FB Twitter

School House

School House

4.9
out of 5
Ratings from 16 reviews
100% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.8
Condition
4.9
Location
4.9
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0


Detached dales cottage sitting on one of two narrow twists and turns of Mill Lane, in a popular and historic village of Askrigg in wonderful Wensleydale. Enclosed patio garden to the rear. Cosy open fire. Bring your dog and enjoy the dales together. Plenty of walks, turn right and wander up Whitfield Gill, left to the River Ure. Travel a little further to Aysgarth Falls, Bolton Castle, Hawes, Leyburn.

Home from home

Review submitted on Sat, 03 Dec 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely cottage lovely area lots of walks from the door step. Feels like a home away from home. Nice that we can bring our dog he always likes it here infront of the burner. Cottage is clean and fresh you would never know dogs have been in here.
We always try to come every year.




Nadine at Country Hideaways replied 53 days ago
Thank you so much for leaving your review for School House in Askrigg and really good to know you continue to enjoy your holidays there with your dog. We'll very much look forward to welcoming you again for many more holidays at the cottage. Nadine

An enjoyable stay at School House, Askrigg

Review submitted on Mon, 28 Nov 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Well described accommodation, everything mentioned was available. Ideal location and a parking space provided. Only downside was that there wasn't a dishwasher - but my husband coped !!!!!!



Nadine at Country Hideaways replied 57 days ago
Thank you so much for leaving your review for School House in Askrigg and good to know you had an enjoyable stay there, do hope your husband didn't suffer in silence though! We'll very much look forward to welcoming you again when you're ready to return. Nadine

Short Autumn Break.

Review submitted on Mon, 14 Nov 2022
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
An ideal cottage for a break in the lovely village of Askrigg. We have stayed here before, some years ago, but since then it is much improved. One to recommend and we look forward to a return visit. The Askrigg Brewery beer served in the King's Arms was the one that got our vote!



Joanne at Country Hideaways replied 71 days ago
Thank you so much for your review, so pleased you enjoyed another stay at School House, I'll pass your appreciation of the improvements on to the owners. We hope to hear from you again soon when you are ready to book your next holiday with us. Joanne

Enjoyed out stay.

Review submitted on Fri, 28 Oct 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Enjoyed our stay and know the village well. Autumn coming so fire was good. Usual good eating places and walks with car visits further afield. Avioded the White Rose once again as usual but all others fine.l as usual. Good stay



Joanne at Country Hideaways replied 89 days ago
Thank you very much for leaving a review. So pleased you enjoyed your stay in Askrigg again. We hope to be able to welcome you back again soon. Joanne

Wonderful week

Review submitted on Sat, 15 Oct 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Arrived to a spotlessly clean cozy cottage. Sofas and beds were very comfortable. Ideal location in the beautiful village of Askrigg. Very peaceful with walks straight from the door. We had a very relaxing week, lovely to return to the cozy log burner. Highly recommend this beautiful cottage.



Nadine at Country Hideaways replied 103 days ago
Thank you so much for leaving your lovely review for School House in Askrigg and really good to know you had a wonderful week and everything was as it should have been for your holiday. We'll very much look forward to welcoming you again when you're ready to return. Nadine

Simply wonderful

Review submitted on Fri, 16 Sep 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Fabulous birthday holiday wonderful place to stay. Already booked for the next one. Clean and beautifully presented



Nadine at Country Hideaways replied 131 days ago
Really great to hear you had a fabulous birthday holiday at School House in Askrigg, and good to hear you've already booked for the next one! Thank you for taking the time to leave your review, really very much appreciated. Nadine

Perfect base for exploring Yorkshire Dales

Review submitted on Fri, 15 Jul 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Comfortable and well appointed cottage with two bedrooms and private back patio. Dog friendly. Very clean and well equipped, including all kinds of kitchen utensils, fire wood and loads of hiking books etc. Askrigg is perfectly located and very charming.



Nadine at Country Hideaways replied 195 days ago
What a lovely review for School House in Askrigg, thank you. So pleased you found the cottage a perfect for exploring the dales and very charming too. We'll very much look forward to welcoming you again when you're ready to return.

a dales diary....

Review submitted on Sun, 15 May 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
First time to this area and it couldn't have been better. Lovely village,friendly locals, super snug cottage and plenty of walks.



Nadine at Country Hideaways replied 256 days ago
Thank you for leaving your lovely review and so very pleased you enjoyed your very first visit to this area with us at School House in Askrigg. We'll look forward to hearing from you again when you're ready to return! Nadine

Cosy hideaway

Review submitted on Fri, 06 May 2022
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A traditional cottage in a quiet location, clean and comfortable with thoughtful extras for a more relaxing stay. Great to have a fully enclosed rear garden for our dog.



Nadine at Country Hideaways replied 266 days ago
Thank you so much for leaving your review for School House and pleased to hear you had a relaxing stay and the dog too! We'll look forward to hearing from you again when you're ready to return. Nadine

.

Review submitted on Fri, 06 May 2022
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Unfortunately due to ill health we were unable to visit School House, but our friends used it instead and said they had a really good holiday and asked us to thank you on their behalf



Nadine at Country Hideaways replied 266 days ago
So very sorry you weren't able to come to School House but great that your friends could come instead. Very pleased to hear they had a really good holiday and we'll look forward to hearing from you all when you're ready to return. Nadine

Excellent cottage

Review submitted on Mon, 18 Apr 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Excellent cottage and location. School House had everything you needed, lovely and very clean. Outside patio very secure for our little dog. We especially enjoyed having the log burner/fire and it was most appreciated that both types of fuel were readly available. On the whole we had a fantastic and relaxing stay, also Askrigg itself as it was a great little village as enjoyed having three drinking establishments to choose from right on your doorstep.Overall would definitely recommend School House and hope to be back to visit again in the near future.




Nadine at Country Hideaways replied 283 days ago
Thank you so much for leaving your lovely positive review about School House in Askrigg and so pleased you had a fantastic and relaxing stay at the cottage and enjoyed the village. We'll look forward to hearing from you again when you're ready to return. Nadine

Our home from home

Review submitted on Fri, 21 Jan 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Cosy, clean and very welcoming. Perfect for us to relax and enjoy
Every day was lovely. All you need for a great holiday




Nadine at Country Hideaways. replied more than 1 year ago
You sound as though you have enjoyed your stay at School House in Askrigg, very pleased to hear. Thank you for leaving your lovely review and we'll look forward to hearing from you again when you're ready to return. Nadine

Great Place From Which To Explore The Dales

Review submitted on Fri, 22 Oct 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The School House is a wonderful cottage in an amazing location. A fantastic place from which to explore the dales with plenty of long walks from the door step if you don’t want to move your car. All the facilities needed for four people including a log burner and an outdoor courtyard to BBQ if the weather allows. Askrigg village is a central hub for Wensleydale and has a real sense of community b
Country Hide Aways standards are exceptional and we always book with them if possible.




Nadine at Country Hideaways. replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you so much for your lovely review about School House in Askrigg, very much appreciated. Great to hear you felt the cottage was a fantastic place to explore this wonderful part of the world and had all the facilities you needed. We are looking forward to welcoming you again just when you're ready to return! Nadine

Cosy well equipped

Review submitted on Sun, 12 Sep 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our second visit here. Beautiful cottage. Our favourite location. Wonderful walks from the doorstep. Cottage has everything you need. Loved the slow cooker so much I brought one for myself and both kids when I got back. The wood burner a real treat for us townies. Thank you will be booking again



Nadine at Country Hideaways. replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you so much for leaving such a lovely review, very much appreciated and very pleased to hear you enjoyed your second stay at School House, surrounding area and the books! We'll very much look forward to welcoming when you're ready to return! Nadine

Cosy central cottage

Review submitted on Sat, 04 Sep 2021
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A cosy cottage in the centre of Askrigg. Parking for one car and dog friendly. Good WiFi so could use BBC iplayer as Bilsdale transmitter out of action. Beds very comfortable. Patio rather dingy.
If you have two cars, parking could be difficult at busy times. Covid precautions excellent.




Nadine at Country Hideaways. replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you so much for leaving your review about School House, do hope you enjoyed your holiday there and we'll look forward to welcoming you when you are ready to return to this wonderful part of the world. Nadine

Lovely cottage in a quiet village with three pubs

Review submitted on Fri, 30 Jul 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have now used Country Hideaways on several occasions and have always found the accommodation to be lovely and clean, School House is no exception, very compact, but everything you need for a week away. The cottage is located up a quiet side street and has a small enclosed rear yard with a small table and chairs outside, ideal if you have dog.
We ate at all three of the pubs in the village, all were good and numerous walks on the doorstep. Will definitely return again.




Nadine at Country Hideaways. replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you so much for your positive review of School House and Country Hideaways! Good to hear you enjoyed the cottage and we'll very much look forward to welcoming you again when you're ready to return. Nadine