FB Twitter

Cherry Tree Cottage

Cherry Tree Cottage

4.7
out of 5
Ratings from 18 reviews
94% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.8
Comfort
4.6
Condition
4.5
Location
4.9
Value
4.6
Customer
Service
4.9


A charming stone built cottage which offers delightful accommodation, with open fire and small walled patio garden in pretty village of West Burton in Wensleydale. Short walk to the pretty Cauldron Falls, excellent village shop, welcoming Fox and Hounds and the butchers. West Burton is a beautiful village with wonderful walks in all directions, go up to Aysgarth Falls and treat yourselves to lunch or an ice cream. Travel further afield to Leyburn, Hawes, Bedale, Northallertion.

Superb location but a few easily rectified things stop it being a 5/5....

Review submitted on Mon, 07 Nov 2022
4.0
out of 5

Guest doesn't recommend this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
3.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We had a great week in Cherry Tree Cottage and found it to be in a superb location to visit Wensleydale and beyond. There are some brilliant walks from the cottage with tea rooms and pubs plentiful. The local pub does great value food and local beer.

The cottage itself is a bit of a mixed bag.

Pros:
- Very clean, warm and cosy on arrival.
- The coal fire is a highlight.
- Quiet location off the main street and parking space right outside the front door.
- Private courtyard looks like it would be nice to sit out in warm weather.
- Decent internet for planning outings etc.
- Spacious living room and comfy sofas.

Cons:
- The cooker extractor fan and light did not work. This meant it was tricky to see what you were cooking. The kitchen is quite small so windows needed opening, bringing in angry wasps from the nest next door.
- The kitchen is very poorly equipped. Having 4 teaspoons, 4 plates, 4 mugs etc gets frustrating quickly for a family of 4! We were constantly washing up even with the dishwasher. Only one frying pan.
- The top dishwasher tray kept dropping on one side and was hanging loose when we arrived.
- There were 2 bags of garbage beside the outdoor bin for the week we were there. Presumably from the previous 2 weeks occupants, these should have been disposed of as part of the cleaning.
- The recycling boxes in the shed were full and had not been emptied from the previous occupants.
- The mattress in the double bedroom is very soft. The pillows were thin with a couple split into 2 lumps.
- The shower is taped up and stuck in position so that it can not be angled out over the bath.
- The cottage does not really have homely touches and feels a little sterile.

I did report the cooker and dishwasher issues. Country Hideaways did phone quickly and someone came to look. The dishwasher tray was corrected (but still dropped later) and I was told an electrician was required for the cooker. This was not repaired before we left. Assuming this and some of the other things highlighted were corrected, it could be 5/5. All is pretty straightforward to rectify. We had a great time and would consider returning.




Nadine at Country Hideaways replied 76 days ago
Thank you so much for leaving your helpful review for Cherry Tree Cottage in West Burton and good to hear you had a great week despite the points raised. I do know the shower is to be replaced and the cooker hood is now repaired. As you say the other points can be easily rectified and these will be discussed with the property owner. The cottage is now closed for the winter as the property owner likes to come and stay so should be plenty of time for him to consider things. We do hope this experience will not deter you from visiting this wonderful part of the world again and we'll look forward to welcoming you.

Good place to stay

Review submitted on Fri, 07 Oct 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Good cottage in a great location for exploring the Dales. Warm, clean and tidy. West Burton is a perfect Dales village.



Nadine at Country Hideaways replied 109 days ago
Thank you so much for leaving your review for Cherry Tree Cottage in West Cottage and lovely to hear you found the cottage in a great location for exploring the Dales, warm, clean and tidy. We'll very much look forward to welcoming you again when you're ready to return. Nadine

Comfy cottage in a wonderful location

Review submitted on Fri, 30 Sep 2022
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The fact we have returned to this cottage many times since 1998 speaks for itself. We have found it to be a very comfortable cottage in what is for us, as walkers, an excellent location. If the weather is not walking friendly Cherry Tree is a very homely cottage in which to spend the odd day in.



Nadine at Country Hideaways replied 118 days ago
Thank you so much for leaving your review for Cherry Tree Cottage in West Burton, it's so nice to hear you continue to enjoy your holidays at the cottage. Thank you also for being so helpful. We'll very much look forward to welcoming you again when you're ready to return. Nadine

Rita from Suffolk

Review submitted on Thu, 22 Sep 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely cottage, everything we needed, unusual sleeping downstairs with living quarters upstairs.
Good location for visiting the Dales.




Joanne at Country Hideaways replied 127 days ago
Thank you so much for leaving a 5 star review, pleased the cottage had everything you needed for your stay and you found it a great base for exploring the dales. We hope to hear from you again when you are ready to return to this beautiful part of Yorkshire. Joanne

Lovely Cottage in West Burton, Wensleydale.

Review submitted on Fri, 09 Sep 2022
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
3.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Great position in a lovely part of Wensleydale. Ideally situated for ease of access to all areas of the Dales.



Nadine at Country Hideaways replied 139 days ago
Thank you so much for leaving your review for Cherry Tree Cottage in West Burton. We'll look forward to welcoming you again to this wonderful part of the world when you're ready to return. Nadine

Nice cottage, great location !

Review submitted on Sat, 23 Jul 2022
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Nice and clean cottage in a good location to explore the area.
West Burton is a perfect hideaway to enjoy a peaceful stay.




Nadine at Country Hideaways replied 183 days ago
Thank you so much for leaving your review for Cherry Tree Cottage in West Burton and good to hear you enjoyed a peaceful stay there. West Burton is lovely and as you say a good location to explore the area. We'll look forward to hearing from you again when you're ready to return. Nadine

A great stay in a cottage located in a very pretty Dales village.

Review submitted on Fri, 01 Jul 2022
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The cottage is located in a quiett peceful location right near the village green and the village has a shop and thriving local pub. The cottage was spacious particularly the lounge and the bedrooms were comfortable. The cottage is "upside down" in style which meant the bedrooms stayed cool in a very hot spell. There was no traffic noise at all . West Burton is a great location with plenty of walks on the dooorstep and is within easy reach of most attrctions in Wensleydale and Swaledale. We came away having had a thoroughly restful time.



Nadine at Country Hideaways replied 210 days ago
Thank you so much for leaving your lovely review for Cherry Tree Cottage and really nice to hear you had a thoroughly restful holiday at the cottage and enjoyed the village and the dales. We'll look forward to hearing from you again when you're ready to return. Nadine

Summer Holiday

Review submitted on Fri, 10 Jun 2022
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Enjoyed our week here.stayed In west burton before. Beautiful village. Very peaceful.Fox and hounds just over the green.Reasonably priced meals.
Visited Hawes, Aysgarth, .The Rock Garden in Aysgarth village is worth a look.All in all s lovely week




Nadine at Country Hideaways replied 228 days ago
Thank you so much for taking the time to leave your review for Cherry Tree Cottage in West Burton and very pleased to know you enjoyed your week at the cottage. We'll very much look forward to hearing from you again when you're ready to return. Nadine

A summier break

Review submitted on Fri, 03 Jun 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A home from home cottage in a beautiful Village in the middle of the Dales. Rain or shine this is the perfect hideaway.



Nadine at Country Hideaways replied 237 days ago
Thank you so much for leaving your review about Cherry Tree Cottage in West Burton and very pleased to hear you felt the cottage a home from home and a perfect hideaway. We'll very much look forward to hearing from you again when you're ready to return. Nadine

Lovely cottage in stunning Dales village

Review submitted on Tue, 24 May 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Comfortable and immaculate cottage in wonderful picturesque Dales village. Village is off and above the highway so no through traffic and has large green, pub doing hearty meals, store, teashop and butchers. Turner painted the tall Cauldron Falls just a hundred yards from the cottage. A wonderful base for exploring Wensleydale, Swaledale and Northern Yorkshire. Bedrooms and bathroom on ground floor. Shower over bath. Above well stocked kitchen/diner and Lounge TV has iPlayer, Netflix, etc. What more do you need. And fantastic views all around.



Joanne at Country Hideaways replied 246 days ago
Thank you so much for your 5 star review. So pleased the cottage had everything you needed for your stay and you found it a wonderful base to explore the area. We hope to hear from you again when you are ready to revisit. Joanne

Easter hols 2022

Review submitted on Sat, 16 Apr 2022
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Great cottage in fantastic village location, just off the main road but with all amenities needed for brilliant family holiday within walking distance.



Joanne at Country Hideaways replied 284 days ago
Thank you for leaving a review, glad you had a brilliant family holiday in West Burton. We would love to hear from you again when you are ready to return to the dales. Joanne

August 21

Review submitted on Tue, 14 Sep 2021
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Had a week stay at Cherry Tree cottage. We had everything we needed to hand and the cottage was cosy and clean.
West Burton is a lovely place and we have stayed around the area many times. I am sure we will be back again.




Joanne at Country Hideaways replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you so much for leaving a review for your stay. Pleased that you enjoyed the cottage and West Burton. We'd love to welcome you back :)

Idyllic village cottage

Review submitted on Fri, 03 Sep 2021
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Regular visitors to this cottage in this lovely village. Great spot for discovering the Yorkshire Dales. Just the two of us, so we have a little extra space. Will keep returning.




Nadine at Country Hideaways. replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you so much for leaving your review, always good to see you both at the cottage and we'll look forward to seeing you next year!

Wonderful, cosy cottage ☺

Review submitted on Fri, 27 Aug 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a fabulous two weeks in the cottage, such a lovely cottage and loved the location, will definitely be returning, thank you ☺



Nadine at Country Hideaways. replied more than 1 year ago
Really great to hear you enjoyed your two week stay at Cherry Tree Cottage and thank you for leaving a review, very much appreciated. We'll look forward to welcoming you again when you're ready to return. Nadine

Cherry tree

Review submitted on Sat, 07 Aug 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We found Cherry tree cottage to be both comfortable and spacious. We had most things to hand in the well equipped kitchen, except a cork screw ☺️. The bed was comfortable as well as the chairs, in the sitting room, it made a nice change not to struggle to get up,to a standing position. Everything was spotless and in good working order.
The only draw back would be if you had a big car ,it's a very tight parking spot.




Nadine at Country Hideaways. replied more than 1 year ago
So pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay and found the cottage comfortable but sorry there was no cork screw, we'll replace for the next guests. Thank you for letting us know. We'll very much look forward to welcoming you again when you're ready to return. Nadine

Perfect bolthole

Review submitted on Sat, 24 Jul 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We were very happy here! Very clean, comfy bed, kitchen well equipped. Lovely cottage and we loved how pretty West Burton is. Definitely recommend staying here



An excellent week's stay in a lovely cottage

Review submitted on Sun, 18 Jul 2021
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Well equipped comfortable and clean cottage in a lovely quiet village. All essential facilities available in the village; pub, shop, butcher and tea room. Some excellent walking direct from the cottage, no need to drive.



Joanne replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you very much for leaving a review. We hope to be able to welcome you back to the dales in the future. Joanne