FB Twitter

Sea View

Sea View

4.2
out of 5
Ratings from 12 reviews
100% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.3
Comfort
4.2
Condition
3.9
Location
4.4
Value
3.8
Customer
Service
4.5


Sleeps 4 - 2 bedrooms
This lovely 2 bedroom apartment, in an elevated location, enjoys spectacular views over Shanklin, Sandown and the English Channel it is a truly beautiful retreat.

Sea View - Shanklin

Review submitted on Fri, 06 Sep 2019
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
A lovely apartment with the most amazing views. The apartment had everything we needed, apart from a clothes airer. A great base for exploring the island, with nothing more than about 45 minutes drive away. Sandown within walking distance, either along the coastal path or along the seafront. The things we really enjoyed were St Catherine's lighthouse, Osborne House, walking with alpacas, a highly recommended experience, and the crazy golf in Shanklin. The beaches we visited were Shanklin, Compton Bay and Sandown. Can recommend hiring sun loungers etc from Steve's beach, Sandown. Be prepared for lots of hills in most of the coastal towns. With the fantastic weather we had, there are plenty of things to do whether relaxing on the beach or visiting the attractions. Can definitely recommend Sea View



IOW SUMMER HOLIDAY

Review submitted on Mon, 19 Aug 2019
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Seaview in Luccombe, the view from all of the rooms is breathtaking and the location is idyllic.
The apartment is situated about a 10 minute walk from Old Shanklin, although the walk back may be slightly longer, as it’s situated about half way up a steep hill, but you can’t have spectacular views without being at a good height.
The apartment is of a very good standard and we all thought it offered excellent value for money .
We would definitely stay there again




lovely views and location

Review submitted on Tue, 16 Jul 2019
3.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
3.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
4.0
this property has the most amazing views and perfect location. however there were some issues. The shower did not work correctly at all it was reported and dealt with as much as it could be. Also lid of the bin in bathroom was broken which was immediately replaced. The blinds were all broken, the tiles in the bathroom floor were coming away and the grout was picked up on feet. The television control did not work correctly needing batteries replacing from other controls which looked as if most had already been changed. I feel that with the location of this property these details need to be resolved and ( I am being well looked after) attitude would help it become a most desirable property.If issues were sorted would certainly recommend .



Agent replied 66 days ago
So glad that you enjoyed the most stunning views from this apartment. We acted quickly with regards to the shower which needed replacing and I believe you informed our plumber that you did not want this replaced during your stay. I can confirm that the shower has now been replaced, the blinds are in the process of being repaired and we are also having a new flooring put down in the bathroom. I have also instructed our contractor to replace the batteries in the remote controls. Thank you for bringing this to our attention and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Great weather

Review submitted on Mon, 08 Jul 2019
3.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
3.0
Location
3.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
3.0
The weather was very fine, sunny most days, but some strong coastal breezes, so pleasant. IOW has great family memories so always good visiting the places again. Beware though the council is no longer toilet friendly to parents and older visitors. Generally in the flat all ok, but really does now need a new electric shower . Would use flat again, thankyou.






Island Holiday Homes replied 72 days ago
So pleased you enjoyed your stay on the Isle of Wight and you did have some great weather during your stay. I note that you mention the shower but you didn't contact us during your stay to say there was any problems. We have had the shower checked out and is currently in the process of having this replaced. Once again we are pleased that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Heaven

Review submitted on Wed, 12 Jun 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A fabulous location for a restful week. An outstanding view of the sea and well situated for walking and cycling. I love this flat, and will be back.



Fantastic views

Review submitted on Mon, 27 May 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
When opening the door of our holiday apartment there was a lovely aroma from some strategically placed incense. The apartment was very clean and well equipped. There was an information folder and Visitor's book which was helpful to find the best places to eat and visit. The views from every window and balcony was of the sea. We were up early enough to catch a photo of the sunrise. The only niggly thing about this apartment was that the bathroom was very small and you had to reach behind you for the toilet roll. Also the button on the shower was hard to push on and off. We tended to drive down Luccombe Road and park up to go on walks through Shanklin and the beach. Luccombe Road was a bit steep to walk up and we did it only once. We had a fantastic holiday visiting many tourist spots and eating in some fantastic pubs and restaurants all very reasonably priced. The weather was great but we love the isle of Wight and there is always so much todo rain or shine.



Sea View lived up to its name - and some! Amazing views from a well-equipped comfortable apartment.

Review submitted on Tue, 21 May 2019
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Positives:
Sea View certainly had the wow factor in terms of panoramic sea views from every windows. Beautiful.

The apartment was well-equipped - albeit a little quirky with its spiritually uplifting memes around the place. Although the apartment was decorated in a modern style to a good finish, it sported an old-fashion hi-fi stack system - complete with record player which jammed halfway across each record, and a selection of mid-20th century LPs. A nice touch that made us smile.

We were happy and comfortable with the facilities. The place was clean and everything worked to our satisfaction. The equipment information pack was also very comprehensive. We loved the location and we'd definitely book the same apartment again :). For more positive info., see my wife's entry in the visitors' book.

Minor point:
The TV area appeared to have been re-plugged to a far-away mains outlet by someone - possibly to free up closer mains sockets for a visitor's Playstation or something - causing a rats'-nest of cables to spill out to the left of the TV and some seriously over-stretched cables. The TV area needs to be repatched by your maintenance people as it looks a real mess and lets down the appearance of an otherwise beautiful lounge.

Important point about fire alarm testing procedures:
The (very loud) fire alarm went off for about 5 seconds on Wednesday, 15th May at around 10:30 a.m. Apart from making us jump out of our skins, this left us in a quandary; should we vacate the building? And, no "all clear" had been given so we were left in limbo.

Luckily, my wife - a former Health & Safety Officer - noticed that there were fire alarm call points outside each flat. This suggested that a complete fire alarm system was installed throughout the property with alarms in each individual flat. She noticed a log book for recording fire alarm testing on the window ledge by the main entrance and, sure enough, there was an entry to show that the alarm system had been tested a few minutes earlier - but no warning had been given. Guests should be warned when alarms are about to be tested - and given the all-clear when the test is over.

My wife said there ought to be a notice somewhere in the flat to let guests know that the fire alarm is tested on a regular basis and that when it is tested it will sound for a short burst only and there is no need to evacuate. It should also state that if the alarm sounds continuously then it is probably a real fire and the flat should be evacuated. There is a sign on the wall just inside the main entrance to The Priory that states this but I doubt very much that anyone even notices it, let alone reads it.





Spectacular views

Review submitted on Mon, 06 Aug 2018
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Fantastic flat - light and airy with spectacular panoramic views over the sea. Shanklin is a lovely venue - we cycled along the front with the kids to Sandown. Beaches are lovely and clean, lots of cafes/restaurants to eat in. A real family feel. The approach to the flat is steep but that didn't bother us as we are active and like the exercise! Was also lovely to have a garden for the kids to play in and a patio to sit out and have a morning cuppa or lunch, again with the amazing views.



Lovely stay in Shanklin

Review submitted on Tue, 24 Jul 2018
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
3.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a lovely week in this apartment. The views are spectacular and it was hard to drag ourselves away. The apartment had everything that we needed to make our stay comfortable. This was our second visit to this apartment and will be coming back again.



Iow looked great in the sunshine

Review submitted on Mon, 16 Jul 2018
3.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
3.0
Location
3.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
3.0
Another visit to the iow which always looks great in the sunshine, we had very good weather!,and enjoyed ourselves, but austerity cuts over the years are evident again, it’s getting serious now though, and sadly IOW getting like other places, blighted by second homes, how long before visitors no longer welcomed.



Breath-taking views, quiet location, close to the beach

Review submitted on Wed, 20 Jun 2018
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Quiet, clean, breath-taking views, steep short walk to the beach, free parking, great appliances, good beds, reliable fast Wifi, everything we needed for a relaxing holiday.



6weeks at Seaview

Review submitted on Mon, 05 Mar 2018
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
3.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed mid winter quite difficult to keep warm as windows need renewing. Also flooring creeks badly in the lounge, not a problem for us but would be unbearable for anyone staying in the flat below. That said the view was great and I’m sure it’s super in the summer sitting on the balcony. However we were generally very happy with the accommodation.