FB Twitter

The Hay Loft

The Hay Loft

4.9
out of 5
Ratings from 17 reviews
100% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.9
Condition
4.9
Location
4.9
Value
4.9
Customer
Service
5.0


A striking little cottage tucked away in privacy but so near to the City of Ripon and the wonderful Dales and Vales and but a scenic walk away from Fountains Abbey and Studley Royal. Open plan lounge with dining and kitchen areas. Upstairs bedroom with ensuite shower room. Patio garden and off road parking to the front of the cottage. Travel further afield to Harrogate, the Himalyan Gardens, RHS Harlow Carr, Masham, Thirsk.

November in the Hay Loft

Review submitted on Thu, 24 Nov 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
What a gem the Hay Loft is! A wonderful cosy hideaway close to Ripon town centre but with walks from the doorstep.
Beautifully kept and presented, with a plentiful supply of logs for the fire.
We only had a short break, but it was wonderful.
Many thanks indeed to Katharine and Pete - a great place to stay!




Nadine at Country Hideaways replied 64 days ago
Thank you so very much for leaving such a lovely review for The Hay Loft at Bishopton near Ripon and so pleased to hear you really enjoyed your short break there. Perhaps next time come for longer, we'll very much look forward to welcoming you. Nadine

Perfect!

Review submitted on Fri, 15 Jul 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
I was tempted NOT to review so as to keep this absolute gem to ourselves! But why be selfish? The Hay Loft is a perfect holiday venue! And I mean "PERFECT!"



Nadine at Country Hideaways replied 196 days ago
So pleased you decided to share your thoughts about The Hay Loft in Bishopton near Ripon, but really good to hear you found the cottage a perfect holiday venue and perfect with it too! We'll very much look forward to hearing from you again when you're ready to return. Nadine

A home away from home

Review submitted on Fri, 08 Jul 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Just love staying at The Hay Loft, this is our 2nd stay and there will be a third. All the creature comforts, off road parking and wonderful hosts.



Nadine at Country Hideaways replied 199 days ago
Thank you for leaving your lovely review for The Hay Loft in Bishopton, Ripon and really great to know you love staying there. We'll very much look forward to welcoming you for a third visit when you're ready to return!

Very Convenient & Comfortable

Review submitted on Wed, 29 Jun 2022
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Just right for 2 people. Location and equipment provided were excellent. Fixtures and fittings also excellent and furniture and bed very comfortable. Owner provided lots of useful information ie; maps, local information and walks. Everything was great. We would definitely stay there again. Secluded rear seating area lovely. Owner provided lovely sweet treats and wine which was greatly appreciated.



Nadine at Country Hideaways replied 211 days ago
Thank you so much for leaving your lovely review for The Hay Loft in Bishopton, Ripon and that you felt everything was great for your stay. We'll very much look forward to hearing from you again when you're ready to return. Nadine

short break

Review submitted on Thu, 16 Jun 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
ideally situated on the outskirts of Ripon , the owner lives next door and nothing was a problem, she gave information for local events ,places for meals , places to visit , but only when asked otherwise she left you to your own devices after her first introducing
herself on your arrival on day one the property has private car parking which is good

Well worth a visit no complaints




Joanne at Country Hideaways replied 225 days ago
Thank you very much for your 5 star review. We hope to hear from you again when you are ready to return to this wonderful part of Yorkshire. Joanne

Excellent weeks' holiday in a very comfortable location, superbly located.

Review submitted on Sat, 11 Jun 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The Hay Loft is comfortable, home from home with everything you need including a thoughtful welcome pack and fresh flowers in every room. Katharine and Pete were very friendly and on hand should we have needed anything - which we didn't.

The location is excellent, with easy access by foot to Ripon and you can also walk to Studley Royal / Fountain's Abbey (with useful walking instructions providdr). We ate in some excellent restaurant's and coffee shops in Ripon and can highly recommend Manchego, Storehouse Kitchen, Realitea and Oliver's Cafe.

We were also able to visit a range of local attractions including Grassington, Thirsk and Helmsley.

Overall a wonderful break and we'd highly recommend.




Nadine at Country Hideaways replied 228 days ago
Thank you so much for taking the time to leave your very helpful review of The Hay Loft in Ripon and good to hear you enjoyed an excellent week at the cottage. We'll very much look forward to hearing from you again when you're ready to return. Nadine

A little gem

Review submitted on Thu, 12 May 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
What a find. Beautifully clean with everything provided you could possibly need for a comfortable self catering stay. A generous welcome pack of goodies was included too.
Perfect location for us to access the fabulous circular walks in our guides.
Only 10 mins walk into Ripon for all the essentials and the beautiful cathedral.
Would definitely book again.





Nadine at Country Hideaways replied 259 days ago
So pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay at The Hay Loft, going into Ripon and the fabulous local walks you found. Thank you for taking the time to leave your lovely helpful review. We'll very much look forward to hearing from you again when you're ready to return. Nadine

weekend away

Review submitted on Tue, 26 Apr 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Attentive owners very friendly, good information pack, enjoyable welcome pack.Well equipped kitchen.



Joanne at Country Hideaways replied 274 days ago
Thank you so much for leaving a 5 star review. We very much hope to hear from you again when you are ready to explore this beautiful part of Yorkshire again. Joanne

Our Stay At The Hayloft.

Review submitted on Fri, 08 Apr 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A lovely cottage in a very quite location.
A lot of thought had gone into making it really comfortable , comfy bed and furniture, nice and bright in all rooms.
A lovely welcome from Katherine when we arrived, also a nice assortment of goodies including treats for our dog, plus fresh flowers in every room.
Peter & Katherine were very helpful with info about places to visit and places to eat and drink
We really enjoyed our break at the Hay Loft, and will certainly visit again in the future.
Iris, Clive & Ludo.




Joanne at Country Hideaways replied 291 days ago
Thank you so much for leaving a 5 star review. Really pleased you enjoyed your break at The Hay Loft and we look forward to hearing from you when you are ready to return. Joanne

Another great stay

Review submitted on Tue, 29 Mar 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely, cosy holiday cottage, furnished and equipped to a good standard in a superb location. Great hosts and lovely welcome pack. Will be back for another visit.



Nadine at Country Hideaways replied 303 days ago
So pleased to hear you had another great stay at The Hay Loft in Bishopton near Ripon. Thank you for leaving such a lovely review and we'll look forward to hearing from you when you're ready to return. Nadine

Perfect cottage for 2

Review submitted on Fri, 25 Mar 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Great cottage comfortable and well equipped close to the centre of Ripon . Fabulous hosts and great touches like welcome pack and flowers . Our 3rd visit and it won’t be our last



Nadine at Country Hideaways replied 307 days ago
Thank you so much for taking the time to leave such a lovely review, so very pleased to hear you find The Hay Loft perfect for you both. We'll very much look forward to hearing from you again when you're ready for your fourth visit! Nadine

A good small cottage in Ripon

Review submitted on Mon, 07 Mar 2022
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed at the Hay Loft for 3 nights in March 2022. The owners contacted us a few days ahead of our stay, making sure everything was in order. They couldn't have been more helpful on arrival and even offered us breakfast on the morning of our departure, an offer we couldn't unfortunately take up. The Hay Loft itself is small, but has everything you need as a base for exploring and walking in Yorkshire. The small kitchen has everything you need to have breakfast or cook an evening meal. The bed is very comfortable (not always the case in cottages) and the bedroom has plenty of storage and a good ensuite. The open plan downstairs works well and having a parking spot directly outside is a plus. The Hay Loft is in a lovely, quiet part of Ripon, with no traffic noise or the like. It is about a 15 minute walk into the centre of Ripon, where you'll find amongst other things a Booths supermarket and a few nice pubs and restaurants. Overall, a really nice place to base yourself for a short break.



Nadine at Country Hideaways replied 325 days ago
Thank you for taking the time to leave your review for The Hay Loft in Bishopton, Ripon, very much appreciated and good to hear you felt it was a really nice place to base yourself for a short break exploring and walking in Yorkshire. We'll look forward to hearing from you again when you're ready to return, perhaps for a longer stay next time? Nadine

Wonderful

Review submitted on Thu, 21 Oct 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This place is a little gem, credit to the owners for making it so. We enjoyed its comfort, location, the helpful information pack about everything from walks, restaurants to market day. The goodie pack and wine were a lovely touch. Thank you



Nadine at Country Hideaways. replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your lovely review about The Hay Loft in Bishopton, Ripon. Great to hear you enjoyed the cottage and we look forward to hearing from you again when you're ready to return. Nadine

We like it

Review submitted on Fri, 01 Oct 2021
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Everything you need is here. Somewhere to park. Somewhere to sleep comfortably and quietly. Within walking distance of Ripon Cathedral, canal, museums and shops as well as Fountains Abbey.



Nadine at Country Hideaways. replied more than 1 year ago
Sounds like you enjoyed your stay at The Hay Loft and enjoyed exploring the area too. Thank you for leaving such a lovely, helpful review. We're ready to welcome you anytime for a return visit! Nadine

Best holiday cottage

Review submitted on Sat, 04 Sep 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was the best holiday cottage we have stayed in for comfort cleanliness and location. Having parking right outside the cottage was a real bonus. Walked into Ripon in about 15 mins, which had plenty of places to eat. Pete the owner was very welcoming and friendly and told us to get to Patel Bridge and Fountains Abbey.
Look forward to staying again in the future and highly recommend this cosy little retreat, ideal for two.

Aug 2021




Nadine at Country Hideaways. replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you so much for leaving such a lovely review about The Hay Loft, it is really appreciated. Very pleased to hear you felt it was the best holiday cottage and that you enjoyed your stay. We'll very much look forward to hearing from you again when you're ready to return! Nadine

Short Break Vacation

Review submitted on Sat, 24 Jul 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Great place to stay, really enjoyed our time. Very generous welcome pack provided. Just a short walk into Ripon.



Perfect place to stay

Review submitted on Wed, 07 Jul 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The cottage was so clean and cosy, perfect location for exploring the Dales. The hosts are lovely and very accommodating



Joanne replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for leaving a review. We agree Ripon is a great base for exploring the Dales from. We hope to hear from you again if you would like to return and continue exploring. Joanne