FB Twitter

Ivy Cottage

Ivy Cottage

4.6
out of 5
Ratings from 7 reviews
100% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.9
Comfort
4.6
Condition
4.0
Location
4.9
Value
4.4
Customer
Service
4.9


Traditional country cottage bordering on and overlooking the expansive village green. Lovely garden to rear of cottage with views of Penhill. Cosy open fire, house bathroom plus separate shower room. Short walk to the pretty Cauldron Falls, excellent village shop, welcoming Fox and Hounds and the butchers. West Burton is a beautiful village with wonderful walks in all directions, go up to Aysgarth Falls and treat yourselves to lunch or an ice cream. Travel further afield to Leyburn, Hawes, Bedale, Northallertion.

West Burton Break

Review submitted on Thu, 08 Sep 2022
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
West Burton is a beautiful and very quiet village with no through traffic apart from to farms at the western end . If has its own idyllic waterfall where you can enjoy a morning with kids and it's a short walk over the hill to Aysgarth Falls.The village boasts a friendly pub , butchers and village store . The cottage is perfect for a family of 4 to 6 although the bunk bed room is suitable mainly for younger children or as an overflow snoring room ! The village green is a great place for family's to play when not sightseeing with both a small playground and ample space for football and cricket .
The cottage is a beautiful traditional dales cottage with separate living and dining rooms and kitchen and very light inside and benefits from double glazing in a traditional style .It makes a perfect base for visiting the eastern side of the Dales and the western side is only a bit further; accessed via scenic county roads . The cottage and West Burton are ideal to return to after a day in the Dales .




A lovely house and a great holiday

Review submitted on Fri, 19 Aug 2022
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We loved our stay in Ivy Cottage, the house while a little old fashioned is completely in keeping with the age and type of house, it was very quaint and had some beautiful features such as the window seats which our daughter loved . It was spotlessly clean and very well equipped with everything you could need , I wouldn't hesitate to recommend it to anyone looking for a relaxing break in the Yorkshire dales. The village of West Burton is lovely and is a great base for exploring.



Nadine at Country Hideaways replied 159 days ago
Thank you so much for leaving your lovely, helpful review for Ivy Cottage in West Burton. We are pleased to hear you had a great holiday there, enjoying the house, West Burton and the dales. We'll very much look forward to welcoming you again when you're ready to return. Nadine

West Burton is wonderful

Review submitted on Fri, 22 Apr 2022
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We've visited Ivy Cottage a few times over the years and love its position overlooking the village green and proximity to the waterfall and lovely rural walks. This is a traditional cottage and is very spacious for 4-5 people with a huge dining room, a cosy living room and and a small but well equipped kitchen. It also has a bath with the best view imaginable! The sunny back garden is a great place to spend the afternoon too and also a great place for sky-gazing.



Joanne at Country Hideaways replied 277 days ago
Thank you so much for leaving a review, we agree West Burton certainly is a wonderful place and Ivy Cottage is a great base to enjoy the village and the area. We look forward to hearing from you when you are ready to revisit. Joanne

Hols

Review submitted on Thu, 13 Jan 2022
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
After a few hiccups at the beginning, kindly sorted by Nadine at Country Hideaways, we have had a vet pleasant stay with lots of fabulous walks.



Nadine at Country Hideaways. replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you so much for leaving a review from Ivy Cottage and great to know you've had a very pleasant stay and enjoyed walking these wonderful dales. We'll very much look forward to hearing from you again when you're ready to return. Nadine

Excellent base for exploring this part of the Dales

Review submitted on Sat, 02 Oct 2021
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Very pleasant house in lovely village with great amenities = pub with takeout options (beer and food) shop, butcher. tea room, weekly fish and chip van and milk machine, bus service and active village hall. Loads of walks from the door in all directions



Nadine at Country Hideaways. replied more than 1 year ago
Lovely review thank you, good to hear you enjoyed West Burton to the full and felt Ivy Cottage was a very pleasant house to stay in. We'll look forward to hearing from you again when you're ready to return. Nadine

A lovely cottage but a little tired

Review submitted on Fri, 20 Aug 2021
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
3.0
Location
4.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The cottage is in a lovely village with a pub, butchers and village shop and a waterfall. A milk station is there for a couple of days plus a chip shop visits once a week. For children there is a nice playpark, but it did get busy with day tourists which meant it was sometimes difficult to park outside the cottage. The cottage itself is a decent size with two huge bedrooms the third with the bunkbeds is tiny. There are two bathrooms one with a shower the other with a bath. The caretakers had the cottage beautifully clean and the welcome snacks were appreciated by the children. But I do think the owners need to invest in the property as some of the features like the bathroom are tired, plus the décor needs an update. The TV was dated and on our visit didn't work due to problems with the local mast. Luckily we could use our laptop but a holiday without TV with children isn't the best! The garden was a nice spot for the children to play or for a quite cup of tea we also liked the compact kitchen which had everything we needed for self catering. Overall an enjoyable visit :0)




Nadine at Country Hideaways. replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you so much for leaving your review and so pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay at Ivy Cottage despite some areas needing an update in the cottage. The property owner is making a start we have been told. The situation with the TV was rather out of our control as there has been a fire at the main mast at Bilsdale leaving about 1 million people affected. We are hopeful this will be resolved very soon though. We'll very much look forward to hearing from you again when you're ready to return to this wonderful part of the world. Nadine

A Perfect Place to Stay

Review submitted on Thu, 15 Jul 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Ivy Cottage is clean, comfortable and spacious and well equipt. There is a small, neat garden behind. Situated at the side of the Green the pleasures of the village can seen, groups of people coming and going, the Fox and Hounds at the other side, the Village shop and Tea Room. There is just about anything you could wish for.
Situated at the side of the green we could look out and observe other people moving about and families playing ball games. Round the corner is The beck with its waterfall, excellent for playing in when not too full.




Joanne replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you so much for leaving a review. You have summed up the village perfectly. We look forward to welcoming you again, when you are ready to return to the dales. Joanne