FB Twitter

The Rookery

The Rookery

4.9
out of 5
Ratings from 17 reviews
100% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.8
Comfort
4.9
Condition
4.7
Location
4.9
Value
4.8
Customer
Service
4.9


Once a stable block now converted into a beautiful detached dwelling to sleep ten, set in woodland grounds with informal gardens and lovely views across the dale. Woodburning stoves, off road parking. A certain peacefulness descends here. Venture over into Wharfedale and onwards to Skipton and Bolton Abbey, or east into the splendour of Wensleydale with Aysgarth Falls, Bolton Castle, Leyburn, Hawes and smaller villages.

The rookery bishopdale

Review submitted on Sun, 11 Dec 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The rookery is so comfy, well stocked ,homely and inviting with beautiful views and surroundings.
The hosts are very accommodating only there when you need them.
Cosy wood burners with ample space.
Lots of space for car parking.
Not far from amenities.




Nadine at Country Hideaways replied 39 days ago
Thank you for leaving your lovely review for The Rookery in Bishopdale, very much appreciated. Really great to know you continue you to enjoy your holidays there and we'll very much look forward to welcoming you again when you're ready to return. Nadine

Tranquility

Review submitted on Tue, 18 Oct 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
What a beautiful property and grounds. The peacefulness was constant. Lots of history surrounding the property. Very well equipped for every age. The owners very helpful if needed for anything. This house needs to be filled with family and enjoyed. Some great towns locally to be explored. There is an aga as well as a conventional oven, do use it too cook. There are pheasants and squirrels and rabbits running round the grounds and the views are amazing. We felt very welcomed in the house and will certainly look to revisit in the future.



Nadine at Country Hideaways replied 100 days ago
Thank you so much for leaving such a lovely review for The Rookery in Bishopdale, sounds like you all had a wonderful holiday there. Great to hear you would like to revisit and we'll look forward to welcoming you back quite soon! Nadine

fabulous place to stay

Review submitted on Sat, 20 Aug 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
the rookery was even better than we expected. so spacious and clean and every little detail thought of to make the stay so comfortable!! loved the grounds and views!! we would love to come back again....



Nadine at Country Hideaways replied 159 days ago
Thank you so much for leaving your review for The Rookery in Bishopdale. It was great to hear you had a fabulous stay and that The Rookery was even better then expected! We'll very much look forward to welcoming you again when you're ready to return! Nadine

Amazing hidden gem on the dales!

Review submitted on Thu, 18 Aug 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is such an amazing house, great facilities, spotlessly clean, exceptional value for money and the views from the house are out of this world. Beds were comfy, showers great and the kitchen well equipped. Such a great place!



Nadine at Country Hideaways replied 162 days ago
Thank you so much for leaving your lovely, positive review for The Rookery is Bishopdale and that you felt the house was just amazing, we think so too. As you say a hidden gem. We'll look forward to welcoming you again when you're ready to return. Nadine

Barry from Washington (UK)

Review submitted on Sat, 06 Aug 2022
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely spacious property. Excellent facilities(furniture, cutlery, crockery etc.) Nice atmosphere with the log burners. Mrs Fawcett was very welcoming. Adults and kids really enjoyed their stay.Would book again.



Nadine at Country Hideaways replied 172 days ago
Thank you so much for leaving your lovely, positive review for The Rookery in Bishopdale and good to hear you all enjoyed your stay there. We'll very much look forward to welcoming you again when you're ready to return! Nadine

Excellent accommodation and location

Review submitted on Sun, 19 Jun 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Absolutely perfect holiday property for a large family group with plenty of space for all. All comforts were provided and in a perfect location with beautiful views and large grounds, great for children.
Very highly recommended.




Nadine at Country Hideaways replied 221 days ago
Thank you so much for leaving your lovely review for The Rookery in Bishopdale and really great to know you found the place to be absolutely perfect for your family holiday. We'll very much look forward to hearing from you again when you're ready to return. Nadine

Great Family Retreat

Review submitted on Thu, 09 Jun 2022
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Sleeping 10 and with loads of space The Rookery is ideal for a large family getaway - grandparents, children and grandchildren in our case. Room to be together and room to spread out - which is important with a 10-year-old! An out-of-the-way location - which was good for us - but with easy access to Leyburn and Hawes for shops - but try the shop and butchers in West Burton. Super service and a good range if items.



Nadine at Country Hideaways replied 232 days ago
Great to hear you found The Rookery ideal for your family getaway, sounds a wonderful holiday for you all. Thank you so much for leaving your lovely review and we'll look forward to hearing from you again when you're ready to return! Nadine

family break

Review submitted on Sat, 07 May 2022
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Enjoyable stay at the Rookery, spacious and well equipped. Family gathering of 3 households but we weren't on top of each other so ideal. Children loved exploring the grounds.



Nadine at Country Hideaways replied 264 days ago
Thank you for leaving your review for The Rookery in Bishopdale, good hear you enjoyed your stay there and found the place spacious and well equipped, lovely the children enjoyed it too! We'll look forward to hearing from you again when you're ready to return. Nadine

A great family week away

Review submitted on Fri, 08 Apr 2022
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We came here 12 years ago with friends and decided to return for a special occasion with grown up family. Beautiful location, enough room to spread out or be together. Lovely open fires, Aga. Highly recommend for all ages



Joanne at Country Hideaways replied 291 days ago
Thank you so much for leaving a review. The Rookery is a beautiful location to get together with family and friends, so pleased you would highly recommend it. We hope you will get in touch again when you are ready to return to the dales. Joanne

Greatest place for family meeting

Review submitted on Sun, 27 Mar 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
All our family enjoyed the place in nature , singing birds ,sunshine on the grass , close to hiking walk , special atmosphere , bottle of wine and chockolates on greeting make familiar place and very welcome us .
We definitely will back again!
Thanks
Tamara




Nadine at Country Hideaways replied 305 days ago
So pleased you enjoyed your stay at The Rookery and will be returning soon. Thank you for taking the time to leave such a lovely review. We're looking forward to seeing you again later in the year.

Group weekend

Review submitted on Mon, 07 Mar 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
An excellent property for a group weekend away. Superb location.
Try the Street Head Inn, the Fox and Hounds(Starbotton) and the George (Hubberholme). All excellent.




Nadine at Country Hideaways replied 326 days ago
Good to hear you all enjoyed your weekend away at The Rookery in Bishopdale and thank you for the pub recommendations, always helpful. We'll very much look forward to hearing from you again when you're ready to return. Nadine

Christmas 21

Review submitted on Wed, 29 Dec 2021
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Has a fantastic stay over Christmas. Warm welcoming and comfortable. Loved using the Aga and the log burners made Christmas perfect



Nadine at Country Hideaways. replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for leaving a review for The Rookery in Bishopdale. Good to hear you had a fantastic stay over Christmas and found the place warm and welcoming. We'll very much look forward to hearing from you again when you're ready to return to the dales. Nadine

missing

Review submitted on Sat, 18 Dec 2021
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
door opening tool.( log burner) one for each log burner. Better instructions required. Most people are not used to a log burner.
Power sockets. they were mainly round pin, Not square/




Joanne at Country Hideaways replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for leaving a review, I'll pass your points on to the owners so they can review the instructions for using the log burner and replace the missing tools. Joanne

Excellent property in perfect location. Owners nearby provided really good welcome package.

Review submitted on Sat, 25 Sep 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Could not rate this property any higher ! It was just perfect for our party of seven adults, a child and a toddler.
Grand scale all rooms in a perfect location for a great holiday ‘away from it all’.
Good eating just a couple of miles up the road and the market town of Leyburn within easy reach for anything else we needed.
We would not hesitate to return to this beautiful property.
With many thanks to the owners.




Nadine at Country Hideaways. replied more than 1 year ago
So pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay at The Rookery, thank you for leaving such a positive review. We'll very much look forward to hearing from you again when you're ready to return to this wonderful part of the world. Nadine

Just wonderful!

Review submitted on Tue, 07 Sep 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was the second time we stayed at the Rookery, and it was just as good! Beautiful big rooms, plenty of downstairs space for everyone to spread out, wonderful views of the hill opposite. I love the little extra touches - tissues in every room, wine and chocolates on arrival, the fires ready to light etc. It was a place our whole family could come together and not feel cramped or on top of one another. We enjoyed the games room, and the board games, especially Qwirkle.
The kitchen was well stocked, and it was fun using the Aga - though the oven takes a bit of working out where the hottest part is. It was much drier this time round, so we didn't make much use of the drying room, but last time it was a life saver for our soggy boots and coats.
We had some wonderful walks nearby too, with stunning scenery.




Joanne at Country Hideaways replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you so much for leaving a review for your stay at The Rookery, so pleased it was as good second time round. We'd love to welcome you back for a third stay!

Spacious, comfortable country hideaway

Review submitted on Sun, 22 Aug 2021
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Second time staying and we do love this place. So much space - our two households virtually have a wing each upstairs. Loads of cooking equipment and a lovely Aga. The games room was used permanently whilst we were in the house - difficult to drag teens away, despite old darts (bring your own to avoid frustration) and a very well worn but perfectly serviceable pool table.
You do need to remember this is a country property and there is wildlife around (field mice and loads of flies), but the location, views and wonderful space are more than compensation.
Susan and Brian are so friendly and helpful, but leave you to enjoy your holiday unless you need them.




Nadine at Country Hideaways replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for leaving a review for The Rookery and really good to hear you enjoyed you stay again and enjoy the space and facilities there. We will very much look forward to hearing from you again when you're ready to return! Nadine

Splendid location. Pictures don’t do the place justice

Review submitted on Sun, 04 Jul 2021
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
5 of us stayed during a sunny week in the dales. House was lovely with all the amenities you could ask for. Everything was well organised and information from both Country Hideaways and the owner spot on.

We were admittedly very fortunate with the weather but, even so, the property did not disappoint and would a great base, whatever the weather.

You do need a car to get to the nearest pub or eatery but there’s plenty of cooking utilities if you’re happy to cook your own food. Beds were also comfy but duvets were a tad heavy given the temperature.

All in all, thoroughly recommended!




Joanne replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for leaving a review, so pleased you enjoyed your stay at The Rookery. We hope to welcome you again, hopefully in the not too distant future. Joanne