FB Twitter

Wash House, Rookery Farm

Wash House, Rookery Farm

4.6
out of 5
Ratings from 16 reviews
94% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.4
Comfort
4.6
Condition
4.5
Location
4.9
Value
4.4
Customer
Service
4.7


3 bedroomed barn conversion all on one level, with walk in shower, private garden and parking. Approximately 3 miles from the coast.

Wash House is very comfortable and in a quiet location but close to the coast

Review submitted on Fri, 09 Feb 2024
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was our second stay at Wash House and our third at Rookery Farm. The property is very spacious, warm and comfortable and provides a great base for visiting the coast.
The location is very quiet and peaceful and great for dogs with easy access to surrounding footpaths. We would definitely stay here again.




Spacious and comfortable property in a great location

Review submitted on Mon, 23 Oct 2023
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is our second stay at Rookery Farm and the property meets all our needs in terms of facilities and location. It is nice and peaceful and fantastic for dogs with easy access to the paths around the fields. The bed was really comfortable and the showers excellent. The free supply of logs is a real bonus.
The location is ideal for easy access to the coast and other attractions.
We would certainly stay again.




Lovely stay but could do with updating

Review submitted on Mon, 11 Sep 2023
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Overall, we enjoyed our stay at the Wash House for the last week in August. Kitchen was well stocked with crockery and cutlery, nice big kitchen table, beds were comfortable and water pressure for showers were good.

The Wash House could do though do with being updated: microwave should be changed for one with a digital timer so you can properly time things (it also had splatters from previous guests so hadn't been properly cleaned); (LED?) ceiling lights in the kitchen and family bathroom were dim so not great especially in the kitchen at dusk; family bathroom had a dripping tap in the basin (which hopefully has been fixed as we did mention this to Jamie) and in the shower you really had to turn the control to stop the shower head from dripping. And the sofas we thought had seen better days.

Location was very tranquil so we all slept very well! Would we stay at the Wash House again, yes we would.




Great potential, but a bit tired and grubby!

Review submitted on Thu, 07 Sep 2023
2.8
out of 5

Guest doesn't recommend this property
Cleanliness
2.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
3.0
Location
4.0
Value
2.0
Customer
Service
3.0
On arrival (17.30) there were still patches of wet on the floor and the whole place smelt of "Dirty Mop".

The shower room in the master bedroom has mould on the ceiling and the floor clearly hasn't been scrubbed and bleached for sometime. The floor doesn't drain well, leaving a puddle alongside the toilet after taking a shower.

The duvets in the twin room smelt a bit musty, but all linen was good and clean.

Kitchen crockery, glasses and cutlery just didn't look or feel clean, so we loaded the dishwasher soon after we arrived and washed again the items we wanted to use. In doing this it looked as though the machine had been stopped without completing the cycle!

Generally a lot of dust on surfaces and even dead moths under some beds.

Finally the "instruction" to strip the beds of linen at the end of our stay. At £224 a night, I don't think so! Cut out the bottle of cheap wine and pay the cleaner to do that!

Sorry to be so negative, but you did ask!

Overall we had a good break thanks to the fantastic weather and believe that with a bit of work this could be a fantastic place to stay.




Stay with family in August

Review submitted on Thu, 24 Aug 2023
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have been staying in Norfolk for over 29 years but this was my favourite place. Lovely cottage with everything we needed. We’ll be back!



Week break for two couples.

Review submitted on Mon, 03 Jul 2023
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Stayed for a week in June. Two couples so layout was ideal. Comfortable and lovely quiet setting even with camp site at end of garden.

We didn't have small children with us but thought one garden had very steep slopes while the one at other side would have been ideal for toddlers if it had had a gate.

Lots of lovely places to visit nearby. Had nice meals at Upstairs No 1 Cromer, The Bank in Sheringham and Red Hart in Bodham.




Sue replied 287 days ago
Thank you for your kind review Helen. We are so pleased to hear you and your friends enjoyed the stay. We hope you visit again soon.

Needs updating

Review submitted on Mon, 19 Jun 2023
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a good stay at the wash house it did well to accommodate two family’s but it needed bathrooms up dating and kitchen every thing worked it was just tired the garden furniture was good for eating out but no cushions on wooden furniture too hard to enjoy sitting out in the lovely garden



Sue replied 302 days ago
Hello Deb Thank you so much for taking the time to leave your review. Your feedback is so important to us in order to maintain standards and your comments will be passed back to Jamie our property manager, who I believe you met during your stay.

Overall a good property

Review submitted on Mon, 29 May 2023
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Due to a specific need we were looking for a property that met our layout requirements and where we could be left alone, The Wash House proved to be the perfect place. The location, property and facilities are excellent.
The property does not deserve a negative review but we did encounter the following.
The property was clean, however in our view there are a few items that could do with some attention that may not be seen on a regular weekly clean, mainly the en-suite bathroom could do with more than a standard clean to bring it back to a high standard.
There were other minor things like an intermittent problem locking the front door from the inside, the door on the tv unit needed attention and the tripod lamp needed the shelf fixing. I expect that if we had not wanted to be left alone we may have been able to get these attended to while we were there.
Please don’t let the points mentioned above put anyone off from booking this property as they can easily be corrected and overall it was very good.
We fully expect to book the Wash House again at some future date.




Sue replied 302 days ago
Thank you Peter for taking the time to review Wash House. Guest feedback is very important to us and always passed back to the property manager who works very hard to maintain a good standard. I am pleased to hear that the barn met your requirements and we hope to see you again soon.

Wash house stay

Review submitted on Mon, 22 May 2023
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Excellent accommodation, good quality and well maintained. Garden well dog proofed. Having access to farmers fields to walk with our dog was an added bonus.



Sue replied 330 days ago
Hi Judith Thank you so much for your kind review. Sounds like you had an great time. We do hope you visit us again soon.

Stylish and cosy

Review submitted on Tue, 27 Dec 2022
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We love the property and hope to stay again.
……………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………..




Sue replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your very kind review Richard. We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again soon.

Quiet cosy short break

Review submitted on Sat, 22 Oct 2022
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Quiet location. Lots of character. Lovely garden. Farm walks on doorstep. The downside was although there was a thermostat the heating didn't come on till about 7.30am which was after we were already up and had eaten breakfast. They may have changed it on request but as we weere only there for a long weekend we didn't ask.



Peace, quiet and comfort

Review submitted on Sun, 18 Sep 2022
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The Wash House met every single need. We were fortunate to have warm sunny days that could be enjoyed in the fully enclosed rear garden. This was also enjoyed totally safely by our dog.
The evenings were very cool and the log burner then came into its own. Logs provided was a bonus along with dishwasher tablets and wash powder.
Comfortable beds with good quality linen and towels added to our comfort. The sofas are low for those aged guests but we were very aware that this house was designed for young families and we enjoyed its space.
5pm to gain access is late, especially as our granddaughter came for the weekend and her stay was short, having to return for work on Sunday afternoon. Luckily we were able to book for dinner from the information guide which gave phone numbers but this may not have been so easy in peak season.
The welcome pack was an added bonus.
We had a very happy few days in a very pretty complex.
Carolyn from Leicester




Sue replied more than 1 year ago
Hello Carolyn Thank you for your lovely review. We are so pleased you and your family enjoyed your stay. Sorry the late check in was an issue but during the summer the housekeepers are stretched to their limits. We hope it did not spoil your stay.

Fabulous stay

Review submitted on Mon, 05 Sep 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a fantastic time at the Wash House. Everything you require for a restful break. So quiet and the layout of rooms was perfect for family of 6. Near to lots of National Trust properties, the coast/walks. Cannot fault - would definitely come again.



Sue replied more than 1 year ago
Hello Carol I am so pleased to hear how much you and your family enjoyed The Wash House and its surroundings. Its sounds like you made the most of the local attractions. We would love you to stay again soon. Kind Regards Sue

Excellent spacious accomodation in a quiet and beautiful setting.

Review submitted on Thu, 11 Aug 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
I booked all the barns at Rookery Farm. The attraction being that they were grouped together around a courtyard and provided very comfortable accomodation for a large family group plus two dogs. My husband and I stayed in The Wash House with two friends. Each barn had its' own garden so that we could have some private space when required. The barns were well equiped and met all our requirements. The furniture was in good condition and as one would expect from continual use by families and dogs. We were able to use the Long Barn for evening meals altogether. The Wash House had a farmhouse style kitchen with a large table for dining and outside the garden was private, although it was on two levels, but perfectly accessible from the patio doors. The lounge area also had patio doors which opened onto the front garden. The main bathroom was huge and our friends were able to have their own bedroom with ensuite wet room.
The site manager was very helpful and visited the site each day. The bed linen and towels were excellent. We had a really good stay and lots of celebrations as it was my husband's 70th birthday. The four grandchildren appreciated the safe play area and equipment. The whole site is in a quiet setting and a short car journey to the coastal towns of Cromer and Sheringham.




Sue replied more than 1 year ago
Hello Janet Thank you so much for your kind review. It is so helpful for future bookers to read such a detailed description. You have explain the set up very well. I am so pleased to hear how much you and your family enjoyed your stay at Rookery Farm. It is such a great place for large groups when booking all the cottages. We do hope you and your family will visit us again soon.

Perfect spot for a spring getaway

Review submitted on Mon, 14 Mar 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Wash House was very comfortable, spacious and clean on arrival. The location was perfect, tucked away but still close enough to the coast for plenty of walks. Waking up to the sound of the pheasants was lovely. Kitchen was very well equipped although we didn't do much cooking. So very peaceful at night too, plenty of stars out. The enclosed garden was just right for our dogs. Would happily stay there again.



Sue replied more than 1 year ago
Hello Vicki Thank you very much for your lovely review. All feedback is important to us as we aim to provide an exceptional holiday experience. We do hope you will come again soon. Kind Regards Sue

Really lovely place to stay. Excellent location, main supermarkets a ten minute drive away.

Review submitted on Mon, 14 Feb 2022
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely and warm, a very welcoming and spacious holiday let. Out of season, nice and peaceful, surrounded by countryside, with the characterful seaside town of Sheringham just a few miles away. Scenic Sheringham Park is fantastic for dog walking




Sue replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you so much for your kind review. We are so pleased to hear that you and your family are enjoying your extended stay at The Wash House. Your feedback is very important and helps us to maintain a good service and guest satisfaction. Many thanks Sue