FB Twitter

Otters View

Otters View

4.5
out of 5
Ratings from 16 reviews
94% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.5
Comfort
4.6
Condition
4.4
Location
4.6
Value
4.2
Customer
Service
4.7


The 4th Underground House to join the family! This home in the hill is a perfect getaway from the hustle and bustle of today. The beautifully rounded windows provide a feeling of being truly hidden away in the hills, whilst allowing the natural light to pour in! Perfectly equipped with everything you need for a relaxing break - two king-size bedrooms and a child's bunk room.

Overall great little getaway

Review submitted on Mon, 26 Feb 2024
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
As a party of two the Otters view was a perfect option for a little getaway, easy arrival with no fuss settling in. Very clean, Ample space, very comforting location, and as a big LOTR’s fan the hobbit lodge was a perfect choice.

Would definitely visit again.





2 nights at Otters View

Review submitted on Sat, 17 Feb 2024
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We spent 2 nights at Otters View, 2 adults, 3 teens and our dog. Everyone loved the hobbit hole! The hot tub was a hit with us all - the view was amazing across the Valley. We walked in the Elan Valley and took advantage of the local chippy in Rhayader - so friendly and great food. Would definitely recommend as an unusual and lovely place to stay.



Perfect getaway

Review submitted on Sat, 10 Feb 2024
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Just what we needed for a relaxing getaway. Even with the rain, it was such a beautiful place and gave us the perfect opportunity to unwind. The views were perfect, especially the cows. The underground house was even better than expected, very cosy and every detail was very well thought. Will definitely be staying again in the future!



Cosy Hobbit getaway!

Review submitted on Sun, 15 Oct 2023
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
3.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
5.0
I booked this a little getaway for myself, wife, baby & father in law. Reading 3 x bedrooms on Sykes I gathered it would be 3 bedrooms. One bedroom is simply a bunk bed in a fitted wardrobe. But that is an oversight from myself, not checking the photographs. I think ‘sleeps 6’ is a slight mis-sale as 6 adults in the space would be extremely cosy.

The location is stunning & easily found. Upon arrival you are blown away by landscape & the multiple hobbit holes & shepherds huts! Can’t knock it.

Customer service was clear & quick. And we were greeted by a clean, very warm unique hole. The shower room is looking a tad aged & could need a refresh in seals.

The main bedroom has an odd curtain set up in which they don’t actually make it all the way across the window. Which when lying in there at night with light on, makes you feel a tad exposed & when the sun comes up, it blocks little. But the rooms were clean, comfy & modern,

The floor due to movement is very creaky which with our baby was a nightmare but you can’t help that with the fact it’s semi underground.

Hot tub was amazing. Biscuits, tea & coffee left were lovely too. Local town has enough to do, cafes & pubs & shops. Not far from Elan Valley!

I just think if being honest, it was a tad expensive for the space you actually get. We did a week at centreparcs off season for £100 less. If above ground I feel it would be essentially a shepherds hut. Slightly more affordable during off peak I think. Needs better ventilation options as it was only the doors. Which I imagine in the summer would be HOT.

I would return though, if I caught a good deal & I’ve already recommended to everyone.




Nice but expensive

Review submitted on Thu, 12 Oct 2023
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
5.0
I loved the hobbit holes and have wanted to stay in them for ages but they are very booked up. I thought they were great but expensive for what they were. As they are pricey then expectations are naturally high. The plug socket didn’t work near the dresser so not anywhere to properly get ready in main bedroom, also curtains only available on the door and not the side windows so lack of privacy and let’s light in. Due to no windows there’s a musty smell in the second bedroom. A welcome hamper would have been a nice touch given the cost to stay in these, other less pricey places in wales we have been given Welsh welcome hampers.

Hot tub was great and could adjust the temp. Lack of privacy though.




Amazing experience

Review submitted on Thu, 28 Sep 2023
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have stayed on site before in one of the pods but wanted to try the hobbit house, it did not disappoint!
It was amazing! So cosy, comfortable, even in the rain we just stayed in and chilled! The dog loved it too!
Hot tub was lovely outside, wish we had the weather to be able to sit out but that can’t be helped! Would definitely like to return one day, highly recommend!




We loved our stay in the hobbit homes

Review submitted on Mon, 18 Sep 2023
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We loved our stay in Otters view. Situated on a stunning hillside with great views all round, immaculately kept inside and out, it was a great stay for 4 adults and two dogs. We would certainly recommend! Customer service was also great, and it was easy to get in contact for details and arrangements on the property. Highly recommend turning off all the lights on a clear evening in the hot tub to enjoy the star lit sky we also enjoyed our luxury log package for the fire pit!
Our only recommendation would be to bring fans for the bedrooms if you are staying in warmer months as we found the property to be very warm, or perhaps if there was a possibility to include netting for the doors so that you could leave them open in the evenings without attracting bugs it would be a great plus!!




HolidaysWales replied 161 days ago
Thank you, we are so pleased you had such a lovely time. And thanks for your suggestions we will pass these onto the owners

Otters view

Review submitted on Fri, 25 Aug 2023
2.8
out of 5

Guest doesn't recommend this property
Cleanliness
2.0
Comfort
2.0
Condition
2.0
Location
3.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We missed the signage on our accommodation arriving after the 4pm check in time we found lots of accommodation already occupied and as there was a lady standing outside “otters view” with a Tesco carrier bag smoking a cigarette we disregarded the accommodation as occupied- not the best first impression.

The accommodation was very dusty and not a pleasant smell which lingered throughout. Also, be mindful of the fridge if you plan to take food we stored an expensive M and S food shop in the fridge which froze it all so was all unusable which was very costly. Some lovely local pubs serving food.

We slept on the bunk beds unfortunately as one of the double bedrooms was unusable as the curtains did not fit the door letting in lots of light and in the other double bedroom the bed was very uncomfortable.

On a positive note the location was beautiful, peaceful and Elan Valley was well worth a visit.

The children loved the hot tub and it was a great addition to the property.




Suze Owen replied 184 days ago
Thank you for your feedback, we're sorry to hear you found Otters View not to your liking. Its a lovely property and we do find the majority of our guests leave happy. Had you made us aware of any issues you had we would have tried to resolve them whilst you were here. We have checked the beds and ordered a replacement mattress so thank you for pointing this out, we do hope the 3 children were able to sleep ok in the main bedrooms. With regards to the fridge-there is a dial inside and this may unfortunately have been knocked when you stored the food. The properties are cleaned thoroughly on the day of arrival and we pride ourselves on our levels of cleanliness. We are pleased the children loved the hot tub.

a lovely place

Review submitted on Sun, 20 Aug 2023
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
brilliant holiday. nice and cozy inside, hot tub was great, especially once it goes dark if it's a clear night, ive never seen so many stars.
lovely view of the surrounding area and some beautiful cows in the field.
rhayader town just down the road for any supplies and the roads around there are amazing if you like driving.

would definitely recommend and will hopefully be going back.




Suze Owen replied 184 days ago
Thank you for your lovely words, we are so pleased you enjoyed your holiday. The stargazing is fab!

Amazing

Review submitted on Sat, 29 Jul 2023
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
I honestly can't recommend Otters View enough. The accommodation is amazing, it is definitely a holiday we will never forget.



Suze Owen replied 184 days ago
Thank you for your lovely review, we are so pleased you had a fabulous holiday with lasting memories

Lovely retreat in Hobbit house

Review submitted on Sat, 17 Jun 2023
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We had a lovely get away in fun Hobbit house . Our 7yo son loved the style of the Hobbit house and really loved that his bedroom
Was in a cupboard- super fun!! 87 yo Great Grandma enjoy it too especially added bonus of the Hot tub and view!! Overall fab 2night stay in little gem Hobbit House what experience!!




Suze Owen replied 184 days ago
We love this review! Thankyou

Stunning views and fun accommodation for a long weekend

Review submitted on Tue, 06 Jun 2023
3.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Well appointed accommodation. Loved the hot tub and the fire pit. Only 4 seats outdoors and sleeps 6. Great for children. Beautiful views and although several properties on the site it was quiet even though full. Recommend Lion Pony trekking and seeing the Red Kite feeding. Book ahead if wishing to eat out.



Suze Owen replied 184 days ago
Thank you!

Great holiday stay

Review submitted on Sat, 03 Jun 2023
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Great location, very comfortable place with good amenities. Hot tub was very relaxing. Very good customer service before and during our stay. Would highly recommend and we will definitely be returning here again.



Suze Owen replied 184 days ago
Thank you so much, we look forward to seeing you again in the future

A proper hidden gem

Review submitted on Tue, 09 May 2023
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Location, surroundings accommodation were incredible. So peaceful and literally everything u need in kitchen provided cant believe I was lucky enough to find this with a few days notice crazy it wasn't already booked, only negative from a perfect score was one of mattresses kept waking us up due to be a spring mattress and very loud when u move but switched to the other room and slept amazing.... requested some logs for fire and delivered straight to door from the friendly host.... hot tub perfect, shower perfect cant wait to return this time without a toddler to really relax



Suze Owen replied 184 days ago
Thank you! We look forward to seeing you again for a relaxing toddler free holiday! ( a new mattress is on order-thanks for letting us know)

Another fab stay

Review submitted on Tue, 25 Apr 2023
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Really enjoyed our self on our return to this amazing place. Has lots of relaxation and lovely walks. Location is fab and hosts are great



Suze Owen replied 184 days ago
Thank you Claire, we love having you! Look forward to seeing you again soon :)

Lovely stay, beautiful place

Review submitted on Sun, 26 Feb 2023
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Really enjoyed our overnight stay, really comfy beds and rooms with a cosy feel.
Loved the decor and layout of the bedrooms and the beds were super cosy!

Just a few things to suggest, it was great to have the coffee machine there but it was blocked so couldn't use it for the coffee.
There were only 3 of us staying so we were fine on the sofa but it would probably be a tight squeeze with 6. A small coffee table would be good too as once your sat down, your worried about drink spillage as nowhere to put them.






Suze Owen replied 184 days ago
So pleased you loved Otters View. Thank you for your feedback, we will look into these ideas