FB Twitter

Burnside View

Burnside View

4.9
out of 5
Ratings from 21 reviews
100% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.9
Comfort
4.9
Condition
4.9
Location
5.0
Value
4.7
Customer
Service
5.0


Burnside View is a wonderful first floor apartment in a beautiful Victorian detached house, perfect for four, or spacious for two. Parking for one car at property otherwise street parking. Just a few minutes walk to the main market place in Hawes in upper Wensleydale. Hawes is the perfect place to explore the Yorkshire Dales National park, on foot, by car or whichever way takes your fancy! Leyburn, Sedburgh, the Settle Carlisle Railway, Aysgarth Falls.

Our second visit

Review submitted on Wed, 22 May 2024
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was our second visit to Burnside, it is an a very good location and very quiet. There are good walks from the door and many more 15 to 20 minutes drive away. Hawes has very good facilities, with shops, pubs, cafes and a very good chippie. The apartment is clean, comfortable and has everything you need for a stay. Would definitely stay again. Thanks



Nadine at Country Hideaways replied 3 days ago
Thank you so much for leaving your lovely, helpful review for Burnside View in Hawes, really very much appreciated. Good to know also that you enjoyed your second visit, I'm sure there will be many more walks for you to explore too. Have a look on our blog for ideas if you like. We'll very much look forward to welcoming you again when you're ready to return. Nadine

Spacious comfy apartment in good location

Review submitted on Tue, 07 May 2024
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Comfy, spacious, light apartment with great views front & back. Kitchen is small but well equipped with everything we needed and more. The spacious bedrooms have the comfiest beds and bedding of any holiday cottage we've stayed in! There was a problem with the heating during our stay but once we reported this to the caretaker and owner they both responded and also insisted on bringing a portable heater to supplement the heating and ensure we weren't cold.
The locations is handy for nipping into town were there are a good number of interesting shops, cafes, pubs. Walks from the door of whatever length or challenge you like. Further places to visit within a short drive. We look forward to a return visit to Burnside.




Nadine at Country Hideaways replied 17 days ago
Thank you so much for leaving such a lovely, helpful review for Burnside View in Hawes, really very much appreciated. So pleased you found everything you needed and were comfy in the apartment and enjoyed exploring the town and the hills! We'll very much look forward to welcoming you again when you're ready to return. Nadine

Another great holiday in this lovely flat

Review submitted on Sat, 16 Mar 2024
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We've been coming back to this flat for years - it's just perfect for us (couple who enjoy walking). The owners, Shirley and Steve, have put lots of personal touches (it doesn't feel like a rental, more like someone's special retreat). The beds are really comfy, rooms spacious and elegant, kitchen small but well-equipped, and a lovely deep bath is there for a soak when needed. It's perfectly located - a couple of hundred yards from the centre of town, easy walk to pubs and cafes. Parking spot right outside (off street). Has two bedrooms, would suit two couples.

Strongly recommend!

Trish and Fraser




Nadine at Country Hideaways replied 70 days ago
Thank you so much for leaving such a lovely, helpful review for Burnside View in Hawes, it is very much appreciated. It's so great to know you enjoy returning to this comfortable apartment and the glorious Yorkshire Dales. We'll very much look forward to welcoming you again when you're ready to return. Nadine

Perfect Apartment and Situation

Review submitted on Fri, 06 Oct 2023
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
I will start with contact with the owner before arriving - lovely lady and very informative and helpful. When we arrived we had a nice easy parking space. Entered the building and everywhere was extremely clean.
The apartment is very spacious with two good size bedrooms, comfortable and well equipped. The booklet covered everything you need to know.
The walk into Hawes is only a few hundred yards which was great so the situation of the building was just perfect.
I would definitely recommend this to anyone and if we came back to the area I wouldn’t look for anything else.
Thank you for a lovely stay.




Nadine at Country Hideaways replied 228 days ago
Thank you so much for leaving your lovely, helpful review for Burnside View in Hawes. So good to know you found a perfect apartment in a perfect situation. We'll very much look forward to welcoming you again when you're ready to return.

Great holiday in Burnside View

Review submitted on Tue, 26 Sep 2023
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Burnside View is a spacious and comfortable apartment, very well furnished and equipped. We enjoyed the fantastic views from the living-room and bedroom windows - what a wonderful landscape! We could start our hikes right from the doorstep, and shops, restaurants, pubs are just a short walk away. So we had a very relaxing holiday with minimum use of our car.

It was the fourth time we booked an apartment/ cottage with Country Hideways and enjoyed staying in each of them. Service and advice when I was booking was always very friendly and professional. Whenever we’re planning another holiday in the Dales we’ll get back to Country Hideaways.




Nadine at Country Hideaways replied 243 days ago
Thank you so much for leaving your lovely review for Burnside View in Hawes, greatly appreciated, and really good to know you continue to enjoy your holidays there. We'll very much look forward to welcoming you again when you're ready to return. Nadine

Home from home

Review submitted on Sat, 15 Jul 2023
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have been coming here for several years and have never been disappointed. The location is great, parking a bonus and the property itself has everything you could need. It is spacious and comfortable with beautiful views from every window. Lots of walks and places to visit in the local area. Plenty of places to eat and drink. Local shops and Tuesday market means it is also easy to cook at the flat. People very friendly and welcoming.



Nadine at Country Hideaways replied 316 days ago
We are really thrilled to know that you continue to enjoy your holidays at Burnside View in Hawes and thank you so much for leaving your lovely, helpful review. We're very much looking forward to welcoming you again when you're ready to return. Nadine

Another great stay in this lovely flat

Review submitted on Fri, 12 May 2023
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
I think this is our 10th time back. We just love this place. Nice big rooms, high ceilings, practical kitchen, our own parking space, comfortable beds, yards from the main drag but fabulous country views front and rear.



Nadine at Country Hideaways replied more than 1 year ago
Really good to know you continue to enjoy your holidays at Burnside View in Hawes, thank you so much for leaving your lovely review. We're very much looking forward to welcoming you again when you're ready to return! Nadine

Very nice apartment

Review submitted on Mon, 01 May 2023
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Very nice apartment, well equipped, clean and comfortable. Handy off-road parking and only a short walk to local shops. Lovely views from the windows. Good centre for longer walks.



Nadine at Country Hideaways replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you so much for leaving your lovely, helpful review for Burnside View in Hawes and that you found it a very nice apartment, really very much appreciated. We'll very much look forward to welcoming you again when you're ready to return. Nadine

Great stay

Review submitted on Fri, 29 Jul 2022
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We always love coming here. Comfortable beds, spacious living area, well equipped kitchen, great location, off-road parking space outside.



Nadine at Country Hideaways replied more than 1 year ago
So good to know you had another great holiday at Burnside View and you love staying there. Thank you for leaving your lovely review and we'll look forward to welcoming you again when you're ready to return! Nadine

Home from home

Review submitted on Fri, 22 Jul 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stay here every year and have never had any problems. It is a lovely apartment in a great spot. The parking space is a real bonus. Would recommend to anyone but worry we might miss our spot! The accommodation is very comfortable and everything you might need is there. Plenty to see and do close by and more if you are happy to travel further afield.





Nadine at Country Hideaways replied more than 1 year ago
We are so pleased to hear you enjoy your holidays at Burnside View in Hawes year after year. long may you continue to visit. Thank you for leaving your lovely review and we'll look forward to hearing from you again when you're ready to return. Nadine

Lovely stay in Hawes

Review submitted on Fri, 17 Jun 2022
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Well equipped apartment inc lots of useful local information. Lovely pubs and shops in Hawes. Beautiful area. Would definitely recommend.

Bridget and Michael




Nadine at Country Hideaways replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you so much for leaving your review for Burnside View in Hawes and good to hear you had a lovely stay there and would definitely recommend the property. We'll very much look forward to hearing from you again when you're ready to return. Nadine

My review

Review submitted on Fri, 06 May 2022
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely apartment. Very convenient for town and private parking space always a bonus. Would use this apartment again.



Nadine at Country Hideaways replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for leaving your review for Burnside View in Hawes and good to hear you found it a lovely apartment and yes we agree with you it is convenient for the town. We'll very much look forward to hearing from you again when you're ready to return. Nadine

Great stay

Review submitted on Fri, 06 May 2022
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We’ve stayed in this lovely flat many times. Another great week. Very close to town centre and many wonderful walks from the door. As always it was spotless when we arrived. Lovely bath to soak in. Comfortable beds (we have bad backs so that matters). Great views front and back.



Nadine at Country Hideaways replied more than 1 year ago
Good to hear you had another great week at Burnside View in Hawes. Thank you so much for leaving your lovely review and we'll look forward to welcoming you again when you're ready to return. Nadine

Burnside is a beautiful comfortable well equipped apartment.

Review submitted on Mon, 25 Oct 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A beautiful comfortable well equipped apartment. Beds and bed linen could not be more comfortable and that is very often not the case in many holiday letting properties. We have stayed here 4 times and each stay has been equally enjoyable. Obviously a well cherished apartment and you feel very looked after when you stay there. A brilliant place to stay with easy access to the village and to the many wonderful walks in the surrounding area. Thank you to the owners ⭐️



Nadine at Country Hideaways. replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for leaving such a lovely review for Burnside View, good to hear you had a comfortable stay and enjoyed the area. We'll very much look forward to welcoming you again when you're ready to return. Nadine

A perfect holiday home

Review submitted on Thu, 21 Oct 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have stayed here numerous times over the last few years and have never been disappointed. It is a lovely property and we are staying there again.



Joanne at Country Hideaways replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you so much for leaving a review, we look forward to welcoming you back

Excellent cottage with good walks nearby

Review submitted on Tue, 19 Oct 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The cottage was very clean, roomy and comfortable, with everything we needed for the week. Their are lovely views both front and back, it is only a few minutes walk into Hawes for good shops and pubs. We only used our car once during the stay, as there are plenty of walks from the front door. Also worth a visit are the Wensleydale creamery and the Dale's museum at the back of the apartment. Would definitely stay again.



Joanne at Country Hideaways replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for leaving a review for your stay, so pleased you enjoyed your week here. We look forward to welcoming you back when you are ready to visit again

Comfortable apartment

Review submitted on Fri, 24 Sep 2021
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Burnside View is well located on the edge of Hawes town, but within easy walking distance.
It is comfortable, spacious, clean, and well equipped.
Having a spacious parking space is also a valuable asset.
Due to accessing the apartment by stairs, I would suggest this accommodation is not suitable for persons having mobility problems, or young children.




Nadine at Country Hideaways. replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for leaving your review for Burnside View in Hawes, really helpful. We'll look forward to hearing from you again when you're ready to return. Nadine

Excellent location & pleasant 1st floor flat that unfortunately needs more attention to detail

Review submitted on Thu, 16 Sep 2021
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a lovely week's stay in Hawes in what is basically a sound, comfy let - excellent location within easy walking distance of Hawes & a small, well stocked supermarket (Spar) & with pleasing views from the flat, front & back, over to the fells. There are new, clean carpets throughout, 2 good-sized bedrooms & our bed was comfy.

In many ways I would recommend this flat but I was put off by the long, black hairs in the fridge, bathroom, bedroom rug; the filthy, greasy cook hob hood & the previous person's crumbs in the bread bin, cutlery drawer & fridge salad drawers. Either side of the grease-splatted, cooker splashback was in need of re-emulsioning.

The slipshod cleanliness was all the more irritating when one can't get into the property until 5pm to allow for extra COVID cleaning. I certainly saw no evidence that frequent-contact doors & handles had been sanitized, in fact quite the reverse. We spent an hour and a half cleaning the flat before we felt comfy in it. However, all of these things can be easily remedied by the owner. We had a couple of contacts with her in respect of access arrangements & the TV mast issues in the area & we found her helpful, responsive & aware of customer service.




Joanne at Country Hideaways replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review for Burnside View. I'm sorry to read that the property was not as it should have been for your arrival and that you had to spend time cleaning the property before you felt comfy in it, it is unusual for this property and having forwarded your comments on to the owners they are devastated that the property was not properly cleaned for you. We’re glad that you enjoyed Hawes and all it has to offer and hope you will still visit the dales again in the future.

Holiday in Hawes

Review submitted on Fri, 20 Aug 2021
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The Country Hideaways team were very helpful when we were booking our stay at Burnside House in Hawes. Their website was up to date and when we arrived at Burnside House it was exactly as described.
The apartment was well equipped and very comfortable. The location on the eastern side of Hawes was perfect for us and having off road parking was a bonus.
We very much enjoyed our stay at Burnside House and came away refreshed and relaxed.
Many thanks to all the team at Country Hideaways and Burnside House.




Nadine at Country Hideaways. replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you so much for leaving such a positive review about us here at Country Hideaways and the cottage and good to hear you enjoyed your stay. We'll look forward to hearing from you again when you're ready to return to this wonderful part of the world! Nadine

Fantastic Position

Review submitted on Sun, 01 Aug 2021
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Approaching from Leyburn, not entering the town and pulling into your own parking place is a real bonus. This town is a magnet for walkers and can get very busy at any time which is why this apartment is fantastic.....very clean and big for a 2 bed place. Great beds too by the way (extra long) I always have a problem with this with being 6'2". The flat has everything you would need or use at home and unusually for us we ate in for half of our stay. Due to covid it was difficult to get a table anywhere so if you are coming during 2021 remember to book to eat! We never met the owners as they were out of town but they checked in with us by email on arrival, entry was simple (key safe) . We can't really fault the place, you also have your own front door with room to remove your boots.



Nadine at Country Hideaways. replied more than 1 year ago
Very pleased to hear you enjoyed staying at Burnside View and thank you for such a positive review! We're ready to welcome you back when you'd like to return. Nadine

Burnside View

Review submitted on Fri, 16 Jul 2021
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a lovely week at Burnside View.
The flat was very clean, comfortable and spacious.
The kitchen is extremely well equipped with good quality crockery, cutlery and utensils.
We found the location to be very convenient for exploring the dales and perfect for shopping in Hawes.
Although it is in the higher price range it is certainly worth the money and we would highly recommend a stay here.




Joanne replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for leaving a review. So pleased you enjoyed Burnside View and the location. We hope to welcome you back to the dales in the future. Joanne