FB Twitter

Jesmond Cottage

Jesmond Cottage

4.9
out of 5
Ratings from 12 reviews
100% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.8
Condition
4.9
Location
4.8
Value
4.8
Customer
Service
5.0


Overlooking the beautiful village green in West Burton, this lovely dales cottage with wood-burning stove retains many original features. There are numerous walks from the village which also boasts an excellent shop, butchers and welcoming pub. West Burton is a perfect location to enjoy exploring Wensleydale as it's midway between Hawes and Leyburn with Richmond, Ripon and Skipton all within easy reach by car too.

Beautifully appointed cottage in lovely location

Review submitted on Thu, 01 Dec 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have been visiting the Yorkshire Dales for over twenty years and Jesmond Cottage is one of the best cottages we have ever stayed in. Very comfortable and everything provided for a lovely stay. The bed and bedding was the probably the best we have ever encountered. The kitchen equipment was extensive and everything we needed was supplied. The free coal for the fire was a bonus and made for snug evenings in late November. West Burton is a lovely village and boasts a welcoming pub, a butcher and a small local shop. If you decide to cook in, we cannot recommend the (local) meat from the butcher highly enough.



Nadine at Country Hideaways replied 57 days ago
What a wonderful review! So very pleased you were more than happy at Jesmond Cottage in West Burton, thank you so much for taking the time to write. We'll very much look forward to welcoming you again when you're ready to return. Nadine

Beautiful Village Location

Review submitted on Sun, 04 Sep 2022
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our stay at Jesmond Cottage has been so relaxing, comfortable and convenient with a perfect location overlooking the Green, and the village shop and pub just a few steps away. Very clean and well appointed property with every possible piece of kitchen equipment supplied, comfortable beds and cosy rooms. Parking outside is a bonus too. We’ve had a really enjoyable, unwinding holiday surrounded by the wonderful Yorkshire Dales.



Nadine at Country Hideaways replied 143 days ago
Thank you for leaving your lovely review for Jesmond Cottage in West Burton and good to hear you had a really enjoyable, unwinding holiday. We'll very much look forward to welcoming you again when you're ready to return. Nadine

Jesmond cottage

Review submitted on Thu, 25 Aug 2022
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Very comfortable,well equipped, great location cottage near to all amenities in village ,ie pub post office etc



Nadine at Country Hideaways replied 154 days ago
Thank you so much for leaving your review for Jesmond Cottage in West Burton, very helpful. Good to know you found the cottage comfortable and well equipped and in a great location. We'll very much look forward to welcoming you again when you're ready to return. Nadine

Fabulous stay in a very well equipped cottage

Review submitted on Mon, 15 Aug 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Thoroughly enjoyed our stay in Jesmond Cottage. It is in a lovely location with views out to the village green and beyond. It was lovely to sit out both in the morning and evening on the bench enjoying a drink or two just taking in the views and the peace and quiet. The cottage itself is exceptionally well equipped particularly in the kitchen, can’t think of anything that wasn’t provided. The beds were very comfortable, the linen top quality, the main bedroom was very spacious with lots of storage space and a chair positioned by the window which was lovely to sit on and look out towards the hills. The local pottery was a nice touch. Credit to whoever cleans and maintains Jesmond Cottage too, we stay in many cottages each year, this is definitely up there as one of the cleanest. Parking space in front of the cottage was handy, we arrived to find this space wasn’t available, we parked close by to unload which was no problem, the next minute someone appeared, apologised and moved their vehicle. If you are looking for a good base to explore the Dales and beyond, whether on foot or by car or bike you can’t beat West Burton, we love it.



Nadine at Country Hideaways replied 164 days ago
Thank you so much for leaving such a lovely, helpful review for Jesmond Cottage in West Burton, really great to hear you had a fabulous stay. We're looking forward to welcoming you again when you're ready to return. Nadine

Excellent cottage for a relaxing getaway

Review submitted on Thu, 14 Jul 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We loved the cottage, it was very well equipped with everything we needed for a relaxing stay. Comfortable beds and pretty bedrooms with gorgeous views from the front windows. And a lovely little front garden bench from which to enjoy a glass of wine and look at the hills and trees that form the backdrop to the village. We would definitely book again.



Nadine at Country Hideaways replied 196 days ago
Thank you so much for leaving your lovely positive review for Jesmond Cottage in West Burton, really great to hear you had a relaxing stay and enjoyed the cottage. We'll very much look forward to hearing from you again when you're ready to return.

A week in paradise....

Review submitted on Fri, 10 Jun 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A fabulous 2 bedroom cottage,in a fabulous location just on the edge of the village green,it has all the mod cons you need...parking is directly outside the property, and as its not a through road it's very quiet, West Burton itself has a butchers,a small grocery shop and a decent pub...fab location just 5 minutes from a fab waterfall too...



Nadine at Country Hideaways replied 228 days ago
Thank you so much for leaving your lovely, helpful review for Jesmond Cottage in West Burton. Very pleased to hear you had a week in paradise! We'll very much look forward to hearing from you again when you're ready to return. Nadine

Review submitted on Sat, 07 May 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
I nice house centrality located in the quiet safe village. Convenient to watch the world go by. Plenty of hotels to eat not far. Plenty of fine walks nearby. Safe for children and convenient for their shopping walks. Clothes washing machine a good provision. Weather was perfect......would / will go again.

The rating at 3 is wrong as I cannot delete it. Score 90/100.




Nadine at Country Hideaways replied 264 days ago
Thank you for taking the time to leave your lovely, helpful review for Jesmond Cottage and good to hear you would like to return to the cottage. We'll very much look forward to that when you're ready for a revisit. Nadine

Delightful Jesmond Cottage

Review submitted on Wed, 20 Apr 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The cottage was everything we could want. Very well appointed and so well organised. Very quiet and cosy and so pleasant to sit on the bench and look at the the green and the hills. The boys loved the play area on the green and we could sit in the front garden and watch them.



Nadine at Country Hideaways replied 281 days ago
Thank you for leaving such a lovely positive review for Jesmond Cottage in West Burton, good to hear you found everything you could need and enjoyed the village too! We'll very much look forward to hearing from you again when you're ready to return. Nadine

New year at jesmond cottage

Review submitted on Wed, 12 Jan 2022
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Cottage spotless. No issues with cleaning at all.
Once we got the hang of the wood burner it was fine but before that it was quite cold as the night storage heaters aren’t adequate to heat the house. Mattress and bedding was superb quality and very comfortable.
The only negative I would say is that we stay in cottages about four times a year and this is the only cottage for a lot of years that there wasn’t even a bottle of milk as a welcome. I found this quite strange especially as we were staying over new year and paying the most expensive prices of the year. Also the bathroom could do with updating but it was adequate.




Nadine at Country Hideaways. replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for leaving your review for Jesmond Cottage. So pleased you found the cottage spotless and the beds comfortable but disappointed to hear you were not satisfied in some other respects. We will pass on your comments to the property owner. Do hope experience will not deter you from returning to this wonderful part of the world. Thank you once again. Nadine

Great location

Review submitted on Fri, 17 Sep 2021
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Excellent holiday, recommended location to anyone who would like to tour that part of the Yorkshire Dales



Nadine at Country Hideaways. replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for leaving such a positive review for Jesmond Cottage and pleased to hear you had an excellent holiday and enjoyed touring this part of the Yorkshire Dales. We'll very much look forward to hearing from you again when you're ready to return. Nadine

Love Yorkshire and the cottage

Review submitted on Thu, 09 Sep 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Very comfortable and great location. Clean, cosy and very welcoming with everything you need supplied.



Joanne at Country Hideaways replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you so much for your review. We agree, West Burton is a great location! We look forward to hearing from you when you are ready to revisit Jesmond Cottage.

A perfect week away in the beautiful Dales - many thanks!

Review submitted on Thu, 29 Jul 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The 'Excellent' responses above say it all! We couldn't ask for better accommodation - immaculately clean and extremely well equipped.



Nadine at Country Hideaways. replied more than 1 year ago
So very pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay at Jesmond Cottage! Thank you for leaving such a positive review and we'll look forward to welcoming you again when you're ready to return. Nadine