FB Twitter

The Bield

The Bield

5.0
out of 5
Ratings from 18 reviews
94% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.9
Condition
5.0
Location
4.9
Value
4.9
Customer
Service
5.0


A lovely, pretty cottage to sleep six in peaceful village of Thornton Rust in Wensleydale. Lots of character, wood burning stove, separate dining room, sunny patio garden to the front. Footpaths seem to crisscross Wensleydale for miles and from the cottage you can attempt the heights of Addlebrough for breath taking views. Visit nearby Aysgarth Falls, Hardrow Force, Bolton Castle. Travel to Hawes, Skipton, Leyburn, Settle, pass the Ribblehead Viaduct, Sedburgh, Dent or just enjoy Wensleydale in all its glory.

A wonderful cottage

Review submitted on Tue, 03 Jan 2023
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is a wonderful cottage in an amazing location. Very comfortable with plenty of space in all the rooms. The utility/boot room with underfloor heating is perfect for storing and drying boots and wet coats - you can never guarantee the weather in The Dales.
The location is perfect for those who want to walk from the door or to access the other area of the dales.
We have been several times and how to stay again soon.




Nadine at Country Hideaways replied 24 days ago
Thank you so much for leaving your wonderful review for The Bield in Thornton Rust, it's really great to know that you continue to enjoy your holidays there. We'll very much look forward to welcoming you again when you're ready to return. Nadine

The Bield - Thornton Rust

Review submitted on Wed, 09 Nov 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Home from home - November 5th - we required the solitude (no fireworks to upskitall the dog)
Local residents are very friendly and welcoming. A great summer break.




Joanne at Country Hideaways replied 78 days ago
Thank you so much for leaving a 5 star review. Pleased you enjoyed another stay at The Bield and we hope to hear from you when you are ready to return to this wonderful part of Yorkshire. Joanne

The Bield

Review submitted on Fri, 02 Sep 2022
4.8
out of 5

Guest doesn't recommend this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A lovely warm spacious cottage with excellent facilities. Parking could be better and the shower is difficult to use.
Good location with groceries and petrol within a couple of miles. Walking trails all around and the main road only 2
Miles away. The caretakers are local and very helpful.




Nadine at Country Hideaways replied 147 days ago
Thank you so much for leaving your lovely, helpful review for The Bield and good to hear you found the cottage spacious with excellent facilities. Sorry though that you found the shower difficult to use, I feel you may have mentioned this to the the caretaker who in turn will have passed this on to the property owner. Many thanks. We'll very much look forward to welcoming you again when you're ready to return to this wonderful part of the world. Nadine

Just perfect for us!

Review submitted on Fri, 22 Jul 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely cottage: very comfortable, well equipped and spotlessly clean!
This is the second time we stayed in this property and hope to return in the future.




Nadine at Country Hideaways replied 183 days ago
Thank you so much for leaving your lovely review for The Bield in Thornton Rust and good to hear you find the cottage perfect for you. We'll very much look forward to hearing from you again when you're ready to return a third time! Nadine

The Bield in a quiet and friendly village

Review submitted on Fri, 01 Jul 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
What more would you require- excellent accommodation in a friendly and quiet village in The Yorkshire Dales.



Nadine at Country Hideaways replied 210 days ago
Thank you so much for leaving your lovely review for The Bield in Thornton Rust and that you found the cottage was excellent accommodation in a friendly, peaceful setting. We'll look forward to hearing from you again when you're ready to return. Nadine

Cottage review

Review submitted on Fri, 17 Jun 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed at The Bield for the 2nd year running and really love the home from home feel to the cottage, the owners have thought of everything. The situation is great for walking from the house or driving to other Dales to explore. Curlews, oystercatcher and lapwings nest locally and there are hares in the local fields.



Joanne at Country Hideaways replied 223 days ago
Thank you so much for leaving a 5 star review. How wonderful that you saw Curlews, Oystercatchers and Lapwings as well as hares. We hope to hear from you again when you are ready to return for a third stay. Joanne

A real Yorkshire Dales holiday experience!

Review submitted on Fri, 03 Jun 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The Bield is one of the most comfortable and well equipped cottages that I have ever booked. It had everything that we needed and more! It was perfect for our family of 5 and our dog, so much so that we were very happy to stay "at home" and just chill for some parts of our holiday. The cottage has lots of board games for children and walking books and area guides that gave me really helpful ideas of how we could spend our week. The cottage is in a very beautiful and peaceful location and is ideal if you are on holiday in Wensleydale with the intention to do lots of walking and outdoor activities. We did some walks from the cottage and then drove further afield to some of the more popular tourist spots like Aysgarth Falls, Grassington and Malham Cove. We experienced both fine weather and downpours and the facilities in the cottage enabled us to enjoy our holiday regardless of the weather. We have had a proper Yorkshire Dales holiday thanks to The Bield and have throughly enjoyed ourselves!



Nadine at Country Hideaways replied 237 days ago
Thank you so much for taking the time to leave your lovely, helpful review for The Bield in Thornton Rust. Really good to hear you thoroughly enjoyed your stay and felt you had experienced a proper Yorkshire Dales holiday. We'll look forward to hearing from you again when you're ready to return! Nadine

Happy!

Review submitted on Fri, 27 May 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Beautifully presented property in a location that suited us perfectly.And now there’s a request for me to ramble on for 30 more characters…



Nadine at Country Hideaways replied 244 days ago
Thank you so much for leaving your lovely review for The Bield in Thornton Rust and very pleased to hear the cottage suited you perfectly! We'll look forward to hearing from you again when you're ready to return. Nadine

Relaxing

Review submitted on Fri, 13 May 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Wonderful base for our holiday. So cosy and warm. Well equipped kitchen. Definitely recommend to walkers like us



Nadine at Country Hideaways replied 259 days ago
Lovely to hear you had a relaxing holiday and found The Bield in Thornton Rust a wonderful base for your holiday. Thank you so much for leaving your review and we'll look forward to hearing from you again when you're ready to return. Nadine

Amazing stay in cosy cottage

Review submitted on Sat, 02 Apr 2022
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The cottage was very spacious but still had the cosy feel
We arrived to tea bread and Wensleydale cheese along with proper fresh milk as a welcome.
We loved the remote location and found everyone we met friendly and helpful.
Numerous walks on the doorstep and would recommend the walk down to the stepping stones and along to Aysgarth but would advise making sure the tearooms in the village are open as they were closed on the day we went
Waking up to snow was a delight
Ideal place for keen walkers who want a quiet and comfortable stay




Joanne at Country Hideaways replied 299 days ago
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review, it's very much appreciated. Really pleased you loved the cottage and the location and we hope to hear from you again when you are ready to revisit the area. Joanne

An authentic Yorkshire Dales cottage, comfortable and very well equipped.

Review submitted on Wed, 09 Feb 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We would recommend the Bield to anyone looking for a superbly equipped and well situated cottage in central Wensleydale. The owners have obviously given a lot of thought to including all the essential things that people could possibly need in a holiday cottage. The Bield appears compact from the front view, however the interior is fairly spacious and extends to the rear through a pleasant dining room, a very good modern kitchen, through to a utility room (with underfloor heating), ending with a neat/compact downstairs toilet. Amazing use of space and layout. Similarly upstairs follows the same footprint, stretching back from three bedrooms to a clean and well appointed bathroom with a second toilet. We were cosy in late January, plenty of fuel for the log burner, along with oil fired central heating. Location-wise, it's a higher road at Thornton Rust, well away from the main Wensleydale route. Very peaceful, sleep quality 5 stars. Great cottage, great location.



Nadine at Country Hideaways. replied 348 days ago
Thank you so much for taking the time to leave such a lovely positive review about The Bield in Thornton Rust, very much appreciated. Good to hear you enjoyed your stay there and that you were comfortable and warm. We'll very much look forward to hearing from you again when you're ready to return! Nadine

Return not disappointed

Review submitted on Tue, 04 Jan 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was our second stay here, just over two years since last time, and as before we were very happy with the accommodation and facilities. The equipment supplied surpasses many other holiday properties we have used in the past, and the location is good for many of the places to visit.



Joanne at Country Hideaways replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your lovely review. So pleased you enjoyed your stay at The Bield again. We'd love to hear from you again when you are ready to return to the Dales. Joanne

Another lovely relaxing stay

Review submitted on Mon, 01 Nov 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Just returned from another relaxing week at the Bield. As soon as we opened the door we felt at home with the little extra's of yummy wensleydale cheese, bottle of milk, fruit cake and chocolates for our boys were a lovely touch. The cottage is immaculately clean, everything is provided - useful information and maps of the local area. The weather was mixed and we did get rather wet but the thought of snuggled up by the cosy fire and a cup of yorkshire tea to enjoy when we got in was just heart whelming. We didn't want to come home and hoping to return again next year.



Nadine at Country Hideaways. replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for leaving such a positive review for The Bield in Thornton Rust and that you enjoyed another lovely relaxing stay there, good to hear! We'll very much look forward to welcoming you back when you're ready to return. Nadine

A perfect getaway

Review submitted on Mon, 25 Oct 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a wonderful retreat at the Bield in our first visit to the Dales. The property was warm, welcoming, well equipped and made for a lovelt and cosy base while we explored Yorkshire and the Dales. Although a fair distance from amenities, we really appreciated the detachment and incredible scenery that came with it. We would love to return again without hesitation!



Nadine at Country Hideaways. replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for leaving a lovely review for The Bield in Thornton Rust. Great to hear you felt the cottage was a perfect getaway and found the cottage warm and welcoming. We'll very much look forward to welcoming you again when you're ready to return. Nadine

Beautiful location

Review submitted on Fri, 24 Sep 2021
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The Bield is a fabulous house. It's spacious and comfortable. We loved everything about the property. On arrival we found a welcoming bottle of local milk, cheese and cake.
Thornton Rust is central to all the wonderful areas in the Yorkshire Dales.
We would certainly recommend this house to others.




Nadine at Country Hideaways. replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you so much for leaving your lovely review about The Bield in Thornton Rust, very pleased to hear you enjoyed the house and the Yorkshire Dales and would recommend to others. We'll look forward to hearing from you again when you're ready to return. Nadine

A lovely retreat

Review submitted on Fri, 13 Aug 2021
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The Bield is a comfortable and clean property. Deceptively spacious and in a quiet little village. Thornton Rust has lots of footpaths to discover and we did a lovely walk to Askrigg and a beautiful walk to Aysgarth to see the waterfalls. Close to Hawes, Leyburn and a trip to Easby Abbey at Richmond. I love this part of the Yorkshire Dales and would recommend this property.



Nadine at Country Hideaways. replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for leaving the lovely review for The Bield, good to hear you enjoyed your stay, the Yorkshire Dales and the walking you did. Hope you made it to the top of Addlebrough. We'll very much look forward to hearing from you again when you're ready to return. Nadine

The Bield was very homely

Review submitted on Fri, 13 Aug 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The Bield is in good location for getting the wonderful countryside.It had everything in the house it was like home from home especially the kitchen.I could have made a cake.Beds were comfortable.We loved the information they left about where the nearest places were for shopping and eating.The print outs for walks from the house were great,we did one.Really appreciated the Yorkshire tea loaf and Wensleydale cheese when we arrived.



Nadine at Country Hideaways. replied more than 1 year ago
What a lovely review, so positive and so very pleased to hear you enjoyed the cottage and the surrounding countryside, thank you. We'll look forward to welcoming you once more when you're ready to return! Nadine

Peaceful Summer holiday

Review submitted on Fri, 16 Jul 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have never been to Thornton Rust before but found it a lovely peaceful location to stay, near to plenty of good places to visit for food and walks.
We thought the cottage was well equipped and very clean. We slept very well due to the quiet.
The local people were friendly , always wishing us good morning etc.
We walked locally using the kindly provided laminated instructions. Within minutes you could be walking across fields full of sheep.
We used the patio table for breakfast, lunch and tea !
Thank you for a lovely stay, we would recommend the cottage and hope to come back.




Joanne replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you very much for leaving such a lovely review. We look forward to welcoming you back to the dales. Joanne