FB Twitter

Queen Mary's Chamber

Queen Mary's Chamber

5.0
out of 5
Ratings from 30 reviews
100% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.9
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.9
Customer
Service
5.0


Anniversary treat

Review submitted on Mon, 01 Aug 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Incredible venue with a wonderful build up to the surprise stay I had planned for our anniversary. Superb tour of the building, excellent customer service and we were made to feel so special.
I put it down as excellent value for money and this was an indulgent treat for our anniversary, not cheap by any means, but that said its something we will never forget, and we definitely got something special here; beautiful location, peace and quiet, with access to the town and local countryside on the doorstep, we felt like guests but really did have a real castle to ourselves! It was fantastic and somewhere I would be happy to recommend to anyone looking for a similar experience




A truly fantastic place

Review submitted on Sat, 09 Jul 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This castle had everything we dreamed of. A medieval castle all to ourselves. Very nice surroundings. Fantastic experience for the kids who really loved exploring the secrets of the castle. Simply the perfect start to our grand tour of Scotland.



Amazing stay

Review submitted on Tue, 05 Jul 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed here for our 1st anniversary as we got married at the castle. Amazing stay in the beautiful castle. We had the meal which was lovely as well. We can’t wait to come back!!



Beautiful Castle and Grounds

Review submitted on Thu, 23 Jun 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The castle and surrounding area were gorgeous. The castle is so much fun to explore, and has some artifacts found in and around the castle.

We were greeted at arrival by LuLu who gave us a brief history of the castle and a tour. The kitchen and mini pantry in the room were both stocked with breakfast items, fruit, and snacks that lasted through our stay.

The accommodations were spacious and comfortable. The bed and linens were of good quality. There is a lovely large bath with a window that overlooks the river.

The castle was very dog friendly, with plenty of room for the dog to run on the grounds. The trail along the river was wonderful for morning hikes and a nice walk to town.

This was one of our favorite holidays and I wish we could have stayed longer.




Amazing experience

Review submitted on Mon, 20 Jun 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Staff were excellent and really made a difference. We were pleasantly surprised to learn that we had the whole castle to ourselves and took advantage of exploring.



A magical weekend!

Review submitted on Tue, 31 May 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
My husband and I stayed in the Queen Mary's Chamber for 2 nights over the weekend of our wedding and it was just the most incredible experience - there really is nothing quite like having an entire Medieval castle all to yourself! The room itself is so comfortable and just absolutely stunning. We loved every second of our stay and were so well looked after by Sandy, who is on hand for anything you need and goes the extra mile to make sure your stay is as special as can be. Fingers crossed we will come back in the future for an anniversary weekend!



An really incredible experience

Review submitted on Wed, 25 May 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
I had booked Queen Mary's Chamber for one night as the end of our two-week tour of Scotland and a special surprise for my fiancée. It was supposed to be something very special. Our expectations were absolutely exceeded. When do you ever have a castle to yourself?

We arrived by bus from Edinburgh to Peebles. From there we walked to the castle in about 25 minutes. There we were received punctually as arranged and briefed on everything technical and important. The bedroom with bathroom and living room including small kitchen and dining area are on one level on the 2nd floor. From there you can look at everything from the basement to the roof later alone via spiral staircases and larger staircase. It was really great and you had to be a little careful not to lose track of where you came out again with all the doors and rooms.

Later we made dinner and enjoyed the great bathtub with the big window. My night was a bit restless, because this building and the history is just overwhelming. And with all the noise, for example, from the wind blowing through the stairwell, more sensitive souls can get a little anxious. But you get used to it. My wife did not mind at all, she was absolutely not afraid, unlike me...

In the morning we made ourselves a super delicious breakfast from the richly filled refrigerator. At 10.00 o'clock we were then picked up again. We got a little extra tour, because we had overlooked that you could also go on the roof. The view there is really fantastic. Afterwards, we were even spontaneously taken into the city by car.

Our conclusion: A really unique great experience that was worthwhile and will be remembered for a long time. The price-performance ratio is absolutely appropriate for what you get and experience. For example, if you want to surprise your wife with something very special, you will definitely score points. ;-) And also the book about Neidpath Castle, that you can buy there when booking, is worthwhile, if you are interested in background and history (238 pages plus appendix). Thanks again for everything from Chris and Kathi to the team of Neidpath Castle!




Unexpected suprise

Review submitted on Sun, 22 May 2022
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We were thrilled to discover we had the whole castle. Best experience! Such an adventure and we loved it! Definitely recommend and will return.
My only side note is that the castle feels unloved and underappreciated.
Thanks for letting us share in the history of this extraordinary place.




Mary Queen of Scots Suite Stay

Review submitted on Wed, 04 May 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
There simply aren't enough words to describe how incredible and magical Neidpath Castle, and the stay experience, really is.

We stayed for 1 night as part of our honeymoon and really felt like king and queen.

Neidpath itself is breathtaking with all its history and character and how the castle has obviously been laced with all the mod cons anyone would need, with the emphasis very much being on the heritage and authenticity. The views and surrounding area along the river, with herons and kingfishers is breath taking.

In terms of customer service during our visit/stay we cannot praise and thank the estate team enough for their hospitality and attention to detail. The castle is reasonably warm throughout anyway, what with having a 10 foot thick exterior wall!, but the estate team had pre heated Queen Mary's chamber prior to our arrival so it was very warm and cosy when we got there. The fire was also prepared ready for us to simply light should we wish, and the provisions provided for breakfast were both plentiful and of great quality.

Anyone considering staying here as a one off/treat experience needs to stop thinking and just book it! We'll be back in a heartbeat if we get chance. The most surprising aspect of the stay was we were expecting a tour of the castle when we got there and to simply have access to Queen Mary's chamber for the duration of our stay... Oh no my friend, the estate team member showed us round and upon leaving gave us the keys(!). So you have full, uninterrupted run of the castle to explore at your leisure during your stay. You really can be King and Queen of Neidpath during this experience! Purely magical.




Fabulous stay in a castle with tremendous views

Review submitted on Sun, 17 Apr 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A wonderful stay to celebrate our sixtieth birthdays. Beautiful historic building but cosy and comfortable with lots of modern touches and breakfast treats. Katharina did a marvellous job checking us in and it was fascinating to have the whole castle to ourselves and be able to wander about and imagine what it must have been like centuries ago. There is a fully equipped kitchen you can have use of if you like. We chose to have private dining, for £65 pp we thought it was great value and a real treat. Chrissie and Dougie who are local to the area cook everything from scratch, had a delicious partridge starter and venison tagine. It really made our stay quite special and they were very attentive. Bed comfy, roaring fire, books, peace and the walks surrounding the castle and the River Tweed are amazing. Yet only a few minutes drive (or walk) from the town of Peebles. We would love to come back.



A very special and unique place to stay

Review submitted on Wed, 13 Apr 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Katarina met us on arrival and showed us around and made us feel very welcome.
Neidpath was our home for 3 nights, giving us plenty of time to explore and enjoy the castle from top to bottom.
Although we had seen photos online, nothing prepared us for the sheer beauty and size of it. We couldn't believe the whole place was ours during our stay.
Queen Mary's Chamber was warm and the accommodation comfortable and luxurious. The Highland Soap Company toiletries were a lovely treat.
We had a 4 course meal on our first night presented to us in our living room and there was a good selection of goodies in the kitchen for our breakfasts.
We walked into Peebles a few times - the walk back on the other side of the river proved challenging in places but enjoyable.

This was a unique and memorable place to stay. A magical experience. We didn't want to leave.





Unique idyllic castle experience

Review submitted on Tue, 08 Mar 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Highly recommend this absolutely stunningly place. Katarina the host was excellent, as was the catering



Our stay at Neidpath castl

Review submitted on Sat, 26 Feb 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Had a perfect visit , such an experience , already recommended to friends who will be in touch to make a booking ,
Lots of little touches made our stay a pleasant time
Will be back for sure , total relaxation
Many thanks Kathryn and Nigel Brunskill




King and queen of the castle

Review submitted on Sat, 12 Feb 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Fantastic stay in the castle for the price might seem a lot to some but to sleep in a castle all to your self where Mary Queen of Scots stayed small price to pay for a piece of history . We explored the castle from top to bottom and the grounds wonderful place .just one thing my wife had a bath then I had a shower water for me was cool to warm not hot that was the only thing small thing unforgettable visit



Amazing!

Review submitted on Wed, 20 Oct 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
I cannot begin to describe what a fabulous experience our visit to Neidpath was! From the warm welcome from Katarina, who met us on arrival and gave us a tour of the castle and then left us to explore, it was all fantastic. We had decided to self cater but asked for the cheese board. Christine arrived with this and also made us very welcome and was kind enough to take lots of photos for us. Thanks Christine!
When we left in the morning Katarina took the time to answer all of our questions about the castle and knew the full history, many thanks Katarina!
I must also thank Rachel of Neidpath Estates who looked after our booking before our arrival who kept us informed and answered all of our questions. Thank you Rachel!
I admit I was hesitant when my better half suggested it but I can only say if you want a unique experience do it!
Top marks to team Neidpath!




Magical

Review submitted on Sun, 10 Oct 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
What a magnificent couple of nights stay at this Castle. From start to finish, the stay was just incredible. The host was informative and friendly and makes you feel straight at home. Will definitely be looking to stay here again, who wouldn't want a full castle to themselves?



Magical day and experience

Review submitted on Sun, 26 Sep 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a magical, fabulous and wonderful time in Neidpath Castle, even the weather was great as well!!
Our wedding was fabulous and perfect in every way.

The castle was beautifully decorated with flowers and candles everywhere. We got lots of pretty and thoughtful details such as, flags on the castle, luxury bath accessories, our fridge was full with delicious food and nicely prepared art and craft area for the children and they helped with our dog as well during the ceremony which was very kind of them.

The Neidpath castle host and decorator were super kind and very helpful. We got lots of useful tips and support for them before and during our wedding. Thank you very much again!

We were so happy to share our big day with our dog, Bonnie and with our guests. Everyone said they had the best time ever and they would never forget this amazing experience. Many thanks!

Warm wishes
Douglas and Emese
XX




Neidpath ghost hunt

Review submitted on Tue, 14 Sep 2021
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
5.0
An amazing castle in an amazing location. Fantastic and warm service with lots of interesting facts given too.
Would definitely recommend to everyone to experience and would go back in a heartbeat.

My wife and daughter went for a ghost hunt. We did speak to a few spirits and learned some very interesting information that puts a different spin on the history of the building.

Can't say enough great things about the experience, but incredibly grateful for the wonderful night we had. Not every day you get a castle to yourself for a night.




An experience of a life time to stay in a 14th Century castle in such a beautiful setting.

Review submitted on Fri, 16 Jul 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Everything about our stay in Neidpath Castle was wonderful and felt special. The person who welcomed us and showed us around was great and informative about the building. Delicious breakfast in the fridge, plenty of logs for the fire which we lit to complete the beauty of the Sitting Room. We loved the ‘left decoration’ allowing the wonderful patination to show on the walls and the wall of cupboards. The views are stunning from every window, amazing and interesting tapestries. An extraordinary place to be on our own with our Labrador who seemed to enjoy being there as much as us. Thank you to the owner of Neidpath Castle. We can understand why Mary Queen of Scots felt safe there.



A unique experience in a unique setting!

Review submitted on Tue, 06 Jul 2021
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was a special treat for my husband’s big birthday and it did not disappoint! To have an entire castle to ourselves was a unique experience and we spent lots of time exploring all the various nooks and crannies. The castle has been cleverly restored but not overdone so it still retains its ancient feel and ambience.
Everything we needed (plus lots more) was there, including lovely toiletries, a tiny kitchen in a cupboard as well as a fully equipped kitchen on a different floor. The dinky kitchen was well-stocked with yummy breakfast goodies, which was a lovely surprise.
We booked dinner and this was superb, served in the living room part of Queen Mary’s Chamber.
Although pricey, it was definitely worth spending 2 nights here as it gave enough time to properly settle in and enjoy the wonderful experience of life in the castle, as well as taking lots of walks to explore the surroundings.
To also be able to bring our well-behaved dog was just perfect!
On the lead up to our stay, communication was excellent and Katarina was there to greet us when we arrived. She showed us around and made us feel very welcome.
A truly unique experience!




Stunning

Review submitted on Thu, 01 Jul 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Second stay and even more magical than the first one. A castle steeped in history and where I get to explore the whole place! Fabulous. Enjoyed walking in surrounding area and swimming in the river. The bed is comfy, the fire is toasty, the views amazing.



Wonderful castle stay

Review submitted on Sat, 26 Jun 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Neidpath Castle is a wonderful venue for a special occasion. We stayed for our 25th wedding anniversary and it was superb. Beautifully restored historic castle to ourselves. Luxurious accommodation in the bedroom itself and such a unique space to stay in. Evening meal was absolutely delicious - catered well for the vegetarian and the game lover in our party of two!! Tasty, quality breakfast supplied too for us to have in privacy in the morning. Highly recommend to anyone looking for something unique and a bit different to celebrate a special occasion.



Amazing Experience

Review submitted on Tue, 15 Jun 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Where can you have the keys to a castle for a night! Amazing place in the most beautiful setting and totally in keeping with the history and character of the castle. Queen Mary’s Chamber is spacious but cosy, intimate and comfortable with lots of little luxurious extras. Really memorable experience and would love to return.



Excellent weekend away

Review submitted on Mon, 03 May 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Met on arrival. Shown round castle. We booked two nights for external catering to come in (Chris & Dougie). Food was beyond excellent. Rooms were clean & tidy etc. Didn't want or stick for anything. Absolutely no hassles. Lots of walking to be done around the castle. Everything met our high expectations but do remember its a centuries old castle with lots of steps , old doors, fireplaces etc. Castle is steeped in history & Mary Queen of Scots once stopped off for a coffee (i made up the coffee bit but she did stay there). There is a resident ghost but unfortunately he never showed face during our visit. Total silence in the evening. Watch the deer early in the morning drinking in the river below.



The most beautiful place to stay

Review submitted on Tue, 23 Mar 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
My husband and I stayed at Neidpath Castle on the weekend of our mini wedding. The castle staff were so helpful and accomodating, making us feel so relaxed. We couldn't have asked for a more beautiful place to get married and to stay. Queen Mary's Chamber is an amazing suite with everything we could need or want. The bath was possibly my favourite part of the suit, so comfy and with such a gorgeous view. We cannot wait to stay again!



Hogmanay Wedding at the Castle

Review submitted on Sat, 09 Jan 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
What can I say, this is the most wonderful and historical place I have ever stayed, and at a most beautiful time of year surrounded by snow, it was truly a winter wonderland. A perfect blend of ancient and modern, the Queen Mary suite is toasty and warm, even in the middle of winter. From the roll top bath with views over the River Tweed below, to the four-poster bed fit for a Queen, to the roaring fire in the bedroom, what better way to wake up on the morning after your wedding! You have the whole castle from the rooftop to the dungeons to yourself, yet if you want some Venison for supper from the estate, Lulu can whistle some up with a chef to cook to your liking and serve you like a King. Absolutely fabulous, thank you, Lulu, your personal touch combined with such an exquisite venue makes everything just perfect.



We had the keys to the castle!

Review submitted on Mon, 21 Dec 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Such an overwhelming surprise to have full run of a five story castle! Easy to book and rearrange when Covid caused problems. Met at an agreed time and given a full tour with all the necessary explanations of lights and security etc. Left to enjoy our castle with lots of luxury treats - coffee and goodies in our little kitchen, bath soaps and bedside chocolates! We booked the dinner too and our Chefs arrived to cook us a wonderful three course meal. We didn’t see the ghost although we did have fun with Mr Bat (although he was very well behaved!). The history tour in the morning was really interesting and much appreciated. Lulu and Katarina couldn’t have made us more welcome. We will definitely be back!!!



Amazing experience!

Review submitted on Mon, 14 Dec 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Beautiful place and great atmosphere having a whole castle to yourself. Dinner was delicious and very helpful staff.



Amazing Castle!!

Review submitted on Tue, 24 Nov 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
What an amazing experience! You book a room and have a whole castle to yourself and I can honestly say its one of the best places I've ever stayed. Katerina showed us around, she's knowledgeable and friendly. Then you're on your own! You have Queen Mary's Chamber, the bathroom, the lounge area and a small but perfect little kitchen. They were comfy with plenty of olde worlde atmosphere, two big log fires all set to go and plenty of logs to last the evening. The Internet worked better than mine does at home! Breakfast of smoked salmon cheese, yoghurt, cereal and a whole crusty loaf had been left just for us.
You can explore the whole castle! There's a lovely little museum upstairs, lots of information and a few relics n display that were found in the grounds. I'll be honest once it got late I was really scared so left the rest of the exploring to my granddaughter, who thought it would be fun to go on a ghost hunt!
I will absolutely be going back, thank you to the owners for giving me the opportunity to be Queen of the castle for one night!!




Amazing stay with quality service and products

Review submitted on Thu, 05 Nov 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had an amazing time. Lulu was very welcoming and took the time to tell us about the fascinating history of the castle.
It is a unique experience to be able to explore the castle all by ourselves. The dinner was high quality and very generous portions. The continental breakfast had a great range of fresh products. We would highly recommend.