FB Twitter

Bolt Hole

Bolt Hole

4.3
out of 5
Ratings from 21 reviews
76% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.5
Comfort
4.1
Condition
4.0
Location
4.8
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.6


A cosy single storey converted barn set in a quiet village approximately 3 miles inland from the coast. One double and one twin room.

Just lovely

Review submitted on Wed, 26 Jun 2024
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had such a lovely stay …..just perfect …..hopefully be back soon … great location and great if you have a dog ….



Bolt hole. Winter break

Review submitted on Tue, 31 Oct 2023
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have used the Rookery farm cottage and camp site stays and have always been pleased with the service and conditions.
Our only complaint is the bathroom in the Bolt hole. Access to the bath/shower for my partner is impossible due to her current disability.
The bathroom desperately requires a revamp, please!!




Ideal Bolt Hole

Review submitted on Sat, 21 Oct 2023
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Cottage comfortable and well equipped with everything you need. The cottage is also situated in an excellent position for visiting all the North Norfolk areas.



Had a nice time but would not choose this cottage again because of disappointing level of comfort

Review submitted on Tue, 03 Oct 2023
3.3
out of 5

Guest doesn't recommend this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
3.0
Location
4.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Level of comfort disappointing for an award winning property

- there doesn’t seem to be much insulation; when warm outside its also warm inside (same with cold wheather)
- sofa and arm chair are so far gone you almost hit the floor
- black mold on the bath very unhygienic!
- water cooker and oven not clean (we didnt use them)
- we really missed a walk-in shower




A good base for exploring North Norfolk but needs a refresh

Review submitted on Thu, 07 Sep 2023
3.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
3.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
I had a weeks stay here with my wife and six year old. The property had character and was located close to the seaside towns of Sheringham and Cromer. Id say it was adequate in size for the three of us and well equipped. There was a decent sized garden with a lawn for me and my six year old to play games on. On the downside, the property was a bit grubby in areas and could do with some updating.



Tiny property that needs a lot of money spent on it

Review submitted on Tue, 22 Aug 2023
2.8
out of 5

Guest doesn't recommend this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
2.0
Condition
1.0
Location
4.0
Value
2.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Very nice hosts terry and tracy who manage the property but the reality is for four people this is a very cramped space, felt like a prison camp, badly designed, not enough light, fridge freezer is tiny so totally impractical, no food preparation spaces so he’s to self cater, equipment is all dated in the kitchen. Needs a total redesign as it is like living in a thin corridor, needs an extension to widen the property and money properly money spent on it Photos are very deceiving regarding its size.



Bolt Hole break

Review submitted on Tue, 25 Jul 2023
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Wonderful holiday (apart from the rain), lovely cottage, but would have liked a shower as well as the bath.
Great location. Nothing to fault, just perfect.
Roll on 2024 so we can do it all again!




David replied 358 days ago
Thank you for your lovely review. Sadly, the one thing we cannot control is the Norfolk weather, but we're pleased you found everything else to your satisfaction.

Not the best for Gold award.

Review submitted on Tue, 04 Jul 2023
3.2
out of 5

Guest doesn't recommend this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
2.0
Condition
2.0
Location
5.0
Value
2.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Very good location really good for dogs and a safe garden.
The cottage inside the furnishings ie Settee and chair very uncomfortable very small double bed and the bath which is a good size but had no hand holds to help when getting in & out which could be very dangerous especially for older people.
The washing up brush wash a health hazard so we put it in the bin.




Sue replied more than 1 year ago
Hello Barry Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. Your feedback is very important to us. I am sorry to hear that not all aspects of the holiday were to your satisfaction. I am aware that the bathroom is due to be upgraded at the end of the season. But its disappointing to hear that the cleaning was not up to our usual standards. I will certainly pass your comments on to the local property manager who incidentally is on call during your stay and his number is on the notice board and in the property manual.

bathroom

Review submitted on Wed, 14 Jun 2023
4.2
out of 5

Guest doesn't recommend this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
4.0
everything was clean and comfortable except for the bathroom. i know we were warned about no shower but not that the bath was so big and difficult to get out of for older people. also the shower fitment on the tap leaked and was useless. the whole bathroom is overdue for a revamp.Otherwise it was good. would not recommend this property to people unless the bathroom is sorted. Reading the visitor book confirmed what we thought.



Sue replied more than 1 year ago
Dear Jennifer Thank you for your review and feedback. This is very important to us as we aim to maintain our high standards. The bathroom has become an issue and the owner intends to upgrades after the summer season 2023 and will replace the bath with a new shower. Hope to see you again when the bathroom will have been upgraded.

Doggy holiday

Review submitted on Tue, 30 May 2023
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Comfortable and clean cottage - and plenty of walks close by - including Sheringham hall & gardens which were lovely.
Also not to far by car ( 25/30 mins ) to get to Wells & Holkham beach, which are both great for dogs to run around.




Sue replied more than 1 year ago
Hello John So pleased you enjoyed our pet friendly cottage and made the most of the lovely walks around. Hope you come and stay again soon. Kind Regards Sue Norfolk Stay

Spotless and perfect for the dog

Review submitted on Thu, 04 May 2023
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Ideally located for the region. Enclosed garden was perfect for the dog. The bathroom could do with updating and a decent king size bed would make the stay even more comfortable. Otherwise it was excellent. It was spotlessly clean and everything you needed was there. The welcome pack was very welcoming. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay.



Sue replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your review. So pleased your enjoyed your stay. Your feedback is very important to us and potential guests. We hope you stay with us again soon,

Cosy little cottage

Review submitted on Fri, 28 Apr 2023
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A great little cottage to use as a base as it’s a perfect location to visit all the lovely sights of Norfolk. Garden ideal for dogs and/or young children to play safely.



Sue replied more than 1 year ago
So pleased you enjoyed your stay. We hope to see you again soon.

Bolt Hole Bathroom

Review submitted on Wed, 26 Apr 2023
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We enjoyed our recent stay at the Bolt Hole .
Clean comfortable cottage close to Sheringham and the coast.
Unfortunately the only complaint is the bathroom is not up to standard, the shower is taken of the bath taps and not very easy or practical to use.
Another issue is the water does not get hot enough for a bath or shower.
Besides the above the cottage is well equipped and warm.




Sue replied more than 1 year ago
Hello Robert Thank you for taking the time to write a review for Bolt Hole. Your feedback is very important to us. I will certainly pass your comments over to our property manager particularly the fact that you did not get enough hot water. By the way the property manager would have attended if you had reported it during your stay. His number is on the arrival instructions and in the property manual. Glad to hear that apart from the above you enjoyed your stay.

Beautiful Cottage

Review submitted on Mon, 17 Apr 2023
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a lovely break at this cottage. It’s well equipped everything you could need. Very close to Sheringham Park estate,Cromer and the Muckleburgh Collection. We had a problem the day we left as our car wouldn’t start and the lovely couple next door came to our rescue.



Sue replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you so much for your kind review. We are so pleased to hear you had such a lovely time. We would love you to come and stay again soon.

Lovely barn conversion.

Review submitted on Tue, 04 Apr 2023
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Stayed here often over the last 12 years. Cottage comfortable with big enclosed lawn ideal for our dog. Fields around cottage, lovely country setting. Easy reach of Cromer and 3 National Trust properties. Many beaches to pick from, most dog friendly.



Sue replied more than 1 year ago
Hi Susan So pleased you enjoyed another stay. You know you are always welcome.

Wonderful, relaxing place to stay

Review submitted on Wed, 22 Feb 2023
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our cottage was a great place to stay, being within wonderful countryside, close to lots of interesting places, and only a short drive to the coast.
It is well-appointed, warm, cosy and relaxing. We found it not lacking in anything, although the bathroom, which is perfectly serviceable, may perhaps benefit with a bit of a spruce-up.
I have a few constructive notes that may be of help to the owners:
* Please check the ceramic handhold on the shower-head attachment on the bath tap which swivels and prevents directional use
* Bathroom handbasin cold tap difficult to turn off completely
* Please check the hot-water temperature to taps as it seemed a little too high

The local village pub served a Sunday carvery which was deemed excellent.
I definitely will be returning and wouldn't hesitate to recommend this holiday let.




Sue replied more than 1 year ago
Hello Nicola Thank you so much for taking the time to review The Bolt Hole. All feed back is very important as it helps us to maintain the high standard we wish to offer our guests. Thank you for your constructive comments which I will pass on to our property manager who is always on hand. Other than your few comments I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and took advantage of the local amenities and surrounding countryside. We would love to have you stay again soon.

Bolt hole short stay

Review submitted on Tue, 04 Oct 2022
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Excellent service when boiler shut down on heating. Shame about bathroom, no grab handles for bath and no shower facilities even over the bath. Very comfortable and convenient for Sheringham with enclosed garden for dogs.



Sue replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your review Kevin. All feedback is welcome. Sorry to hear you has a problem with the heating but it is great that we have a local manager available to make sure these unforeseen issues are sorted straight away so as not to spoil your holiday. I am sorry you were not so pleased with the bathroom. There is a hand held shower over the bath but I appreciate this would not suit everyone. Having said that we hope you come and stay again soon.

Great place to get some down time and peace and quiet.

Review submitted on Tue, 20 Sep 2022
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Located just close enough to walk to a couple of nice pubs with good food, can do some of the walk across the fields and extend/make loops across some fields which was lovely.
House was clean with the exception of a few cobwebs, beds very comfy and had all the appliances you would expect/need.
Parking limited to 1 car, unless you use the grass land near by, which was fine as we were there in the dry time so no issues parking, but could be an issue.
Garden was secure for our dog who is not inclined to jump, it should be noted that the roadside walls are quite low and may be an issue for more energetic dogs.




Sue replied more than 1 year ago
Kate. Thank you for taking the time to review Bolt Hole (Trebor Cottage). Your comments will be very helpful for future guests. So pleased you enjoyed your stay and appreciated the lovely location. I hope you come to stay again soon.

The Bolt Hole is certainly a place to stay

Review submitted on Mon, 11 Jul 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely well equipped accommodation A welcome pack which was very much appreciated and a nice area to explore



Sue replied more than 1 year ago
Hello Trevor. Thank you very much for your kind review. Its so important for us to know that we are doing well, and its good for others looking to book that they can do so with confidence. I do hope you come and stay again soon.

Bolt cottage

Review submitted on Tue, 31 May 2022
3.7
out of 5

Guest doesn't recommend this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
3.0
Location
4.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Central heating boiler broke down so had stone cold radiators. Unable to be repaired so we were very unhappy



Lovely holiday cottage

Review submitted on Tue, 29 Mar 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely large cottage with enclosed garden for our dog. Comfortable bed already made with up with king-size quilt. Living area with comfortable sofa, kitchen area well equipped. Plenty of cupboard space. Garden has seating and table on grass lawn with good size hedge around for privacy. Parking space for one car on a country lane so little traffic noise. Easy access to all local beaches and 3 National Trust properties. This is our 4th visit to this property over the last 10 years and we love this Spring break with daffodils in the fields around us. We were lucky to get a week of sunshine.



Sue replied more than 1 year ago
Hello Michael Thank you so much for your review. Your feed back is so important to us. I appreciate you are a regular and hope you book again for next spring to see the daffodils. Kind Regards Sue