FB Twitter

Norlands Cottage

Norlands Cottage

3.9
out of 5
Ratings from 13 reviews
100% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
3.2
Comfort
3.8
Condition
3.0
Location
4.9
Value
3.8
Customer
Service
4.3


Sleeps 7 + 1 in 4 bedrooms
Norlands Cottage is perfectly located with outstanding views from the house and peaceful sunny garden across to Yarmouth, the Solent and River Yar. It is beside a popular footpath that leads from your garden gate as far around the Island as you are tempted to explore; from an easy one hour walk around the the Yar Estuary river to an all day adventure walking right round the West Wight. Please note that the cottage has a steep cottage staircase (with hand rail).

Rustic but great location

Review submitted on Mon, 24 Jun 2019
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
3.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Great location if not driving , perfect for ramblers being on one of the many footpaths in the area.



Long weekend stay for family event

Review submitted on Thu, 23 May 2019
2.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
2.0
Location
4.0
Value
2.0
Customer
Service
2.0
Having family in Yarmouth we knew that this property was in a good location for our needs. This is a pretty cottage from the outside and has a good sized private lawn with outside table & chairs. However, although the interior was clean it was very shabby with mould in various places, flaking paint and slightly dilapidated furniture & soft furnishings. There were grubby little post-it notes in the kitchen & bathrooms telling us what not to do and there was rubbish in a kitchen bin. This did not leave a good first impression. It would be so much nicer if guest information were to be collated into a little book or folder - wifi code in particular (we had to call to ask for this info). We guessed that the property may have a septic tank rather than mains drainage so the owner may have to be very careful about what is flushed away but there are nicer and more welcoming ways of providing essential info than notes stuck to walls. Perhaps the owner has had bad guest experiences but we are people who respect the property of others so were a bit taken aback to be staying in a house that screamed - "just giving you the bare essentials in case you wreck anything"!
However, the beds were comfortable; the kitchen was well enough equipped for our needs; the wifi worked; good access & parking; easy walk into Yarmouth; nice views of the Yar estuary; quiet location . I would recommend this property only on the proviso that guests understand it is pretty basic and that there are no luxuries. Not suitable for babies/toddlers/elderly because of a steep staircase. BTW - a pint of milk in the fridge would have been nice :-)




Stunning location, overpriced property for condition

Review submitted on Mon, 01 Oct 2018
3.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
2.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
2.0
Location
5.0
Value
2.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Stunning location. We did enjoy our stay but way overpriced, tired and dated, needs a thorough clean




Simply the Best

Review submitted on Sun, 29 Jul 2018
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
The most perfectly located house on the Island. Just love it. A 5 minute walk into Yarmouth.

This is our second year and we hope to come back next year too!

The things I really need on an English Seaside holiday are... constant hot water for endless baths and showers, a tumble dryer to get everything dry particularly on a wet week and nice quality pillows, duvets and bed linen.

Norlands succeeds in EVERY area! Last year there was no tumble dryer and it is so lovely having one this year - so thank you.

A fantastic week - (this week the sun shone every day lucky us!!)




The house on the marsh. What a lovely spot.

Review submitted on Sun, 13 May 2018
3.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
3.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Wake up and look across the marsh to the River Yar and Yarmouth. What a lovely way to wake up! We have stayed here for years. It is the most beautiful spot. Yarmouth is very close and there are lots of outstanding walks. Further afield, the Isle of Wight is just beautiful. It is quiet. There is a huge variety of scenery. We think the Island does well on places to eat. Norlands will give you a comfortable stay. The conservatory is a lovely place to sit even on a miserable day. It is very lived-in, so don't expect to walk into a showroom living space. It isn't that sort of house. Downsides. The lane can be dusty in a dry spell, but I prefer that to a race track at the end of the garden. The stairs are steep in this period house. It is a little tired here and there. Whatever, it has given us a lot of pleasure over the years.



Late September holiday

Review submitted on Mon, 02 Oct 2017
3.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
2.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
2.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We'd stayed at Norlands before, so it was a known quantity. It's a beautiful, spacious old cottage which has seen better days.

The beds, sofas, chairs etc. were all comfortable and the kitchen is very well kitted out, with plenty of storage throughout the house. There's loads of parking space and the wrap around garden is marvellous. The views across to Yarmouth are splendid and the night sky is breathtaking. It's a wonderful location for a self catering holiday and we had a great time.

The property is in need of some TLC - nothing costing a fortune, just a bit of time and effort. The cupboard under the stairs, containing ironing board, mop etc, is almost impossible to open as it doesn't clear the floor. New, lined curtains in both main bedrooms would be a great improvement and in the lounge too. The refurbished upstairs bathroom looks good, but we couldn't understand why the shower over the bath had not been reinstated - a missed opportunity! In a house which will sleep seven you really need more than the single downstairs shower, although that one shower is excellent. The beautiful Amdega conservatory - one of the joys of the house - needs some basic maintenance: the blind pulleys all need oiling, the conservatory windows have become very difficult to open & close and one of the roof vents wouldn't open at all. The windows were very grubby inside and out throughout the house. In fact the whole place could do with a thorough clean before the next letting season.

From a holiday let 'basics' point of view, a second set of keys is a must - we stayed with friends but couldn't go out separately unless we agreed a return time. The house information pack is poor - in fact we didn't find it until the day before we left as it was hidden in the lounge under a pile of tourist booklets.







Beach Holiday in the Rain!

Review submitted on Mon, 31 Jul 2017
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
3.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We love the Island and have been searching and searching for the perfect house! We have at last found it in Norlands Cottage. Were were there with another family who loved it equally. The location made it for us that week because the weather was SO terrible it meant that all our teenagers could happily walk into the centre of Yarmouth safely to pass the time. The little beach nearby was wonderful and great crabbing too at the mini-marina. Surfing at Compton was fantastic and only a 10 minute drive through Freshwater which has a great supermarket.

The house itself is brilliant with a gorgeously spacious garden. Very well equipped and perfectly comfortable. If I was going to add anything, then it would be wonderful to have either a tumble dryer or at least a heated towel rail which could be turned on and off because with 6 days out of 7 with rain we were unable to dry anything for the week. Otherwise - just PERFECT.




Great place....needs a clean

Review submitted on Sun, 23 Jul 2017
3.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
1.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
2.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a fantastic time at Norlands Cottage, and would definitely return. Children and dog loved the garden and walking to the beach. We felt very much at home and would love to buy it.

There is clearly a bit of work that could be done and it really needs a good clean. We arrived to spiders' webs all over the house, greasy work surfaces, which there shouldn't have been. However, this did not spoil our stay and we felt relaxed about the children and dog being in the house.

Mattress in the main bedroom needs replacing as there is a big dip on one side!





A real find.

Review submitted on Sun, 18 Sep 2016
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
3.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Excellent location and lovely house.The stairs are indeed very steep, another handrail would be useful. Yarmouth is really delightful and the location means there is an easy flat walk into Yarmouth for your fresh morning bread.and croissants.



A wonderful position near Yarmouth town.

Review submitted on Sun, 11 Sep 2016
3.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
3.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
3.0
A comfortable house with lovely garden and conservatory, providing views over the town and surrounding countryside.
We were a little concerned about the narrow stairs, but had been forewarned in the advertising of the Cottage so expected to find them in keeping with an older property.

We enjoyed a very pleasant stay at Norland Cottage, and would visit again.




Perfect Location

Review submitted on Sun, 17 Jul 2016
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A little gem of a cottage within walking distance of Yarmouth and two minutes from the beach. There was plenty of space inside with two bathrooms and four bedrooms with large comfy beds. The kitchen was extremely well equipped.

The garden was lovely for my children to play in withfar reaching views of both the river Yar and Solent.

Overall, a very relaxing week.




Wonderful location and everything you need for a super break

Review submitted on Sun, 03 Jul 2016
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
This is a quaint and slightly querky house in a wonderful location - we loved it and so did our dog. The garden is wonderful as is the view across Yarmouth. The location is quiet and the house is well equiped. We would certainly stay again.



Beautiful location

Review submitted on Thu, 23 Jun 2016
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Magnificent views across Yarmouth which is predominantly a yachting town. Plenty of walks along river and beaches. Brilliant bus service probably the best in the country which will take you all over the island. The only thing to mention is if you have young children a stair gate would be handy as the stairs are short tread and steep. The conservatory and garden are absolutely lovely. Would definitely rebook this property or in fact buy it :)