FB Twitter

Hill Top Cottage

Hill Top Cottage

4.9
out of 5
Ratings from 23 reviews
100% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.8
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.9
Customer
Service
5.0


Beautifully renovated barn conversion retaining lots of character to sleep four just three miles from West Burton. Plenty of parking. Lovingly and carefully looked after by the property owners. Spectacular views of Walden and out into Wensleydale. Really escape the world for a while and just breathe in the fresh country air and sounds of the country side. Easy travelling to further afield if you wish, West Burton, Leyburn, Hawes and all the little villages in between. Aysgarth Falls, Bolton Castle.

Get away from it all

Review submitted on Fri, 04 Nov 2022
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A wonderful place to stay if you enjoy wide open spaces and a feeling of splendid isolation. This cottage is well equipped, cosy and comfortable and a great base for exploring Wensleydale it's a place we keep coming back to. Rob and Pat are so welcoming too we relax the instant we arrive here.



Nadine at Country Hideaways replied 83 days ago
Thank you for leaving such a lovely review for Hill Top Cottage in Walden and great to know you found the cottage a wonderful place to stay. We'll very much look forward to welcoming you again when you're ready to return. Nadine

Stay at Hill Top Cottage

Review submitted on Sat, 01 Oct 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our second time at this cottage. Very comfortable and with stunning views.
Warm and welcoming and owners on hand for anything we needed.
Very well equipped, very clean and tidy.
A wonderful property.




Nadine at Country Hideaways replied 117 days ago
So good to hear you enjoyed your second stay at Hill Top Cottage in Walden and found it a wonderful cottage. Thank you so much for leaving your review and we'll look forward to welcoming you again when you're ready to return. Nadine

A wonderful short break

Review submitted on Thu, 18 Aug 2022
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We booked this lovely cottage for a last minute break. The location is absolutely stunning. The drive to the cottage up the hill was fun. Very clean and has all the modern appliances. No doubt we will be staying there again!



Nadine at Country Hideaways replied 162 days ago
Thank you for leaving your lovely review for Hill Top Cottage in Walden and really great to hear you enjoyed a wonderful short break there. We'll very much look forward to welcoming you again when you're ready to return. Nadine

Away from it all

Review submitted on Sat, 06 Aug 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A very comfortable and well maintained cottage off the beaten track. Glorious views and solitude. An excellent base for Wensleydale, Swaledale and Wharfdale.



Nadine at Country Hideaways replied 172 days ago
Thank you so much for leaving your lovely review for Hill Top Cottage in Walden. Great to hear you can get away from it all there but also to enjoy travelling and exploring round the dales too. We'll very much look forward to welcoming you again when you're ready to return!

Amazing views

Review submitted on Sat, 23 Jul 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely comfortable cottage, well equipped and had everything we needed. Fantastic views from every window and lovely and peaceful, no traffic passing. Enjoyed sitting on the patio, just listening to the birds and the sheep.



Nadine at Country Hideaways replied 183 days ago
Thank you so much for leaving such a lovely review for Hill Top Cottage in Walden and good to hear you found the cottage comfortable with everything you needed but also enjoyed the outside space and soaked up the ambiance there. We'll very much look forward to hearing from you again when you're ready to return. Nadine

Hilltop Cottage

Review submitted on Fri, 15 Jul 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have stayed here on numerous occasions and will continue to do so in the future.
It is very comfortable and has all kitchen equipment that you could possibly require.
There are fantastic views from the cottage and it is possible to go on a variety of walks directly from here.
The owners who live next door are delightful and are happy to assist with any queries.




Nadine at Country Hideaways replied 195 days ago
Really good to hear you continue to enjoy your holidays at Hill Top Cottage in Walden and long may it continue. Thank you so much for leaving a lovely positive review and we'll very much look forward to welcoming you again when you're ready to return.

Excellent

Review submitted on Sun, 19 Jun 2022
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Wonderful for wildlife. Quiet with excellent views in probably the most unspoilt area of the Yorkshire Dales.



Nadine at Country Hideaways replied 221 days ago
Thank you for leaving your review for Hill Top Cottage in Walden and great to hear you found the cottage excellent and enjoyed the wonderful wildlife and views. We'll very much look forward to hearing from you again when you're ready to return. Nadine

Stunning, private location

Review submitted on Fri, 17 Jun 2022
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely cottage in an isolated location. Great for walkers and those not wanting to venture far. Friendly welcome by host.



Nadine at Country Hideaways replied 221 days ago
Thank you for taking the time to leave your lovely review for Hill Top Cottage in Walden. Yes, we so agree with you about the location and the cottage. We'll very much look forward to hearing from you again when you're ready to return. Nadine

Peaceful perfection

Review submitted on Sat, 28 May 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Very peaceful in a fairly remote location (3 miles to the nearest village), so transport is essential. The cottage is well equipped, very clean and the owners ( next door) are very friendly and helpful but not in the least bit intrusive. We have stayed in this cottage a few times now and can't wait to return.



Nadine at Country Hideaways replied 243 days ago
What a delightful way to describe Hill Top Cottage in Walden, 'peaceful perfection'! Thank you so much for leaving your lovely, helpful review. We'll look forward to hearing from you again then you're ready for your return stay. Nadine

Hilltop Cottage

Review submitted on Fri, 27 May 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a wonderful week here, the setting is so peaceful, wonderful views and the cottage beautifully presented.



Nadine at Country Hideaways replied 244 days ago
Thank you for leaving your lovely review for Hill Top Cottage in Walden and good to hear you had a wonderful week there. We'll very much look forward to hearing from you again when you're ready to return. Nadine

Best Dales holiday ever...

Review submitted on Mon, 25 Apr 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a wonderful time at Hilltop Cottage. Stunning views, perfect cottage, lovely hosts (Pat & Rob). Everything that we needed was supplied and the place was spotless from top to bottom. We intend to return to this idyllic location as soon as we can to further explore the beautiful Dales.



Joanne at Country Hideaways replied 274 days ago
Walden really is an idyllic place, so pleased the cottage was perfect for you and you had a wonderful time. We very much look forward to hearing from you when you are ready to explore the dales again. Joanne

Visit from South Yorkshire

Review submitted on Wed, 16 Mar 2022
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a lovely midweek stay here with friends, in March. The owners were helpful, welcoming and friendly while remaining unobtrusive during the stay. The cottage was warm, cosy, very clean and offered amazing, peaceful views and lots of walks from the house. We were lucky enough to coincide with the arrival of the curlews back to the area and the sound of their call greeted us as we opened the car door.
The kitchen is very well equipped there was always plenty of hot water.
A beautiful area and a comfortable, cosy base with amazing views. I'm sure we will be returning!




Nadine at Country Hideaways replied 315 days ago
Thank you so much for leaving such a lovely positive review about Hill Top Cottage in Walden and good to hear you enjoyed your midweek stay there. What a treat to hear the first curlews! We'll look forward to hearing from you again when you're ready to return! Nadine

Get away from it all

Review submitted on Mon, 08 Nov 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A beautiful cottage set in almost splendid isolation with breathtaking views of the surrounding countryside. Cosy and comfortable base to explore the Yorkshire Dales and enjoy seeing the local wildlife Kites, Hares and Owls just to mention a few. The owners are very friendly welcoming and helpful who live next door. We have stayed here six times now so that tells you how much we love staying here.



Joanne at Country Hideaways replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for such a lovely review, and pleased you enjoyed your stay at Hill Top Cottage again. We hope you will have many more holidays here and look forward to welcoming you again

Surpasses expectations

Review submitted on Fri, 22 Oct 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was our third stay at Hilltop and, as always, it surpassed expectations. The location is wonderful and the accommodation is impeccable. Pat & Rob do everything in their power to ensure their guests have a memorable stay. We will return and would highly recommend Hilltop for a relaxing and comfortable holiday home.



Nadine at Country Hideaways. replied more than 1 year ago
Oh what a lovely review about Hill Top Cottage in Walden, so very pleased to hear it surpassed expectations and that you would highly recommend to others, thank you. We'll very much look forward to hearing from you again when you're ready to enjoy your fourth visit to the cottage! Nadine

Perfection!

Review submitted on Sat, 09 Oct 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Just returned home from our 3rd stay at this lovely cottage and have already booked again. Hilltop cottage is in a beautiful location with amazing views and total peace. The cottage is around 3 miles to the nearest village so will only suit people with transport. It is very well equipped, very clean and comfortable. The owners live next door and do not intrude but are always available in the event of a problem or for a chat. We can't wait for our next visit!



Nadine at Country Hideaways. replied more than 1 year ago
Good to hear you had another enjoyable stay at Hill Top Cottage in Walden. Thank you for leaving such a lovely review for the cottage, very helpful too. We're already looking forward to welcoming you back next year! Nadine

Fantastic cottage

Review submitted on Sun, 03 Oct 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Hill Top cottage is wonderful - a home away from home. Rob & Pat are great hosts, there if you need them, but unobtrusive too. The cottage has stunning views, and is comfortable and cosy, it is equipped with everything you could need. The resident chicken came to see us each day as did the cat. The surrounding area of the Dales is beautiful, lots of fabulous walks, places of interest to visit and pretty towns & villages to explore on rainy days. Highly recommend.



Nadine at Country Hideaways. replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you so much for leaving such a lovely review about Hill Top Cottage, very pleased to see you enjoyed your stay there! We'll look forward to welcoming you when you're ready to return! Nadine

Lovely comfortable cottage with great views

Review submitted on Fri, 01 Oct 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Cottage had everything we needed, plenty of cooking utensils and comfortable beds. We were a party of 2 but there is plenty of room for 4. Location is great for a get away from it all holiday, but WiFi is there if you need to keep in touch. No O2 signal. Friendly welcome from the owners. This was our second visit and would definitely recommend it.



Nadine at Country Hideaways. replied more than 1 year ago
What a lovely review for Hill Top Cottage, thank you! So pleased you enjoyed your second visit and would recommend the cottage to others. Looking forward to welcoming you when you're ready to return! Nadine

Super cottage, Superb views

Review submitted on Tue, 21 Sep 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Remote location suited us fine, so quiet and peaceful. Excellent accommodation with stunning views across the Vale. Owners very friendly and helpful and would recommend to anyone looking for a peaceful location but within easy reach of all the Vales many delights. Our first visit to the area, certainly not the last




Nadine at Country Hideaways. replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you so much for leaving such a lovely review for Hill Top Cottage. Very good to hear. We'll look forward to welcoming you again just when you're ready to return! Nadine

Great cottage in a fantastic location.

Review submitted on Tue, 14 Sep 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Hill Top Cottage is one of those places that exceeds expectations. It is set in such a fantastic location, this is difficult to accurately convey in images on a web page. This was our experience, so that when we drove into the gateway and turned down the curved roadway, the sudden reveal of the spectacular view prompted both of us to just say 'wow' in unison. Parking difficulties -forget it. Being overlooked - forget it. Traffic noise - forget it. Your worries and stresses of a busy work life - wave them goodbye. The owners are adjoining, however do not intrude into your holiday, and the one owner (Pat) we met was delightful, welcoming and friendly. The accommodation is purpose designed for holiday enjoyment, and it had everything we needed. We enjoyed dining in the spacious open plan kitchen/diner, and the lounge is modern with wood flooring and a log burner if needed, with full oil fired central heating (we had no need as early September week was a scorcher) installed, so it will obviously be cosy. We also enjoyed time sitting at the table out front in the sun, looking out across the huge expanse of valley in front, (wow again). Location wise; up a single track road just outside West Burton, right in central Wensleydale, with larger centres for shopping easily reached along with the many attractions of Yorkshire Dales. The visitor book reveals many repeat guests, it's easy to see why. We may very well join them.



Joanne at Country Hideaways replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you so much for leaving such a lovely review for Hill Top Cottage, it certainly is a wonderful cottage in a great location. We look forward to hearing from you when you are ready to return.

A lovely stay in the dales

Review submitted on Sat, 28 Aug 2021
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our second visit to cottage. V well equipped and we loved the coffee machine. Owners v helpful when we raised a couple of issues: broken toilet flush and TV in bedroom not working. Also Wi Fi not the best!
Overall a good holiday




Nadine at Country Hideaways. replied more than 1 year ago
Good to hear you enjoyed your second visit at Hill Top Cottage and thank you so much for leaving a review. Nadine

Very happy visitors

Review submitted on Sat, 21 Aug 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Another perfect stay at Hill Top Cottage. Thanks, as always, to Pat and Rob for their warmth and hospitality. Absolutely wonderful views from this warm, cosy, idyllic cottage which is perfect for our annual Dales fix. We're already looking forward to visiting again.



Nadine at Country Hideaways replied more than 1 year ago
Really great to hear you had another perfect stay at Hill Top Cottage and thank you so much for leaving your review. We'll very much look forward to hearing from you when you're ready to return! Nadine

Great cottage in secluded spot

Review submitted on Sun, 08 Aug 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a great week in Hilltop cottage. The cottage was immaculately clean and comfortable. The location is stunning - incredible views of the valley whilst still being close to West Burton. We would definitely stay again.



Joanne at Country Hideaways replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for leaving a review for your stay at Hill Top Cottage, we look forward to hearing from you when you are ready to stay again. Joanne

Excellent property

Review submitted on Fri, 16 Jul 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
One of the nicest properties we have stayed in. Spotlessly clean, well equipped and comfortable. The scenery is amazing and so quiet. Excellent location. Will definitely be back though I think I prefer the Dales around March time when it is quieter. Everywhere was very busy with parking an issue in some of the more popular spots. I would give the property 10/10 and would highly recommend



Joanne replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you so much for your review. We agree Hill Top Cottage is a lovely cottage in amazing location. We look forward to hearing from you when you are ready to return to the dales. Joanne