FB Twitter

Grove Cottage

Grove Cottage

4.3
out of 5
Ratings from 7 reviews
100% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
3.9
Comfort
4.4
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.3
Customer
Service
4.1


Grove Cottage is ideally located in the heart of the picturesque village of Yarmouth, this semi-detached holiday cottage provides the perfect base from which to explore this beautiful island.

Flaming June 2019!

Review submitted on Sun, 16 Jun 2019
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
This was our third stay at Grove Cottage and our first summertime visit - what a shame the weather didn't realise this! However, the constant rain and unseasonably low temperatures just served to confirm what a great place the cottage is.

We were able to use the beautiful back garden on a couple of days. It faces east, so catches the morning sun, we hope to be able to enjoy an al fresco breakfast there on a future visit - fingers crossed!

Since our previous visits last winter the rather knackered double bed has been replaced with a very comfortable king size one and new bedding. An enormous improvement and much appreciated. The kitchen roller blind had also been replaced and new basin taps fitted in the bathroom.

The cottage is small but perfectly formed, cosy, comfortable and everything works. The parking space to the front of the cottage is a huge benefit. The description/photos on the Island Holiday Homes website are accurate - the only 'watch outs' are the small landing at the head of the stairs and the fact that the only bathroom is off bedroom 1. It's probably our favourite holiday accommodation in Yarmouth and we're looking forward to our next holiday at Grove Cottage.




a good holiday

Review submitted on Sun, 26 May 2019
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
3.0
The cottage suited us perfectly, we were aware from the description that it was an old property, we liked the quirkiness of it and felt very at home there. We travelled by public transport and the location was ideal being so close to the ferry terminal, shops and buses. It was good being able to sit in the mature, colourful garden for meals or to relax at the end of a day spent walking and exploring.



Lovely cottage in brilliant location

Review submitted on Mon, 06 May 2019
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We really enjoyed our stay here for a week. The cottage is comfortable, excellently located in the heart of Yarmouth with fabulous landscapes and activities all around. We prefer to stick close to nature and walk [fantastic surroundings] but there is far more to do here than anyone can possibly achieve in a week, from morning coffee and/or breakfast at Off the Rails, located less than 5 minutes away alongside the beautiful wetlands, to Tennyson Down and Freshwater Bay just down the road.

We were comfortable and loved being in the heart of the town. All in all an excellent venue and location




Enjoyable autumn break at lovely Grove Cottage....

Review submitted on Thu, 08 Nov 2018
3.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
3.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We booked Grove Cottage for a 4 night break in November. We'd not stayed in the house before, but it proved to be a very good choice. We thought the cottage was delightful, with a great feel and good value for money. We have already booked our next visit and hope to return in the summer to take advantage of the super garden.

Good points:
- Very well kitted out.
- Comfortable, period style, furnishings.
- Lots of storage space
- Off road parking - a rarity in the centre of Yarmouth.
- Plumbing, hot water & heating all good - can sometimes be a bit of issue in holiday rentals.
- Beautiful private garden, must be a great space in the warmer weather.
- Twin beds comfortable (double not)

Things to bear in mind:
- Plenty big enough for 2 adults + 2 children, but would be a bit cosy for 4 adults.
- The only bathroom (tired but functional) is off the double bedroom....but there is a separate downstairs loo.
- There is no proper landing at the top of the stairs just a step either side into the 2 bedrooms - you need to pay attention where you tread when coming out of the bedrooms
- Although the kitchen is very well equipped it is small, so keep meals simple

The not-so-good / improvement opportunities
- The double bed wooden frame needs attention...loud squeaks every time you turn over. Doesn't make for a great night's sleep. - Or even better, replace the current double with a 5' wide bed. If a platform type base were to be used there is just enough space and would greatly improve things. 4' 6" beds feel VERY small.
- Could do with a thorough clean over the quiet season. Lots of corner cobwebs, fluff under beds, in corners etc.




Lovely Grove Cottage

Review submitted on Mon, 24 Sep 2018
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A delightful, quirky, old cottage in an ideal location close to the harbour and the shops. Pretty little garden and parking, a great advantage. Cottage is well equipped. Huge bathroom and roomy accommodation throughout. Recommended.



Grove cottage

Review submitted on Mon, 17 Sep 2018
3.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
3.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
A lovely quaint cottage, very comfortable. In an excellent location in the centre of Yarmouth. A lovely private garden.



perfect , suited all our needs

Review submitted on Mon, 20 Aug 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Near ferry, shops, buses, off street parking, large garden what more could you want .
Loved it's quaintness, a times past feel , must return.