FB Twitter

Harvey Cottage

Harvey Cottage

4.4
out of 5
Ratings from 19 reviews
95% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
3.9
Comfort
4.5
Condition
4.5
Location
4.6
Value
4.3
Customer
Service
4.6


Beautiful, well presented 2 bedroom, 2 bathroom cottage with parking and private garden. Lovely countryside location, only 8 miles from the coast.

Cosy dog friendly cottage.

Review submitted on Thu, 11 Apr 2024
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We recently stayed at Harveys cottage and overall, it was a pleasant experience. The location was fantastic, and being dog-friendly was a huge plus for us. The cottage had a comfortable and homely atmosphere, making it easy to relax. However, there were a couple of issues that slightly dampened our stay. Despite requesting the bed arrangements prior to our visit, our request wasn't honored. This was a bit disappointing as it affected our comfort during the stay. Additionally, we noticed that cleanliness could have been improved. There were quite a few spider webs around, and it seemed like attention to detail in cleaning could have been better, as some items were simply cleaned around rather than being picked up leaving a lot of dust everywhere. Despite these minor setbacks, we still had a good time at the cottage. With a bit more attention to detail and ensuring requests are met, it could be an even better experience for future guests.



Lovely place to stay

Review submitted on Tue, 23 Jan 2024
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Loved this cottage sad to leave. My only negatives are we found the mattress a bit soft but this is all a personal preference thing and could do with some space to put your own food in the kitchen. Thankyou for sharing a wonderful place



Our stay

Review submitted on Mon, 11 Sep 2023
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We were very fortunate with the weather. This was our second stay at Harvey cottage. We really like the peace and comfort of the cottage. There is a welcome pack of wine and goodies which is a nice touch. It is in a good location for visiting the coast as well as the countryside. Hopefully, we will return a third time next year.



Disappointing

Review submitted on Sun, 10 Sep 2023
3.3
out of 5

Guest doesn't recommend this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
3.0
Location
4.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
4.0
The cottage was well equipped and ideally situated to explore North Norfolk. However, having rented dozens of holiday cottages, we were disappointed with some aspects of the property. The level of cleanliness was poor. There was a messy drip of toothpaste down the cupboard door in the upstairs bathroom and the loo in there smelled of urine. Cobwebs in corners, grubby skirting boards and dust bunnies around the legs of the dining room chairs and I doubt the dining room floor had been mopped in a while. The towels provided were well past their prime - thin and greyed. We won’t be returning.



Cosy Well Equipped Cottage

Review submitted on Mon, 07 Aug 2023
3.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
2.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely cottage, nicely decorated throughout. Huge bath in relaxing surrounding with candles, diffusers and lots of spare towels and loo rolls. Seemed strange at first that the bathroom door opens from the lounge but soon got used to it. Small kitchen with every accessory you might need (apart from egg cups) including a fab dolce gusto coffee machine with coffee pods, hamper and bottle of wine on arrival was also a great touch. Dining table seats 6, slightly dark with no overhead light but a nice cosy area straight off the kitchen. Lounge with 2 sofas and 2 extra bean bags, coffee table with 2 pull out side tables too. Didn’t need to use the log burner, logs were limited, only 1 large one supplied. Lots of board games for the kids but a few missing parts. Two spacious bedrooms upstairs with comfy beds, nice matching furnishings and decoration. Shower room with 2 sinks, shower heads and jets could do with descaling. My only real criticism would be the quality of cleaning throughout, lots of cobwebs in corners and light fittings, dusty TV and surrounding area, dead flies in vases and windows and external doors could do with a clean outside. The driveway gate is difficult to open as it pushes inwards on to gravel and is quite heavy and difficult to manoeuvre if you have a larger car to negotiate. 3 sets of garden furniture with tables so you can always find a spot in the sun or shade if you prepare. All were in need of a good clean and the grass needed mowing too but to be fair the gardener did turn up the evening before we left to mow and couldn’t because our car was parked in the driveway and we were all sat outside in the garden enjoying the sunshine. Please don’t let the negatives of this review prevent you from visiting Harvey Cottage as it really was beautiful but I’ve tried to be honest with my opinions. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and despite the comments about cleanliness the areas that really mattered were spotless. Directions to the cottage could be clearer as we drove up and down the street 3 times before we realised that we needed to take a right turn and the sign that was mentioned didn’t exist. Locals were really friendly and offered help and even invited us to the local cricket club BBQ. Would definitely visit again!



My review for Harvy Cottage.

Review submitted on Sun, 23 Jul 2023
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Harvy Cottage is a great location if you want peace and quiet.Easy to get to other places in Norfolk.We had a lovely 3days stay even though the weather was not great.Everything we needed at the cottage.Found the induction hob hard to use.Beds very comfortable and lovely bathrooms.Just one fault with the cottage floors and carpets could do with a good clean.Front door was very stiff to open and close.Look forward to staying there again.

Kind regards
Fiona Ruhl.








David replied 266 days ago
Thank you for your kind review. Harvey Cottage is particularly popular for its location and the peaceful surroundings of the village. The floors and carpets do get a lot of extra heavy traffic during the summer months, but we'll certainly pass on your comments.

Comfortable, pretty cottage. Fantastic location.

Review submitted on Tue, 23 May 2023
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The cottage is very comfortable in a quiet village. A home away from home . The location is perfect for exploring North Norfolk without having to drive far. We had a great week. Thank you!



Sue replied 329 days ago
Hello Tracey Thank you for taking the time to review Harvey Cottage. I am so pleased to hear you found the cottage so comfortable and that you enjoyed exploring the area. We hope you come and stay again soon.

Harvey Cottage

Review submitted on Mon, 01 May 2023
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Great accommodation, clean and comfortable. Welcome pack with a selection of local goodies is a nice touch. Would stay again.



Sue replied 350 days ago
Thank you very much for you rkind review Mark. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay and would love you to return again in the future.

Details of minor issues

Review submitted on Mon, 03 Apr 2023
2.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
2.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
3.0
Location
3.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
3.0
Accommodation was good. However a few issues. Back gate in secure garden broken, exterior doors difficult to lock and open and coffee machine did not heat up.
Lovely welcome pack and property well located for trips out etc.




Sue replied more than 1 year ago
Hello Karen Thank you so much for taking the time to review Harvey Cottage. All feedback is welcome. Thank you for pointing out issues with the gate, some of the doors and the coffee machine. I will certainly pass the maintenance issues on to Jamie our local manager. He would also have attended to the coffee machine if reported to him during your stay. His number is provided in the arrival instructions and in the property manual. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed the cottage and the surroundings. We would love to have you back to stay in the future.

Relaxing get away from it all stay.

Review submitted on Wed, 08 Mar 2023
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
My partner, dog & I had a relaxing stay at this beautiful quaint cottage. We received a great welcome pack on arrival, with coffee pods, milk provided. The cottage was beautiful, warm and inviting. The decor was great and had a homely comfortable feel to it. Everything from presentation to cleanliness was faultless. We had a fantastic time there and would definetely stay there again when we return to Norfolk. Thank you for a memorable stay, so much that we didn't want to come home. I could of stayed there forever !! great thai restaurant nearby and lovely pub in nearby Melton Constable. Great location for beaches, local towns, villages and Holkham Hall. The dog loved the nearby cricket ground and park that was at the end of the road.



Sue replied more than 1 year ago
Dear Dionne Thank you so much for your kind review. We are very pleased to hear you had such a lovely relaxing time. We hope you come and stay again very soon.

A lot better than it looks.

Review submitted on Fri, 04 Nov 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We booked last min and if I’m honest I wasn’t excited. but as soon as we walked through the door we were blown away. Decorated really well with high quality furniture and nice touches all round. Great location to see the best of the Norfolk coast. We left really pleased with our stay and it’s not often I’d say it but would definitely come back. Highly recommend



Sue replied more than 1 year ago
Hello Ash Thank you so much for taking the time to write your kind review. We are so pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay. Its so nice to hear when someone loves the cottage as much as we do. We hope you stay again soon.

Perfect!

Review submitted on Thu, 27 Oct 2022
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
I booked a restorative weekend away for four friends and the cottage was PERFECT - light, bright, warm, comfortable - everything we could have needed, practical home comforts and even a lovely welcome basket, THANK YOU!



Comfortable relaxing break

Review submitted on Fri, 14 Oct 2022
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Our 5th stay here and it feels like home.Quiet location and walks for the dogs locally. Very well equipped, well furnished with comfortable beds and excellent linen Real fire a bonus.



Sue replied more than 1 year ago
Hello Maxine So pleased you have enjoyed yet another stay at Harvey Cottage. It must certainly feel like home from home and we will be delighted to see you again and again.

A week in Harvey at Barney

Review submitted on Wed, 28 Sep 2022
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A pleasant stay in a very well equipped cottage. It's ideally situated for visiting visiting places.



Sue replied more than 1 year ago
We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay at Harvey Cottage and that you found the location ideal. We hope you will come and stay again soon.

Excellent standard accommodation

Review submitted on Mon, 26 Sep 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The cottage is beautiful and presented to a very high standard.
The kitchen is the best equipped we have ever stayed in.
Thank you




Sue replied more than 1 year ago
Hello Barry Thank you do much for your kind review. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay at Harvey Cottage. We do hope you come and stay again soon.

Our review

Review submitted on Mon, 12 Sep 2022
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
It took us a little while to find the property. What 3 words helped find it. The cottage is lovely. It was well equipped and the welcome pack and information book were appreciated. The appliances were a little difficult to operate, particularly the coffee machine as that had no manual and seemed to leak. Parking was easy as the cottage has it's own parking area off road. Would be happy to return.



Sue replied more than 1 year ago
Hello Mark Thank you for taking the time to review Harvey Cottage. Its good to get any form of feedback. Thank you for letting us know about the coffee machine. I will pass this on to the property manager. His number is in the property manual and he would have been on hand to sort any issue during your stay. We are so pleased to hear that otherwise you had an enjoyable stay and we hope you decide to come again soon.

Mixed message

Review submitted on Mon, 08 Aug 2022
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Instructions on finding the property could have been clearer. In the first 24 hrs we had a problem with a flies nest and the bath plug. Jamie was amazing and dealt with both quickly and efficiently, but the flies did appear again throughout the stay which was off putting (more than you would expect in the country).
Welcome pack was great but a focus on local products would have been welcomed.
Great location and easy access to all local sites.
Beautiful furnished but could do with a grab rail in upstairs bathroom as the steps are dangerous. Could have also used some cleaning equipment, mop etc to clean the floor.
Back door I found impossible to open as the bottom door was warped and needs some attention.
Kitchen well equipped and only missing item were scales. We had extreme heat when we were there so a fan would help. All in all a good stay in comfortable surroundings.




Sue replied more than 1 year ago
Hello Jackie Thank you very much for taking the time to review Harvey Cottage. All feed back is very welcome and helps us to maintain the high standard that you would expect from a Norfolk Stay Cottage. I am sorry to hear that you were bothered by flies but pleased to hear that Jamie was, as ever, on hand to help sort out. I will certainly pass your other comments onto the property manager. We do hope you come and stay with us again.

Beautiful Cottage

Review submitted on Wed, 08 Jun 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Wonderful cottage, excellent facilities, very comfortable beds and lots of character.

Bathrooms are fitted to a very high quality, my daughter loved the full body shower jets.

Lovely quiet village with some excellent restaurants less than a 5 minute drive away.

Will definitely look to book again.




Sue replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your lovely review. Your feedback is so important to us. We are so pleased to hear how much you enjoyed your stay at Harvey Cottage and hope to see you again very soon.

Another memorable stay at Harvey Cottage!

Review submitted on Tue, 29 Mar 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This charming cottage was once again beautifully clean with great facilities and a very generous welcome pack. We've stayed a number of times and it seems to improve with every visit! We can't recommend highly enough, not just for the cottage but for its ideal location in the heart of North Norfolk, giving access to all of the most popular villages and beaches. We'll hopefully be back very soon.



Sue replied more than 1 year ago
Hello James. So pleased you enjoyed another stay at Harvey Cottage. Thank you for your lovely comments. Your feedback is so important to us. I am pleased you like the upgrades. We hope to see you again soon. Kind Regards Sue