FB Twitter

The Firemans House

The Firemans House

4.8
out of 5
Ratings from 7 reviews
100% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.7
Comfort
4.7
Condition
4.7
Location
5.0
Value
4.7
Customer
Service
5.0


The Firemans House

The Firemans House is a converted outside of Torr Vale Mill, one of 5 cottages. When the mill installed steam power it meant that there would need to be a constant fire burning in the boiler rooms in order to keep up a head of steam. If fire was to break out in a working cotton mill the results would be catastrophic, so a full-time fireman was in residence and this cottage is a lovely conversion of his original living quarters. The cottage is unusual in as much as the two bedrooms are on the ground floor and the living rooms are on the first floor in order to take advantage of the elevated views over the mill and down the valley to the River Goyt, and you may even get to see the occasional steam train on its way to Edale. The Firemans House has been lovingly restored with furnishings that offer the comforts of modern living so you won’t be expected to bathe in a tin bath in front of the fire!

The Fox Family

Review submitted on Fri, 15 Oct 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed at the Fireman's house during a very stressful week away from our own home. The peaceful settings and the comfort of the Fireman's House as helped us to relax and unwind. Can not fault the service and level of care given from staff at Torr Vale Mill, especially Philippa who has gone above and beyond her role to help us during our stay. Will definitely recommend.

Lynsey from stayed at The Firemans House for 5 nights in October 2021


Great stay for walkers

Review submitted on Sun, 19 Sep 2021
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A lovely place to stay. We parked our car and did lots of walks from the doorstep. Accommodation was comfortable with additional home comforts such as blankets on the sofas. Towels were lovely and soft. Kitchen was well resourced. It was a delight to eat breakfast and watch the steam train go by. The evenings were quiet and we rarely heard our neighbours or people leaving the Shrub Club - think the lovely thick walls helped to isolate the sound. There was a good selection of DVD’s and books which we enjoyed. We had a lovely stay.

Mark from SCUNTHORPE stayed at The Firemans House for 7 nights in September 2021


Fireman’s Cottage

Review submitted on Sat, 11 Sep 2021
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Had a thoroughly enjoyable Mon-Fri stay at the Fireman’s cottage. Philippa was very helpful and friendly, the cottage had everything we needed and was in good condition and comfortable. Walked from the cottage to Hayfield for lunch one day, jumped on the train to Edale to walk On the moors and visit Castleton on two other days. The restaurant and bar on site, shrub club, was also worth a visit.

Martin from Manchester stayed at The Firemans House for 4 nights in September 2021


A hidden gem...

Review submitted on Sat, 21 Aug 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The fireman house is a 3 storey house, the main entrance (the door) and the bedrooms are actually on the first floor, and the kitchen and living room is on the 3rd floor, so we felt very secured in the house, even thought it is on the path to the Shrub club.
The parking space is quite tight for an estate or medium SUVs, reversing to the space can be a challenge in the dark.

The accommodation was nice and clean, it looks like it has recently been repainted, so the windows and skirtings look very new. We had WiFi issues during our stay, I texted Philippa and she text me back straight away with suggestions. Although we couldn't get the WiFi to work, Philippa offered us some compensation to cover our extra mobile data costs.

In the living room you get a very nice view to the millennium walkway, the river, above the river was the railway track (it makes a lovely sound when the train passes) and a very tall chimney lit up during the night!

On our first night, we planned to have dinner at the Shrub, however the nice bar area was full and the only table available for us was at the canteen looking lower ground floor, so we headed out to the village centre for dinner instead. Luckily the village centre is only 10 minutes walk away.

The cheese wheel is opposite the Shrub and its well worth a visit while you are staying in Torr Vale Mill for a good selection of local and international beer, wine and cheese.

This is a hidden gem and we would highly recommend it.

Thank you Phillipa


Guest from Swindon stayed at The Firemans House for 3 nights in August 2021


Excellent

Review submitted on Fri, 20 Aug 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0

We have just got back from a fabulous, relaxing stay in the Firemans House. From start to finish, the owner Philippa was so lovely and accommodating, nothing was too much trouble, even gave us a tour around the amazing Cotton Mill.
The accommodation was nice and clean, everything you need and the bed linen and beds were excellent quality and extremely comfortable.
Beautiful walks on your doorstep, waking up to the sound of the weir was delightful.
This is a hidden gem, with a lovely pub and cheese shop literally a minute's walk away in the Mill's court yard.
Cannot recommend Torr Vale Mills enough.


Lesley from Grantham stayed at The Firemans House for 7 nights in August 2021


Amazing location!

Review submitted on Fri, 06 Aug 2021
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a wonderful week in the Fireman's House. The location was amazing, right on the river with fabulous walks. Rob and the team were really helpful and the house was nice too.

Olivia from Rugby stayed at The Firemans House for 7 nights in July 2021


Fab industrial cottage

Review submitted on Fri, 06 Aug 2021
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely cottage in amazing setting. The river is constantly changing, lots to see and do around. Shrub Club very handy for food and a drink. Cheese Wheel for artisan beers and cheese. The parking spot is perfect for being close to the cottage but beware when reversing out if your car is big. I recommend google street view of the last few streets when arriving as the end of Torrvale Road looks more like a footpath/track than the correct route to the mill. We had some issues with the WiFi dropping out but excellent response from the owner. The proximity of the railway adds to the interest of the view and we really didn’t notice the sound. Lots of info in the online portal - link sent a few days before you stay.

Andrew from Derby stayed at The Firemans House for 7 nights in July 2021