FB Twitter

The Sanctuary

The Sanctuary

4.6
out of 5
Ratings from 10 reviews
90% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.2
Comfort
4.8
Condition
4.8
Location
4.7
Value
4.4
Customer
Service
4.5


Sleeps 8 in 4 Bedrooms
The Sanctuary, is an attractive four storey town house situated in a pleasant tree lined street within 150 metres of the beach and High Street, with easy access to a wide variety of facilities, including shops, library and restaurants.

Nice house, marred by issues and

Review submitted on Thu, 12 Sep 2019
3.0
out of 5

Guest doesn't recommend this property
Cleanliness
1.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
1.0
It's a lovely house, well equipped and in a convenient location, sadly however our stay was marred by a few issues.

The master bedroom bedding had not been changed on our arrival leaving a visible discolouration to the pillows and sheets from the previous occupants, unfortunately, we failed to spot this until late evening when we headed to bed. Discovering the "out of hours" support number is only available for just a few hours on Friday and Saturday evenings we had little choice to spend a quite disgusting night using dirty bedding and the first day of our holiday washing and drying it ourselves.

The first morning we also discovered the 1st-floor shower was broken and could not be turned on and that the master bedroom en-suite door was so sticky a young member of our family got stuck inside and became understandably distressed.
We reported these issues on Sunday morning.

On Monday morning we received a call back from Island holidays who were frankly unapologetic until we mentioned that we had photographic evidence. The cleaning team was then recalled, they declared the still sticky door "fine" and changed the now clean bedding again. The shower was finally fixed on the last full day of our trip.

We made a formal complaint about the issues, the owners' response has been abysmal. Rather than accepting in good faith the issues we reported and have evidence for, we've been falsely accused us of the theft of towels, told we somehow caused the issues with the shower and stiff door, accused of breaking a loft hatch none of our party can even remember seeing let alone touching and accused of damaging an already degraded sofa we simply sat on.

I believe it is how you deal with issues when they arise that shows your customers who you really are. On this basis, I would avoid "The Sanctuary" as it has turned into anything but.




Lovely house, great location

Review submitted on Mon, 09 Sep 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a great time staying at the Sanctuary. It is well equipped and in a brilliant location. We would definitely recommend this house to others and will probably book it again.



A wonderful house in a great location

Review submitted on Tue, 06 Aug 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was a real home away from home! A lovely house, clean and tidy, with everything provided you could need from a place to stay whilst on holiday.
Perfectly located in Sandown, on a quiet street within minutes of the beach and local quirky shops. A ten minute walk to the train station, and a five minute walk to the pier. There are also two bus stops at the end of the road which you can use to travel to other destinations on the isle.
The only negative comments I have are the bedrooms need curtains, the white blinds didn't keep out the sun early in the morning, and the garden needs higher fences to separate you from your neighbours.




Owner Moya replied 41 days ago
Thank you for taking the time to review. Glad you enjoyed your stay. I am looking into getting black-out blinds as Sandown is such a sunny place.

sanctuary in sandown

Review submitted on Mon, 13 Aug 2018
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Spent a lovely week in the Sanctuary but :..
1. Could do with more crockery at times as we were always loading up the dishwasher !
2. Needs a dressing table and mirror as there is nowhere in the bedrooms to ' do my hair' !
3. Too light in the bedrooms in the mornings with no curtains , only thin blinds !




July 2018

Review submitted on Mon, 06 Aug 2018
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely home and excellent location to the beach. Only a couple of minor things. Please put some curtains in the bedrooms. The blinds do not block out any light, thus we woke up at dawn everyday (which was around 4.30am). Lucky our children are older now, but a couple of years ago, this would have meant the day started at 4.30am. The only other thing we missed was a washing line and a brush to sweep up. (Dust pan and brush adequate for the bottom floor of a house, so close to the beach.)




Another satisfying holiday at the Sanctuary

Review submitted on Mon, 06 Aug 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was our second time here as a family of four adults and three children 5,10 and 13 it fulfilled all our needs for accommodation and location perfection.



The Sanctuary

Review submitted on Mon, 30 Jul 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely house in a super location a few minutes walk from the beach. Very clean, modern and well equipped, although lounge smaller than i expected. Garden not very private but was big enough for our requirements.



Ideal holiday destination

Review submitted on Mon, 14 Aug 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A great place to stay, exel location, convienent for all your needs. local shops, beach, public transport. One down side, parking! if nobody parked opposite great between the post and tree, if parked opposite it can be a little difficult.



A Sanctuary by name and comfort

Review submitted on Mon, 07 Aug 2017
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Having stayed in various properties from this company on Isle of Wight, this one again lived up to expectations. There were 7 of us but the layout of the house meant everyone could have some privacy and yet get together for meals etc. Location was excellent, just a bit awkward parking second car at times. House was very well equipped and very comfortable. Bathrooms were great and there was never a shortage of hot water. Garden was smaller than expected but we were out so much and unfortunately due to weather, didn't get chance to make use of it. A great choice and would highly recommend!



sandown 2017 - the sanctuary

Review submitted on Mon, 31 Jul 2017
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
we really enjoyed the property, it was in a perfect location for the beach and shops with plenty of space for everyone to move around and enjoy family time!