FB Twitter

Holly Tree Cottage

Holly Tree Cottage

4.9
out of 5
Ratings from 20 reviews
100% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.9
Value
4.9
Customer
Service
4.9


A delightful cottage in pretty village of East Witton in Wensleydale overlooking the green. The use of muted tones blended with pale oak and mature pine provides a calm atmosphere and a perfect backcloth for the many paintings by local artists of renown. Its location is ideal for exploring Wensleydale and Nidderdale AONB. Wonderful walks from the doorstep to Jervaulx, Brymor Icecream, into Coverdale, a long further over into Colsterdale. Travel to Ripon, Harrogate, Leyburn, Bedale all within easy reach.

great base for a working week on the Dales

Review submitted on Fri, 02 Dec 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
I needed somewhere for a week of peace and quiet to finish some work; Holly Tree Cottage fitted the bill perfectly. Warm, comfortable and welcoming. Had a super week working in the afternoon and evenings and walking the lowland Dales in the mornings. Will come again just for pleasure another time.



Nadine at Country Hideaways replied 55 days ago
Thank you so much for leaving your review for Holly Tree Cottage in East Witton and good to hear you found peace and quiet to finish your work but also wonderful to know you found time to enjoy some walking too. We'll very much look forward to welcoming you again when you're ready to return. Nadine

great holiday base for two

Review submitted on Sun, 30 Oct 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
impeccably clean and comfortable and I would recommend without hesitation. Always find Country Hideaways properties are of a certain high standard and this was one of the best



Nadine at Country Hideaways replied 87 days ago
Thank you so much for leaving your lovely review and so good to hear you found Holly Tree Cottage in East Witton a great holiday base and would recommend to others. We'll very much look forward to welcoming you again when you're ready to return. Nadine

Excellent

Review submitted on Thu, 20 Oct 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Surprisingly spacious cottage for two. Extremely clean, well equipped and comfortable. Also, very well situated to explore the beautiful Dales.



Nadine at Country Hideaways replied 98 days ago
Thank you for leaving such a lovely review for Holly Tree Cottage in East Witton, really great to hear you felt it was the perfect cottage and all excellent. We'll very much look forward to hearing from you again when you're ready to return. Nadine

Our short break

Review submitted on Thu, 29 Sep 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Best we have ever used. It is our second time need we say more. The owners keep it up to date in every way.



Nadine at Country Hideaways replied 118 days ago
Thank you for leaving your review, it's says it all! Really great to hear you feel Holly Tree Cottage is the best cottage you have stayed in. We'll very much look forward to welcoming you again when you're ready for your third visit!

See below

Review submitted on Thu, 29 Sep 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We really cannot fault this rental. We have stayed at Holly Tree Cottage nine times in all and will certainly return.



Nadine at Country Hideaways replied 120 days ago
Your review says it all! Thank you and really great to hear you continue to enjoy your holidays at Holly Tree Cottage in East Witton. We'll very much look forward to welcoming you for a tenth visit, just when you're ready! Nadine

Excellent cottage, highly recommended.

Review submitted on Sat, 17 Sep 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Excellent accommodation, in a beautiful location. The cottage was very clean and comfortable, furnished and equipped to a good standard.



Nadine at Country Hideaways replied 131 days ago
Thank you so much for leaving your lovely review for Holly Tree Cottage in East Witton and good to hear that you found the cottage excellent and would highly recommend. We'll look forward to welcoming you again when you're ready to return. Nadine

Beautiful Country Cottage

Review submitted on Fri, 16 Sep 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was a return visit to Holly Tree Cottage. The owners have thought of everything, from the welcome goodies to a folder packed with information about the local area and lots more.

The cottage was spotless, comfortable and beautifully decorated. We will return again for sure.




Nadine at Country Hideaways replied 131 days ago
Thank you so much for leaving your lovely review for Holly Tree Cottage in East Witton, really great to hear you found the cottage just as it should have been. We'll very much look forward to welcoming you again when you're ready to return. Nadine

A lovely relaxing week in a most comfortable, quiet cottage, and a good location for walks.

Review submitted on Thu, 11 Aug 2022
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a pleasant and helpful welcome from the host, and a good view of the extensive village green and Witton Fell from the cottage. A lovely area, with lots of walks by rivers, and interesting old castles and a monastery to visit within a few miles.
No private garden, but weather not warm enough to sit out when we stayed there anyway. May well go back some time.




Nadine at Country Hideaways replied 167 days ago
Thank you so much for leaving your lovely, positive review for Holly Tree Cottage in East Witton and good to hear you had a relaxing week there and found it comfortable and quiet. Sounds like you enjoyed walking the hills too! We'll look forward to welcoming you again when you're ready to return. Nadine

Location & facilities

Review submitted on Sat, 25 Jun 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Good accommodation comfortable and homely not done up as a show piece but with everything you need. Location good for exploring both east & west of the county. Great local shops at leyburn and Wetherspoon's in Ripon what more could you want!



Joanne at Country Hideaways replied 213 days ago
Thank you very much for your 5 star review. We agree it is in a great location to explore the county. We hope to hear from you again when you are ready to return to wonderful part of Yorkshire. Joanne

In My Opinion.

Review submitted on Tue, 31 May 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Having stayed here numerous times:
~~~
With nothing to add or be renewed,
Holly Tree Cottage can't be improved.




Nadine at Country Hideaways replied 241 days ago
It really great to know you really enjoy visiting the Yorkshire Dales and Holly Tree Cottage, long may you continue to come and see us, we'll always look forward to hearing from you. Thank you for taking the time to leave your review, very much appreciated and hope to hear from you soon! Nadine

Yorkshire's Best

Review submitted on Tue, 03 May 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our fourth visit to Holly Tree Cottage and as good as ever.
Repeated visits says it all. Thanks to Allan and Donna plus Country Hideaways for their excellent service too.




Joanne at Country Hideaways replied 269 days ago
Thank you so much for your 5 star review. We look forward to hearing from you when you are ready to book your fifth stay! Joanne

What a find

Review submitted on Fri, 08 Apr 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This cottage is wonderful. Well laid out, with everything provided to make a stay successful. Spotlessly clean. It’s in a lovely quiet location with lots available in the immediate vicinity. Bed very comfortable with nice linens. I can’t recommend enough.



Joanne at Country Hideaways replied 291 days ago
Thank you so much for leaving a 5 star review. We agree Holly Tree Cottage is a wonderful property in a lovely location. We hope to hear from you again when you are ready to return to the dales. Joanne

What a find

Review submitted on Sat, 02 Apr 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We were delighted with the quality of everything in this beautiful cottage. Facilities, furnishings and decoration were of a very high standard throughout. It was spotlessly clean and had a well equipped kitchen. The cottage is in a beautiful location with many lovely walks directly from the door. We certainly intend staying at Holly Tree cottage again.



Joanne at Country Hideaways replied 299 days ago
Thank you so much for leaving a 5 star review, we're pleased you enjoyed the cottage and the location. We look forward to hearing from you again when you are ready to return. Joanne

Excellent

Review submitted on Sun, 31 Oct 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The cottage was immaculately clean and well stocked with everything for a comfortable stay. Very good location for the ice cream company.



Nadine at Country Hideaways. replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for leaving your lovely review for Holly Tree Cottage in East Witton, so pleased to hear you found it an excellent cottage. We'll very much look forward to hearing from you again when you're ready to return. Nadine

Home from Home

Review submitted on Thu, 14 Oct 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
It's unique position gives easy access to most areas of the Yorkshire dales, there are also several walks right from the door. The cottage itself is fully equipped with the usual cooker, microwave & fridge along with all the utensils and crockery needed. It is spotlessly clean, a cozy suite & carpets on the floor. There is a shower room adjacent to the large bedroom which has a queen size bed and plenty of cupboards/wardrobe. Add to all this a super WiFi and large smart TV and you've got the perfect home from home,,,,




Nadine at Country Hideaways. replied more than 1 year ago
Enjoyed you stay again at Holly Tree Cottage? Perhaps so. Thank you for leaving such a lovely review about the cottage and we'll very much look forward to hearing from you again when you're ready to return. Safe journey home today. Nadine

Excellent week at Holly Cottage, East Witton

Review submitted on Sun, 26 Sep 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
I was delighted with my stay at Holly Cottage. I really like the living area upstairs arrangement which provided nice views of the village and hills to the south. The layout of the kitchen was good and everything I needed for cooking etc was provided. Spacious bedroom with comfortable bed and plenty of cupboard space. Shower room good and constant hot water.
A better property than many others I've stayed in, Country Hideaways always have good cottages.




Nadine at Country Hideaways. replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for leaving such a lovely review for Holly Tree Cottage and also to hear that you were delighted with the cottage, the arrangement of the place and the rest. Looking forward to hearing from you again when you're ready to return. Nadine

The Quality Bar has just been raised a notch!

Review submitted on Mon, 30 Aug 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have enjoyed holidays in many places in Wensleydale over the years and have always been more than pleased with the comfort, setting and decoration of the cottages in which we have stayed. After our week at Holly Tree Cottage, however, the bar has been raised to new levels! Alan and Donna's cottage is superb, providing a level of comfort that is outstanding. The photos on the web-site do not truly reflect how roomy the cottage is - a large lounge and spacious bedroom give plenty of space to spread out. The decoration and layout is very pleasing - right down to the beautiful curlew in the stairwell! As for the setting - East Witton is a delight! Each day we walked up and down the village and round the quiet lanes, chatting with friendly residents. We had promised a break here to ourselves for some time but had never got round to it until now. You can be sure that our names will be added to the ever-growing number of people who return to Holly Tree Cottage on a regular basis!



Nadine at Country Hideaways. replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you so much for leaving such a wonderful review for Holly Tree Cottage and that you have left this wonderful part of the world relaxed. Thank you also for your kind words about us here Country Hideaways, really very much appreciated. We are looking forward to welcoming you once more just when you're ready to return. Nadine

Excellent location not far from Leyburn and Masham.

Review submitted on Thu, 05 Aug 2021
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
3.0
The Cottage is in a great position in the Village, and just across the road from the Blue Lion pub.
Rooms are spacious and well presented.
Great Cottage!




Nadine at Country Hideaways. replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for leaving your lovely review about Holly Tree Cottage and we'll look forward to welcoming you again when you're ready to return. Nadine

Reason for a three

Review submitted on Thu, 22 Jul 2021
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
3.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The reason for giving a three for location is that we were here the week end they were gathering all the harvest and there was constant traffic which was extremely noisy, Fortunately or unfortunately we had a glorious sunny week so had to keep the windows open which didn’t help with the noise!



Nadine at Country Hideaways. replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for leaving your review and really so sorry about the farm traffic, they'll have been 'making hay whilst the sun shone', doesn't last long just very unfortunate for you at the time. Do hope this experience won't deter you from visiting this glorious part of the world in the future though.

Summer Break

Review submitted on Thu, 08 Jul 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have stayed in Holly Tree Cottage many times. East Witton and the cottage provides the perfect base to enjoy the many local walks. The village is delightfully quiet and peaceful with an excellent local restaurant.



Nadine at Country Hideaways. replied more than 1 year ago
So pleased to hear you had another lovely stay at Holly Tree Cottage, thank you for leaving a review. We'll look forward to welcoming you once more when you're ready to return. Nadine