FB Twitter

East Gatehouse Lodge

East Gatehouse Lodge

4.9
out of 5
Ratings from 24 reviews
100% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.8
Condition
4.8
Location
4.9
Value
4.7
Customer
Service
4.9


Enchanting mini castle in a quiet setting

Crieff home

Review submitted on Wed, 14 Feb 2024
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely accommodation, well appointed and very comfortable. Peaceful location. Would definitely recommend.

Guest from stayed at East Gatehouse Lodge for 2 nights in February 2024


Relaxing, ethereal stay

Review submitted on Fri, 22 Dec 2023
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
What a lovely stay! The exterior of the gatehouse is iconic and beautiful. There is a quaint garden with sitting space for warmer days and stunning paths to explore locally as well as on the Monzie Estate. Inside, we found the gatehouse cozy and modern, with roomy sleeping quarters and perfect touches to curate a comfortable stay.

Each bedroom is accessed via a separate stairwell. (Beds are very comfortable!) These upstairs rooms share a bath with tub. Downstairs is a smaller, separate bath with a minute shower. There is dining space for four and a cozy sitting room with a working wood stove. The property owner supplies wood for several nights and starter materials. Home has separate thermostats on each floor, which allow for temperate comfort at all times.

This space is comfortable for short, medium or longer stays, directions for arrival were helpful and clear, hosts were kind and prompt in replies. We hope to return!


Lara from stayed at East Gatehouse Lodge for 2 nights in December 2023


an escape weekend

Review submitted on Mon, 27 Nov 2023
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
What a marvellous hideaway. We dined at The Glenturret Lalique Restaurant nearby and spent the night. It was so easy to find, and the instructions were so easy to follow - it was perfect. It was a unique venue, really exciting for my friend, and a truly Scottish experience that was super comfortable inside. Loved the cosy fire, and the bath was a treat. Waking up in the morning, watching the sheep and other birds and wildlife from the window and sipping my morning cuppa was the perfect start to the day. We will be back

Monica from stayed at East Gatehouse Lodge for 1 nights in November 2023


Beautiful area

Review submitted on Wed, 01 Nov 2023
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Loved staying here, beautiful spot, so clean and comfortable, the timber was a bit wet though and maybe the flu needs cleaning out as it was quite smoky and stunk the lounge room out, so watch out for that. I wish we had a few more days there.
It is expensive but I think the experience staying in a gatehouse like that was well worth it. Thanks for the memories.


Lyndon from Canberra stayed at East Gatehouse Lodge for 4 nights in October 2023


Our stay at the East Gatehouse Lodge

Review submitted on Sun, 29 Oct 2023
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We really enjoyed our stay at the lodge-it had some lovely character, the rooms were clean, warm and cosy, and the beds were very comfortable. The lodge was situated at the entrance to the Monzie estate, which was very picturesque. We were left some tasty brownies and a bottle of wine, which was a lovely extra too. Although we were only there for a few days, we were welcomed to join a tour of the castle by Alexandra, which was very interesting. The lodge was not far from some lovely walks too, which were especially stunning in the Autumn with the changes in colours. We would definitely recommend this lodge.


Eilidh from Edinburgh stayed at East Gatehouse Lodge for 3 nights in October 2023


a lovely spot.

Review submitted on Tue, 17 Oct 2023
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A lovely spot, very pleasant surroundings. Only quibble - it's cold at night in fall and winter, and difficult to program the heat to stay minimally on at night, when it is programmed to go off. The estate surrounding the home is absolutely gorgeous, with great walks. The closely village of Crieff is very cool, and the Crieff Food Store is a great place to stock up. Would recommend to anyone, just be prepared for the cold nights. As the Swedes say, "There is no bad weather, only bad clothing".


John from Mill Valley stayed at East Gatehouse Lodge for 3 nights in October 2023


Another Wonderful Stay!

Review submitted on Thu, 05 Oct 2023
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had the pleasure of staying at Brae Cottage in 2022 for our honeymoon and loved the estate so much we decided to come back each year! This year we stayed in the East Lodge, and it was wonderful as well.

The family has made a crenellated tower into a two bedroom, two bathroom haven from which to explore the estate and the area. The finishings make the Lodge feel like a home, and the thoughtfulness of laying wood for a fire and providing homemade brownies to enjoy in the evening (or for breakfast, no judgment!) really shows how well the estate is run. Everything is there for your convenience, and we always feel like we’re “home” when we visit!


Tami from Pompano Beach stayed at East Gatehouse Lodge for 3 nights in September 2023


East Gatehouse

Review submitted on Wed, 09 Aug 2023
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Really enjoyed staying at the gatehouse
Would thoroughly recommend and surrounding area is full of things to do with kids


Harley from london stayed at East Gatehouse Lodge for 7 nights in July 2023


agréable endroit même quand il pleut

Review submitted on Mon, 10 Jul 2023
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
tout était parfait.
juste 2 problèmes pas assez de rangement dans les chambres
plus d'eau le dernier jour pour se laver ?


Philippe from Dalheim stayed at East Gatehouse Lodge for 5 nights in July 2023


Charming stay at Monzie

Review submitted on Thu, 22 Jun 2023
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The east gate lodge was a lovely place to stay. Two very comfortable bedrooms, 2 baths, living, dining room and kitchen. Wake up to the calming sound of sheep in the next meadow. Many things to do in the area. The owner of the Monzie castle gave us a personal tour of the castle which is steeped in history! Highly recommend. Best deal if you book directly with them. They have multiple options.

lelia from Dunwoody stayed at East Gatehouse Lodge for 2 nights in June 2023


A magical place to stay.

Review submitted on Mon, 19 Jun 2023
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This place is amazing. It has character and modern comforts. It's the perfect place for a family of four or two couples.
My only regret is that we didn't stay long enough. We will go back.


Navarro from stayed at East Gatehouse Lodge for 2 nights in May 2023


Perfect Stay

Review submitted on Sat, 15 Apr 2023
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A beautiful and peaceful setting with the most stunning and quirky place to stay. Very comfortable and made welcome by hosts. Would thoroughly recommend.

Guest from stayed at East Gatehouse Lodge for 2 nights in April 2023


Long Weekend Break

Review submitted on Thu, 13 Apr 2023
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
There were 4 of us staying for a long weekend break and really enjoyed our stay. The property was clean and nice and warm on our arrival. The location is perfect, we managed to some golf at the nearby 9 hole course and also a short drive to Gleneagles. It’s also just a short drive to Crieff where we visited most days.

Great stay and would highly recommend.


Ross from Westhill stayed at East Gatehouse Lodge for 4 nights in March 2023


Great Stay

Review submitted on Tue, 21 Mar 2023
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Great stay in a great location, Alexandra was always on hand and even arranged to let my children into one of her other properties to sledge, gone above and beyond. Place was spotless with little touches to make you feel at home, cannot recommend enough.

Craig from stayed at East Gatehouse Lodge for 2 nights in March 2023


Loved the Monzie Gatehouse

Review submitted on Sun, 12 Mar 2023
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Wonderfull. Full of atmosphere, beautifully presented and surrounded by beautiful scenery and walks nearby.

Katie from stayed at East Gatehouse Lodge for 3 nights in March 2023


Unique place to stay

Review submitted on Sun, 05 Feb 2023
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Had a very comfortable two night stay. Beautifully appointed accommodation. Quiet location but near to Crieff for anything you might need. Comfortable beds, and lots of hot water - lovely after day spent walking in the highlands. Delicious complementary brownies!

Amanda from Watlington stayed at East Gatehouse Lodge for 2 nights in February 2023


A visit in snowy midwinter to the East Gatehouse

Review submitted on Fri, 06 Jan 2023
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
An extremely comfortable and cosy stay over New Year in this turreted gatehouse. Lovely location and good walking from the door. Very hospitable and helpful hosts.

Clare from London stayed at East Gatehouse Lodge for 7 nights in December 2022


A lovely place to hang your hat

Review submitted on Tue, 15 Nov 2022
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We were able to self-check in, which was lovely because we didn't have a deadline of when we needed to be there, which was great because we checked in very late. And we were greeted by brownies and wine...both very lovely! In the morning, we woke up to beautiful scenery and quiet. We stayed for six nights. It's a great place to stay!

Joann from stayed at East Gatehouse Lodge for 6 nights in October 2022


An excellent stay in a beautiful cottage.

Review submitted on Thu, 18 Aug 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a wonderful relaxing stay at Monzie, just what we needed! Blessed with beautiful weather we enjoyed wandering around the estate at leisure and enjoyed learning a little about the castle from David.

Johanna from New Buckenham stayed at East Gatehouse Lodge for 6 nights in July 2022


Lovely stay

Review submitted on Mon, 06 Jun 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a lovely and relaxing few days at the lodge. Was perfect in every way. Cozy, comfortable and blissfully calming. Thank you for a lovely time.

Tony from stayed at East Gatehouse Lodge for 2 nights in June 2022


Short Break

Review submitted on Sun, 05 Jun 2022
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Wonderful stay and escape on Monzie estate. Alexandra's tour in particular was informative and fascinating. Thank you for your hospitality and hope to be back soon. Good luck with all your upcoming plans.

Thomas from stayed at East Gatehouse Lodge for 3 nights in May 2022


Gatehouse getaway in Central Scotland

Review submitted on Sat, 28 May 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our stay at the gatehouse was wonderful. We were ending a two week tour of Scotland and it was the perfect place to relax and do some final sightseeing. The beds were comfortable and every amenity was as described. The owner was friendly and helpful and even gave us a tour of the castle on our last night. I highly recommend this location is you are looking for some solitude but still want access to great places to eat and tour

Charles and Jeannie from stayed at East Gatehouse Lodge for 2 nights in May 2022


Great house!

Review submitted on Thu, 28 Apr 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Perfect house for our vacation. It’s quiet but very close to town. We walked the grounds and explored around. Highly recommend!

Matthew from stayed at East Gatehouse Lodge for 3 nights in April 2022


Magical stay!

Review submitted on Wed, 09 Mar 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have just returned from a trip for our daughter's third birthday and we all absolutely loved our stay. The property is so special and unique, and you really feel like you are living in a castle!

The location is so peaceful and private, yet a five minute drive into Crieff which was so handy. The kitchen is very well equipped which made it really easy to self-cater. Watching the sheep from the window with our morning coffees was just bliss.

It was also great having the option to chill in the lovely sitting room and watch Netflix, especially for our little girl. A castle with home comforts - what's not to love?

We would really love to return one day.

P.S - Best welcome brownies ever!


Emma from Haddington stayed at East Gatehouse Lodge for 3 nights in March 2022