastefully restored with excellent facilities throughout. Note that the upper floors are accessed via a fairly steep and narrow staircase which may not suit everyone. ​A travel cot and high-chair were provided for our daughter and a breakfast pack of food awaited our arrival which was a lovely surprise. Lots of beautiful countryside to explore nearby and the town of Peebles is a 10 minute drive. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and only wished it could have been longer!



Amazing

Review submitted on Sat, 15 May 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Such an amazing place to stay, everything you could possibly need and so rich in history. Extremely clean and the most beautiful countryside walks right from the front door. The fresh fruit, eggs, milk etc provided also a very nice touch to make you feel at home. Many thanks for a wonderful weekend away!



Lovely relaxing stay

Review submitted on Mon, 10 May 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is a magical place with lovely walks from the doorstep. It was the first time we had been out since lockdown which was September in Northumberland! Everyone we met was super friendly and helpful and we really enjoyed out stay, so much so we rebooked on the first night for March 2022! We loved the tower and became fascinated by the restorations which are well documented. We did wonder how they felt a roll top bath onto the top floor! Everything worked well and the fires were a blessing because it was cold for May.



Looking for the different - A fabulous jewel box of a property

Review submitted on Tue, 04 May 2021
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Perfect for two and wonderful for the dogs (warmly welcomed) , the utility room was perfect decompression from the outdoors and the downstairs shower a joy because of the underfloor heating. Lovely, comfortable and thoughtful touches everywhere. Everything you need in the kitchen to whip up a feast and to relax in the cosy sitting room. If you need an escape and but are looking for something with character and feeling - this is the place. You'll have buns of steel from the stairs too!



Lovely Quirky Stay

Review submitted on Tue, 08 Dec 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
I would definitely recommend a stay at Barns Tower. It is the ideal location for walks round the area and for a relaxing few days away. The tower itself is well maintained and very comfortable. I will be returning in the future.



One of those places that makes others look ordinary

Review submitted on Tue, 27 Oct 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Its not just that its one of the most unusual places you are ever likely to stay in. The Tower is of course full of history but just as interesting is the flair and care with which it has been restored, using local resources wherever possible - down to the hand made handles of the panelled oak doors. (Oh, and the heated floor in the shower room - what a treat!) Lulu and her team provide generously in the kitchen and the quality of all the accommodation is comfortable and stylish throughout. One of those places that makes others look ordinary.



Perfect place to unwind and relax

Review submitted on Mon, 26 Oct 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
What a fantastic place to have the pleasure of spending some much needed 'down time'! The owners have done an amazing job of converting the tower into a stunning place to stay,without losing any of it's history and character. Everything you could want for was provided,with lovely luxury touches like the Highland Soap Company toiletries and breakfast pack,all Scottish products.The open fires were fantastic each night and made the whole place lovely and cosy.We stayed for a week and thoroughly enjoyed every minute,particularly the tour of Neidpath Castle and the lovely walks around the area. Thank you!