FB Twitter

Briar Cottage

Briar Cottage

4.7
out of 5
Ratings from 18 reviews
100% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.7
Comfort
4.7
Condition
4.7
Location
4.8
Value
4.8
Customer
Service
4.6


Briar Cottage, dating from the 18th century, recently renovated to reveal some of its once original features, is part of a small, interesting, terrace which sits on the fringe of a cobbled area looking out towards the torn ramparts of Middleham Castle. Peaceful space to the rear of the cottage, a real sun trap. Enjoy the race horses going by for their daily exercise and the many nooks and crannies in the village. Wonderful walks from the doorstep, walk to Hullo Bridge and down to Cover Bridge or into Coverdale. Go along the Gallops to Penhill. Easy travelling to Leyburn, Bedale, Hawes and all the little villages in between.

Lovely cosy cottage

Review submitted on Sun, 27 Nov 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have stayed here many times and at different times of the year. Autumn months are our favourite when we can make use of the lovely open fire. Especially good this time to be able to watch a good selection of films in the evening on the upgraded TV.
Spring/summer it's lovely to either sit outside at the back of the cottage in the lovely quiet courtyard or at the front watching the racehorses trotting by with the castle as a backdrop.




Nadine at Country Hideaways replied 61 days ago
Thank you so much for leaving your lovely review for Briar Cottage in Middleham and really good to hear you continue to enjoy your holidays there. You make it sound just perfect whatever time of year you might come. We'll very much look forward to welcoming you again when you're ready to return! Nadine

Middleham break

Review submitted on Tue, 15 Nov 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
I would thoroughly recommend Briar cottage and Middleham for a break/ holiday great location good value for money easy to book 1min walk from shop and pubs. Directly opposite Middleham Castle. I have now stayed 3 times at this cottage and can't recommend it highly enough



Joanne at Country Hideaways replied 70 days ago
Thank you so much for leaving a 5 star review. Really pleased you have enjoyed another stay at Briar Cottage. We look forward to hearing from you when you are ready to return for another holiday. Joanne

Lovely Stay

Review submitted on Wed, 12 Oct 2022
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Enjoyed the comfortable accommodations . Everything needed was right there in the cottage. Cottage was warm, lots of hot water. Very quiet neighborhood . Good central location for touring the Dales.



Nadine at Country Hideaways replied 106 days ago
Great to hear you had a lovely stay at Briar Cottage in Middleham and you found everything you needed there. Thank you for leaving your review and we'll very much look forward to welcoming you again when you're ready to return. Nadine

Brilliant

Review submitted on Wed, 05 Oct 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Just love this cottage (our third stay) and location. Great to see the horses every day - really special



Nadine at Country Hideaways replied 114 days ago
Thank you so much for leaving your lovely review for Briar Cottage in Middleham, really pleased you enjoyed your third visit to the cottage. We'll very much look forward to welcoming you for your fourth stay! Nadine

A beautiful cottage in a fabulous location. A sunning and very comfortable interior.

Review submitted on Sun, 02 Oct 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A beautiful period cottage in a stunning location for walks. The view of the castle and the race horses is wonderful. The interior of the cottage is of a very high specification and truly mirrors the the history of the village where Richard 3rd was born and it’s horse racing history! An amazing experience that we are eager to repeat.



Nadine at Country Hideaways replied 116 days ago
What a really super review for Briar Cottage in Middleham, thank you so much for taking the time to write. Great to hear you found staying in the dales and at the cottage an amazing experience. We'll very much look forward to welcoming you again when you're ready to return! Nadine

Lovely week at Briar Cottage

Review submitted on Sat, 03 Sep 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
I had a wonderful time at Briar Cottage stunning location just opposite the Castle.

The cottage is beautiful I will definitely come back again




Nadine at Country Hideaways replied 143 days ago
Great to hear you had a wonderful time at Briar Cottage in Middleham, thank you for leaving your lovely review. We'll very much look forward to welcoming you again when you're ready to return. Nadine

One of the best cottages we have stayed in. d in.

Review submitted on Sat, 13 Aug 2022
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We really enjoyed our stay, one of the best cottages we have used, great layout. Parking easy, lots to see in easy reach, pubs, local shop and coffee cafe all good, hope you like horses!!



Nadine at Country Hideaways replied 166 days ago
So pleased to hear you feel Briar Cottage is one of the best cottages you have stayed in and that you enjoyed Middleham too. Thank you so much for leaving your lovely review and we'll look forward to welcoming you again when you're ready to return. Nadine

Briar Cottage

Review submitted on Fri, 05 Aug 2022
3.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
2.0
A lovely location and a cosy cottage. Very quiet and brilliantly situated for The Dales and NYorks. Good local shop and eateries within walking distance. Dog essentials thoughtfully provided.



Nadine at Country Hideaways replied 172 days ago
Thank you so much for taking the time to leave your review for Briar Cottage in Middleham and great to hear you found the cottage cosy and in a lovely, quiet location but easy walking distance to the shop and eateries. We'll very much look forward to welcoming you again when you're ready to return. Nadine

An absolute gem

Review submitted on Sat, 09 Jul 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A wonderful cottage in a delightful location. Excellent off road parking outside the front door, great layout snd decor inside and beautiful patio area with table/chaurs/umbrella outside at the back. Everything in good working order. A lovely home from home. Middleham is a brilliant base for exploring Wensleydale and we have loved being here.



Nadine at Country Hideaways replied 199 days ago
Thank you so much for leaving your lovely review for Briar Cottage in Middleham and good to know you found the cottage a home from home. We'll very much look forward to hearing from you again when you're ready to return. Nadine

Middleham getaway

Review submitted on Sun, 19 Jun 2022
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
I would thoroughly recommend booking this cottage for a stay in Middleham all amenities easily accessible shop and pubs 2 minute walk right opposite Middleham Castle. Good value for money cottage is kept immaculate facilities are all good rooms and beds really comfortable and clean



Nadine at Country Hideaways replied 221 days ago
Thank you for taking the time to leave your lovely, helpful review for Briar Cottage and that you would thoroughly recommend the cottage for a stay in Middleham. We'll look forward to your return next year. Nadine

Great Short break.

Review submitted on Mon, 30 May 2022
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Had a great short break in Briar Cottage. Can't fault the location, or the cottage itself. It's on the small side, but perfectly adequate for 3 adults for 3 nights.



Nadine at Country Hideaways replied 242 days ago
Lovely to hear you had a great short break at Briar Cottage in Middleham. Thank you taking the time to leave your helpful review. We'll very much look forward to hearing from you again when you're ready to return. Nadine

Long weekend in Middleham

Review submitted on Sun, 24 Apr 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Excellent cottage in an excellent location. We all enjoyed watching the horses going out to the gallops in the morning. The garden area at the back of the cottage was a bonus at this time of year as it is a beautiful suntrap in the afternoons.
A good choice of location to share the delights of the Dales with our family.




Joanne at Country Hideaways replied 274 days ago
So pleased you enjoyed the cottage and the location, and thank you for leaving a 5 star review. We hope to hear from you again when you are ready to explore the dales again. Joanne

A lovely village with friendly residents

Review submitted on Mon, 03 Jan 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A homely cottage in a good position ,home from home you can just park up an forget the world we live in



Joanne at Country Hideaways replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you so much for leaving a review, we're glad you enjoyed Middleham and Briar Cottage. We'd love to hear from you again when you are ready to return to the dales. Joanne

Horse Whispers

Review submitted on Thu, 28 Oct 2021
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Lovely cottage excellent location very cosy enjoyed our stay as we have also experienced in the past. Superb break!!



Nadine at Country Hideaways. replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you so much for leaving a review for Briar Cottage and very pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay at the cottage. We'll look forward to hearing from you again when you're ready to return. Nadine

Briar Cottage Middleham Nice Village Nice Cottage

Review submitted on Sun, 26 Sep 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Middleham is situated close to Leybrun and Wensleydale and for us made a good base for exploring most of the Dales. There are more central locations but the village with its shop, chippy, and two pubs not to mention a castle that was once home to Richard the third has everything you need. The sound of the local racing stables taking their horses up to be trained on Middleham Low Moor in the mornings adds a lovely feel to the village. The cottage was ideal for myself my wife and our Springer Spaniel. It was clean well maintained and although not the biggest was fine for the three of us. I would recommend a stay in this cottage and the lovely village it is situated in.



Nadine at Country Hideaways. replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for leaving such a lovely review about Briar Cottage in Middleham. Good to hear you enjoyed your stay and would recommend the cottage to others. Looking forward to hearing from you again when you're ready to return. Nadine

Great spot

Review submitted on Tue, 07 Sep 2021
3.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
2.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
3.0
Great location and easy access main roads, loved watching the horses. good size bedrooms and plenty space in the living areas. Courtyard garden nice particularly with the sun out.



Joanne at Country Hideaways replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for leaving a review for Briar Cottage, we agree it is a great location to stay. Hope to hear from you again when you are ready to revisit the dales.

Lovely cottage, good location

Review submitted on Mon, 23 Aug 2021
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was a lovely cottage in a very good location. I’ve missed the clip-clop of horses’ hooves since we left. We’ve only visited The Dales briefly before and I was very impressed with the scenery and architectural and historic heritage. Wonderful for walks and with some lovely pubs.



Nadine at Country Hideaways. replied more than 1 year ago
So pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay Briar Cottage in Middleham and exploring the Dales. We love the Dales, but of course we're totally biased! We'll very much look forward to hearing from you again when you're ready to return. Nadine

Perfect location, perfect cottage, very comfortable

Review submitted on Fri, 30 Jul 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Briar Cottage was perfectly located and was very comfortable, spacious and had everything our family needed for our week away in the Yorkshire Dales including an idyllic little back garden to enjoy the evening sunshine in. The village was stunning, and including a good range of pubs with great food, a well-stocked shop, and plenty of lovely walks on the doorstep including a lovely walk to the river perfect for the kids to go paddling in.

We will definitely book again!




Nadine at Country Hideaways. replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you so much for your lovely review about Briar Cottage, very pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay there, the village and the walking! We'll look forward to welcoming you again when you're ready to return. Nadine