FB Twitter

Neidpath Barmkin

Neidpath Barmkin

4.7
out of 5
Ratings from 39 reviews
97% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.8
Comfort
4.7
Condition
4.5
Location
4.9
Value
4.6
Customer
Service
4.8


A unique and fabulous place to stay. We try to come at least every 2 years

Review submitted on Sat, 06 Apr 2024
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A gorgeous cottage that we started coming to when my daughter was a toddler. She’s now 19, and we still love it. In a fantastic location that can’t be beaten, and within walking distance of Peebles it’s perfect. The cottage is beautiful, well equipped and comfortable. We will be back next year - just wish we could stay longer than 5 nights!



Unique and atmospheric cottage in the grounds of Neidpath Castle with lovely views over the River

Review submitted on Wed, 20 Mar 2024
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We absolutely loved our time at Neidpath Barmkin. A truly unique and memorable experience. Wonderfully comfortable lounge with great open fire. It was so peaceful at night and the bed was so comfortable. Great rainforest shower and bath too. Everything we needed in the kitchen and a outbuilding with washing facilities and perfect for bike storage. Great walks and mountainbiking from the house. A really beautiful location with fantastic views over the Tweed and woodlands. Rachel and team couldn't have been more helpful with booking and queries. Thank you so much!




Christmas in Scotland

Review submitted on Thu, 28 Dec 2023
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Amazing. Wonderful. Enchanting. We had a family Christmas gathering and it did not disappoint. There was even a decorated tree waiting for us. The weather outside was actually frightful but we built a fire and loved the time together. They even delivered more firewood on Christmas morning!



Barmy in Neidpath Barmkin

Review submitted on Sun, 26 Nov 2023
2.7
out of 5

Guest doesn't recommend this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
1.0
Condition
2.0
Location
3.0
Value
2.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Quirky but in no way comfortable! Our fellow friends in the castle reported the same. Water pressure in en-suite poor. Main bathroom a joke , how can you have a shower with one hand? Third bedroom cannot be classed as a bedroom? Bunk beds and a door in it? With a draft? Sofas in living room need to be replaced , so low and back breaking ! We had the most uncomfortable 2 nights.. such a shame so much potential.. Lulu you can do better inside and out .. we won’t be back or recommend this experience to any of our worldly travellers



A charming cottage in the grounds of a castle!

Review submitted on Tue, 31 Oct 2023
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This cottage was accommodation for our wedding party, but I would recommend it to anybody looking for a stay in somewhere special. The cottage sleeps 6, with a beautiful interior and a welcoming open fire. With stunning riverside walks on your doorstep and a stones thrown from village pubs and restaurants, it's a must stay for anybody visiting peebles!



Perfect

Review submitted on Thu, 12 Oct 2023
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Very beautiful inside, loved the view’s across the Tweed to the trees on the hillside. The communication informing us of cottage key’s location etc excellent. The food in the fridge was satisfactory. The layout of the cottage was clean, tidy, not cluttered and sufficient room for guests staying there. Thoroughly enjoyed it.



Overlooking the Tweed and a short walk to Peebles, what more can you want?

Review submitted on Mon, 09 Oct 2023
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely stay in the Barmkin. It’s very comfortable with a lovely spacious sitting room overlooking the Tweed. Fabulous log fire and roomy kitchen. The two bedrooms are very nice at each end of the cottage, but the bunk room is definitely for children only. Fabulous location and we walked into Peebles very easily along the river and back again. The Team at Neidpath provided us with fresh bread. Biscuits, milk, eggs and tea/coffee/sugar/loo paper/washing up liquid were all provided which was a real bonus!



As beautiful as always

Review submitted on Sat, 26 Aug 2023
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was our 3rd stay here and was a welcoming as always . The accommodation is a rustic shabby chic and feels like it gives you a big hug when you walk in . The walks and views are breathtaking and amazing from the top of the castle. Always enjoyed my stay and feel totally recharged on departure.



Can’t beat the location

Review submitted on Mon, 17 Jul 2023
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
It’s perfect for what we needed at the wedding. We had somewhere for the older guests to relax and for the younger kids to sleep without losing anyone for hours at a time. As a place to stay its brilliant and can’t be beaten.



Cozy Castle Cottage

Review submitted on Wed, 24 May 2023
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our family enjoyed two wonderful nights at the cottage. Accommodations were very comfortable and the lounge was cozy with a fire in the evening. It was a pleasant surprise to have a few breakfast items supplied and a healthy fruit bowl. It is an easy walk into town along the road or on the path running beside the water.



Weekend in Neidpath

Review submitted on Tue, 02 May 2023
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Beautiful location, cottage full of atmosphere. Great facilities. Wonderful time! Sandy was so helpful and even let us check in earlier. We can't recommend this place enough



Always a great holiday

Review submitted on Sat, 29 Apr 2023
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Fantastic accommodation and fantastic location. We've been here many times and will return.
It's one of the best holidays we've had.
The cottage is very comfortable and the milk, bread and fruit etc that was left for us was very much appreciated.




A lovely stay

Review submitted on Wed, 15 Mar 2023
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
My family were really impressed with the Barmkin. It was clean and comfy and having the breakfast things was really handy. It would have been good to have another shower given there was so many people staying but otherwise it was lovely



Great place

Review submitted on Sat, 19 Nov 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We loved the Barmkin - plenty of room for all of us (only downside was one room is bunk beds which would be great for kids but not adults or babies!)
Good kitchen, plenty of crockery for visiting eaters, fabulous living room with plenty of wood for the fire. We really enjoyed it and hope to come back. Peebles is great and the walks along the river, especially in autumn, were just lovely.




Absolutely Fabulous and Unique!and

Review submitted on Sat, 08 Oct 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Anazing stay, an absolute treat! Picturesque views, very cmnfortable and beautifully decorated cottage with a fireplace and a bathtub. It was our second stay and we are planning to keep coming back. Many thanks, Victoria and David



Peaceful getaway

Review submitted on Fri, 24 Jun 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Just got back from another stay at Neidpath Cottage. Since we were last there, the rooms have been decorated and the colours really compliment the cottage.
This cottage is approximately 10 mins walk from the edge of Peebles, 5 minutes to Haylodge Park. It’s peaceful. We last stayed in the winter which was lovely but to be there in the summer with all the greenery was just as lovely.
We have booked again and look forward to returning.




Holiday

Review submitted on Thu, 23 Jun 2022
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely cottage with great character. Very comfortable with all necessary amenities and plenty of space.
Be aware that the path along the river into Peebles is accessed by a very steep path down the cliff (though you can walk along the pavement by the road into town). Some steps and a hand rail would be a big improvement!
Other than that, all was great and we thoroughly enjoyed our break.





Perfect for a unique family stay!

Review submitted on Tue, 31 May 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We booked the Neidpath Barmkin along with their Barns Tower, Library and Bothy for our close family over our wedding weekend. The Barmkin cottage is lovely and is located right outside the Castle so it is a truly unique experience, and one our family were very excited about! You can imagine the look on the kids faces when they saw that there was a castle outside their bedroom window! The interior of the cottage is modern, cosy and comfortable with plenty of space and everything you need for a weekend away! There is a lovely garden out the back with a pathway to the river so perfect for exploring the area in privacy. Couldn't fault a thing and would love to come back!



Barmkin Cottage

Review submitted on Mon, 25 Apr 2022
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Spent 5 fabulous days at Neidpath Castle, in the Barmkin Cottage with my 3 children and dog. Such a lovely setting and location. Hope to be back soon.



Weekend break

Review submitted on Tue, 05 Apr 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Fantastic location, delightfully well equipped cottage. Amazing views of the Tweed river, close distant to Peebles and surrounded by lovely countryside in the beautiful Scottish Borders.



Best place to stay in Peebles!

Review submitted on Sat, 02 Apr 2022
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have stayed in this accommodation many times and absolutely love it!

The cottage is always very welcoming as its obviously very well looked after, always clean and comfortable. Lovely gardens to use when the weather is good and very cosy inside with the log fire when its cold.

We will certainly be back.




Birthday stay at Neidpath

Review submitted on Tue, 08 Mar 2022
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have stayed at the Barmkin numerous times and as always Neidpath really delivered in terms of location and cleanliness. It really is a lovely little cottage with Peebles right on the doorstep! The only things that might be worth mentioning are, the cottage was freezing on arrival & when arriving late at night, that isn’t ideal, so perhaps the housekeeping team could pop that on before the check in time depending on weather. The kitchen is a bit muddled with a cupboard full of stuff, but nothing matches, but for the cost of the cottage, perhaps an overhaul and a trip to IKEA wouldn’t go amiss & lastly, we stayed 5 nights and by the 3rd night, we had run out of logs & had to order some more & pay for this service, I think when you charge what you do, perhaps this could be included in the price as the basket provided was never going to do a 5 night stay, a little disappointing, but other than that, a pleasant stay



Very pleasant

Review submitted on Fri, 25 Feb 2022
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Fantastic location, spacious rooms, and nicely laid out. Beds comfy, kitchen well-equipped and local walking was glorious. Central heating is great, which is a very good thing as we had to give up with the “roaring log fire” after the room filled with smoke 3 times in 10 minutes - but at least we know the smoke detectors work well, and there is a washing machine to get the smoke out your clothes. (If you’re a chimney sweep, apply within!)
So a great time and would recommend, as long as you don’t want/need to be connected to internet. They do have wifi, and it did connect (after many many tries each time) - but we only managed to open simple pages (Google, to check out weather, walks and local eateries) one time in 3 nights. Overall, a pleasant stay.




Cozy stay and serene surroundings

Review submitted on Fri, 07 Jan 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The cottage was cozy and well supplied for our short stay. Enjoyed walking around the trails just outside the castle. We had a little tour of the Neidpath castle which was very interesting. Great for a relaxing short stay and conveniently close to the town and not too far drive to Edinburgh.



3rd Stay

Review submitted on Thu, 06 Jan 2022
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Love the place, few minor updates needed, but I suspect the challenge is finding time when it’s not booked up.



Christmas retreat.

Review submitted on Sun, 02 Jan 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Delighted with the accommodation and location.
Very comfortable and excellent facilities.
We will definitely be booking again.




November stay at Barmkin

Review submitted on Mon, 06 Dec 2021
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
3.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our stay was very enjoyable - though marred slightly by a wedding at the castle over the weekend, when wedding guests wandered up and down the path by the cottage, peering in the cottage windows as they did so. Assuming there is a no smoking regulation at the reception, the smokers stood around in groups by the cottage, as evidenced by the amount of cigarette buts left on the ground in front of the cottage...disappointing. Though I would recommend the property, I would caution guests to check if there are functions at the castle during their stay.



A great place to stay - we’ve been coming here for over 10 years

Review submitted on Mon, 18 Oct 2021
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A lovely house in a fantastic location. 15 minute walk down the river into Peebles to browse the shops and drink coffee.
The property is spacious with everything you could need and the improvements to the garden are great - it will be lovely especially in summer for sitting and watching the river go by.
We’ve stayed here at least 6 times over the years and are already planning a trip back in 2023




Very cosy, comfortable cottage in stunning location.

Review submitted on Mon, 11 Oct 2021
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Myself, partner and our dog stayed in the cottage situated right next door to Neidpath Castle. We found the cottage to be wonderfully cosy and comfortable and were provided with helpful information prior to our stay. The location was great, with walks along the river into Peebles. We had a very interesting tour of the castle by the owner who was very helpful and informative.
All in all, a perfect spot to recharge the batteries, enjoy the Autumnal outdoors and some very interesting history.
Would definitely recommend!




Wish we could have stayed longer.

Review submitted on Wed, 15 Sep 2021
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Realy pleasant cottage in fantastic location. Good walks for our dog from the doorstep. Easy acess to Peebles and biking at Glentress. Can't give 5 for customer service as we didn't actually ever meet or talk to anyone, although supplied information was sufficient.



Neidpath Barmkin

Review submitted on Sat, 04 Sep 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We enjoyed our stay at Barmkin, it was ideal for attending a family wedding nearby, and I would thoroughly recommend it.



Perfect stay

Review submitted on Wed, 01 Sep 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Spot on! Cottage had everything you need, washing machine, dryer and dishwasher to name my highlights!!



Fantastic

Review submitted on Sun, 29 Aug 2021
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Loved staying at the cottage the scenery is outstanding it is truly a gem .Loved the walks round the river and the stroll down to Peebles . This cottage is cosy and wraps it’s arms around you , never felt so relaxed and chilled on a holiday . Being dog friendly is a bonus and we were all sad to leave including the dog .



Fabulous holiday

Review submitted on Sat, 24 Jul 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a fabulous holiday at Neidpath Castle and Barns Library - we couldn't have asked for more. Beautiful accommodation, perfect settings, lovely friendly people. Lulu gave us a tour of the castle which was fascinating and we had supper in the castle one evening which was a wonderful experience. Our group ages ranged from 22 to 82 and no-one wanted to leave!



A Hidden Gem with Spectacular Views.

Review submitted on Tue, 22 Jun 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
After an unexpected 9.5 hour journey that had us arriving late at night, it would be accurate to state our spirits were lifted when we entered the driveway to Neidpath Castle. This wonderful castle felt like it had a cloak of mystery surrounding it, watching and waiting fo see how it would welcome us. It was not unnerving in any sense it was atmospheric. We needed to unload the car and walk the dogs before settling down for the night rather than continue to stare and remain mesmerised

From the moment we turned the key at Neidpath Barmkin it felt instantly like home. Everywhere was spotlessly clean and had all that was needed for a comfortable stay. The Granddaughters felt so safe they walked the dogs in the extensive grounds. The youngest Granddaughter was convinced she saw and heard the ghost of a woman The oldest granddaughter said she thought she heard the ghost. Both were nonplussed by what they believed they experienced, claiming it was not a bad ghost just a woman seeing who was visiting the castle. They both slept soundly that night and all other nights.. The youngest granddaughter insisting on keeping her curtains open in case she saw the ghost woman again

Hubby and I also slept soundly as the bed was so comfortable, and supplied with quality linens. hubby and oldest Granddaughter were taking part in the Tweedlove Gritopia Bike event the morning after our arrival, The bikes as Lulu stated were able to be stored securely adjacent the Barmkin, They were able access and ride along the River Tweed from the Castle carpark. It was a walk that myself, granddaughter and the dogs also enjoyed. Just as Lulu said, it was a lovely 10 minute stroll.

I had the pleasure of meeting Lulu briefly just as she was about to give give a tour and explain the history of Neidpath Castle. a thoroughly lovely woman who believes passionately in ensuring all guests regardless of age have the best expedience.. We will be coming back, hopefully this year and may even treat our self to a night in the Neidpath Castle. Failing that we will certainly book a tour. I am already looking for availability, however as Neidpath Barmkin along with Neidpath Castle are both so sought after there is limited vacancies. I strongly advise to book as soon as you see a vacancy, if you hesitate you may miss the opportunity to have a wonderful stay and the possibility to meet the ghost. Stay safe and Thank you Lulu for your commitment and passion to Neidpath Castle, the Barmkin and all who have the pleasure of visiting or staying.




Excellent home from home

Review submitted on Sun, 13 Jun 2021
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The customer service was excellent all the way through, so helpful over rebooking from earlier in the year due to COVID. Amazing location, so quiet and peaceful with beautiful walks from the doorstep, grounds are really cared for. The cottage is very well equipped and has everything you would need for a great self catering experience. Lovely furnishings and really comfortable sitting room with open fire, loved the character of the cottage. We have a wee dog and very difficult to find quality holiday accommodation that is truly dog friendly. Spent a night before in the castle next door which is a truly special, unique and magical experience. Thank you Lulu and your team.



One of the best holidays!

Review submitted on Sun, 23 May 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have stayed at Neidpath Castle Cottage many times now and have always had an excellent holiday. The accommodation is excellent, always clean and feels very welcoming.

We have 2 small dogs and its always good to feel that they are also welcome in the accommodation.

I cannot recommend this property highly enough and as always we will be back!




AMAZING!!!

Review submitted on Sat, 21 Nov 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is an excellent place for a family stay. Plenty of room for kids to run round and stay safe outside too. Great amenities provided and a short walk into Peebles. We also took a tour of the castle which was fab. Lovely riverside walks near by, and great location too.

We will most definitely be back.




A very peaceful location for a quiet holiday

Review submitted on Sun, 25 Oct 2020
3.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
3.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We love staying at Neidpath Castle Cottage, it is in a peaceful location, however not to far from the town. It is a comfortable property, however, the seating in the sitting room could do with updating, especially the bed settee, it’s lost it’s comfort completely. On saying that we would book it again as we love the location and the open log fire - Christmas would be magical there! Nothing is any trouble for the owners who deal with things if and when you need to get in touch with them. I would say though that the cleaning needs to be looked at - the curtains in the en- suite bedroom had stains on them when we stayed there 2 years ago and they are still there at the time of the visit this year!! It is a warm and welcoming property and spending a day there if the weather is inclement is actually wonderful. We will be back just as soon as we can get 2 weeks to fit in with our plans and Cottage availability.