FB Twitter

Barns Tower

Barns Tower

4.8
out of 5
Ratings from 54 reviews
96% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.9
Comfort
4.7
Condition
4.7
Location
4.8
Value
4.7
Customer
Service
4.8


Romantic historic stay by the Tweed

Review submitted on Sat, 02 Mar 2024
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A return trip to Barns Tower for us, again for a valentine’s holiday. And the Tower did not disappoint with its external walls freshly painted, the Tower was again standing proud in the tweed side setting. The ambience in this historic peel tower is just lovely, while fitted with all the modern amenities that you need the open fires, decoration, spiral staircase, vaulted ground floor, cosy sitting room and lovely en suite bedroom give you a real feel of the past. The views from the windows are lovely and at this time of the year the snowdrops and crocus were lighting up the borders in all directions. We enjoyed a lovely walk into Peebles for dinner returning in the dark by moonlight. Also spent a lovely afternoon having lunch and walking round Dawyck Botanic Gardens. Thank you to Lulu and Katarina.



A tower through time

Review submitted on Mon, 12 Feb 2024
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We were not disappointed by anything that this wonderful historic building offered.
Comfortable but not contemporary and conveying a real sense of history through the very fabric of the tower itself.
Closing the big wooden door gave us a sense of splendid isolation.
We loved every moment here and all that the magnificent surrounding countryside provided.




Excellent place,

Review submitted on Sun, 28 Jan 2024
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Excellent place to stay. Nice welcome pack. Great location with easy access to riverside walks and Peebles. Quite quirky practicalities around open fires., but they are a great part of the stay. Sitting room couch and kitchen seats need an upgrade, they are tired, but servicable. Bath in the bedroom is a nice feature. Definitely worth a visit. Thoroughly enjoyed the experience.



Barns Tower

Review submitted on Fri, 19 Jan 2024
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Amazing experience and beautiful surroundings
Great for dog walks
Highly recommended and would return!




Lovely and quirky

Review submitted on Wed, 29 Nov 2023
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
My husband and I stayed for a long weekend. We love old, quirky buildings and this certainly fits the bill.
The stairs are very steep and were problematic for our old dog. Unfortunately we had to stop using the open fires as there was just too much smoke. Such a shame.
Apart from those issues though, everything else was wonderful.
It’s a very old building, done up in a sympathetic way and we loved it.




Three night stay in a castle

Review submitted on Fri, 03 Nov 2023
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Three night stay in Barns Tower was amazing. It had everything we could wish for for an atmospheric stay over Halloween. We especially loved the big wood burning fires in both the kitchen and sitting room and we made good use of both. Exceptionally clean, with lovely walks in the surrounding area. We just can’t wait to return. Very cosy indeed



Our Stay at Barns Tower

Review submitted on Mon, 25 Sep 2023
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Barns Tower lived up to our expectations. We loved the quirkiness and whole feel of its Scottish heritage. Fantastic location with many walks on the doorstep. Lulu gave us a historical tour of Niedpath Castle - fantastic. Thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The extra touches of the welcome basket appreciated. Would definitely recommend.



Wonderful, unique place to stay

Review submitted on Sun, 30 Jul 2023
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Barns Tower is one of the most interesting places we have stayed. A great sense of history in this unique tower. We enjoyed every room in the tower. Very cozy and relaxing. Well set up and a nice welcome package to arrive to. Thanks for a great place to stay.



A towering delight!

Review submitted on Sun, 30 Jul 2023
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
From the first moment we stepped into Barns Tower we were over the moon. No effort or expense was spared in the restoration of this enchanting and truly unique treasure. It turned out that our stop at Salisbury’s on the way through Peebles was wholly unnecessary. Almost everything we bought for ourselves had been thoughtfully provided by our host; milk, coffee, fruit, eggs, bread,,, We had to make a special effort to stay at home one afternoon to enjoy a fire in the living room. The walk into Peebles was a delight. We devoured all of the information in the book left for our edification. This was the best holiday let experience ever!!



A must visit stay

Review submitted on Mon, 17 Jul 2023
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A one of a kind stay in a quiet private but not isolated location. Has everything you need in a medieval setting.



The best holiday

Review submitted on Tue, 11 Jul 2023
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A wonderful week spent in this beautiful quirky property. A holiday we will remember for all the right reasons, for a long time. All staff on the Neidpath Estate were exceptional. VERY dog friendly. The bed was the most comfortable we have slept in. The welcome pack was excellent. We were lucky to get a tour of the castle on the estate and the historic info. Would definitely recommend for anyone fit and able to climb stairs who is interested in experiencing a snapshot of history. Thank You to Lulu and the team.



Fabulous stay

Review submitted on Tue, 20 Jun 2023
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Beautiful tower in a lovely, quiet location. The tower was everything we could have hoped for and more! Clean, very well equipped and thoughtful touches of milk, eggs, bread and butter supplied. Comfortable bed, good shower and bath. Thoughtfully renovated. Just perfect.



Lovely stay at the characterful tower.

Review submitted on Sat, 10 Jun 2023
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed for 3 nights in Barns Tower. Lulu was very welcoming, attentive and the tower was well supplied with quality items. The grounds are stunning with the river tweed close by for evening walks. Can’t wait to go back.



1st holiday with new baby

Review submitted on Fri, 21 Apr 2023
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Beautiful Tower.
More than we ever imagined.
Loved everything about it.
Warm cosy
Will definitely be back.




Unique, exciting, relaxing

Review submitted on Tue, 11 Apr 2023
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A dream of a property. Unique and exciting with so many lovely original features.

Peaceful location with stunning walks into Peebles about an hour’s stroll along the River Tweed.

Comms all smooth. Package of breakfast and snack basics much appreciated. Kitchen well equipped and firewood put to good use every night for a snug chillout. Excellent info about the property, history and surrounding area all provided.

Be prepared to walk up and down a lot of steps during your stay and the loo in the bedroom and shower room three flights down might not be to everyone’s taste but we loved the quirkiness and the massive front door key.

Peebles is a charming town and the people, shops and pubs all lovely and welcoming. We’ll definitely be back.




Barns Tower

Review submitted on Tue, 04 Apr 2023
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Amazing place very unique place to stay and all the complimentary products were highly appreciated , thank you



Barns tower stay

Review submitted on Mon, 27 Mar 2023
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Visited for my husband's birthday. It's a lovely location for a weekend break, the tower is full of character but with modern conveniences.



A quirky stay

Review submitted on Wed, 15 Mar 2023
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
5.0
My family and friends liked their stay in the barn tower but were surprised that it was advertised as being able to sleep 4, but one of these beds was a mattress on the floor. I think it really should be advertised as sleeping 3. They said it was comfortable though and as it wasn't for long it was fine. Otherwise they really liked it



Weekend stay for a wedding.

Review submitted on Tue, 14 Mar 2023
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Wozzers what an excellent stay. The first thing I would say is how impressive it is when you arrive - it certainly has the wow factor. Inside does not disappoint either. One of the most well equipped kitchens I have seen in a place like this with all the essentials provided. Also really well equipped throughout. Only slight issue and it may have been my fault, I missed that it isn't right by Neidpath castle; no snags getting a taxi post wedding it cost about 11 pounds for information. Well located with some excellent walking, took about an hour to walk to Neidpath cross country. Overall I would really recommend.



Fascinating building in a beautiful setting

Review submitted on Sat, 11 Mar 2023
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Such an unusual building with some great history. Apart from the spiral staircase which is quite small, the rooms are really well set up, super large bed, fully equipped kitchen. The sofa in the sitting room was disappointing but may be difficult to get a larger one in?
We did not use the fire after first day smoke was unpleasant. Perhaps a wood burner would work better …?
Lovely local walks, the utility room on ground floor was excellent especially if you have a dog . Great location and easy to find. Really enjoyed our stay




Idyllic cosy getaway at Barns Tower

Review submitted on Fri, 10 Mar 2023
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have stayed at Barns Tower several times and always love our time there. Love everything about it. Gorgeous cosy bedroom with role top bath, cosy living room and kitchen over three floors leading from amazing winding staircases. A nice shower room on ground floor with underfloor heating. Open fireplaces in kitchen and living room made our winter stay even more special. A beautiful peaceful idyllic spot great for long walks along the River Tweed. Thoroughly recommend this amazing historic Tower.



A fabulous February holiday

Review submitted on Sun, 26 Feb 2023
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Barns Tower is a truly magical place. It is simply stunning. Lots of amazing walks from the door with beautiful views and wildlife to see.
At the end of your day you can sit in front of the fire and soak up the atmosphere. It's a place you don't want to leave.




Pure bliss

Review submitted on Thu, 16 Feb 2023
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This place is a must do, it’s absolutely fantastic, takes you back in time.two loverly log burners to cosy up to. Just love the history of the place, working out were the original stairs were. The moment you put the key in the door wow what an experience. Little tip, walk in without your luggage and explore, you get such a warm feeling about the place . Absolutely recommend to anyone.Thanks lulu for the experience WOW



Weekend Break

Review submitted on Mon, 05 Dec 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Fantastic from start to end!
The Tower has everything you need for a wonderful stay,
The stairs can be challenging if you are not steady on your feet or have any knee issues though.




Beautiful place

Review submitted on Thu, 01 Dec 2022
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Booked for my husbands birthday, Barn’s tower was just a glorious place to stay that just oozed history and charm. Yes, those stairs are tricky, but it has to be expected with the type of property it is, however, with a detailed web site with photographs that provides you with a view of what to expect, it should come as no surprise, so ‘other’ reviews complaining about these stairs are just unfair- we wouldn’t have wanted it any other way. It was more than what we expected as an experience and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay and will stay again in a heart beat. Barn’s tower was cosy, (I loved the kitchen and cooking in it with the fire on), it had a huge comfortable bed and modern downstairs shower room. Parking was no issue and the setting on a cold Autumn day was picture post card perfect and don’t get me started on the star gazing with those clear skies. Thank you for letting us share this beautiful place!



A wonderful place to stay.

Review submitted on Mon, 28 Nov 2022
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Totally unique property and a joy to stay in. Everything provided that you could need. Would definitely recommend to others.



A lovely place in which to spend a few nights.

Review submitted on Fri, 25 Nov 2022
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We booked this from the website having been attracted to the idea of staying in another unique place. Booking process was very straight forward and payments made OK. Helpful arrival instructions worked well.
Good points.
Well of course the type of property and its history stand out. We even bought and enjoyed the book by John Buchan.
We loved the ground floor room and facilities as a very practical concept. With so many floors it was helpful to be able to 'store' items in the one room to retrieve and use as required as was the WC and shower.
The quality of the fitout and equipment was beyond reproach although some equipment was excessive in amount bearing in mind there are only two guests. e.g. Did we really need a full service of crockery?
Soft furnishing were in good condition and beautifully appropriate to the style and nature of the property. We rarely used the lounge floor and lived in the kitchen and commuted 'upstairs' to bed each evening. But it all worked well.
If there was a downside, with one exception, it was more of style over substance. Too many items, cutlery, crockery, pots and pans etc., for just two guests. The surplus simply took up too much room that could have made for simpler and clearer use of shelf space.
two minor grumbles. The approach road was badly potholed making the drive in and out a bit of a chore. More disappointing was that our one attempt to contact Caretaker and owner regarding a problem of no hot water went unheeded. As it happened I could trace and fix the problem to a probably air lock due to low pressure in the supply, but it would have been nice to have had a response to our calls. at the least.
A lovely place to which the poor weather failed to remove any of the pleasure.




Perfect secret hideaway!

Review submitted on Tue, 27 Sep 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We absolutely loved staying in the Barnes Tower! The decor was charming and comfortable, the bed was amazing and the location was gorgeous. It was fantastic to walk out the door onto the choice of wonderful walking trails whenever we wanted. The breakfast provisions provided for us were a welcome surprise as we never wanted to leave the tower to go into town. It was so peaceful and quiet and private, just a perfect retreat.



Unique & tranquil

Review submitted on Mon, 12 Sep 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Stunningly restored and with everything you need for a tranquil farmhouse retreat - we’ll definitely be back!



Fascinating and atmospheric building

Review submitted on Wed, 31 Aug 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Barns Tower is a really special place to spend a few days. We were delighted with this fascinating and atmospheric building and charmed by the interior and exterior as well as the peaceful wooded estate location. The restoration had been done with care and sensitivity. All furniture and equipment were perfect and the welcoming fruit, milk, eggs and bread appreciated. We would love to return!




Nicely restored tower in great location

Review submitted on Thu, 25 Aug 2022
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a delightful 3 days staying in this four storey tower. A great base for Peebles and the surrounding countryside. Going up and down the narrow stairs keeps you fit especially if like me you keep forgetting things!



Overall, a disappointment.

Review submitted on Mon, 08 Aug 2022
2.7
out of 5

Guest doesn't recommend this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
3.0
Location
2.0
Value
2.0
Customer
Service
2.0
We felt the accommodation was far removed from the castle: the website gave the impression it was a part of the castle itself. There was no mention on the website that the tower had so many narrow and very steep stairs: it is fortunate that we have no mobility issues but believe this needs to be explicitly stated. Confusion over which accommodation was booked for which guests could have been eliminated by a simple welcome card inside with the guests names, perhaps placed in the kitchen. The fresh eggs, butter, milk and bread were appreciated.The tower, whilst comfortable, did not match the standard of luxury we expected for the price paid.



Burnetts’ Return!

Review submitted on Thu, 04 Aug 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A unique and memorable stay! The tour of Neidpath was excellent, informative and fun! Barns Tower has a connection to our line of Burnetts. A recent dna study that my father took part in, led us here, so the tower is extra special! Although, you don’t need an ancestral connection to thoroughly enjoy it!



Our own castle

Review submitted on Thu, 07 Jul 2022
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We stayed three nights in this great restored tower. What a space for just the two of us. And a lot of stairs. Unsuitable for the infirm. We had to think carefully where we have left which of our stuff because otherwise we kept on walking the stairs.
The bedroom had a nice big bed. The downstairs bathroom had the best shower of our holiday. It had also underfloor heating which was a bit to warm for our taste, but they will look into that so I have been told.
The kitchen was very well stocked with everything you could think of. They provide some first supplies but since the tower is a few minutes drive from Peebles take some groceries for making dinner with you before arriving.
The Tweed walk goes just outside the tower.




Wonderful historic tower

Review submitted on Sat, 30 Apr 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have stayed at the Barns Tower in the past. The return refreshed our memories of this beautiful Pele Tower House. Renovated with sympathy to its heritage. The very large bed was comfortable, the main room with its roaring fire was grand and the kitchen living room a lovely space. There is a generous welcome pack which is helpful after a long drive. The setting in the Tweed Valley with walks and nearby gardens is idyllic. Peebles is a great small town, with a thriving high street. Edinburgh is a relatively short drive and the Park and Ride a useful facility. A few hitches with the electrics (items apparently switched off by previous visitors) were sorted by Lulu who was very helpful. Definitely recommend and hope to make a further visit at sometime in the future.



Stunning!!!

Review submitted on Sat, 30 Apr 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a fantastic time at Barns Tower. Four nights of bliss; the location is ideal for touring around the Peebles area. Marvelous, walks, stunning scenery, all capped off by a roaring fire in the most comfortable accommodation. Very well appointed, including a great shower in a heated floor room. Very high class. Would not hesitate to stay again. Thanks for a wonderful time!!



Beautiful area and atmospheric tower

Review submitted on Tue, 08 Mar 2022
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Barns tower is a 15th century peel tower and although it has been modernised very tastefully and comfortably it retains features like a very tricky set of stairs to enter the 1st floor ( uneven, steep and twisty) so it’s not for the unfit!
It is warm and cosy and well equipped for 2 people, we very much enjoyed our stay here. The countryside surrounding it is stunning and we could hear Owls at night.




Lovely stay

Review submitted on Tue, 01 Feb 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Very peaceful stay, exactly as described on the website. Exceptionally clean and warm despite high winds. There was a great store of logs, plenty to keep the real fires going. They are smokey though but the heating was warm enough not to rely on them and the tower was draught free, despite extreme weather. Very remote so bring everything you need for the first night including matches and a torch. Internet connection is also reliable.



Uniquely accommodating

Review submitted on Thu, 13 Jan 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The tower has history, location, comfort and class - and everything you could need.
We had an adventure exploring this beautiful spot and the river tweed walks that extend from its location - a very special holiday. Thankyou




Happy New Year

Review submitted on Tue, 04 Jan 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed in Barns Tower for new year 2022 and found it to be an incredible experience. The Tower is obviously very old but warm and very comfortable and it has a fabulous atmosphere. If you love the outdoors the surrounding countryside is beautiful and the town of Peebles well worth a visit. There's lots of other things to do also. A magical experience.



Worth the wait

Review submitted on Thu, 30 Dec 2021
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We had to cancel for Xmas and New Year 2020 due to covid and we were gutted, the lovely Lady Lulu offered us different dates a year later and wow - it was so worth the wait. So isolated and quiet, while at the same time being a stones throw from Peebles and an easy trip to Glasgow and Edinburgh. Beautifully kitted out, managed to cook a ridiculously huge Xmas dinner for 2 using everything there - we could have fed 10!. We used the fires in the kitchen and lounge constantly which were easy to light if you follow the instructions, gorgeous real Xmas tree ready and waiting when we arrived and a very generous bundle of goodies - wine, fresh fruit, bacon, xmas pud and mince pies etc - all truly lovely. I just can't wait to go back and try out the other cottages in the library and bothy. Many thanks to everyone esp Katarina and her team who carry everything up and down those stairs to make it perfect.



Weather dependent!

Review submitted on Mon, 01 Nov 2021
2.7
out of 5

Guest doesn't recommend this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
1.0
Value
1.0
Customer
Service
1.0
Whilst the wedding venue was lovely, access to the tower was difficult, especially with torrential rain



Barns Tower, Neidpath Castle

Review submitted on Sun, 17 Oct 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Wonderful experience, it exceeded our expectations in every way, a bucket list item achieved, thanks



Unique and perfect, even the weather!

Review submitted on Mon, 30 Aug 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We've never stayed anywhere quite like it. A unique atmosphere bursting with quirky charm. Not great for people with any mobility issues or the very tall. We had great weather but I'm sure the setting and the heating would make a stay in any weather special. Very isolated and away from it all but the owners and management were around and friendly.



A perfect romantic hideaway

Review submitted on Mon, 16 Aug 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our stay at Barns Tower surpassed all expectations. If you need some time off from the world, this is where you need to be. The attention to detail was exemplary and just when we found ourselves going “wouldn’t it be wonderful if they had ..”, we would find it. We turned up to find everything necessary for a yummy vegan breakfast (they were so accommodating with dietary requirements) and settled into a blissful couple of days. Thank you for soothing a pandemic-worn body/mind. Much love from two key workers x



Wonderful stay in magical accommodation

Review submitted on Thu, 08 Jul 2021
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We just loved the Tower castle. Quirky, peaceful, well equipped and enough stairs to drop a few pounds of weight over the week. We loved our fires, although if lit for any time you began to feel like a smoked kipper. Lovely walks just outside the door. And for the brave... a river to swim in. Katarina kindly gave us a tour of Neidpath Castle and was generous with her time, friendly and helpful.



Unique and incredible stay in Barns Tower

Review submitted on Thu, 03 Jun 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
My partner and I recently stayed in Barns Tower for three nights and honestly had the most wonderful time. It’s cosy and intimate whilst having so much to explore having the whole tower to yourself. The fires, huge bath, large bed and amazing ambience the place had where personal highlights! It’s comfy and in a lovely quiet location with a stunning Tweed walk on your doorstep and not a lot to hear other than birds and sheep! Bliss!!



Our own tower for the weekend!

Review submitted on Mon, 17 May 2021
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a wonderful stay in Barns Tower! It's a beautifully restored 16th century building, full of character, steeped in history and situated in the beautiful Scottish Borders near the River Tweed. Each of the rooms have been tastefully restored with excellent facilities throughout. Note that the upper floors are accessed via a fairly steep and narrow staircase which may not suit everyone. ​A travel cot and high-chair were provided for our daughter and a breakfast pack of food awaited our arrival which was a lovely surprise. Lots of beautiful countryside to explore nearby and the town of Peebles is a 10 minute drive. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and only wished it could have been longer!



Amazing

Review submitted on Sat, 15 May 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Such an amazing place to stay, everything you could possibly need and so rich in history. Extremely clean and the most beautiful countryside walks right from the front door. The fresh fruit, eggs, milk etc provided also a very nice touch to make you feel at home. Many thanks for a wonderful weekend away!



Lovely relaxing stay

Review submitted on Mon, 10 May 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is a magical place with lovely walks from the doorstep. It was the first time we had been out since lockdown which was September in Northumberland! Everyone we met was super friendly and helpful and we really enjoyed out stay, so much so we rebooked on the first night for March 2022! We loved the tower and became fascinated by the restorations which are well documented. We did wonder how they felt a roll top bath onto the top floor! Everything worked well and the fires were a blessing because it was cold for May.



Looking for the different - A fabulous jewel box of a property

Review submitted on Tue, 04 May 2021
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Perfect for two and wonderful for the dogs (warmly welcomed) , the utility room was perfect decompression from the outdoors and the downstairs shower a joy because of the underfloor heating. Lovely, comfortable and thoughtful touches everywhere. Everything you need in the kitchen to whip up a feast and to relax in the cosy sitting room. If you need an escape and but are looking for something with character and feeling - this is the place. You'll have buns of steel from the stairs too!



Lovely Quirky Stay

Review submitted on Tue, 08 Dec 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
I would definitely recommend a stay at Barns Tower. It is the ideal location for walks round the area and for a relaxing few days away. The tower itself is well maintained and very comfortable. I will be returning in the future.



One of those places that makes others look ordinary

Review submitted on Tue, 27 Oct 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Its not just that its one of the most unusual places you are ever likely to stay in. The Tower is of course full of history but just as interesting is the flair and care with which it has been restored, using local resources wherever possible - down to the hand made handles of the panelled oak doors. (Oh, and the heated floor in the shower room - what a treat!) Lulu and her team provide generously in the kitchen and the quality of all the accommodation is comfortable and stylish throughout. One of those places that makes others look ordinary.



Perfect place to unwind and relax

Review submitted on Mon, 26 Oct 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
What a fantastic place to have the pleasure of spending some much needed 'down time'! The owners have done an amazing job of converting the tower into a stunning place to stay,without losing any of it's history and character. Everything you could want for was provided,with lovely luxury touches like the Highland Soap Company toiletries and breakfast pack,all Scottish products.The open fires were fantastic each night and made the whole place lovely and cosy.We stayed for a week and thoroughly enjoyed every minute,particularly the tour of Neidpath Castle and the lovely walks around the area. Thank you!