FB Twitter

The Haystore

The Haystore

5.0
out of 5
Ratings from 43 reviews
100% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.9
Value
4.9
Customer
Service
5.0


Our properties at The Green, are part of a beautiful Edwardian stone barn conversion at the foot of the Howgill Fell's in Cumbria. Each property showcases its own original features. We provide relaxed laid back accommodation inspired by nature's textures and colours and try to cater for everyone, from families and friends having a catch up to couples looking for a cosy getaway with a slow living feel.

Swimfest 2024 visitors

Review submitted on Sun, 09 Jun 2024
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a great stay occupying both the Haystore and the Byre. Beautiful property with beautiful surroundings despite the ever changing weather. We enjoyed adventurous dogs walks, the local pubs for evening meals and our swimrun event on Windermere. Thanks Carly, we love the place and will go on to recommend.



Perfect stay for our wedding

Review submitted on Wed, 05 Jun 2024
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Where do I start! The Green is absolutely gorgeous and The Haystore is a fabulous cottage - photos really don’t do it justice! The main bed was large and comfy, the shower was lovely and the sofa in the living area was the most comfortable sofa I’d ever sat on! We also loved the snug area on the mezzanine.

Richard and Carly have really thought of everything, the house is well equipped with everything you need and the little touch of a welcome gift of wine, crisps, chocolate and sourdough from local suppliers was really lovely. They were also super helpful with queries we had and communication was great. My family also stayed in the Carthouse and loved it too.

The location is great, not too far away from various pubs and small towns, but secluded enough for complete peace and quiet - we came home super relaxed. We loved evening walks down to The Black Swan pub especially through all of the sheep!

We really had the most wonderful time - I would recommend the Green to anyone!




Wonderful cottage

Review submitted on Tue, 21 May 2024
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The Haystore was in a beautiful location and the local walks were great. The accommodation was very well equipped and the outside space was fantastic. The beds were comfy and everything was clean. The hosts were helpful and provided a great welcome hamper. The local pub was good.



Richard Duckworth replied 20 days ago
Thank you letting us know about your stay and we are so pleased that you enjoyed your time with us. We agree with you about the local walks (some of our favourites are straight from the door!)...same with the pubs. Hope to see you in the future and thanks once again. Richard & Carly

Group stay

Review submitted on Mon, 29 Apr 2024
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Have just returned from a 3 night stay at the Byre and Haystore. We were 2 families of 4 and the accommodation was perfect! Plenty of space, inside and out, and one of the best equipped and most tasteful holiday homes we've ever stayed at! Beautiful walks, two pubs within walking distance and hosts on hand if needed. Would highly recommend



Richard Duckworth replied 20 days ago
Thank you for your lovely review Cara, much appreciated. We are glad you all enjoyed your long weekend in the Byre and Haystore and made the most of the walking opportunities from the door and the nearby pubs! Hope to see you again. Richard & Carly

The Haystore

Review submitted on Mon, 06 Nov 2023
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We loved our recent stay and despite the weather being rainy we all looked forward to returning to the luxury of The Haystore each day. Every detail has been carefully thought of from a delicious welcome pack of treats to dressing gowns in the bathrooms, underfloor heating and even accessories for an evening of stargazing! We had the most beautiful views across the Howgill Fells and even spotted some red squirrels in the garden. There are so many different walks straight from the door of the Haystore and we hope to return one day to do some more exploring. Thank you for such a lovely week, we all thoroughly enjoyed it.



Richard Duckworth replied 201 days ago
Thanks Hannah for such kind feedback. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay and got chance to enjoy then beautiful views across the Howgill Fells and the playful red squirrels in the garden. Hope you are able to return one day to do some more exploring. Thanks, Richard & Carly

Great accommodation and location

Review submitted on Mon, 23 Oct 2023
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Very well equipped and thought out accommodation.
Great for our group as plenty of room to get together or have time apart.
Stunning location.




Richard Duckworth replied 201 days ago
Thank you Alan for staying with us and glad you and your group enjoyed your time in all 3 properties. it was a pleasure hosting you a few weeks ago and thank you for your kind feedback. All the best, Richard and Carly

Beautiful accommodation

Review submitted on Fri, 20 Oct 2023
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We loved our stay at the Haystore! It’s such beautiful accommodation. Really unusual to find a place with so much care and attention taken to the interior design. It makes it a very relaxing and luxurious place to stay. The welcome basket was gorgeous and the provisions very considerate (e.g. picnic supplies, herbs and spices, binoculars, etc.). Thanks so much!



Richard Duckworth replied 201 days ago
Hi Becca, thanks for your lovely feedback an we are really pleased that you enjoyed your stay at the Haystore so much! The interior design is all Carly's work but glad it impressed you. All the best and thanks for staying with us.

Lovely Relaxing Stay

Review submitted on Mon, 02 Oct 2023
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a really lovely break staying at The Haystore.
Everything was really well thought out to make you feel on holiday but also at home.
The location was great for us to explore the area & the walk to the two pubs in the village each evening for dinner was was a nice way to finish each day.
Thank you Carly & Richard for your hospitality.




Richard Duckworth replied 264 days ago
Thank you Pauline and glad you had a lovely stay with us and for your kind words. Hope to see you again in the future.

A perfect break

Review submitted on Fri, 11 Aug 2023
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Upon arriving at the Haystore we felt instantly relaxed. Everything is thought of and therefore you switch straight into holiday mode without wasting a second. The guide we received in advance gave us so much information that we felt like we knew our holiday before we arrived. It is far enough away from the tourist areas that you can relax but close enough to access many wonderful places. Thank you for an incredible break.



Richard Duckworth replied 313 days ago
Thank you Louise! We are so glad that you felt instantly relaxed when you arrived and were able to enjoy your holiday Hope you enjoyed getting out and about to the wonderful places nearby and thank you again for staying with us. Richard & Carly.

Who cares about rain when the cottage is this nice?

Review submitted on Sun, 06 Aug 2023
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We usually stay in cottages in England for our summer holiday. This is easily the nicest we have ever stayed in. The cottage felt like the interior of a home decor magazine. It was comfortable, spacious but also intimate. The kitchen was well equipped and had everything you would want. The area was a bit of an unknown for us. It is the bit of Cumbria that once upon a time was called Westmoreland. The Howgills are on your doorstep with plenty of opportunities for walking. The local village of Ravenstonedale is close by (took us about 25 mins to walk to the pubs). There are 3 pubs in walking distance, two in Ravenstonedale, one the other was on the road to Sedbergh. Each is very different, but good. Kirkby Stephen is a short drive away. We really liked it. It has a decent sized Co-Op for general shopping, but quite a few coffee shops and other shops selling local produce and walking gear. It felt very authentic (as opposed to Kirkby Lonsdale, which is far more touristy). The local scenery surprised us with how good it was. We wondered if it was just high moor, or if it was undulating and interesting? We needn't have worried. It was fascinating and relatively uncrowded. Despite some unseasonably wet days, we had a wonderful week and really recommend this cottage for a stay.



Richard Duckworth replied 313 days ago
Wow, what an accolade; the nicest cottage you have ever stayed in - Thank you! We are very grateful of your wonderful feedback and glad that you liked the cottage and our area so much. We also hope that you are able to return sometime. Thanks again; Richard and Carly.

A really great place to stay

Review submitted on Fri, 04 Aug 2023
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a lovely stay at the Hayloft. It's really well equipped, comfortable and clean. The hosts are really helpful and it's in a fantastic location away from the crowds.



Richard Duckworth replied 313 days ago
Thank you for staying with us and your nice review! we certainly are away from the crowds!

Beautiful in everyway

Review submitted on Mon, 03 Jul 2023
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We chose to stay at The Green as my grandparents owned this property many years ago. To return there after more than 35 years was beautiful and so nice to see how our grandparents old hay store had been transformed into 3 breath-taking cottages with such attention to detail inside and out.
The hosts were so kind and friendly and spent time listening and talking to us about the house and the cottages, it was truly heart warming and so lovely to know that this property is owned by people that love it dearly and care so much about its past and present whilst ensuring it is environmentally friendly throughout.
Whilst we were there we saw the fell ponies, red squirrels which made it even more special.
We look forward to visiting again in the future *****




Richard Duckworth replied 325 days ago
Thank you for your kind words Neil and it was lovely to meet you both. it was amazing to think that you remember the property from so many years ago and it was also really interesting looking through the photos that you brought. How the place has changed! You are welcome anytime and we hope to see you another time; thanks once again for enlightening us a bit with some of The Green's history.

Excellent

Review submitted on Tue, 27 Jun 2023
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Amazing property, we stayed in all 3 houses with family for our wedding and the owners could not be more accommodating



Richard Duckworth replied 325 days ago
Thanks for review Linzi and we are glad you enjoyed your recent stay with us.

Lovely to back at the Haystore

Review submitted on Mon, 08 May 2023
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our 7th stay in The Haystore, and our 8th in total at The Green. It's therefore pretty clear we're very satisfied customers. The Haystore is a really lovely comfortable place to stay, beautifully laid out, fitted out and maintained, and in a lovely quiet location. The village of Ravenstonedale is completely unspoilt. There are lots of good walks in the area, including directly from The Green. The property is dog friendly which is the reason we first chose it. It's in a lovely area without the density of visitors that fill the Lakes to the west and the Dales to the east, both of which are easily accessible by car from Ravenstonedale. We look forward to returning next year.



Richard Duckworth replied more than 1 year ago
Was great to see you again Bill and hope you enjoyed spending time on your Champagne terrace! We really do appreciate you returning again and your kind words which means a lot. Hope to see you again soon. All the best for now, Richard and Carly.

Red squirrels, curlews and an excellent property, what's not to love!

Review submitted on Thu, 04 May 2023
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A fabulously well equipped and well thought out, warm and comfortable accommodation. Tucked away but not too remote and well placed to tour the Lakes and the Dale's.
Already planning a return visit!




Richard Duckworth replied more than 1 year ago
Hi Wendy, thank you for your kind words and sounds like you had a great stay and pleased to hear your thinking of a return visit. hope to see you soon!

Week’s relaxing holiday

Review submitted on Fri, 21 Apr 2023
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely accommodation, very comfortable, kitchen had everything you would need.
Location was great, no light pollution so star gazing was amazing. Great walking straight from the accommodation.
Three local pubs in walking distance, all offering very good food, especially the Black Swan.

Highly recommend The Green Cumbria and will be looking to book again




Richard Duckworth replied more than 1 year ago
Thanks for your review Catherine, glad you enjoyed your stay with us including the stargazing which is amazing on a clear night!

Dream House in Dream location

Review submitted on Fri, 21 Apr 2023
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a large family holiday here over the easter period, booking all three properties available. 11 people and 3 dogs in total. The hosts were fantastic, really helpful via email and text leading up to and throughout the stay. All 3 properties are beautifully decorated and extremely comfortable, and really well equipped with lots of thoughtful extras and a fantastic welcome pack provided by hosts. The surrounding area is so beautiful, with loads of walks and different activities to do. I would definitely recommend a stay here and can’t wait to go back for another visit.



Perfect Cottage (Haystore) for a Perfect Weekend

Review submitted on Tue, 21 Mar 2023
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a great weekend in Haystore - it was perfect for two couples (we think families would love it too as kids would adore the mezzanine snug). Excellent information prior to arrival - finding the property was easy and we knew what was included in the kitchen beforehand (great info on their Touch Stay app) so didn't have to bring loads of kitchen stuff with us. The living area was superb - gorgeous sofa and log burner made for lovely evenings. The kitchen and dining area were superb - everything had been thought of and it was better than home (unusual for lots of self catering properties that we've been too). Gorgeous crockery and settings made meals a lovely occasion. The outdoor space was great for al fresco coffees and the layout of bedrooms etc worked really well.

We went on walks straight from the door (Smardale Viaducts on this occasion) and we'll definitely be back for walking and cycling in the area. Great also to be able to walk to Ravenstonedale for a stunning Sunday lunch at The Black Swan. Perfect!




Richard Duckworth replied more than 1 year ago
Hi Helen, thank you for your lovely feedback and detailed comments. So glad you had a great weekend in Haystore and we are really pleased that everything in the cottage met your needs. Hope to see you again.

Family fun and relaxation

Review submitted on Fri, 24 Feb 2023
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A beautiful property and location for exploring the Dales and Lakes. We loved the cosiness of the Green after a day of walking in the rugged fells. Lots of great pubs nearby for food as well as an incredible chocolate shop!! We would love to return.



Richard Duckworth replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your review Lynn and we are very grateful of your feedback. Nothing beats a cosy cottage and log fire after a day in the hills and sound like you got out and about during your stay. Hope to see you again. All the Best

Very cosy winter weekend

Review submitted on Mon, 23 Jan 2023
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The Haystore is a beautiful, cosy, modern space, where attention to detail is above and beyond! And that is after the lovely welcome basket of local produce. The pastoral setting is perfect for hill and lower walks straight from the door. Easy 20 min amble to the nearest village. Richard and Carly are excellent hosts and provide a wealth of advance information to help your stay.
We (4 friends) thoroughly enjoyed our long weekend at The Haystore and cannot recommend it enough!




Richard Duckworth replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you Jinny for the lovely feedback, it was lovely to see you again and meet your friends. i hope they enjoyed the walk up Green Bell and the evening at The Black Swan. Thanks again for staying with us and see you again soon.

Perfect Stay

Review submitted on Tue, 10 Jan 2023
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed at the Haystore over the New year weekend with another couple and 2 small dogs and what a lovely place to stay. On arrival Carly and Richard had left a fantastic welcome box filled with goodies including bread, butter, milk! The accommodation is very clean and well equipped for self catering as we had our new years day roast dinner there and was like home from home. The bedrooms were lovely and very comfortable. The outside space I imagine in the summer would be well utilised and it is secure for the dogs. The surrounding area is beautiful and the village is very quaint and is about a 20 min walk but has 2 lovely pubs. We would definitely be booking again and would highly recommend for a holiday!



Richard Duckworth replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you Janet for your feedback and we are glad you had a lovely Christmas holiday with us. Shame about the weather but seems like you made the most of it and enjoyed exploring the local area. Look forward to seeing you again and once again thank you for the kind words :)

Perfect !

Review submitted on Sun, 08 Jan 2023
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Another wonderful stay at a beautiful cottage in a glorious part of the world

Richard and Carly are always so welcoming and accommodating which really makes a difference.

Can’t wait to come back

Thank you




Richard Duckworth replied more than 1 year ago
Thats very kind Elizabeth and we hope you enjoyed your short break with us. We really appreciate you coming back to stay with us. Look forward to seeing you again and all the best for 2023

Christmas at Haystore

Review submitted on Fri, 30 Dec 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Beautiful place, with magical Christmas decorations making it extra special. Welcome hamper was a great treat filled with local produce. Richard and Carly were very helpful, and they went above and beyond to make sure everything was ok. Stunning location with many walks from the doorstep. Very dog friendly place to stay! We will be back!



Richard Duckworth replied more than 1 year ago
Hi Gareth, thank you for your review, we really appreciate it and glad you all enjoyed your Christmas break and had a safe trip home. Best wishes for New Year and hope to see you again. Richard & Carly

We didn’t want to go home!

Review submitted on Mon, 19 Dec 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We rented all three properties for our immediate family to stay for our wedding at Eden Barn.
Richard and Carly are the most wonderful hosts, not just in the weekend itself but the many months leading up. They were incredibly helpful responding to any queries we had, they even helped us to plan a meal the night before our wedding in the local pub. Nothing was too much trouble.
The houses are beautifully renovated and The location is idyllic. It was the most perfect place for our family to stay for a long weekend.
We are so thankful we found The Green and hope to return again in the future.
Liam & Beth




Richard Duckworth replied more than 1 year ago
Hi Liam & Beth, thank you for your kind words, we are so pleased you enjoyed your stay during your wedding weekend. The pictures looked amazing! Best wishes to you both for the future and thanks again for staying with us.

A wonderful experience

Review submitted on Wed, 30 Nov 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Just had a mini break ay the Haystore. It was the perfect little get away for me to switch off from my daily distractions at home.



Richard Duckworth replied more than 1 year ago
Hi Anne Marie, thank you for your review . It was lovely to meet you and we are so please you had a relaxing break here at The Green Cumbria. look forward to (hopefully) seeing you again :)

A truly lovely place to stay ....

Review submitted on Mon, 07 Nov 2022
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A delightful barn conversion with easy access to both The Lakes (around 50 mins away) and the Yorkshire Dales. A very good local pub too (Black Swan). Would not recommend the other pub in the village.

Richard & Carly have taken enormous care to ensure guests are comfortable and there are so many thoughtful touches.

Loved my stay!




Richard Duckworth replied more than 1 year ago
Hi Nicola and thank you very much for your review. We are so pleased that you loved your stay! Hope your furry companions also had a good time :)

Relaxing stay

Review submitted on Tue, 25 Oct 2022
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Beautiful house! Very thoughtful hamper on arrival, communication was excellent with owners. No problems at all, highly recommend.



Richard Duckworth replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you Hayley for your review, very kind comments and it was a pleasure having you stay with us recently. Thanks for your recommendation and hope to see you again.

Stylish and comfortable

Review submitted on Mon, 17 Oct 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had such a great stay in the Haystore. Absolutely everything you could need has been thought about, the place is really stylishly furnished and felt really cosy and comfortable. Would definitely recommend booking, you won't be disappointed.



Richard Duckworth replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you Linsday for your review and we are delighted that you had such a great stay in the Haystore. We hope your enjoyed your walks and thank you for your kind words.

Luxurious self-catering in Cumbria

Review submitted on Sat, 15 Oct 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Classy country accommodation in a great spot at the foot of Howgill Fell. Not only is there brilliant walking from the doorstep but owner Richard also leads walks. He’s happy to take guests on half-day rambles, on full day navigation courses or even on expeditions up the three peaks. It’s a year round destination with underfloor heating and logs for a wood-burner.



Richard Duckworth replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you Michael for your review, we appreciate it and glad you enjoyed your stay with us!

Lovely barn conversions in lush location, you must go.

Review submitted on Fri, 09 Sep 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Richard and Carly have a large barn conversion across the yard from their farmhouse. the barn is split into 3 beautiful properties, and the walls are thick so you feel secure and almost detached. You dont need to take anything, just personal items, and wet weathere gear to enjoy the ladscape.The properties have everything you need to relax in and its home from home. Beds were very comfortable, lovely patio area for eating outside when the sun shines. Welcome pack was amazing and I ordered some flowers and gin, both turned out to be very special. Local pubs were great, idle location for the hills, for walking and biking.
I am a mountain biker, so cycle rack to secure your bike too, hose and other equipement to clean it, if you dont have your own.
Look out for the red squirrel/s the woodpecker, the goldfinches, bull finches and other small birds I could not identify.
Overall everything is positive, but I will shut up now as the list is exhausting.
Yes , we were delighted we had chosen and booked the Haystore.




Richard Duckworth replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you Ian for your lovely review and we very much appreciate you taking the time to pass on your comments. we are super pleased that you enjoyed tour stay and that you were delighted with everything here at The Green. Hope to see you again in the future :)

Excellent accommodation and countryside

Review submitted on Sat, 13 Aug 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The family stayed at this excellent venue to celebrate a special birthday. We used all three cottages. They are well equipped with everything one would ever need. The furnishings are fitting of this great conversion. A very tranquil and peaceful setting. We all left less stressed and relaxed



Richard Duckworth replied more than 1 year ago
We are glad you had such a wonderful week Julie and thank you so much for your lovely review. we hope to see you again.

Perfect properties

Review submitted on Tue, 19 Jul 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
These properties are the best we have ever stayed in, first class throughout and decor is stunning. Highly recommend to anyone. Carly and Richard were amazing and went above and beyond for us, they were exceptional.



Richard Duckworth replied more than 1 year ago
Thats so kind and we really appreciate your nice words. Happy to help and we are glad your special weekend went so well. Hope to see you again.

Very peaceful

Review submitted on Fri, 08 Jul 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A very peaceful setting for a holiday, just the sound of the sheep! Beautiful surroundings to enjoy despite the weather.



Richard Duckworth replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your review and we are so pleased you had a great stay. Those sheep just don't shut up; what do they talk about all night!? :) Hope to see you again.

Peaceful stay in Cumbria

Review submitted on Wed, 22 Jun 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
I can highly recommend The Green. My daughter and I loved our weeks stay in the Haystore apartment. The property is in the middle of the countryside but still an easy walk to the 2 local pubs. The accommodation is beautiful with so many much appreciated small touches, we especially appreciated the app that was sent to us, plus information on local walks and the welcome pack on arrival. The positioning of the Green meant that we could be at the Lake District in an hour, but could really enjoy the local villages and Fells in Cumbria. Also the best beds to sleep in. Look forward to the next opportunity to return



Richard Duckworth replied more than 1 year ago
Hi Deb, thank you for your lovely review and we hope to see you again.

Quite the nicest place to stay

Review submitted on Sat, 09 Apr 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Sadly we only stayed for a long weekend this time. It was however absolutely wonderful - the best possible place to be to celebrate a major life milestone. Our stay was made even better by fabulous weather. We have been spending holidays here for quite a few years and will continue to do so. A big plus for us is that it's dog friendly. The Haystore itself is incredibly comfortable and well equipped, and is in a lovely location away from the more touristy areas. That said the Dales and the Lakes are within easy reach, though there are great walks nearby and from the barn itself. The owners are very helpful indeed.



Richard Duckworth replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you Bill for your lovely review. It was great to see you again and we hope you enjoyed your weekend of celebrations. We really appreciate your feedback and hope to see you again soon. All the best.

The Haystore

Review submitted on Thu, 31 Mar 2022
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Stunning setting and well planned accomodation. Superbly equipped.
My only negative comment is about the bed being a little too hard for us but that is personal preference.




Richard Duckworth replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you Andy for your review, we are glad you had a great time in The Haystore and we hope to see you again sometime :)

Superb luxury barn conversion for walking break with friends

Review submitted on Mon, 07 Mar 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The accommodation and location were excellent! I stayed with walking friends at Haystore and we were all impressed by the comfort and cleanliness of our cottage. Such a privilege to stay in an Eco cottage and have luxury eco toiletries provided.
Such a lovely touch to have a welcome basket of sourdough bread, butter, jam and milk and soft drinks.
I was impressed by the good amount and range of cooking equipment, beautiful Denby crockery and plenty of glasses.
Thank you so much. We all loved our stay and would be happy to return.
Reviewed by Wendy on behalf of Chamois friends.




Richard Duckworth replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you Wendy for your lovely and very kind review. it was a pleasure to host you and we are both really pleased that you had a good time with us. Thanks again for staying with us, we are glad you liked it so much and hope to see you again.

A breath of fresh air

Review submitted on Fri, 21 Jan 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had stayed here when they were Green Barn Cottages; now under new management a breath of fresh air has been breathed into the barns and they are just lovely.

Warm and welcoming and especially great if you are bringing your furry friends with you.

New soft furnishings that really make a difference, comfortable sofas, wonderful big beds and well stocked kitchen - with sharp knives which make such a difference !! - and the Welcome Basket is a lovely touch.

The barns are in a great location on the Howgill Fells meaning you can strike out on foot to cover hundreds of miles of walks - some easy and some that will challenge even experienced walkers.

I don’t want to recommend them because the solitude is blissful BUT you will not he disappointed if you stay - it’s a wonderful place and we shall be back for sure.





Richard Duckworth replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for taking the time to leave your lovely review. We both hope you had a great time and it was great to meet you both. We appreciate your feedback and would love to see you again sometime soon.

Lovely, luxurious accommodation with everything you could want in a beautiful setting.

Review submitted on Wed, 15 Sep 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The Carthouse is part of a huge old barn that has been completely gutted and refurbished to a very high standard while still maintaining a charming echo of its rustic past. Bedrooms, kitchens and bathrooms are furnished and decorated beautifully with everything you could possibly need to hand as well as countless thoughful additions and finishing touches.

The setting, in the Howgill fells of Cumbria, is to my mind the most beautiful spot in the country. There are expansive hills and valleys for the kind of walking that reminds you what is is to be alive; countless becks (small rivers) and picnic spots where children can play endlessly paddling, making dams, fishing for tiddlers or if you're small, just throwing stones into the water.

The local village, Ravenstonedale is a great place with two good pubs, a lovely old church and plenty of friendly locals.

I came to the Green with my extended family so we took all three of the properties (the Carthouse, Haystore and Byre) and had a magical time throughout our stay. For this reason I have duplicated this review for all three places but I know I speak for all 13 of us when I say that despite being seasoned travellers, (with more than a couple of centuries experience between us), we have never stayed anywhere better.




Amazing!!!

Review submitted on Fri, 10 Sep 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
What can I say, the pictures on the website don't do this property justice at all, its absolutely beautiful and that isn't even mentioning the attention to detail, shower gel, robes, kitchen utensils, they thought of everything.

I was a bit unsure bringing two teenage boys on how I would keep them amused at night time, I needn't have worried, between spotify and the games etc, really made our family nights with the fire lite.

I have already been on the website to see when I can book to come back again, so much to do in the area.

Thank you Richard, Carly and boys, it was just what the doctor ordered after a long 12 months xx




Richard Duckworth replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you Margaret for your lovely feedback, im glad the whole family had a great time, it was good to see you and have a drink together. Look forward to welcoming you back another time. thanks, Richard

Simply wonderful - we'll be back.

Review submitted on Sat, 28 Aug 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We visited as a family of four together with our dog. This is quite simply wonderful accommodation. Spotlessly clean and very stylish. The accommodation is furnished in such a way that you immediately feel relaxed, peaceful and at home. I usually struggle to sleep in holiday accommodation but not this time. The beds are extremely comfortable. The owners have thought of everything and more, recommendations on where to eat, visit and walk, maps of the area, numerous board games, dog bed with towels and shampoo... the list goes on. I would highly recommend the accommodation. We will definitely be back.



Richard Duckworth replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your review following your stay with us in August. it means a lot to receive a 5* review from you and we are so pleased you had a wonderful break. Hopefully we will see you again in the near future.

A truly special place to unwind and relax

Review submitted on Mon, 26 Jul 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have been fairly frequent visitors to the Haystore over the last 7 years, and this time enjoyed seeing the changes and attention to detail introduced under Carly & Richard's ownership. We had wonderful weather, and went on a number of lovely walks from the Haystore, as well as venturing a little further afield. As ever, the meals we had at the village pubs were excellent too. It really is an extremely comfortable and luxurious place to stay, not far from the much busier Lakes and Dales, and we look forward to returning again next year. We wish Carly & Richard every success.



Family break with dog

Review submitted on Fri, 02 Jul 2021
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was our 5th stay at Green Barn and the first since the new owners took over.

Even this early, Carly & Richard have placed their own stamp on this stunning location and enhanced its reputation as a 'home from home'.

Our new addition to the family, a German Shepherd also thoroughly enjoyed the space and walks!

We have already booked for next year in what I am sure will become an Annual fixture in the calendar.