FB Twitter

Long Barn, Rookery Farm

Long Barn, Rookery Farm

4.5
out of 5
Ratings from 15 reviews
100% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.5
Comfort
4.5
Condition
4.3
Location
5.0
Value
4.5
Customer
Service
4.5


7 bedroomed barn conversion with 6 bathrooms and ample parking. Great for family get togethers. Spacious sitting area with french doors opening out into the private enclosed garden.

Perfect Family Accomodation

Review submitted on Thu, 25 Apr 2024
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed at Rookery Farm for my dad's 70th birthday celebration. The house worked really well for 14 people with lots of sociable space & comfortable beds. Bathrooms are a little dated and could do with showers but the accomodation was very clean. The kitchens were very well equipped roo. Thank you for a lovely stay.



Excellent family celebration!

Review submitted on Mon, 15 Apr 2024
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We rented as two families for our friend’s 50th birthday celebrations. The place is huge, 2 kitchens, lots of bathrooms and beautiful surroundings. The property manager and housekeeping were great, allowing us slightly earlier arrival in order to set up some decorations and surprises. Overall the property and customer service is 5/5!



Weekend break

Review submitted on Thu, 28 Mar 2024
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A great place for a family weekend away, for 11 people - needing 7 bedrooms.
Plenty of space for us to be together in the evening.
Great location for trips to Sherringham and Holt.




Ideal for large family gathering

Review submitted on Sun, 28 Jan 2024
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Well equipped, comfortable seating and very welcoming to enter a lovely warm barn on a cold winter day in January.



New Year Break With Friends

Review submitted on Mon, 08 Jan 2024
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A group of 10 friends enjoyed a very happy New Year stay at Long Barn. Warm and comfortable, with everything we needed, Rookery Farm is a great base with easy access to a wide range of Norfolk activities and attractions.



Tired rental in need of refurbishment

Review submitted on Mon, 01 Jan 2024
2.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
2.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
2.0
Location
5.0
Value
2.0
Customer
Service
3.0
These reviews aren’t linked to the owners website, if they were then we probably wouldn’t have booked.
The property was probably fitted out about 20 years ago, and would be lovely if the kitchens were refitted and it was cleaned to an acceptable standard.




Long Barn

Review submitted on Thu, 28 Sep 2023
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A very nice property suitable for our party of 11 guests. Good location for areas we wanted to visit. It would have been beneficial if all twin rooms could have been offered as option of doubles - not all rooms gave that option and we had to have some twins. One of the twin rooms had only a very small window in the roof which was not ideal as very hot during our stay and the couple did not have an outside view at all. Guests had to bring their own fans for rooms as we had hot weather and bedrooms would not have been comfortable without the fans - one ground floor twin room in particular required a fan as it would not have been secure to leave the downstairs window open all the time. Although there were two kitchen areas, the fridge/freezer space was still not adequate for our party of 11 adults as we were self-catering and struggled with keeping drinks and food cool. Large American style fridge/freezers would be more appropriate for such a large barn. We had a power cut once during our stay. On another occasion we had no hot water - apparent late afternoon on final day when we were all trying to shower to go out for dinner. Rang the housekeeper who contacted the Premises/Maintenance Manager who told us how to put the immersion heaters on for both sides of the barn. This took a little while to heat up water for us all to have showers. The Premises/Maintenance Manager was going to review the situation once we had left the following morning.



Very nice holiday location

Review submitted on Mon, 14 Aug 2023
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Overall this is a very good holiday location, albeit at the upper end of the price range. Superbly located near all the good local venues, well presented and in good condition. The children's play area was a good addition and all topped off with a nice welcome pack. It contributed well to an excellent family birthday celebration.



Had a lovely three days at Long Barn

Review submitted on Thu, 06 Jul 2023
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Great location with bags of space for all. Very well equipped with every need catered for. Good quality bed linen and was great to see hand wash in all rooms necessary. Local pub was a handy short walk and provided a good value Sunday roast.
Gardens were very secure and ensured that the young children and dog were kept safe.
Just a couple of negative points. When paying a premium price for a stay. I do not expect to be required to strip bed linen. And lastly, dish washers could do with an internal clean. They did not clean the dishes and plates on first use. Had to run plates through at least twice.




Sue replied 351 days ago
Hello Dave Thank you for your kind review. We are so pleased to hear how much you and your friends/family enjoyed the stay. Sorry to hear you had problems with the dishwasher. I will certainly pass this onto the housekeepers and also your comments regarding the linen. We value your feedback and hope you revisit again soon

Happy family weekend

Review submitted on Sat, 20 May 2023
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Long Barn was very clean and welcoming. Everything was provided that we needed and all was very good quality, Our one criticism was the wetroom needed grab rails as there was nothing to hold on to. Lovely to have the whole family under one roof. Ideal for family groups. Setting was lovely. Garden was also well kept.



Sue replied more than 1 year ago
Hi Hilary Thank you for your review. I am so pleased to hear that you and your family enjoyed your stay. I will certainly pass on your comment about a grab rail in the wet room.

Great facilities great location

Review submitted on Mon, 10 Apr 2023
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We booked the property for four families including six children. The property was ideal with plenty of relaxation space and facilities. The welcome gifts were a nice extra. The property is well located for accessing the Norfolk coastline and other attractions. The setting of the property was excellent with good parking and a play area for the children. Would recommend this property without hesitation



Sue replied more than 1 year ago
Hello Adrian. Thank you for your lovely review. I am so pleased to hear that all four families enjoyed the barn and its setting. It really is a perfect place for big family and friends to get together. We hope you stay again soon.

Christmas 2022 Long Barn

Review submitted on Fri, 06 Jan 2023
3.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
3.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
3.0
The facility is amazing and suited our group of 13 perfectly. The location is great and the Christmas lights were lovely. We felt that it could do with some maintenance and the cleaners should be allowed more time to deep clean and have enough time to check things like crockery before new guests arrive. We had to check and clean crockery from previous guests.



Sue replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for taking the time to review Long Barn. All feedback is very welcome in order for us to maintain the high standards that we aim to achieve. I am sorry to hear that you were disappointed with some areas of cleanliness and maintenance. I will certainly pass your comments on to the property manager. I hope you decide to stay with us again in the future.

Wonderful family celebrations

Review submitted on Thu, 08 Sep 2022
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
After 2 years of postponement due to Covid we managed a get together for family from Europe and UK with ages from 8 to 80. Rookery Farm was a beautiful place for this and we really had an excellent time. We all loved it and have numerous wonderful memories. Logistics make a return unlikely, but were it possible we would certainly be back. Thank you.



Sue replied more than 1 year ago
Hello Victoria So pleased you eventually made it to Rookery Farm and The long Barn. It is a great set up for a family get together. I realise it was a one off experience but so pleased you have the wonderful memories. Kind Regards Sue

Excellent accomodation for a family group.

Review submitted on Mon, 08 Aug 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
I booked all the barns at Rookery Farm. The attraction being that they were grouped together around a courtyard and provided very comfortable accomodation for a large family group plus two dogs. Each barn had its' own garden so that each family could have some private space when required. The barns were well equiped and met all our requirements. The furniture was in good condition and as one would expect from continual use by families and dogs. We were able to use the Long Barn for evening meals altogether.
The site manager was very helpful and visited the site each day. Unfortunately there was a wasps nest in the eaves of one of the barns but this was dealt with swiftly by the owner, who returned to check that the matter was resolved. The bed linen and towels were excellent. We had a really good stay and lots of celebrations as it was my husband's 70th birthday. I could also recommend the private chef whose team provided an excellent three course meal for 14 adults and 3 children, including two gluten free guests and one vegan.




Sue replied more than 1 year ago
Hello Janet I am so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that The Long Barn was everything you wanted for your large family gathering. Your feedback is very welcome and we hope to see you again soon.

A great place to stay

Review submitted on Thu, 10 Mar 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Beautiful accommodation. Well equipped, comfortable and excellent location as well as very good value for money.



Sue replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you very much for your kind and positive review. Its good to hear that you enjoyed your stay and found the accommodation comfortable and that all important good value for money. We do hope you stay with us again soon. Kind Regards Sue