FB Twitter

Queen Mary's Chamber

Queen Mary's Chamber

4.9
out of 5
Ratings from 64 reviews
100% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.9
Comfort
4.9
Condition
4.9
Location
5.0
Value
4.9
Customer
Service
4.9


Wonderful Historic Place to Stay with THE most Comfortable Bed!

Review submitted on Wed, 27 Mar 2024
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was a wonderful stay, in a unique piece of history. It was clean, and the food left for breakfast was delicious. The bed... oh the bed... it was one of the most comfortable beds I have slept in. Loved my night there.



Great castle stay

Review submitted on Thu, 21 Mar 2024
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We put off staying here for years as we didn't realise quite how extensive the castle was (the website really doesn't do the place justice...it says you can explore the castle but the lack of photos made us think there wasn't much else to it!). Beautiful castle, lots to explore, great views from the top, and the bedroom/living room were surprisingly warm and comfortable given how cold it was in March. Great continental breakfast left in the fridge. Highly recommend for a romantic night away.



Wonderful, truly unique and unforgettable experience

Review submitted on Thu, 14 Mar 2024
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed for 2 nights in Neidpath Castle to celebrate a 60th birthday. As we have a great interest in history and especially Scottish castles, it seemed like the perfect place to stay. We did have very high expectations but everything about our stay exceeded our expectations. Everything was just as described however both the castle and the Queen Mary's Chamber were bigger than we expected. It really was wonderful to stay in such an opulent suite and to be able to explore the castle at will. Being the castle's only (living) residents greatly enhanced the experience.
We were very glad that we opted for the private dinner on our second night, served by the lovely Chris at the dining table in our suite. Each of the 3 courses was truly delicious and the portion sizes were very generous. There is an extensive menu from which you pre-book your choices a week or so before you go.
We would definitely recommend staying for 2 nights (or more!) to give you time to relax, enjoy and explore.




Castle delight

Review submitted on Tue, 05 Mar 2024
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
What a wonderful place the best overnight stay accommodation I’ve stayed in.beautiful walks and a lovely cosy fire to come back to .



Extraordinary Stay

Review submitted on Sat, 17 Feb 2024
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
What an absolutely extraordinary place to stay. We felt as though we stepped back in time and could appreciate the history of Neidpath Castle. The dinner we had there was the best we have enjoyed yet!



Loved our Castle for a night

Review submitted on Wed, 14 Feb 2024
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
What a place l !!!, absolutely stunning, a full Castle to yourself, yes only you in the full Castle. My wife and I loved it, explored and relaxed in thr most unique setting, will be back, Loved it, Many thanks



Wonderful people, magical location

Review submitted on Mon, 15 Jan 2024
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Who doesn't want to stay in a castle? It was a magical weekend in a stunning location, and the hospitality from the Neidpath staff is always top notch.



Extraordinary experience

Review submitted on Sun, 14 Jan 2024
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
My wife and I had an unforgettable stay at Neidpath castle. Lulu was a wonderful host and a wealth of knowledge, one of those people you meet and never forget. Neidpath offers a special, one of a kind experience, a whole castle to yourself, and I would highly recommend a visit if you are looking for a unique castle stay.



Wondering stay

Review submitted on Sat, 06 Jan 2024
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had an amazing one night stay at Neidpath. We felt very lucky to get the whole castle to ourselves. Everything was perfect and they had left us snacks, smoked salmon for breakfast and toiletries. Customer service was very attentive!



Amazing Castle - all to yourself. A glimpse of what living in a castle would have been like.

Review submitted on Fri, 05 Jan 2024
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We stayed in 'Queen Mary's Chamber' for a special 60th birthday treat for 2 nights in January. You are provided with the front door key to the castle and are invited to explore everywhere. Very little has been done to the fabric of the castle since the 17th century, so it is easy to imagine what life would have been like living there hundreds of years' ago.
Queen Mary's Chamber is not the room that Mary, Queen of Scots would have stayed in, as the layout was changed after her visit. Where you stay is on the whole second floor of the castle, comprising a large bedroom and a large ante-room with a small pantry containing a fridge, kettle and coffee machine. This floor is heated by electric heaters and was warm in January - whilst the rest of the castle was unheated and cold. It was extremely cosy and romantic with a roaring real fire in the evenings.
Please note that there is no shower, just a shower attachment on the bath. The room was not made up during our stay.
The only complaints we had were relatively minor, but unexpected at a location with a premium price. (not provided with Bath sheets only large towels, only one small pot of Jam and marmalade for 2 people for 2 breakfasts, only 2 croissants ... we thought this food was just for one breakfast, but it wasn't replenished.)
Overall though, the castle situation trumps everything - simply brilliant and probably unique to have such freedom to call it your own castle, even if it was only for a day or two.




Rare Experience

Review submitted on Sun, 10 Dec 2023
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Not very often that you get a chance to stay in a piece of history, like the castle Neidpath...let alone have the entire castle to yourself. The Experience was not only unique but memorable. If Medieval history is something you are into then staying at Neidpath needs to be on your bucket list. Highly recommended!



Perfect Luxury Castle

Review submitted on Fri, 01 Dec 2023
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The most stunning castle in the perfect setting. We were met by a lovely host who showed us round the castle before leaving us for the night. Full access was allowed to all areas of the castle during our stay. The bedroom suite is authentic, whilst still comfortable and clean. Basic breakfast was left in the little kitchen and was fresh and good quality. Relaxing by the log fire in the evening in such grand surroundings is something I will never forget.



The perfect place for our wedding. This castle is something special.

Review submitted on Tue, 31 Oct 2023
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had the perfect day on our wedding at Neidpath. The building itself is simply beautiful. From the stunning grounds to the cinematic interior. It took our breath away when we first viewed it, but to see it on the big day, with the beaitiful flower displays the team provided, to the dramatic dinning room. Just amazing! The team were fantastic from start to finish. Friendly, approachable, and so helpful. They helped make the day as a special as it was. Thanks to everyone involved!



Castle fun!

Review submitted on Sat, 14 Oct 2023
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
It was by far the coolest stay, by far in my 21 day European trip. We were given the keys, told to explore and have fun. I wish I would haved stayed 2 nights!



Breathtaking

Review submitted on Thu, 12 Oct 2023
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
From beginning to end we thoroughly enjoyed every moment. The bed was very comfortable, the fridge was well stocked with a varied selection. The views from the window was outstanding looking down at the river Tweed. Overall, amazing experience and we certainly did not want to leave.



Enchanting!

Review submitted on Wed, 06 Sep 2023
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A delightful and truly special place: the experience is enchanting. Neidpath provided the perfect spot for our anniversary / renewals at Gretna and we would love to return.



An Incredible Experience!

Review submitted on Fri, 01 Sep 2023
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
I can't recommend this place enough! Staying at Neidpath Castle felt like a dream. It was so cool to explore the space, and the guest rooms are so cozy. Lighting a fire in the fireplace in Queen Mary's Chamber while a storm raged outside -- an experience I'll never forget. Lovely location, too! Really enjoyed the walk to Peebles along the river, and between the provided breakfast and the restaurants in town we had everything we needed. I wish we could have stayed longer! (And thank you for the book!)



Outstanding

Review submitted on Tue, 22 Aug 2023
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
One night here as a treat to reset my batteries and it was an absolute tonic. Check in procedure with Katarina was friendly and informative and then you are left to enjoy the castle in private. The rooms are beautifully appointed with antiques and the double bed is very comfortable. Little kitchen in a cupboard has everything you need for breakfast with a mini fridge freezer, coffee machine, kettle and toaster. Additional kitchen facilities in the commercial kitchen downstairs if needed. Breakfast included fruit, smoked salmon and cheeses as well as bread and oatcakes. Yoghurt and muesli also on offer. I look forward to escaping to one of the properties on the Barns Estate next time.



Feel like Royalty!

Review submitted on Sat, 12 Aug 2023
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
What better way to dial back in time and experience life in a castle? Who hasn’t dreamed of doing so? Dark and old, obviously, with multiple stairs and there may be bats and ghosts so not for the faint of heart. Was awoken to a crash which the caretaker confirmed may have indeed been a visit from a ghost, so a sound sleep may not be had by a light sleeper. The bed and bedding are comfortable and high quality and makings for breakfast was left for us. If it’s a memorizable stay with a short walk into town along the River for a meal and the chance to live a fairytale than this is your place!



Keys to the Castle!

Review submitted on Fri, 11 Aug 2023
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is a very unique experience. You get the keys to the entire castle. You can explore all the rooms and learn all the history. Remember, this is a very old castle - it is not a hotel. There is no TV and it can get chilly. But there are fireplaces and space heaters in all the rooms. And it can be a little spooky - it is a dark old castle - a bit dusty in places.

the castle is used for weddings and such, therefore there is a huge kitchen on the 2nd floor. In addition, there was a tiny kitchenette on the floor with our living/bedroom that was filled with the most delightful things. The host was very generous in the food supplies - we had planned lunch and dinner while there so we were unable to eat all she left.

It is about a 15 minute walk to the adorable village of Peebles. Which is fine when it is not raining, but let's face it - it rains a lot! The taxi service was very good.

the bed and linens were wonderful, very comfy. I liked sitting on the couches near the fireplace in the living room and reading. Higher wattage bulbs would be good, it is very dark in there even with all the lamps on.

We loved the 2 nights we spent there. Felt like we were a duke/duchess!




Nothing like it

Review submitted on Mon, 17 Jul 2023
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Staying in a castle like this is not something that you can just find easily. If you are reading this just book it as you won’t get something better



An awesome, special castle, lovely for a treat!

Review submitted on Wed, 12 Jul 2023
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Excerpt from Ode To Neidpath Castle
By Lord Andy of Portessie

Neidpath Castle was the chosen one,
A majestic fortress in the July summer sun,
Upon arrival, “Is it Castle enough?” I did say,
With my wife enthusiastically wailing “Yay! Yay! Yay!”

Off to Queen Mary’s Chamber we did trek,
Many a stair and no lift … blooming heck!
Queen Mary’s Chamber is a rustic treat,
With a great medieval charm that cannot be beat.

But not just Queen Mary’s Chamber lay in store,
For the whole of Neidpath Castle we could explore,
Up to the ramparts for a River Tweed view,
And down to the cellar with a well and a prison cell too.

With medieval music blasting from the Marshall amp,
And all the light dimmed away from the lamp,
A roaring fire was set ablaze to raise a toast,
To the 50th birthday of Queen Verónica of Neidpath Castle …. Oh, and also to the ghost!




so very different

Review submitted on Tue, 30 May 2023
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
we had a wonderful stay at the castle, just ours for the night, so very different from any where else we have stayed. We also had dinner and i would highly recommend booking dinner in the suite as the food is excellent, it adds to the experience and frankly it would be a waste of the time spent in the suite to be heading out somewhere else to eat. You feel that you want to stay in to enjoy every minute of being there.



Wonderful experience

Review submitted on Fri, 05 May 2023
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our stay at Neidpath Castle exceeded all expectations. Having the historic and fascinating castle on the Banks of the Tweed all to ourselves to explore and enjoy was an entirely unique experience even for well-seasoned travel veterans such as ourselves - a rare and splendid opportunity, not to be missed. Highly recommend ordering the excellent dinner prepared and served in Queen Mary's Chamber by the castle chef to top off the occasion in grand style.



A night in a castle, what more could you want?

Review submitted on Wed, 03 May 2023
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Everything during our stay in Neidpath was perfect. You could not dream of a more atmospheric and beautiful room to stay the night. The charms of the castle are simply the icing on an already hugely delicious cake. The Neidpath team are lovely and we felt absolutely pampered throughout our stay. Would hands down recommend to anyone.



Absolutely stunning venue and romantic get-away location, within perfect walking distance to Peebles

Review submitted on Mon, 10 Apr 2023
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed at Neidpath Castle on the most beautiful day in April; the views were clear and incredible. Katarina showed us round and was very helpful and friendly, and we were able to wander and explore the whole castle at our own leisure. IT was set up for weekend events, and looks like such a cool and romantic wedding venue. It was amazing to have the whole castle to ourselves to stay in for the night! It's the perfect walking distance to Peebles to get dinner or have a look round the shops, and the path along the river is stunning. We loved the room, the bed was so comfortable and everything, despite being clearly old and antique, is in great condition and clean. The room was perfectly warm with heaters that are adjustable, and a large open fire in the lounge just in case it was chillier. The bath is huge, and so comfortable, with plenty of hot water available to fill it. We were lucky enough to win our stay so I can't comment on value, but it was certainly a very fun and unique stay and I would 100% recommend it for something different to do (Especially if you love history and castles!).



a beautiful stay!

Review submitted on Thu, 23 Mar 2023
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
we recently traveled to Scotland and for 2 days we stayed in Queen Marys Chamber at Neidpath Castle in Peebles and we wouldnt change 1 thing about it. it was beautiful, the castle is fascinating and comfortable with a rich history, the staff was excellent, Chris and Duggie made us a masterful meal our first night, Tania keeps the place looking stunning, the grounds and surrounding area were immaculate and fun to search. we had a truly brilliant and relaxing time there and would absolutely go back AND will be telling everyone we know who wants to go to scotland and wants to stay in a castle to choose this very one. well done to everyone involved with that place and thank you all!!!



Amazing stay!

Review submitted on Thu, 23 Mar 2023
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed at Neidpath Castle for two nights to celebrate our 25th wedding anniversary. This was an amazing experience because it is a very old beautiful castle you get to have all to yourself if you stay in Queen Mary’s Room. It is so magical, sitting on a hill overlooking the River Tweed. You can walk along the river or all over the area. You can explore the castle and really make yourself at home. We had the chefs prepare our dinner one night, and we had the most amazing salmon. Everything was beyond amazing, beyond romantic- beyond 5 stars. The nearby village of Peebles is very beautiful too- lots of shops and restaurants and beautiful architecture. People joke about the weather in Scotland, but we were there in March and enjoyed sunshine, rain and snow- all were beautiful to see from the castle windows and balconies. We had a clear sky at night to see wonderful constellations from the balconies too. It was a once in a lifetime opportunity for us, but I hope we can visit Neidpath Castle again. I would love to have one of my daughters get married there. It’s just the most romantic place I’ve ever been. 5+stars!



Beautiful

Review submitted on Wed, 15 Mar 2023
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We loved our stay and wedding at Neidpath. The ned was really comfortable and the setting beautiful. My only criticism is that although we are married we found having the loo just behind a curtain a bit awkward and there tended to not use that loo and it was quite a long way to another one. However all the staff were lovely and so helpful and we felt really well looked after. We liked it so much we hope to visit for key anniversarys in the future.



A Very Special Experience

Review submitted on Thu, 09 Feb 2023
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We wanted somewhere special & different to stay for our 35th Wedding Anniversary, Neidpath Castle was certainly that. We've always been fascinated by castles & have visited many over the years, have even stayed in a couple of castle hotels but have never had the opportunity to have a castle all to ourselves.
We were met by Katerina & given a brief tour of the castle and shown where our little kitchen was & other useful info about keys and where the light switches were, some of which we would never have found. She then gave us the key & bade us farewell, it felt such a privilege to be entrusted with the key to this fabulous 14th century castle.
We opted to have caterers come in & cook our anniversary meal. We were sent a menu & had to give our choices 10 days before our arrival. The food was absolutely fantastic, huge portions too, so make sure you save enough room to do justice to the meal. We highly recommend this option, service was absolutely wonderful too.
We loved our lounge & Queen Mary's bedchamber, both were really cosy once we'd drawn the curtains & lit the fire, there were electric heaters too, so we were very comfortable.
In the morning we looked out & saw the sunrise, the grass was almost white with frost, we dashed out with our camera's to catch the castle bathed in the early morning sunlight, we were also lucky that there was a fabulous sunset that evening too. The castle is in such a beautiful location overlooking the river Tweed, it is a photographers delight.
We explored the castle from top to bottom, enjoying the beautiful views from the roof & exploring the levels below ground.
We loved every minute of our stay, it really was a very special experience.





Incredible and historic stay

Review submitted on Sat, 14 Jan 2023
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had an incredible stay here. Easy to get to, beautiful views, luxurious accommodations, and plenty of history to keep you fascinated. We highly recommend this castle hotel!



What An Experience

Review submitted on Thu, 12 Jan 2023
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The best experience,from the setting to the period features,so romantic and cosy, Loved the whole experience.



Rustic experience. Privileged to stay at such a unique location and piece of history.

Review submitted on Tue, 03 Jan 2023
3.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
2.0
Condition
2.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
3.0
I’m not sure how to rate the above questions.
We did really enjoy our stay…. Good location, but not we were expecting…. ALTHOUGH, it was a really good experience, a pleasant surprise. A castle all to ourselves, just very rustic. ( I thought we were going to a castle hotel, I think I’d say this was more of an Air bnb.) I do feel privileged that we could stay in such a unique place.




Unique

Review submitted on Sat, 13 Aug 2022
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Katarina was very welcoming, sorting our arrival and transfer just perfectly. If don't mind the odd spider this is perfect.



Anniversary treat

Review submitted on Mon, 01 Aug 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Incredible venue with a wonderful build up to the surprise stay I had planned for our anniversary. Superb tour of the building, excellent customer service and we were made to feel so special.
I put it down as excellent value for money and this was an indulgent treat for our anniversary, not cheap by any means, but that said its something we will never forget, and we definitely got something special here; beautiful location, peace and quiet, with access to the town and local countryside on the doorstep, we felt like guests but really did have a real castle to ourselves! It was fantastic and somewhere I would be happy to recommend to anyone looking for a similar experience




A truly fantastic place

Review submitted on Sat, 09 Jul 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This castle had everything we dreamed of. A medieval castle all to ourselves. Very nice surroundings. Fantastic experience for the kids who really loved exploring the secrets of the castle. Simply the perfect start to our grand tour of Scotland.



Amazing stay

Review submitted on Tue, 05 Jul 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed here for our 1st anniversary as we got married at the castle. Amazing stay in the beautiful castle. We had the meal which was lovely as well. We can’t wait to come back!!



Beautiful Castle and Grounds

Review submitted on Thu, 23 Jun 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The castle and surrounding area were gorgeous. The castle is so much fun to explore, and has some artifacts found in and around the castle.

We were greeted at arrival by LuLu who gave us a brief history of the castle and a tour. The kitchen and mini pantry in the room were both stocked with breakfast items, fruit, and snacks that lasted through our stay.

The accommodations were spacious and comfortable. The bed and linens were of good quality. There is a lovely large bath with a window that overlooks the river.

The castle was very dog friendly, with plenty of room for the dog to run on the grounds. The trail along the river was wonderful for morning hikes and a nice walk to town.

This was one of our favorite holidays and I wish we could have stayed longer.




Amazing experience

Review submitted on Mon, 20 Jun 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Staff were excellent and really made a difference. We were pleasantly surprised to learn that we had the whole castle to ourselves and took advantage of exploring.



A magical weekend!

Review submitted on Tue, 31 May 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
My husband and I stayed in the Queen Mary's Chamber for 2 nights over the weekend of our wedding and it was just the most incredible experience - there really is nothing quite like having an entire Medieval castle all to yourself! The room itself is so comfortable and just absolutely stunning. We loved every second of our stay and were so well looked after by Sandy, who is on hand for anything you need and goes the extra mile to make sure your stay is as special as can be. Fingers crossed we will come back in the future for an anniversary weekend!



An really incredible experience

Review submitted on Wed, 25 May 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
I had booked Queen Mary's Chamber for one night as the end of our two-week tour of Scotland and a special surprise for my fiancée. It was supposed to be something very special. Our expectations were absolutely exceeded. When do you ever have a castle to yourself?

We arrived by bus from Edinburgh to Peebles. From there we walked to the castle in about 25 minutes. There we were received punctually as arranged and briefed on everything technical and important. The bedroom with bathroom and living room including small kitchen and dining area are on one level on the 2nd floor. From there you can look at everything from the basement to the roof later alone via spiral staircases and larger staircase. It was really great and you had to be a little careful not to lose track of where you came out again with all the doors and rooms.

Later we made dinner and enjoyed the great bathtub with the big window. My night was a bit restless, because this building and the history is just overwhelming. And with all the noise, for example, from the wind blowing through the stairwell, more sensitive souls can get a little anxious. But you get used to it. My wife did not mind at all, she was absolutely not afraid, unlike me...

In the morning we made ourselves a super delicious breakfast from the richly filled refrigerator. At 10.00 o'clock we were then picked up again. We got a little extra tour, because we had overlooked that you could also go on the roof. The view there is really fantastic. Afterwards, we were even spontaneously taken into the city by car.

Our conclusion: A really unique great experience that was worthwhile and will be remembered for a long time. The price-performance ratio is absolutely appropriate for what you get and experience. For example, if you want to surprise your wife with something very special, you will definitely score points. ;-) And also the book about Neidpath Castle, that you can buy there when booking, is worthwhile, if you are interested in background and history (238 pages plus appendix). Thanks again for everything from Chris and Kathi to the team of Neidpath Castle!




Unexpected suprise

Review submitted on Sun, 22 May 2022
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We were thrilled to discover we had the whole castle. Best experience! Such an adventure and we loved it! Definitely recommend and will return.
My only side note is that the castle feels unloved and underappreciated.
Thanks for letting us share in the history of this extraordinary place.




Mary Queen of Scots Suite Stay

Review submitted on Wed, 04 May 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
There simply aren't enough words to describe how incredible and magical Neidpath Castle, and the stay experience, really is.

We stayed for 1 night as part of our honeymoon and really felt like king and queen.

Neidpath itself is breathtaking with all its history and character and how the castle has obviously been laced with all the mod cons anyone would need, with the emphasis very much being on the heritage and authenticity. The views and surrounding area along the river, with herons and kingfishers is breath taking.

In terms of customer service during our visit/stay we cannot praise and thank the estate team enough for their hospitality and attention to detail. The castle is reasonably warm throughout anyway, what with having a 10 foot thick exterior wall!, but the estate team had pre heated Queen Mary's chamber prior to our arrival so it was very warm and cosy when we got there. The fire was also prepared ready for us to simply light should we wish, and the provisions provided for breakfast were both plentiful and of great quality.

Anyone considering staying here as a one off/treat experience needs to stop thinking and just book it! We'll be back in a heartbeat if we get chance. The most surprising aspect of the stay was we were expecting a tour of the castle when we got there and to simply have access to Queen Mary's chamber for the duration of our stay... Oh no my friend, the estate team member showed us round and upon leaving gave us the keys(!). So you have full, uninterrupted run of the castle to explore at your leisure during your stay. You really can be King and Queen of Neidpath during this experience! Purely magical.




Fabulous stay in a castle with tremendous views

Review submitted on Sun, 17 Apr 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A wonderful stay to celebrate our sixtieth birthdays. Beautiful historic building but cosy and comfortable with lots of modern touches and breakfast treats. Katharina did a marvellous job checking us in and it was fascinating to have the whole castle to ourselves and be able to wander about and imagine what it must have been like centuries ago. There is a fully equipped kitchen you can have use of if you like. We chose to have private dining, for £65 pp we thought it was great value and a real treat. Chrissie and Dougie who are local to the area cook everything from scratch, had a delicious partridge starter and venison tagine. It really made our stay quite special and they were very attentive. Bed comfy, roaring fire, books, peace and the walks surrounding the castle and the River Tweed are amazing. Yet only a few minutes drive (or walk) from the town of Peebles. We would love to come back.



A very special and unique place to stay

Review submitted on Wed, 13 Apr 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Katarina met us on arrival and showed us around and made us feel very welcome.
Neidpath was our home for 3 nights, giving us plenty of time to explore and enjoy the castle from top to bottom.
Although we had seen photos online, nothing prepared us for the sheer beauty and size of it. We couldn't believe the whole place was ours during our stay.
Queen Mary's Chamber was warm and the accommodation comfortable and luxurious. The Highland Soap Company toiletries were a lovely treat.
We had a 4 course meal on our first night presented to us in our living room and there was a good selection of goodies in the kitchen for our breakfasts.
We walked into Peebles a few times - the walk back on the other side of the river proved challenging in places but enjoyable.

This was a unique and memorable place to stay. A magical experience. We didn't want to leave.





Unique idyllic castle experience

Review submitted on Tue, 08 Mar 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Highly recommend this absolutely stunningly place. Katarina the host was excellent, as was the catering



Our stay at Neidpath castl

Review submitted on Sat, 26 Feb 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Had a perfect visit , such an experience , already recommended to friends who will be in touch to make a booking ,
Lots of little touches made our stay a pleasant time
Will be back for sure , total relaxation
Many thanks Kathryn and Nigel Brunskill




King and queen of the castle

Review submitted on Sat, 12 Feb 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Fantastic stay in the castle for the price might seem a lot to some but to sleep in a castle all to your self where Mary Queen of Scots stayed small price to pay for a piece of history . We explored the castle from top to bottom and the grounds wonderful place .just one thing my wife had a bath then I had a shower water for me was cool to warm not hot that was the only thing small thing unforgettable visit



Amazing!

Review submitted on Wed, 20 Oct 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
I cannot begin to describe what a fabulous experience our visit to Neidpath was! From the warm welcome from Katarina, who met us on arrival and gave us a tour of the castle and then left us to explore, it was all fantastic. We had decided to self cater but asked for the cheese board. Christine arrived with this and also made us very welcome and was kind enough to take lots of photos for us. Thanks Christine!
When we left in the morning Katarina took the time to answer all of our questions about the castle and knew the full history, many thanks Katarina!
I must also thank Rachel of Neidpath Estates who looked after our booking before our arrival who kept us informed and answered all of our questions. Thank you Rachel!
I admit I was hesitant when my better half suggested it but I can only say if you want a unique experience do it!
Top marks to team Neidpath!




Magical

Review submitted on Sun, 10 Oct 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
What a magnificent couple of nights stay at this Castle. From start to finish, the stay was just incredible. The host was informative and friendly and makes you feel straight at home. Will definitely be looking to stay here again, who wouldn't want a full castle to themselves?



Magical day and experience

Review submitted on Sun, 26 Sep 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a magical, fabulous and wonderful time in Neidpath Castle, even the weather was great as well!!
Our wedding was fabulous and perfect in every way.

The castle was beautifully decorated with flowers and candles everywhere. We got lots of pretty and thoughtful details such as, flags on the castle, luxury bath accessories, our fridge was full with delicious food and nicely prepared art and craft area for the children and they helped with our dog as well during the ceremony which was very kind of them.

The Neidpath castle host and decorator were super kind and very helpful. We got lots of useful tips and support for them before and during our wedding. Thank you very much again!

We were so happy to share our big day with our dog, Bonnie and with our guests. Everyone said they had the best time ever and they would never forget this amazing experience. Many thanks!

Warm wishes
Douglas and Emese
XX




Neidpath ghost hunt

Review submitted on Tue, 14 Sep 2021
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
5.0
An amazing castle in an amazing location. Fantastic and warm service with lots of interesting facts given too.
Would definitely recommend to everyone to experience and would go back in a heartbeat.

My wife and daughter went for a ghost hunt. We did speak to a few spirits and learned some very interesting information that puts a different spin on the history of the building.

Can't say enough great things about the experience, but incredibly grateful for the wonderful night we had. Not every day you get a castle to yourself for a night.




An experience of a life time to stay in a 14th Century castle in such a beautiful setting.

Review submitted on Fri, 16 Jul 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Everything about our stay in Neidpath Castle was wonderful and felt special. The person who welcomed us and showed us around was great and informative about the building. Delicious breakfast in the fridge, plenty of logs for the fire which we lit to complete the beauty of the Sitting Room. We loved the ‘left decoration’ allowing the wonderful patination to show on the walls and the wall of cupboards. The views are stunning from every window, amazing and interesting tapestries. An extraordinary place to be on our own with our Labrador who seemed to enjoy being there as much as us. Thank you to the owner of Neidpath Castle. We can understand why Mary Queen of Scots felt safe there.



A unique experience in a unique setting!

Review submitted on Tue, 06 Jul 2021
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was a special treat for my husband’s big birthday and it did not disappoint! To have an entire castle to ourselves was a unique experience and we spent lots of time exploring all the various nooks and crannies. The castle has been cleverly restored but not overdone so it still retains its ancient feel and ambience.
Everything we needed (plus lots more) was there, including lovely toiletries, a tiny kitchen in a cupboard as well as a fully equipped kitchen on a different floor. The dinky kitchen was well-stocked with yummy breakfast goodies, which was a lovely surprise.
We booked dinner and this was superb, served in the living room part of Queen Mary’s Chamber.
Although pricey, it was definitely worth spending 2 nights here as it gave enough time to properly settle in and enjoy the wonderful experience of life in the castle, as well as taking lots of walks to explore the surroundings.
To also be able to bring our well-behaved dog was just perfect!
On the lead up to our stay, communication was excellent and Katarina was there to greet us when we arrived. She showed us around and made us feel very welcome.
A truly unique experience!




Stunning

Review submitted on Thu, 01 Jul 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Second stay and even more magical than the first one. A castle steeped in history and where I get to explore the whole place! Fabulous. Enjoyed walking in surrounding area and swimming in the river. The bed is comfy, the fire is toasty, the views amazing.



Wonderful castle stay

Review submitted on Sat, 26 Jun 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Neidpath Castle is a wonderful venue for a special occasion. We stayed for our 25th wedding anniversary and it was superb. Beautifully restored historic castle to ourselves. Luxurious accommodation in the bedroom itself and such a unique space to stay in. Evening meal was absolutely delicious - catered well for the vegetarian and the game lover in our party of two!! Tasty, quality breakfast supplied too for us to have in privacy in the morning. Highly recommend to anyone looking for something unique and a bit different to celebrate a special occasion.



Amazing Experience

Review submitted on Tue, 15 Jun 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Where can you have the keys to a castle for a night! Amazing place in the most beautiful setting and totally in keeping with the history and character of the castle. Queen Mary’s Chamber is spacious but cosy, intimate and comfortable with lots of little luxurious extras. Really memorable experience and would love to return.



Excellent weekend away

Review submitted on Mon, 03 May 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Met on arrival. Shown round castle. We booked two nights for external catering to come in (Chris & Dougie). Food was beyond excellent. Rooms were clean & tidy etc. Didn't want or stick for anything. Absolutely no hassles. Lots of walking to be done around the castle. Everything met our high expectations but do remember its a centuries old castle with lots of steps , old doors, fireplaces etc. Castle is steeped in history & Mary Queen of Scots once stopped off for a coffee (i made up the coffee bit but she did stay there). There is a resident ghost but unfortunately he never showed face during our visit. Total silence in the evening. Watch the deer early in the morning drinking in the river below.



The most beautiful place to stay

Review submitted on Tue, 23 Mar 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
My husband and I stayed at Neidpath Castle on the weekend of our mini wedding. The castle staff were so helpful and accomodating, making us feel so relaxed. We couldn't have asked for a more beautiful place to get married and to stay. Queen Mary's Chamber is an amazing suite with everything we could need or want. The bath was possibly my favourite part of the suit, so comfy and with such a gorgeous view. We cannot wait to stay again!



Hogmanay Wedding at the Castle

Review submitted on Sat, 09 Jan 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
What can I say, this is the most wonderful and historical place I have ever stayed, and at a most beautiful time of year surrounded by snow, it was truly a winter wonderland. A perfect blend of ancient and modern, the Queen Mary suite is toasty and warm, even in the middle of winter. From the roll top bath with views over the River Tweed below, to the four-poster bed fit for a Queen, to the roaring fire in the bedroom, what better way to wake up on the morning after your wedding! You have the whole castle from the rooftop to the dungeons to yourself, yet if you want some Venison for supper from the estate, Lulu can whistle some up with a chef to cook to your liking and serve you like a King. Absolutely fabulous, thank you, Lulu, your personal touch combined with such an exquisite venue makes everything just perfect.



We had the keys to the castle!

Review submitted on Mon, 21 Dec 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Such an overwhelming surprise to have full run of a five story castle! Easy to book and rearrange when Covid caused problems. Met at an agreed time and given a full tour with all the necessary explanations of lights and security etc. Left to enjoy our castle with lots of luxury treats - coffee and goodies in our little kitchen, bath soaps and bedside chocolates! We booked the dinner too and our Chefs arrived to cook us a wonderful three course meal. We didn’t see the ghost although we did have fun with Mr Bat (although he was very well behaved!). The history tour in the morning was really interesting and much appreciated. Lulu and Katarina couldn’t have made us more welcome. We will definitely be back!!!



Amazing experience!

Review submitted on Mon, 14 Dec 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Beautiful place and great atmosphere having a whole castle to yourself. Dinner was delicious and very helpful staff.



Amazing Castle!!

Review submitted on Tue, 24 Nov 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
What an amazing experience! You book a room and have a whole castle to yourself and I can honestly say its one of the best places I've ever stayed. Katerina showed us around, she's knowledgeable and friendly. Then you're on your own! You have Queen Mary's Chamber, the bathroom, the lounge area and a small but perfect little kitchen. They were comfy with plenty of olde worlde atmosphere, two big log fires all set to go and plenty of logs to last the evening. The Internet worked better than mine does at home! Breakfast of smoked salmon cheese, yoghurt, cereal and a whole crusty loaf had been left just for us.
You can explore the whole castle! There's a lovely little museum upstairs, lots of information and a few relics n display that were found in the grounds. I'll be honest once it got late I was really scared so left the rest of the exploring to my granddaughter, who thought it would be fun to go on a ghost hunt!
I will absolutely be going back, thank you to the owners for giving me the opportunity to be Queen of the castle for one night!!




Amazing stay with quality service and products

Review submitted on Thu, 05 Nov 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had an amazing time. Lulu was very welcoming and took the time to tell us about the fascinating history of the castle.
It is a unique experience to be able to explore the castle all by ourselves. The dinner was high quality and very generous portions. The continental breakfast had a great range of fresh products. We would highly recommend.