FB Twitter

The Hay Barn

The Hay Barn

4.7
out of 5
Ratings from 13 reviews
100% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.7
Comfort
4.8
Condition
4.6
Location
4.6
Value
4.7
Customer
Service
4.9


Meticulously and lovingly converted with the exposure of original features such as stained beams, exposed stonework and natural woodwork amid tranquil rolling countryside in the Nidderdale Area of Outstanding Natural Beauty. The Hay Barn is close to Hackfall Wood and The Himalayan Gardens with Ripon, Masham and Pateley Bridge all a short drive away.

Nice comfortable cottage

Review submitted on Fri, 11 Nov 2022
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely country location nice and quiet with good views. Good base for exploring the area. Only down side was the lack of drawers in double bedroom and the small ones in the bedside table wouldn't open and close properly.



Nadine at Country Hideaways replied 77 days ago
Thank you so much for leaving your comments and review for The Hay Barn near Grewelthorpe and good to know you found the cottage nice and comfortable in lovely location. Really sorry there was a lack of drawer space and you were having difficulty with the ones in the bedside table, this will be passed on to the property owner. We'll very much look forward to welcoming you again when you're ready to return. Nadine

A well appointed cottage and a lovely location

Review submitted on Fri, 28 Oct 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Had a lovely stay at the Hay Barn. Cottage is well appointed, warm and comfortable. Nice secure garden for our dogs and great walking, eating and places to visit near by. Would definitely recommend.



Joanne at Country Hideaways replied 91 days ago
Thank you for your 5 star review of The Hay Barn, pleased you found the cottage well appointed and enjoyed all the area had to offer. We hope to be able to welcome you back again in the future. Joanne

overall good

Review submitted on Sun, 25 Sep 2022
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
the directions to the property could be better, the track to the cottage is very uneven, rough , although we appreciate it is a farm track.



Nadine at Country Hideaways replied 122 days ago
Thank you for leaving your helpful review for The Hay Barn near Grewelthorpe. We'll reassess the travel information we send out for the cottage but we're grateful you appreciate the track to the cottage is leading to the farm too. The farmer does repair periodically but perhaps not often enough, sorry. We will look forward to welcoming you again to this wonderful part of the world when you're ready to return. Nadine

You’ve found The Hay Barn - no need to look any further! Perfectly situated to enjoy The Dales ……..

Review submitted on Sat, 13 Aug 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely barn, beautiful rural setting close to amenities at Masham. Dog safe garden. We’ll be back to enjoy another holiday there.




Nadine at Country Hideaways replied 166 days ago
What a lovely review, thank you! So good to hear you enjoyed your stay at The Hay Barn near Grewelthorpe. We'll very much look forward to welcoming you again when you're ready to return. Nadine

The Hay Barn...

Review submitted on Sun, 22 May 2022
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed at this property last year and were very pleased, exactly what we wanted. We returned this year,and haven't changed our opinion.



Nadine at Country Hideaways replied 249 days ago
Good to hear you haven't changed your opinion and were very pleased with the Hay Barn near Grewelthorpe for your second visit to the cottage. Thank you so much for leaving your review and we'll look forward to hearing from you again when you're ready to return. Nadine

The Hay Bar

Review submitted on Fri, 20 May 2022
3.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
3.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Nice cottage. Lovely welcome pack. Perfect base for visiting Ripon, Harrogate and local villages. Great wee garden for our dog. Track leading to house needs some attention . Disappointed no facilities for recycling yet.



Nadine at Country Hideaways replied 251 days ago
Thank you for taking the time to leave your review for the Hay Barn near Grewelthorpe. So pleased you found the cottage a perfect base for visiting Ripon, Harrogate and our local villages. Yes, the garden is a bonus if bringing a dog. We will mention the track to the property owner, an on going job though. With regards to the recycling this is a little more difficult as the farm is on a business refuse collection and they who do not deal with recycling, very sorry. Nadine

Ideal spring break

Review submitted on Sun, 01 May 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The property is in a pretty setting and close to some of the lovely dales villages
The cottage was very clean and very well equipped and a nice welcome basket on our arrival
The hosts Alan and Rachel were on hand if needed and made us feel very welcome. Would definitely return.




Nadine at Country Hideaways replied 270 days ago
Thank you for taking the time to leave your lovely review for The Hay Barn near Grewelthorpe and so pleased the cottage gave you the ideal spring break. We'll forward to hearing from you again when you're ready to return. Nadine

Excellent holiday accommodation in beautiful location

Review submitted on Fri, 29 Oct 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The Hay Barn offers first class accommodation. The owners provided a much appreciated welcome basket on arrival, the accommodation is very spacious, cosy, spotlessly clean and warm. Despite having a very wet week, we enjoyed exploring the beautiful location.



Nadine at Country Hideaways. replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for the lovely review for The Hay Barn near Grewelthorpe and very pleased you found the cottage to be excellent holiday accommodation and enjoyed exploring the area too. We'll look forward to hearing from you again when you're ready return. Nadine

Lovely place to stay

Review submitted on Sat, 16 Oct 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely setting, great facilities, recommend it without hesitation. Great if you have a dog. Toasty warm thanks to underfloor heating & wood burner.



Nadine at Country Hideaways. replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you so much for leaving your review for The Hay Barn, good to hear you found it a lovely place to stay. We'll very much look forward to hearing from you again when you're ready to return. Nadine

A restful week

Review submitted on Mon, 20 Sep 2021
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A lovely, quiet location just outside the village but still with access to the Nidderdale AONB and surrounding area. The kitchen/dining space and separate lounge provided ample space for our party of four and the welcome pack was appreciated. The enclosed garden was a useful space to allow our dog access to the outdoors without the need to be on constant watch. One area for consideration may be better provision for recycling of glass/plastics etc. as it was unclear how this was to be achieved currently. Overall a very restful and enjoyable week was had by all.



Joanne at Country Hideaways replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you so much for leaving a review for your stay, glad you enjoyed your week. I'll pass your comments regarding recycling on to the owners. Hope to hear from you again when you are ready to return to the dales.

Lovely stay

Review submitted on Fri, 03 Sep 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Beautiful cottage, spotless, well-equipped, very spacious and excellent value for money. We really appreciated the very generous welcome basket. Lovely spot with easy access to walks, local towns and villages. Thoroughly recommend.



Nadine at Country Hideaways. replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you so much for leaving such a lovely review about The Hay Barn, very pleased to hear you enjoyed your holiday there and would recommend to others. We'll look forward to welcoming you again when you're ready to return! Nadine

Fantastic stay, very relaxing

Review submitted on Fri, 23 Jul 2021
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have loved our stay here, just what we needed - very quiet location. Front garden was very secure for our dog and also very private for us. We brought our garden chairs so we could recline outside in the sun which was very relaxing! There is garden seating at a picnic table but if you want to relax bringing chairs is a good idea! Inside is very comfortable, nice to relax in evening and kitchen well equipped, good space for eating and cooking. Hosts were great, helpful and also non-intrusive which we like! And they left us a welcome pack which was lovely with essentials and some treats :) Area is quiet, masham was only 10 min drive though with supermarket and petrol. Lots of walking in the area it’s a de auto fill place and lots to visit.



Nadine at Country Hideaways. replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you so much for leaving your positive review about The Hay Barn and good to hear you enjoyed your stay there. We'll look forward to hearing from you again when you're ready to return! Nadine

Gorgeous rural cottage

Review submitted on Sat, 17 Jul 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
What a gem of a find. This cottage is just outside the village of Grewelthorpe within an hour of everywhere you would want to go like Harrogate, Fountains Abbey, Grassington, Aysgarth Falls, Bedale, etc.

The cottage has all the usual amenities but also gave you plenty of room in the good sized kitchen and living room. Lovely big rain shower and spacious bedrooms including one on the ground floor should you need it. There was a lovely garden which we and our dogs enjoyed and fantastic views over the fields with the lambs, chickens and ducks roaming around.

We will definitely return, it was great.




Joanne replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your review of The Hay Barn. It sounds like you have a great time exploring. We look forward to hearing from you again when you are ready to return to the Dales. Joanne